Official Emotiva XPA-5 Owners Thread - Page 52 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 94Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2013, 12:39 PM
Member
 
tristan82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto, ontario
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok great looks like i will just pic one up after i get the last few speakers and my second sub b4 i start to worry about the amp
tristan82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2013, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 9,027
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post

A channel is apparently going out in my XPA-5. frown.gif Seems to be thermal'ish as it runs for a while then dies, then works after a reset, then dies a little sooner, etc. I rarely have time to listen anymore so had not noticed it; it happened a month or so ago when my sons were using the media room but a reset kept it going the rest of the night for them. Have to jump through the usual trouble-shooting steps wth Emotiva, hoping they let me replace the amp module instead of shipping the whole thing back. I let them know I have access to nice lab, we'll see...

Sorry to hear that Don. I'd be interested in knowing if Emo let you replace the amp module.  Something like this is a nightmare for me as I am in the UK - shipping the amp back to the States would cost what the amp is worth. But if ever I needed to fix it, knowing they would send out the parts would be a big relief. Good luck with it.

Since I have very little time in my media room and it seems to take an hour or two to show up, it is going to take a while to debug...

Emotiva said they do not ship parts within the US (implies they will outside the US). They did say they would provide their UPS info so I ship at their rates instead of mine, which should save some $$$. IIRC others have reportedly received parts instead of having to ship the amp. We'll see... I can certainly understand why they would not; liability if I destroy something (including myself) and risk of latent damage that causes a problem later due to me not taking proper care etc. They have no practical way of verifying my expertise (maybe I should send them a resume, with references? smile.gif )

Even though nothing should have changed, always the chance a wire strand got off, or it could be the AVR or speaker (I hope not!) I am going to modify their debug steps a bit to (hopefully) move things along.
kbarnes701 likes this.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Old 09-05-2013, 04:36 PM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I picked up an XPA-5 secondhand while at EmoFest this weekend. Couldn't pass up on the deal and now waiting for the XMC release. I've currently got a Sherbourn SR8100 on my main system as a placeholder.
PGT FTW is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
nakenergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What speaker cables are you using with your EMO amps? Are the Emotiva speaker cables good?
nakenergy is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 9,027
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
I have Monster Cable (several flavors, came with various systems through the years), a few older "boutique" cables (e.g. Fulton Gold), various zip cord in 16 and 14 AWG (Radio Shack, Wal-Mart, various tech store stock wire), and 14 and 12 AWG cables from Monoprice and Home Depot (standard house wiring, stranded). Can't tell any difference among them in my system. YMMV. The Emotiva interconnects I have used have been decent, and Blue Jeans Cable is another source of good quality pre-builts using quality wire. I would probably just get 12 AWG from Monoprice and call it done.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 09:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 26,416
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6740 Post(s)
Liked: 5015
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakenergy View Post

What speaker cables are you using with your EMO amps? Are the Emotiva speaker cables good?

 

Any 14 AWG wire will be as good as anything you can buy, assuming your runs are limited to about 40 feet or so.  There is no benefit in so-called 'exotic' speaker wires.

 

Here's a useful article:

 

Speaker Wire - Fact and Fiction

kbarnes701 is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 09:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 26,416
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6740 Post(s)
Liked: 5015
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post

I have Monster Cable (several flavors, came with various systems through the years), a few older "boutique" cables (e.g. Fulton Gold), various zip cord in 16 and 14 AWG (Radio Shack, Wal-Mart, various tech store stock wire), and 14 and 12 AWG cables from Monoprice and Home Depot (standard house wiring, stranded). Can't tell any difference among them in my system. YMMV. The Emotiva interconnects I have used have been decent, and Blue Jeans Cable is another source of good quality pre-builts using quality wire. I would probably just get 12 AWG from Monoprice and call it done.

 

+1.  Although for reasonable runs and 8 ohm speakers I'd use 14 AWG. 12 AWG is perfectly fine of course and gives some 'latitude' but it's a bit stiff and so a bit more difficult to use. But yeah... either...

kbarnes701 is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,583
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakenergy View Post

What speaker cables are you using with your EMO amps? Are the Emotiva speaker cables good?

