The "Official" Onkyo TX-SR608 Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 5282 Old 05-13-2010, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Ordered the 608 today from ABT.

I'm coming from a 606 that had its HDMI board replaced after a year. Aside from that, I loved the 606 and can't wait until the 608 gets here in a few weeks.
bhazard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 5282 Old 05-13-2010, 07:26 PM
Member
 
BenCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to throw another test song out there from my car stereo days. The Eagles : Hotel California from Hell Freezes Over, AWESOME!!
BenCA is offline  
post #903 of 5282 Old 05-13-2010, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tunaman4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watching the Boston Celtics WIN WIN WIN with the Onkyo 608 is VERY sweet! THAT"S WHAT I"M TALKING ABOUT!! Bruins tomorrow!
You feel like you're at the game!

PS3 Screenname Tunaman4u2 for COD MW2 & TigerWoods 11
tunaman4u2 is offline  
post #904 of 5282 Old 05-13-2010, 11:13 PM
Newbie
 
AnimeEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by syphon00 View Post

quick question for you gamers out there
have you tried letting the 608 do the upscaling to see if its better than the console's internal scaler?
like setting the PS3 / Xbox 360 to 720p, since most games are 720p native anyways
and letting the 608 scale up to 1080p

thanks

I don't think the PS3 does any upscaling of games. I have a PS3 and my TV displays 1080p when I play full HD games and it shows 720p when I play 720p games. If it does upscaling, then I would see 1080p all the time.
AnimeEd is offline  
post #905 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 05:25 AM
Member
 
Jagged1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnimeEd View Post

I don't think the PS3 does any upscaling of games. I have a PS3 and my TV displays 1080p when I play full HD games and it shows 720p when I play 720p games. If it does upscaling, then I would see 1080p all the time.

I can confirm my PS3 Slim outputs 720P Games at 720P to my Samsung 52A650 and it shows it on the input info banner that pops up.

I would also like to know though if the 608 would upscale the PS3's 720P input to 1080P and improve the image of the 720P games played on the PS3. It would be nice for those games that rely on being able to see sharper images at distance.

Grid and some of the 720P racing games would be easier if the barrier you are closing on at 100+MPH were clearer before you are 10 feet from eating it! The 1080P games seem better in that regard and an up-converted image would likely be useful if done well and with no lag.

My 608 is supposed to be here next week so I'll see what it can do then.
Jagged1 is offline  
post #906 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagged1 View Post


I would also like to know though if the 608 would upscale the PS3's 720P input to 1080P and improve the image of the 720P games played on the PS3. It would be nice for those games that rely on being able to see sharper images at distance.

Of Course it will upscale 720P to 1080P, that is why a lot of us Bought the 608.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagged1 View Post


Grid and some of the 720P racing games would be easier if the barrier you are closing on at 100+MPH were clearer before you are 10 feet from eating it! The 1080P games seem better in that regard and an up-converted image would likely be useful if done well and with no lag.

1080P Games are better for Crispness.

There is an old Engineering Saying - Garbage In equals Garbage Out.

I'm not saying the 720P is Garbage - it is a HD format. But any upscaling
will not made the 1080P output as good as 1080P original. It will help but
the 720P look better by doing the upscale.

All video processors today do their processing within 1-2 frame times, so
there should be no lag a Human can detect.
drhankz is offline  
post #907 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 11:51 AM
Member
 
sully78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got of the phone with ABT, they apparently just got a bunch in and I was told to expect my shipping notice tonight!!

They have the best deal yet!! Apparently no price posting but check this out:

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showthr...9392&t=1928638
sully78 is offline  
post #908 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yep... ordered mine by phone last night. The rep didn't even let me finish my sentence when I said "Onkyo 608" and "heard about a deal in the forums".

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #909 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

ABT has it on the website at $499.. you're telling me that they will knock off at least another $100 plus pay the shipping ..?? That beats the newegg deal at $494 and a free Onkyo $90.00 ipod dock..

I can confirm this as well. Ordered from ABT yesterday on the phone for the special price. I was expecting to have to wait 2-4 weeks since they were on backorder, but it looks like I'll be getting it soon.

