Official Emotiva XPA-5 Owners Thread - Page 52 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 2040 Old 09-04-2013, 12:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,645
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 582 Post(s)
Liked: 1282
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post

A channel is apparently going out in my XPA-5. frown.gif Seems to be thermal'ish as it runs for a while then dies, then works after a reset, then dies a little sooner, etc. I rarely have time to listen anymore so had not noticed it; it happened a month or so ago when my sons were using the media room but a reset kept it going the rest of the night for them. Have to jump through the usual trouble-shooting steps wth Emotiva, hoping they let me replace the amp module instead of shipping the whole thing back. I let them know I have access to nice lab, we'll see...

 

Sorry to hear that Don. I'd be interested in knowing if Emo let you replace the amp module.  Something like this is a nightmare for me as I am in the UK - shipping the amp back to the States would cost what the amp is worth. But if ever I needed to fix it, knowing they would send out the parts would be a big relief. Good luck with it.

kbarnes701 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 2040 Old 09-04-2013, 03:34 PM
Member
 
MegaJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kbarnes, don't worry. They send out parts.
MegaJ is offline  
post #1533 of 2040 Old 09-05-2013, 03:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,645
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 582 Post(s)
Liked: 1282
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #1534 of 2040 Old 09-05-2013, 10:21 AM
Member
 
gfbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all looking for an xpa 5, if anyone has for sale please email me at rajeevgobin@gmail.com thanks
gfbl is offline  
post #1535 of 2040 Old 09-05-2013, 12:39 PM
Member
 
tristan82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto, ontario
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok great looks like i will just pic one up after i get the last few speakers and my second sub b4 i start to worry about the amp
tristan82 is offline  
post #1536 of 2040 Old 09-05-2013, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post

A channel is apparently going out in my XPA-5. frown.gif Seems to be thermal'ish as it runs for a while then dies, then works after a reset, then dies a little sooner, etc. I rarely have time to listen anymore so had not noticed it; it happened a month or so ago when my sons were using the media room but a reset kept it going the rest of the night for them. Have to jump through the usual trouble-shooting steps wth Emotiva, hoping they let me replace the amp module instead of shipping the whole thing back. I let them know I have access to nice lab, we'll see...

Sorry to hear that Don. I'd be interested in knowing if Emo let you replace the amp module.  Something like this is a nightmare for me as I am in the UK - shipping the amp back to the States would cost what the amp is worth. But if ever I needed to fix it, knowing they would send out the parts would be a big relief. Good luck with it.

Since I have very little time in my media room and it seems to take an hour or two to show up, it is going to take a while to debug...

Emotiva said they do not ship parts within the US (implies they will outside the US). They did say they would provide their UPS info so I ship at their rates instead of mine, which should save some $$$. IIRC others have reportedly received parts instead of having to ship the amp. We'll see... I can certainly understand why they would not; liability if I destroy something (including myself) and risk of latent damage that causes a problem later due to me not taking proper care etc. They have no practical way of verifying my expertise (maybe I should send them a resume, with references? smile.gif )

Even though nothing should have changed, always the chance a wire strand got off, or it could be the AVR or speaker (I hope not!) I am going to modify their debug steps a bit to (hopefully) move things along.
kbarnes701 likes this.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #1537 of 2040 Old 09-05-2013, 04:36 PM
Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I picked up an XPA-5 secondhand while at EmoFest this weekend. Couldn't pass up on the deal and now waiting for the XMC release. I've currently got a Sherbourn SR8100 on my main system as a placeholder.
PGT FTW is offline  
post #1538 of 2040 Old 09-09-2013, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
nakenergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What speaker cables are you using with your EMO amps? Are the Emotiva speaker cables good?
nakenergy is offline  
post #1539 of 2040 Old 09-09-2013, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I have Monster Cable (several flavors, came with various systems through the years), a few older "boutique" cables (e.g. Fulton Gold), various zip cord in 16 and 14 AWG (Radio Shack, Wal-Mart, various tech store stock wire), and 14 and 12 AWG cables from Monoprice and Home Depot (standard house wiring, stranded). Can't tell any difference among them in my system. YMMV. The Emotiva interconnects I have used have been decent, and Blue Jeans Cable is another source of good quality pre-builts using quality wire. I would probably just get 12 AWG from Monoprice and call it done.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #1540 of 2040 Old 09-09-2013, 09:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,645
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 582 Post(s)
Liked: 1282
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakenergy View Post