Monoprice 12 AWG with Techflex, Parts Express cable pants and Emotiva banana speakers plugs.


cr136124 is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 10:43 AM
Member
 
SHadoWFoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

Monoprice 12 AWG with Techflex, Parts Express cable pants and Emotiva banana speakers plugs.




Cable pants, is that what it is called? Quite a fitting name. biggrin.gif I have been looking for this for awhile with not much luck because I don't know it is called. mad.gif

Learn something new everyday. Thanks.

Shadow Fox

SHadoWFoX is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,583
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHadoWFoX View Post

Cable pants, is that what it is called? Quite a fitting name. biggrin.gif I have been looking for this for awhile with not much lock because I don't know it is called. mad.gif

Learn something new everyday. Thanks.


LOL. Here is the direct link just in case:


http://www.parts-express.com/cat/cable-pants/565
cr136124 is offline  
Old 09-10-2013, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 9,027
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
I always called them cable sleeves...

Are cable shirts used for interconnects? smile.gif

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Old 09-11-2013, 09:33 AM
Member
 
SHadoWFoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have my XPA 5 Gen 2 for about two months now. But because my preamp was out for a repair for close to a month I only get to really using it in the past month.

There are two things I can say for sure. It is quiet. No noise that I hear with my ear parked right above it. It does not run hot after an hour of use. It is usually around 90F in a TV stand that is opened on the back side with few open slots on the bottom for better ventilation. I do have two Cooler Guys blower fan placed on top of it controlled by their Thermal control unit. I set for the fans to kick in at 93F.

Sonic wise I don't think I have done enough serious listening tell a big difference yet. It is a keeper for now considering I bought it as a quick fix after my previous amp quit on me.

Shadow Fox

SHadoWFoX is offline  
Old 09-11-2013, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

Monoprice 12 AWG with Techflex, Parts Express cable pants and Emotiva banana speakers plugs.




How many snakes had to die to get that cable wrapped? biggrin.gif

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,583
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post

How many snakes had to die to get that cable wrapped? biggrin.gif

Just two...........LOL!
cr136124 is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

Just two...........LOL!

Alot more died during my cable making

DSC00790.jpg
DSC00781.jpg
DSC00810.jpg
nezff is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,583
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post

Alot more died during my cable making
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
DSC00790.jpg
DSC00781.jpg
DSC00810.jpg

Man.........you killed mama, papa and baby snakes for all those cables.............eek.gif

tongue.gif
nezff likes this.
cr136124 is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post

Alot more died during my cable making

Where are you getting this sleeve from?

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cr136124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,583
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post

Where are you getting this sleeve from?

Have fun.........wink.gif


http://stores.ebay.com/FURRYLETTERS
cr136124 is offline  
Old 09-12-2013, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 9,027
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Update: I managed to do a little troubleshooting on my XPA-5 last weekend. The symptom was one channel was going into protection mode, flashing red LED and shutting down the amp. AFAIK nothing had changed so I was not concerned about a wiring error; I figured it ws the amp. One thing I noticed was it took an hour two before any issues, indicating a thermal issue. After resetting, it would often run for quite a while before going out again, a little strange since the amp did not have time to cool significantly during the minute or so it was off. But, switching inputs on the AVR would send it instantly into protect again. Hmmm... That usually indicates a bad coupling capacitor, perhaps a bad ground or output buffer (DC on the output), in the AVR or amp. More debugging needed, drat!

Getting behind the console is a major PITA, need to move it out a bit but with amps and other components plus a TV on top it weighs several hundred pounds. I snuck behind with the idea of swapping cables to see if it stayed on the same amp channel or followed the AVR's output. Next would be swamping speaker runs. I reached behind to pull the input, and aha! That channel's input cable was very loose, almost falling out. Hmmm... My son pulled cables loose from my cable hooks and wire ties to get his PS-3 out to take to college and apparently pulled that one loose. (Old cable, pretty weak capture.) I plugged it back in (more) tightly and have not had a problem in several hours of movies and music. Too early to call it fixed, but very encouraging. Probably ground through other cables prevented serious hum, but without a good ground any switching glitch would not be shunted by the input resistor and create a very loud pop. The amp prevented that by shutting down, a good thing. This weekend I hope to pull the console out a bit for better access, re-dress all my wiring to clean things up back there, and double-check all the other connections!

