The "Official" Onkyo TX-SR608 Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 04:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tunaman4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Indy View Post

BUT, shouldn't it be like in the past with say the 805 which I had and members on here had the upgrade firmware file that you could download onto a cd/dvd and play it in your blu-ray/dvd player to upgrade your firmware? It was very easy and took like 5 minutes.

If thats possible, Onkyo didn't say so... I'm all for that!

PS3 Screenname Tunaman4u2 for COD MW2 & TigerWoods 11
tunaman4u2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 07:24 AM
Member
 
SHaklee3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what's the verdict on the cables? I need to buy new HDMI cables, and I don't have a 3D tv. Can I just buy some cheapo ones off amazon that are 1.3?
SHaklee3 is offline  
post #33 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 08:01 AM
Member
 
michaelahess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Middle of Nowhere Wyoming
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHaklee3 View Post

So what's the verdict on the cables? I need to buy new HDMI cables, and I don't have a 3D tv. Can I just buy some cheapo ones off amazon that are 1.3?

As long as you aren't using the audio return or ethernet features, any HDMI cable will do (1.2, 1.3, etc).

Heck even good original HDMI cables should work fine as long as they aren't really long.

The two new features use additional pins so it's the same plug but different cable all together.
michaelahess is offline  
post #34 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 08:04 AM
Member
 
michaelahess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Middle of Nowhere Wyoming
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunaman4u2 View Post

If thats possible, Onkyo didn't say so... I'm all for that!

That would be awesome! Though after thinking about it....I'm putting this receiever in my living room where I have a PS3 that will supposedly do 3D, so when I upgrade that TV, I'll just go optical out like I do now to the Onkyo and HDMI straight to the TV. No longer an issue.

And if for some reason I need the 1.4a in the living room, I'll upgrade my bedroom with the 608 and get a new 808 or something for the living room. Same cost as burning 12 hours of drive time.

I don't need the ethernet on those two tv's as I have the PS3 on one and a computer on the other. I use the ethernet VERY extensively on my 1007 in the theater as it has the two extra zones going to my front and rear decks.
michaelahess is offline  
post #35 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 08:37 AM
Member
 
SHaklee3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelahess View Post

As long as you aren't using the audio return or ethernet features, any HDMI cable will do (1.2, 1.3, etc).

Heck even good original HDMI cables should work fine as long as they aren't really long.

The two new features use additional pins so it's the same plug but different cable all together.

What is audio return? I want to bitstream audio from my HTPC.
SHaklee3 is offline  
post #36 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 08:57 AM
 
googlegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunaman4u2 View Post

UGH! Another call to Onkyo... they are helpful mostly though

Update:

Since the Onkyo 608 does NOT have an USB port... you will NEED to get a firmware update through the Optical port AT A SERVICE CENTER.


You better hope you're close to a service center before ordering this unit.

As yamaha's also can do firmware updates through the Optical port, and its user friendly, just download to a recordable CD and play it in a disc player with the Optical port connected. Onkyo just may do it the same way as yamaha and no service center needed for this simple update. The onkyo website does show a frimware update link for the 608, so this possible option looks very real
googlegod is offline  
post #37 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 09:04 AM
 
googlegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
googlegod is offline  
post #38 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tunaman4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome work guys! Thanks for the info...

PS3 Screenname Tunaman4u2 for COD MW2 & TigerWoods 11
tunaman4u2 is offline  
post #39 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 09:13 AM
Member
 
DerKaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by googlegod View Post

Instruction Manual for 608

http://filedepot.onkyousa.com/Files/...466c64294e5754

Power consumption is nearly the same as my 605. I guess the 608 won't be running any cooler.
DerKaiser is offline  
post #40 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
zorro007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On Wed, Mar 31, 2010 at 6:00 AM, wrote:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank You for contacting Onkyo USA Product Support.

We apologize for the delay in responding to your email. We are experiencing a heavy volume of inquiries. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

The TX-SR608 should begin shipping toward the middle to end of April, I suggest that you continue to check onkyousa.com for updates.

Thanks,
Jose



Again, thank you for contacting Onkyo USA Product Support, if you need further assistance feel free to call us at 800-229-1687 or visit our websites integrahometheater.com, onkyousa.com or shoponkyo.com for product information, purchasing new and refurbished products, catalogues, hookup diagrams, authorized service & sales center locations, and warranty information.

If you need to contact our Parts, Customer Relations, Orders and Credit Departments for Onkyo Products, please call 201-785-2600.

If you need to contact our Parts, Customer Relations, Orders and Credit Departments for Integra Products, please call 201-818-9200.

Product Support Team Hours of Operation:
Monday thru Friday 9am to 8pm EST
Saturday & Sunday 10am to 4pm EST

:cool:Onkyo SR 608
PANASONIC TH-42PX60U
Definitive Tech Speakers 600 Series
PS3
Philips DVD/CD Player
Apple TV
DIRECTV HR 300
zorro007 is offline  
post #41 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tunaman4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the very painful reminder!