I had no interest in paying $500 for a decent upgrade over the 606.... but the special price is almost exactly what I paid for the 606 2 years ago, and this receiver has Burr Brown, 1080p upscaling, 1.4, 3D, 100W, and dynamic volume (huge selling point to me). It was a no brainer. My friend is jumping on this too even though he has a 606 (and its dying), you wont see a deal this good for a long time again.
bhazard is offline  
post #910 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 03:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

I can confirm this as well. Ordered from ABT yesterday on the phone for the special price. I was expecting to have to wait 2-4 weeks since they were on backorder, but it looks like I'll be getting it soon.

I had no interest in paying $500 for a decent upgrade over the 606.... but the special price is almost exactly what I paid for the 606 2 years ago, and this receiver has Burr Brown, 1080p upscaling, 1.4, 3D, 100W, and dynamic volume (huge selling point to me). It was a no brainer. My friend is jumping on this too even though he has a 606 (and its dying), you wont see a deal this good for a long time again.

I'm almost ready to send my newegg unit back after this info.. I got the free ipod dock, which I figured I'd sell for about $60 or $70, bringing my net price down around $434.00.. not bad but not $389.00 ..

Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?

mgkdragn is offline  
post #911 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
Techron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVD Ypbpr Component AV to HDTV HDMI Converter Adapter for the WII

http://www.wowparts.com/store/produc...904-00060.html

Sony Two-Way Bluetooth Adapter for iPod and MP3 Players HWS-BTA2W

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/...uctId=11035425

Enjoy. Both work Awesome.
Techron is offline  
post #912 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 04:46 PM
Member
 
sully78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What I need to find now is a good ipod dock. From the reviews the Onkyo sucks. Anyone buy one besides the Onkyo option?
sully78 is offline  
post #913 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
kooljack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just checked with ???.com and mine is shipping tonite... Now the question to the "experts" ... What speaker cable and pins you would recommend?

I have Polk monitor 70's and CS2 waiting for the receiver.
kooljack is offline  
post #914 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 04:53 PM
Member
 
chvybeatsford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So is ABT still doing it? Did u call or chat. I wanna order today if i can
chvybeatsford is offline  
post #915 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
DaveHCYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like this thread is devolving again into what it was 20 pages ago...

The "Official" Onkyo TX-SR608 Thread (No Price Talk)

Come on guys this is an owners thread for discussing features settings problems awesomeness setup etc. etc.

There are other places on this site or the internet in general for price talk, here are a few: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=122 or http://slickdeals.net
DaveHCYJ is offline  
post #916 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 05:37 PM
Member
 
chvybeatsford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so i placed my order. When it comes in ill have some questions for sure. Any one here know is the URC-r50 remote will work this unit?

Srry about asking on a sale.
chvybeatsford is offline  
post #917 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 05:37 PM
Newbie
 
kooljack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What speaker cable and pins you would recommend?
kooljack is offline  
post #918 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 05:59 PM
Member
 
AmpBlast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kooljack View Post

What speaker cable and pins you would recommend?

Just use high purity, oxygen free, all copper wires. You don't have to spend much, I suggest monoprice.com for good quality and great value. If running through walls, use CL2 or CL3 rated. I would not use less than 14 gauge wire regardless of distance. I use 12 gauge which may be more than most people run, but then again I had it laying around.

What pins are you referring to, banana jacks (since the 608 has binding posts except for Zone 2)? I suggest not using any special terminations on the ends of the speaker wires unless you are going to disconnect them frequently (why would you?). Don't buy into the idea that gold plated ends will make for higher quality connections, the fewer the connections the better, so just stay with one continous run of speaker wire stripped at each end.
AmpBlast is offline  
post #919 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 06:08 PM
Newbie
 
kooljack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmpBlast View Post

Just use high purity, oxygen free, all copper wires. You don't have to spend much, I suggest monoprice.com for good quality and great value. If running through walls, use CL2 or CL3 rated. I would not use less than 14 gauge wire regardless of distance. I use 12 gauge which may be more than most people run, but then again I had it laying around.