Hopefully a false alarm after all, but hopefully I can help somebody prevent a similar issue. Should have remembered to never assume nothing changed...

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Old 09-13-2013, 01:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post

Update: I managed to do a little troubleshooting ... my son pulled some cables loose to get his PS-3 out to take to college ... hopefully I can help somebody with a similar issue. Should have remembered to never assume nothing changed...
Sounds like you nailed it. It's what makes the hobby fun and a headache, all at the same time. Keeping an open mind during failure analysis is hard to do, but so important. Thanks for the update. 👍


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is offline  
Old 09-13-2013, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr136124 View Post

Have fun.........wink.gif


http://stores.ebay.com/FURRYLETTERS


Sweet! Thanks

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
Old 09-15-2013, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67jason View Post

you have to call them...kinda archaic but it works. wink.gif

or email they will tell you availability and price.

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 03:30 AM
Member
 
soundsgoodrecord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,
im a newbie in this forum. im thinking of the XPA-5 Gen2 and have a few questions, so bare with me. im currently using Pioneer sc-57 avr with PSB image speakers (6 ohms). im happy with the sound at low and mid volumes but comes to high volumes can sound harsh and less detail. on movies like transformer 3 when voice shouting can sound straining.
my system is 9.2 channel and thinking of adding a 5 channel power amp to drive main left,right, centre and surround. the rest will be driven by the avr.
if i get the XPA-5 Gen2 would it improve sound quality at high volumes? can it sound better then the Pioneer sc-57? mostly watch blu-ray movies and concerts. not concern on stereo at all. anybody could give some advice on this matter but i understand not many have the same setup but just a basic simple answer will do. pls excuse my weak explanation. hope u guys understand. thanks

sony vpl-vw320es/screen innovation black diamond 108", Denon avrx7200wa, Cambridge audio a120,
oppo bdp-105D, ps4, apple tv, goldenear triton three, supercenter xl, invisa htr7000, invisa 525, aon 3 & 2, forcefield 5 x 2, wireworld chroma 7 hdmi, qed revelation speaker cable.
soundsgoodrecord is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 03:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,935
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3273 Post(s)
Liked: 3080
Which images do you have? How big is your room

I used to have the inage b6's run by the xpa5. While i never noticed it with movies at -5db. I DOD NOTICE the thin sound with music. It was the speakers.

I have since moved up to the imagine line and this thin sound at high volumes is no longer an issue. So i think its the limitations of the speakers more than the amp

Hope this helps

JVC RS400 4K PJ | Denon x7200WA 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X | Emotiva XPA-5 gen2 |Emotiva XPA-200 gen2 | DIY 1099's LCR| (4) VOLT 6 sidesurrounds/Back Surrounds | (4) VOLT 6 ATMOS | 1 - PSA XS30 | (2) DIY SI-HT18 sealed (2) DIY SI18 DS4 sealed| (2) inuke6000dp | Samsung K8500 4k UHD BDP | 16x11x7.5 sealed HT SadieMax theater...my first DIY build and ongoing projects
Brian Fineberg is online now  
Old 10-09-2013, 05:43 AM
Member
 
soundsgoodrecord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Fineberg View Post

Which images do you have? How big is your room

I used to have the inage b6's run by the xpa5. While i never noticed it with movies at -5db. I DOD NOTICE the thin sound with music. It was the speakers.

I have since moved up to the imagine line and this thin sound at high volumes is no longer an issue. So i think its the limitations of the speakers more than the amp

Hope this helps
image t6 for mains c5 for center, t5 for surround back, b4 for surround and b4 for front height. my room is 15' x 15'. hav not tried the XPA-5 yet. dont intend to change the speakers cause i dont have the budget. thought the XPA-5 would help improve on the sound quality?i only have the budget for the XPA-5.

sony vpl-vw320es/screen innovation black diamond 108", Denon avrx7200wa, Cambridge audio a120,
oppo bdp-105D, ps4, apple tv, goldenear triton three, supercenter xl, invisa htr7000, invisa 525, aon 3 & 2, forcefield 5 x 2, wireworld chroma 7 hdmi, qed revelation speaker cable.
soundsgoodrecord is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,935
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3273 Post(s)
Liked: 3080
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundsgoodrecord View Post

image t6 for mains c5 for center, t5 for surround back, b4 for surround and b4 for front height. my room is 15' x 15'. hav not tried the XPA-5 yet. dont intend to change the speakers cause i dont have the budget. thought the XPA-5 would help improve on the sound quality?i only have the budget for the XPA-5.