PS3 Screenname Tunaman4u2 for COD MW2 & TigerWoods 11
tunaman4u2 is offline  
post #42 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
DaveHCYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I keep seeing it posted over and over in this and other threads that the 608 is the 707 + hdmi 1.4.

Keep in mind one potentially major missing feature that the 707 had is pre-outs. So if that was important to you, then the 707 or 807 might still be a good choice until the 708/808 come out.
DaveHCYJ is offline  
post #43 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tunaman4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveHCYJ View Post

I keep seeing it posted over and over in this and other threads that the 608 is the 707 + hdmi 1.4.

Keep in mind one potentially major missing feature that the 707 had is pre-outs. So if that was important to you, then the 707 or 807 might still be a good choice until the 708/808 come out.

Why are preouts so valuable? What situations should you get a preout amp vs the 608?
Thanks,
Mike

PS3 Screenname Tunaman4u2 for COD MW2 & TigerWoods 11
tunaman4u2 is offline  
post #44 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunaman4u2 View Post

Why are preouts so valuable?

To get 9.1/.2 sound: 5.1/.2 + 2 back surrounds + 2 front height (or front wide) through external amp.

Greg Lee
GregLee is online now  
post #45 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tunaman4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregLee View Post

To get 9.1/.2 sound: 5.1/.2 + 2 back surrounds + 2 front height (or front wide) through external amp.

Hell of a setup there...

I'm personally running 4 in-ceiling surrounds, 2 floorstanders, a center & sub for the classic 7.1 with no additional zones. For a traditional 5.1 or 7.1 set up like this, the Onkyo 608 should be fine without the need for pre-outs.

PS3 Screenname Tunaman4u2 for COD MW2 & TigerWoods 11
tunaman4u2 is offline  
post #46 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Khakimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: who knows
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes unless you are going to wide or height, then 7.1 is fine. I think the height feature is pretty nice. Works great with games.
Khakimon is offline  
post #47 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 02:41 PM
tdx
Member
 
tdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone knows if these will have an emulated surround sound function for headphones? I looked at the manual and couldn't find such a thing.
tdx is offline  
post #48 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 02:49 PM
Member
 
michaelahess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Middle of Nowhere Wyoming
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHaklee3 View Post

What is audio return? I want to bitstream audio from my HTPC.

A lot of folks will run all their sources to their TV's, then use optical out of the TV to their receiver.

This feature replaces the optical by allowing the TV audio to return to the receiver via HDMI, thus eliminating a cable and port.

If you run all your HDMI and analog sources (audio wise) to your receiver directly, this feature is useless.
michaelahess is offline  
post #49 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelahess View Post

A lot of folks will run all their sources to their TV's, then use optical out of the TV to their receiver.

I hope not a lot do. This loses all multi-channel information beyond stereo.
Quote:


If you run all your HDMI and analog sources (audio wise) to your receiver directly, this feature is useless.

No, because audio from the TV tuner has no way to get to your receiver other than by a cable: HDMI if you have ARC, or optical digital, or other.

Greg Lee
GregLee is online now  
post #50 of 5285 Old 03-31-2010, 06:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Khakimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: who knows
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregLee View Post

I hope not a lot do. This loses all multi-channel information beyond stereo.

No, because audio from the TV tuner has no way to get to your receiver other than by a cable: HDMI if you have ARC, or optical digital, or other.

Some TVs like mine take HDMI in and send DD and DTS info on to the receiver. I used to use this until I went all HDMI.
Khakimon is offline  
post #51 of 5285 Old 04-01-2010, 01:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dalumberjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 43
this upsets me. I just spent the money on a 5007 and now the hdmi 1.4 models are starting to come out.

UGH.... They need to slow down the pace of releasing updated units.
Dalumberjack is offline  
post #52 of 5285 Old 04-01-2010, 02:34 PM
Member
 
michaelahess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Middle of Nowhere Wyoming
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregLee View Post

I hope not a lot do. This loses all multi-channel information beyond stereo.

No, because audio from the TV tuner has no way to get to your receiver other than by a cable: HDMI if you have ARC, or optical digital, or other.

I have two TV's doing this passing DD 5.1 fine. I've seen over a dozen systems setup this way as well. This may be tv dependant then? I do the same thing with my gaming PC to my projector/receiver. 5.1 works great over it.

I've never met anyone using a TV tuner , they all have cable/satellite boxes, but I guess that's a valid point.
michaelahess is offline  
post #53 of 5285 Old 04-01-2010, 03:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Khakimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: who knows
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelahess View Post

I have two TV's doing this passing DD 5.1 fine. I've seen over a dozen systems setup this way as well. This may be tv dependant then? I do the same thing with my gaming PC to my projector/receiver. 5.1 works great over it.

I've never met anyone using a TV tuner , they all have cable/satellite boxes, but I guess that's a valid point.

It is TV dependent. But it is out there. Usually high-mid tier to high tier sets.
Khakimon is offline  
post #54 of 5285 Old 04-01-2010, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
zorro007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK....finally ordered 608 yesterday from JR . They gave a good deal !