What pins are you referring to, banana jacks (since the 608 has binding posts except for Zone 2)? I suggest not using any special terminations on the ends of the speaker wires unless you are going to disconnect them frequently (why would you?). Don't buy into the idea that gold plated ends will make for higher quality connections, the fewer the connections the better, so just stay with one continous run of speaker wire stripped at each end.

Thanks .. but i thought i could use the banana pins at the receiver end too as it supported both pin and stripped wire.
kooljack is offline  
post #920 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 07:14 PM
Member
 
AmpBlast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kooljack View Post

Thanks .. but i thought i could use the banana pins at the receiver end too as it supported both pin and stripped wire.

Yes, the 608 has binding post type speaker terminals (except for Zone 2) that support both stripped wire and banana plugs (not pins, as I associate pins for use with spring clip speaker terminals, not binding posts).

Either way, I would just use stripped wire at the receiver, as it is less likely to lose connection, has less points of connection failure, and cheaper as compared to using banana plugs, but this is personal preference.
AmpBlast is offline  
post #921 of 5282 Old 05-14-2010, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Stilly77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I use Nakamichi banana plugs and they work great:

http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trk...Speaker+banana
Stilly77 is offline  
post #922 of 5282 Old 05-15-2010, 02:25 AM
Member
 
Topless Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've been lurking for quite some time, especially since I now have a deep seated urge to jump on the 3D bandwagon...but I was content with just reading info. That was until I ran across this post. Originally I was going to only get bare bones and go with a Pioneer 520, then I figured I would never be happy with that so I decided to go with a 820....that was until I did a little more reading and decided a 7.1 receiver which brought me up to the 920. Y was partial to Pioneer based on past purchases for home & car, plus my current Onkyo has problems. My TV signal(I've had cable and now satellite) has lines running through the picture when connected via HDMI & component. After reading on here all of the good things and specs(mostly specs lol). I decided I should give Onkyo a second look.

I read even more and then found out about the lovely deal going on @ ABT. I contacted them this past Thursday and pad for it. Suffice it to say I was very happy with the price they have it for. They told me it would ship in one-two weeks. I just got an email with a tracking number & it will be here Tuesday!!! I would have never know if it weren't for the good people here.

The funny thing is I decided to also upgrade my speakers. I'm currently have the 5.1 Bose AcoustimASS 6. I've never really been happy with them and I only got them because I got them brand new at half price 4 years ago with my Onkyo 604. After reading a bit more and doing some comparison shopping I decided to go with a Polk setup. Newegg has some killer deals going on BTW. Because their sale was so great I picked up 4 of the Monitor 40s and a CS2 center. I plan on using the 40s as surround and either front height or wide speakers. I was trying to hold off spending more $$ for right now plus I was thinking my Onkyo wouldn't even get here for a couple of weeks, so I thought I'd have some time to pick up the Monitor 70s and a decent sub...but Newegg will have my speakers here on Tuesday also. I had no idea I'd be getting everything in at basically the same time and I know myself...I won't be able to wait lol. I want to have something to enjoy after spending all of that cash lol. Before I destroy my supercharger/3D budget completely I figured I can buy a decent sub for right now to hold me over for about a month until I buy the Monitor 70s. Most people say the PSW10 is ok...but should I really just get the PSW505? I'm kinda leaning towards that anyway...it's not that much via Newegg. I figure if I get this setup installed I should be happy for a little while. Is the PSW505 a decent sounding sub? I know anything will be better than the Bose I have. My use will be about 50% gaming(PS3/360/Wii), 30% TV/Movies & 20% music. I usually only listen while gaming, but with an upgraded setup I may listen a little more. I'm just getting wallet fatigue lol. In addition to the HT stuff I already purchased I just bought a new iPod Touch, pre ordered 2 EVO 4Gs, a Samsung Moment, 2 batteries for our cars and a new laptop. That's all been within the past few days...something's gotta give or I may end up buying a much smaller TV than I originally hoped for. Either that or I'll be waiting until next summer to get my car ready for the track. Sorry to be so long winded...but it's my first post...I had to write a book lol.
Topless Stang is offline  
post #923 of 5282 Old 05-15-2010, 02:35 AM
Member
 
SovietSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

Of Course it will upscale 720P to 1080P, that is why a lot of us Bought the 608.