What speaker cables are you using with your EMO amps? Are the Emotiva speaker cables good?

 

Any 14 AWG wire will be as good as anything you can buy, assuming your runs are limited to about 40 feet or so.  There is no benefit in so-called 'exotic' speaker wires.

 

Here's a useful article:

 

Speaker Wire - Fact and Fiction

kbarnes701 is online now  
post #1541 of 2040 Old 09-09-2013, 09:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 16,645
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 582 Post(s)
Liked: 1282
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post

I have Monster Cable (several flavors, came with various systems through the years), a few older "boutique" cables (e.g. Fulton Gold), various zip cord in 16 and 14 AWG (Radio Shack, Wal-Mart, various tech store stock wire), and 14 and 12 AWG cables from Monoprice and Home Depot (standard house wiring, stranded). Can't tell any difference among them in my system. YMMV. The Emotiva interconnects I have used have been decent, and Blue Jeans Cable is another source of good quality pre-builts using quality wire. I would probably just get 12 AWG from Monoprice and call it done.

 

+1.  Although for reasonable runs and 8 ohm speakers I'd use 14 AWG. 12 AWG is perfectly fine of course and gives some 'latitude' but it's a bit stiff and so a bit more difficult to use. But yeah... either...

kbarnes701 is online now  
post #1542 of 2040 Old 09-09-2013, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakenergy View Post

What speaker cables are you using with your EMO amps? Are the Emotiva speaker cables good?

Monoprice 12 AWG with Techflex, Parts Express cable pants and Emotiva banana speakers plugs.


cr136124 is offline  
post #1543 of 2040 Old 09-09-2013, 10:43 AM
Member
 
SHadoWFoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

Monoprice 12 AWG with Techflex, Parts Express cable pants and Emotiva banana speakers plugs.




Cable pants, is that what it is called? Quite a fitting name. biggrin.gif I have been looking for this for awhile with not much luck because I don't know it is called. mad.gif

Learn something new everyday. Thanks.

Shadow Fox

SHadoWFoX is offline  
post #1544 of 2040 Old 09-09-2013, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHadoWFoX View Post

Cable pants, is that what it is called? Quite a fitting name. biggrin.gif I have been looking for this for awhile with not much lock because I don't know it is called. mad.gif

Learn something new everyday. Thanks.


LOL. Here is the direct link just in case:


http://www.parts-express.com/cat/cable-pants/565
cr136124 is offline  
post #1545 of 2040 Old 09-10-2013, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I always called them cable sleeves...

Are cable shirts used for interconnects? smile.gif

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #1546 of 2040 Old 09-11-2013, 09:33 AM
Member
 
SHadoWFoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have my XPA 5 Gen 2 for about two months now. But because my preamp was out for a repair for close to a month I only get to really using it in the past month.

There are two things I can say for sure. It is quiet. No noise that I hear with my ear parked right above it. It does not run hot after an hour of use. It is usually around 90F in a TV stand that is opened on the back side with few open slots on the bottom for better ventilation. I do have two Cooler Guys blower fan placed on top of it controlled by their Thermal control unit. I set for the fans to kick in at 93F.

Sonic wise I don't think I have done enough serious listening tell a big difference yet. It is a keeper for now considering I bought it as a quick fix after my previous amp quit on me.

Shadow Fox

SHadoWFoX is offline  
post #1547 of 2040 Old 09-11-2013, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

Monoprice 12 AWG with Techflex, Parts Express cable pants and Emotiva banana speakers plugs.




