Pioneer vsx-1020 and vsx-1120 - Page 20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2011, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
ace518's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I've read through this thread and saw some discussion about half way through about the possibility of running a 7.1 + 2 height channel setup off of the 1120. I know it cannot amp all 9 channels as it is a 7 channel amp, but it seemed no one was yet sure of if the preamps for height could be used in conjunction with 7.1 surround mode. I was curious if this is possible.
I want to run 7.1 off the amp, and then send the preamp height channels to a separate 2 channel amp(my old one that i'm replacing). If anyone that has the 1120 knows if this is possible, please let me know. Also, I see this item is no longer available at bestbuy or newegg. Does anyone have any suggestions on a good place to pick up this item. Thank you in advance.
ace518 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2011, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
dnoyeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southfield, MI
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe you can amp all 9.1 channels. You just can't do high and wide fronts together.either or but not both.

Signature.
dnoyeB is offline  
Old 03-02-2011, 04:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
^^^

no... you cannot do 9.1...

it is a 7.1 unit... it will only produce 8 channels of output at a time, even with external amplification....

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
Old 03-02-2011, 04:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnoyeB View Post

I'm doing this. It doubles the power to the speakers. Handy when you have 200w speakers and a 100w amp.

In case I'm not clear. I tested this with my AVR. My speakers are significantly louder with bi-amping. I can only guess why someone would say it does nothing!?

no... it doesn't double the power to your speakers in any way... it doesn't increase it in any material way at all... when will people learn this basic fact about passive bi-amping????

without graphs and measurements, that's an "observation" (louder), not a "fact"...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
Old 03-03-2011, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
ace518's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

no... you cannot do 9.1...

it is a 7.1 unit... it will only produce 8 channels of output at a time, even with external amplification....

That is a shame. Was really kinda hoping for this. Any recommendations on a unit in the same price range that would do this(ie. does the onkyo 708 offer this)? Its quite hard to filter receivers down on features like this without a ton of research :-(
ace518 is offline  
Old 03-03-2011, 01:19 PM
Member
 
serworacle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi..I just bought Bose AM 10 series IV..
Next issue is selection of the receiver..
The choices are;
Pio 1020(350$)
Pio 1120(560$)
Yamaha 2065(570$)

At the beginning I decided to buy Yamaha,but then realized that Pio has extra iPhone,3D and THX specialties..so I am about to eliminate Yamaha but not sure yet..
The other choices;
1120 is 200$ more expensive than 1020..is it worth paying that money for 1120..is there anyone running Bose with Pio 1020..and satisfied?or with 1120 or Yamaha of course..pls share your experiences here..I'm not a audiophile so pls consider this..
serworacle is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 08:22 AM
Member
 
KissmyLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by serworacle View Post

Hi..I just bought Bose AM 10 series IV..
Next issue is selection of the receiver..
The choices are;
Pio 1020(350$)
Pio 1120(560$)
Yamaha 2065(570$)

At the beginning I decided to buy Yamaha,but then realized that Pio has extra iPhone,3D and THX specialties..so I am about to eliminate Yamaha but not sure yet..
The other choices;
1120 is 200$ more expensive than 1020..is it worth paying that money for 1120..is there anyone running Bose with Pio 1020..and satisfied?or with 1120 or Yamaha of course..pls share your experiences here..I'm not a audiophile so pls consider this..

Wait for the Pioneer 1021 comes out soon.
KissmyLCD is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 09:38 PM
Member
 
Robert311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I've owned the 1020 since it came out last year, but I've run into a small problem. I've been running 5.1 with no problems, but yesterday I went into my mcacc just to check out some things. When I exited the mcacc and went back to whatever I was watching, my receiver was running 2.1, not 5.1. On the screen, it's showing "auto hdmi" on the left, and to the right of it, the "L", "R", and "XC" speakers are lit up. I used to have all 5 speakers and subwoofer active. But something I did changed it to a 2.1 setup. And I've never seen the "XC" light up before... I don't even know what that is. How do I go back to a 5.1 surround? Help?

LOST is the best tv show ever.

Go Dodgers!

Go Lakers!
Robert311 is offline  
Old 04-05-2011, 01:46 AM
Member
 
Robert311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doesn't seem like anyone's gonna answer this, but I think there's no problem. I was watching tv where it displayed this. When I went to a movie on my PS3 it went back to the normal 5.1

LOST is the best tv show ever.

Go Dodgers!

Go Lakers!
Robert311 is offline  
Old 10-08-2013, 07:07 PM
Newbie
 
Chief71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Help!

 

Housekeeper screwed up my surround settings on my 1020.  The left and right mains work fine in Dolby but the center and rear surrounds do not work with my DVR.  When switch to Bluray, all speakers work fine.  I've hit the auto surround button and this usually solves my problem but only the left and right main are lit up on the display and are pushing sound with my DVR.

 

Help! :)

Chief71 is offline  
Old 10-08-2013, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Threxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If it's in 5-channel mode and only two channels are playing then most likely your DVR is actually outputting only 2 channels (stereo)... check your DVR's settings first.
Chief71 likes this.
Threxx is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off