1080P Games are better for Crispness.

There is an old Engineering Saying - Garbage In equals Garbage Out.

I'm not saying the 720P is Garbage - it is a HD format. But any upscaling
will not made the 1080P output as good as 1080P original. It will help but
the 720P look better by doing the upscale.

All video processors today do their processing within 1-2 frame times, so
there should be no lag a Human can detect.

Uhm there is this thing called native resolution. Any signal that hits your TV will get upscaled to 1080p anyways. So buying a new receiver just for upscaling is a waste unless you need 1080p to activate some really cool special secret feature on your TV (like PC mode on my Samsung)

Oh and upscaling 480i or 720p to 1080p won't make it look even slightly better.
SovietSlayer is offline  
post #924 of 5282 Old 05-15-2010, 05:23 AM
Member
 
Jagged1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

Of Course it will upscale 720P to 1080P, that is why a lot of us Bought the 608.

1080P Games are better for Crispness.

There is an old Engineering Saying - Garbage In equals Garbage Out.

I'm not saying the 720P is Garbage - it is a HD format. But any upscaling
will not made the 1080P output as good as 1080P original. It will help but
the 720P look better by doing the upscale.

All video processors today do their processing within 1-2 frame times, so
there should be no lag a Human can detect.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
While I don't expect to see the lower resolutions look like a true 1080P image I do know how much better upconverting makes my old DVDs Look; so I expect some improvement.

As for junk in junk out I'd agree, but a properly applied coat of paint, trim, and clean up can do wonders. Good to know the processing speed is there as lag is a killer for games.

Hopefully the Wii will look better too. My biggest issue with the Wii is it's sad resolution but my TV does clean it up a lot. Maybe the 608 will be even better.
Jagged1 is offline  
post #925 of 5282 Old 05-15-2010, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by SovietSlayer View Post

Uhm there is this thing called native resolution. Any signal that hits your TV will get upscaled to 1080p anyways. So buying a new receiver just for upscaling is a waste


Who uses TVs - I only use Projectors with BIG Screens
drhankz is offline  
post #926 of 5282 Old 05-15-2010, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techron View Post

DVD Ypbpr Component AV to HDTV HDMI Converter Adapter for the WII

http://www.wowparts.com/store/produc...904-00060.html

Why would you need that product - the 608 does that for you
drhankz is offline  
post #927 of 5282 Old 05-15-2010, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
DaveHCYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 608 does NOT convert a composite input to a component output. Its only on the hdmi output that it will convert everything.
DaveHCYJ is offline  
post #928 of 5282 Old 05-15-2010, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveHCYJ View Post

The 608 does NOT convert a composite input to a component output. Its only on the hdmi output that it will convert everything.

Did you LOOK at the Device Techron was referring to --

http://www.wowparts.com/store/produc...904-00060.html

Where dose it MENTION Composite??????????

It converts Component YPbPr to HDMI - the 608 Certainly does that
drhankz is offline  
post #929 of 5282 Old 05-15-2010, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Nick_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveHCYJ View Post

The 608 does NOT convert a composite input to a component output. Its only on the hdmi output that it will convert everything.

Why use composite at all? It's only $4 for a Wii component cable which would then be output over HDMI.

***Credis Quod Habes Et Habes***

Nick_WI is offline  
post #930 of 5282 Old 05-15-2010, 04:51 PM
Member
 
kev1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Polk Audio Monitor 60 (front) - 80Hz THX
Polk Audio CS1 (center) - 80Hz THX
Polk Audio PSW10 (sub woofer) - 120Hz
Energy take classic (surround and surround back) - 80Hz THX

Is this a good setup? I think the original poster said it is okay, but when using THX, I cannot adjust "dynamic EQ" or "dynamic volume", why?

off topic question - I have Polk Audio PSW10, what is the "phase switch" it has two options, 0 and 180.

I'm terrible at adjusting AV receiver...
kev1031 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off