How many snakes had to die to get that cable wrapped? biggrin.gif
NODES is offline  
post #1548 of 2040 Old 09-12-2013, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post

How many snakes had to die to get that cable wrapped? biggrin.gif

Just two...........LOL!
cr136124 is offline  
post #1549 of 2040 Old 09-12-2013, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

Just two...........LOL!

Alot more died during my cable making

DSC00790.jpg
DSC00781.jpg
DSC00810.jpg
nezff is offline  
post #1550 of 2040 Old 09-12-2013, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post

Alot more died during my cable making
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
DSC00790.jpg
DSC00781.jpg
DSC00810.jpg

Man.........you killed mama, papa and baby snakes for all those cables.............eek.gif

tongue.gif
nezff likes this.
cr136124 is offline  
post #1551 of 2040 Old 09-12-2013, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post

Alot more died during my cable making

Where are you getting this sleeve from?
NODES is offline  
post #1552 of 2040 Old 09-12-2013, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post

Where are you getting this sleeve from?

Have fun.........wink.gif


http://stores.ebay.com/FURRYLETTERS
cr136124 is offline  
post #1553 of 2040 Old 09-12-2013, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Update: I managed to do a little troubleshooting on my XPA-5 last weekend. The symptom was one channel was going into protection mode, flashing red LED and shutting down the amp. AFAIK nothing had changed so I was not concerned about a wiring error; I figured it ws the amp. One thing I noticed was it took an hour two before any issues, indicating a thermal issue. After resetting, it would often run for quite a while before going out again, a little strange since the amp did not have time to cool significantly during the minute or so it was off. But, switching inputs on the AVR would send it instantly into protect again. Hmmm... That usually indicates a bad coupling capacitor, perhaps a bad ground or output buffer (DC on the output), in the AVR or amp. More debugging needed, drat!

Getting behind the console is a major PITA, need to move it out a bit but with amps and other components plus a TV on top it weighs several hundred pounds. I snuck behind with the idea of swapping cables to see if it stayed on the same amp channel or followed the AVR's output. Next would be swamping speaker runs. I reached behind to pull the input, and aha! That channel's input cable was very loose, almost falling out. Hmmm... My son pulled cables loose from my cable hooks and wire ties to get his PS-3 out to take to college and apparently pulled that one loose. (Old cable, pretty weak capture.) I plugged it back in (more) tightly and have not had a problem in several hours of movies and music. Too early to call it fixed, but very encouraging. Probably ground through other cables prevented serious hum, but without a good ground any switching glitch would not be shunted by the input resistor and create a very loud pop. The amp prevented that by shutting down, a good thing. This weekend I hope to pull the console out a bit for better access, re-dress all my wiring to clean things up back there, and double-check all the other connections!

Hopefully a false alarm after all, but hopefully I can help somebody prevent a similar issue. Should have remembered to never assume nothing changed...

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #1554 of 2040 Old 09-13-2013, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post

Update: I managed to do a little troubleshooting ... my son pulled some cables loose to get his PS-3 out to take to college ... hopefully I can help somebody with a similar issue. Should have remembered to never assume nothing changed...
Sounds like you nailed it. It's what makes the hobby fun and a headache, all at the same time. Keeping an open mind during failure analysis is hard to do, but so important. Thanks for the update. 👍

Every once in a while, completely inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is offline  
post #1555 of 2040 Old 09-13-2013, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