i am not saying change your speakers...especially because I have not experienced the thin sound with movies...and that is your main listening. you could try altering the position of your speakers..and some room treatments which may help.

but ultimately, you can always try the xpa5 at the small risk of only the cost of return shipping....using the risk free 30 day trial smile.gif

JVC RS400 4K PJ | Denon x7200WA 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X | Emotiva XPA-5 gen2 |Emotiva XPA-200 gen2 | DIY 1099's LCR| (4) VOLT 6 sidesurrounds/Back Surrounds | (4) VOLT 6 ATMOS | 1 - PSA XS30 | (2) DIY SI-HT18 sealed (2) DIY SI18 DS4 sealed| (2) inuke6000dp | Samsung K8500 4k UHD BDP | 16x11x7.5 sealed HT SadieMax theater...my first DIY build and ongoing projects
Brian Fineberg is online now  
Old 10-09-2013, 06:12 AM
Member
 
soundsgoodrecord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Fineberg View Post

i am not saying change your speakers...especially because I have not experienced the thin sound with movies...and that is your main listening. you could try altering the position of your speakers..and some room treatments which may help.

but ultimately, you can always try the xpa5 at the small risk of only the cost of return shipping....using the risk free 30 day trial smile.gif
already tried altering speaker positions and room treatments. mayb will try the risk free 30 days trial. can it drive 6 ohms speakers? thanks for your help Brian.

sony vpl-vw320es/screen innovation black diamond 108", Denon avrx7200wa, Cambridge audio a120,
oppo bdp-105D, ps4, apple tv, goldenear triton three, supercenter xl, invisa htr7000, invisa 525, aon 3 & 2, forcefield 5 x 2, wireworld chroma 7 hdmi, qed revelation speaker cable.
soundsgoodrecord is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 9,027
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Yes it can drive 6 ohms; it is rated at 4 ohms.

Emotiva has a web site that includes specs and test results.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 07:01 AM
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 297

The XPA amps are rated for 4 ohms loads, so 6 would be no problem.  My question is, what volume is your AVR set at when you notice the sound issue?  A room that is 15 x 15 would have limitations that might be affecting things, depending on how loud you are running at.

 

I looked it up and your Pioneer is THX Ultra rated.  That speaks to higher class amplification and I'm familiar with this because my Onkyo has the same rating, and it doesn't run out of steam as easily as a mid level avr.  The reviewer was pretty impressed with the Pioneer room correction, that was my next possible issue.  Were you satisfied that the set up ran correctly and the results were good?

 

Other than that, it is possible that you are running out of steam and a separate amp can certainly help there. I actually added an Outlaw 125 watts x 7 to my Onkyo, which has the same wattage output as your SC 57 and the improvement was noticeable, though my issues weren't volume related.  I'd think though that the XPA-5 would be a good place to make an improvement if my above suggestions aren't a cause of your issues.

audio4life is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Fineberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,935
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3273 Post(s)
Liked: 3080
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundsgoodrecord View Post

already tried altering speaker positions and room treatments. mayb will try the risk free 30 days trial. can it drive 6 ohms speakers? thanks for your help Brian.

yes it will drive them easily...

remember I had the EXACT speaker setup as you although I had bookshelf mains (but still 6ohm) I have a feeling the xpa5 is what your looking for..

JVC RS400 4K PJ | Denon x7200WA 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X | Emotiva XPA-5 gen2 |Emotiva XPA-200 gen2 | DIY 1099's LCR| (4) VOLT 6 sidesurrounds/Back Surrounds | (4) VOLT 6 ATMOS | 1 - PSA XS30 | (2) DIY SI-HT18 sealed (2) DIY SI18 DS4 sealed| (2) inuke6000dp | Samsung K8500 4k UHD BDP | 16x11x7.5 sealed HT SadieMax theater...my first DIY build and ongoing projects
Brian Fineberg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Emotiva Xpa 5 5 Channel Power Amplifier
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off