:cool:Onkyo SR 608
PANASONIC TH-42PX60U
Definitive Tech Speakers 600 Series
PS3
Philips DVD/CD Player
Apple TV
DIRECTV HR 300
zorro007 is offline  
post #55 of 5285 Old 04-01-2010, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tunaman4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
onkyo announces 1.4a specs!!! Worth the wait!!! Congrats onkyo!!

PS3 Screenname Tunaman4u2 for COD MW2 & TigerWoods 11
tunaman4u2 is offline  
post #56 of 5285 Old 04-01-2010, 05:37 PM
 
Elfy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this should make many of you future TX-SR608 owners very happy. Just posted on Onkyo's website today:

New Onkyo Home Theater Products Compatible with HDMI 1.4a (3D)
04/01/10 - UPPER SADDLE RIVER, NJ (3/31/2010) -- Onkyo USA confirmed today that its home theater products currently being rolled out and on sale after March 2010 will be compatible with the Side-By-Side (Half) and Top-and-Bottom 3D video formats*1. These formats have been added by HDMI Licensing, LLC*2 as mandatory formats for 3D broadcast content in the specification for HDMI version 1.4a.

Onkyo's announcement applies to the recently announced A/V receiver models TX-SR308, TX-SR508 and TX-SR608, home theater system models HT-S3300, HT-S5300 and HTX-22HDX, as well as all A/V receivers and HTiB products that will be introduced this year.


*1 The added mandatory resolutions are as follows:

Side-By-Side (Half): 1080i at 50 Hz or 59.94 Hz/60 Hz

Top-and-Bottom: 720p at 50 Hz or 59.94 Hz/60 Hz, 1080p at 23.97 Hz/24 Hz

*2HDMI Licensing, LLC is the agent responsible for licensing the HDMI specification. On March 3rd 2010, it released the specification for HDMI version 1.4a, which added requirements regarding 3D broadcast formats. Onkyo confirms the adoption of these new requirements according to the specification released by HDMI Licensing, LLC.


Since 1946 Onkyo has been passionately committed to developing audio products that deliver uncommon performance, quality and value. Bundling proprietary technologies and innovations with other sound-enhancing exclusives, Onkyo continues to created award winning products that are lauded by many of the industry leading audio publications. The company's philosophy is to deliver products that are superbly designed and built to a consistently outstanding standard of excellence. Today, Onkyo is at the forefront of the home theater and digital revolutions. For more information about this and other fine Onkyo products


Elfy1234 is offline  
post #57 of 5285 Old 04-01-2010, 05:38 PM
 
Elfy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Elfy1234 is offline  
post #58 of 5285 Old 04-01-2010, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elfy1234 View Post

TX-SR608 OWNERS MANUAL:


http://filedepot.onkyousa.com/Files/...3e651d73852262

It is also on the Onkyo Website HERE I downloaded it a few days ago and placed my Pre-Order.
drhankz is offline  
post #59 of 5285 Old 04-01-2010, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelahess View Post

I have two TV's doing this passing DD 5.1 fine. I've seen over a dozen systems setup this way as well. This may be tv dependant then?

It is TV dependent. None of the TVs I've had would send out DD 5.1 sound via the optical digital connection unless the signal came from the TV's own tuner, and I've seen a substantial number of complaints from users who've tried to use their TVs as audio switching devices but then couldn't figure out why they couldn't get DD 5.1 sound. I know there are a few high-end TVs that will route DD 5.1 from an HDMI input to a digital audio output, and though I haven't counted models, my impression is that TVs working this way are quite rare.

If you're using a TV in this way, perhaps it's worthwhile double-checking to make sure that you really are getting DD 5.1 sound through the TV and you're not just hearing Dolby PL surround, inferred from 2 channel stereo.

Greg Lee
GregLee is online now  
post #60 of 5285 Old 04-01-2010, 08:13 PM
Member
 
michaelahess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Middle of Nowhere Wyoming
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregLee View Post

It is TV dependent. None of the TVs I've had would send out DD 5.1 sound via the optical digital connection unless the signal came from the TV's own tuner, and I've seen a substantial number of complaints from users who've tried to use their TVs as audio switching devices but then couldn't figure out why they couldn't get DD 5.1 sound. I know there are a few high-end TVs that will route DD 5.1 from an HDMI input to a digital audio output, and though I haven't counted models, my impression is that TVs working this way are quite rare.

If you're using a TV in this way, perhaps it's worthwhile double-checking to make sure that you really are getting DD 5.1 sound through the TV and you're not just hearing Dolby PL surround, inferred from 2 channel stereo.

My Hitachi does it, I'm positive it's DD 5.1, and my Akai POS 32" does it as well. All the others I've seen have been toshiba/sony/panasonic. I don't recall the models I've seen do this, but I'm about 70% confident 30% of them passed it properly.

Sorry this is all off topic, glad to hear 1.4a is gonna be supported!
michaelahess is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off