Have fun.........wink.gif


http://stores.ebay.com/FURRYLETTERS


Sweet! Thanks
NODES is offline  
post #1556 of 2040 Old 09-15-2013, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67jason View Post

you have to call them...kinda archaic but it works. wink.gif

or email they will tell you availability and price.
NODES is offline  
post #1557 of 2040 Old 10-09-2013, 03:30 AM
Member
 
soundsgoodrecord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,
im a newbie in this forum. im thinking of the XPA-5 Gen2 and have a few questions, so bare with me. im currently using Pioneer sc-57 avr with PSB image speakers (6 ohms). im happy with the sound at low and mid volumes but comes to high volumes can sound harsh and less detail. on movies like transformer 3 when voice shouting can sound straining.
my system is 9.2 channel and thinking of adding a 5 channel power amp to drive main left,right, centre and surround. the rest will be driven by the avr.
if i get the XPA-5 Gen2 would it improve sound quality at high volumes? can it sound better then the Pioneer sc-57? mostly watch blu-ray movies and concerts. not concern on stereo at all. anybody could give some advice on this matter but i understand not many have the same setup but just a basic simple answer will do. pls excuse my weak explanation. hope u guys understand. thanks

sony vpl-hw55es/106", pioneer lx85/sc57, oppo bdp95, ps4, apple tv, psb image t6, t5, c5, b4, 2xsubseries 300. 9.2ch, wireworld chroma 7 hdmi, qed revelation speaker cable.
soundsgoodrecord is offline  
post #1558 of 2040 Old 10-09-2013, 03:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Which images do you have? How big is your room

I used to have the inage b6's run by the xpa5. While i never noticed it with movies at -5db. I DOD NOTICE the thin sound with music. It was the speakers.

I have since moved up to the imagine line and this thin sound at high volumes is no longer an issue. So i think its the limitations of the speakers more than the amp

Hope this helps

Panasonic 65VT30 | Denon x4000 | Emotiva XPA-5 | Emotiva XSP-1 | Emotiva DC-1 | PSB imagine B's |PSB image c5 | PSB B4's | DUAL PSA XS30 | OPPO 103 | minidsp
my HT gallery: http://www.blu-ray.com/community/gallery.php?u=240707

Brian Fineberg is offline  
post #1559 of 2040 Old 10-09-2013, 05:43 AM
Member
 
soundsgoodrecord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Fineberg View Post

Which images do you have? How big is your room

I used to have the inage b6's run by the xpa5. While i never noticed it with movies at -5db. I DOD NOTICE the thin sound with music. It was the speakers.

I have since moved up to the imagine line and this thin sound at high volumes is no longer an issue. So i think its the limitations of the speakers more than the amp

Hope this helps
image t6 for mains c5 for center, t5 for surround back, b4 for surround and b4 for front height. my room is 15' x 15'. hav not tried the XPA-5 yet. dont intend to change the speakers cause i dont have the budget. thought the XPA-5 would help improve on the sound quality?i only have the budget for the XPA-5.

sony vpl-hw55es/106", pioneer lx85/sc57, oppo bdp95, ps4, apple tv, psb image t6, t5, c5, b4, 2xsubseries 300. 9.2ch, wireworld chroma 7 hdmi, qed revelation speaker cable.
soundsgoodrecord is offline  
post #1560 of 2040 Old 10-09-2013, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundsgoodrecord View Post

image t6 for mains c5 for center, t5 for surround back, b4 for surround and b4 for front height. my room is 15' x 15'. hav not tried the XPA-5 yet. dont intend to change the speakers cause i dont have the budget. thought the XPA-5 would help improve on the sound quality?i only have the budget for the XPA-5.

i am not saying change your speakers...especially because I have not experienced the thin sound with movies...and that is your main listening. you could try altering the position of your speakers..and some room treatments which may help.

but ultimately, you can always try the xpa5 at the small risk of only the cost of return shipping....using the risk free 30 day trial smile.gif

Panasonic 65VT30 | Denon x4000 | Emotiva XPA-5 | Emotiva XSP-1 | Emotiva DC-1 | PSB imagine B's |PSB image c5 | PSB B4's | DUAL PSA XS30 | OPPO 103 | minidsp
my HT gallery: http://www.blu-ray.com/community/gallery.php?u=240707

Brian Fineberg is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Emotiva Xpa 5 5 Channel Power Amplifier

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off