Marantz not compatible with Directv?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Attached is a response from Marantz on my problem with no audio from Marantz 6200 using the HR-21....does anyone else have this issue with Marantz...any suggestions? I see two alternatives - get cable or use my 6200 as a door stop and buy a receiver that is actually compatible with the largest satellite tv provider in the country.



To access your question from our support site, click the following
link or paste it into your web browser.
http://marantz.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/...ted=1269198640


Subject
---------------------------------------------------------------
I have a Marantz 6200 receiver. I recently upgraded satellite HD receivers fr...


Discussion Thread From Submitted Question
---------------------------------------------------------------
Response (Nabil Mneimneh) - 03/23/2010 09:30 AM
Unfortunately that is a problem with the way that Direct TV flags the change from High Definition to Standard Definition audio. The only way this problem can go away would be to either use another type of box (tivo etc.) or to change the audio output from Dolby Digital to Pcm in the the menu for the Direct TV box.
kucharc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Is this setup with the HDMI cables? If so try using HDMI for video out from the box to the AVR. Optical out from the box to the AVr for audio. This should work. You got the standard reply from Direct Tv or any other supplier. It's their equipment, not yours thats causing the problem. Try it like I described above and I'll bet your good to go. Good luck.
phantom52 is offline  
post #3 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, I have an older hd tv so I have HDMI from sat receiver to DVI on my tv....optical cable for sound.
kucharc is offline  
post #4 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phantom52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 7,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
You do realize that the HR21 was replaced by the HR23. I would make Direct TV switch those out before I got rid of a Marantz 6002. I assume you meant 6002 instead of 6200. The 6200 is a Marantz turntable.
phantom52 is offline  
post #5 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did this problem just start? how was it before. I would try resetting the directtv.
rocky1 is offline  
post #6 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 12:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,452
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharc View Post

To access your question from our support site, click the following
link or paste it into your web browser.
http://marantz.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/...ted=1269198640

Hard to know what is actually occuring as there is no access to this link. I have an HR20 set to Dolby Digital and when HD (w/DD 5.1) channels are played, the AVR receives a DD 5.1 signal and when SD channels, commercials, and non DD 5.1 HD channels are played, the audio defaults to PCM 2.0. The AVR (Denon) recognizes the signal and either plays DD 5.1 or uses DD PLII to simulate 5.1 from the PCM 2.0 signal. What is the Marantz actually receiving and what is it playing?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SkiSmuggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Central Vermont
Posts: 1,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or use component for video. You won't lose any picture quality. Make sure HDMI audio from DTV is off.
SkiSmuggs is offline  
post #8 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is a SR6200....
I had a Tivo HR10-250 and just switched to Directv HR-21...I held out as long as I could because I liked the Tivo interface and heard bad reviews on the Directv box - Everything worked fine with the HR10-250.

Attached is a copy of the response from Marantz after I replied to their first response.

Response (Nabil Mneimneh) - 03/23/2010 12:08 PM
This issue is not unique to marantz receivers. This was an issue all manufacturers were experiencing at the time this receiver was released. Keep in mind this receiver is close to 10 years old and the newer receivers are able to compensate for the errors in Direct TV's audio output.

Unfortunately we do not offer refunds on products, and certainly not products outside of the warranty period.

My response to their initial reply:


Customer - 03/23/2010 11:57 AM
It is unfortunate that Marantz AUDIO/video receivers are incompatible with the nations largest satellite TV provider with over 18,000,000 subscribers. You can be assured that I will no longer buy audio/video receivers that can't play audio. May I make a suggestion to help potential Marantz audio/video receiver owners:
1. A giant banner on your website that states: DO NOT BUY OUR RECEIVERS IF YOU ARE ONE OF THE 18,000,000 DIRECTV SUBSCRIBERS - OUR EQUIPMENT IS INCOMPATIBLE WITH DIRECTV SATELLITE RECEIVERS. YOU CAN PURCHASE A COMPATIBLE A/V RECEIVER FOR SEVERAL HUNDRED OR EVEN THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS LESS.
I also find your solution of changing the output to pcm unacceptable. The whole point of an audio/video receiver is to play audio. Specifically, 5.1 audio as broadcast from high definition channels - if I wanted to hear my tv in pcm I wouldn't need an audio/video receiver. I would be happy to return my receiver to you in exchange for a full refund so that I may buy a Denon receiver that is fully compatible with Directv. Please let me know where to send my receiver and receipt for what I paid for it. Thank you.
kucharc is offline  
post #9 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Hard to know what is actually occuring as there is no access to this link. I have an HR20 set to Dolby Digital and when HD (w/DD 5.1) channels are played, the AVR receives a DD 5.1 signal and when SD channels, commercials, and non DD 5.1 HD channels are played, the audio defaults to PCM 2.0. The AVR (Denon) recognizes the signal and either plays DD 5.1 or uses DD PLII to simulate 5.1 from the PCM 2.0 signal. What is the Marantz actually receiving and what is it playing?

Here is my initial question to Marantz:

I have a Marantz SR6200 receiver. I recently upgraded satellite HD receivers from a Tivo hr10-250 to a Directv HR-21.I have an optical cable from HR-21 to 6200. When I have dolby digital turned toggled on for the HR-21 I get 5.1 sound on channels broadcasting in HD but when I switch to a standard def channel the left and right speaker icons are displayed but there is no sound. If I turn the 6200 off and then back on the sound for standard def channel works until I switch from a HD 5.1 channel to a 2.0 channel. Is there a fix for this?
kucharc is offline  
post #10 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lcaillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 3,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since Denon and Marantz are both D&M companies it seems that they should be happy to get you into a unit that works for your situation.

Yes, calibration is important...every user should be calibrated.

Need electronics repair? A great place to start looking for a shop in your area:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lcaillo is offline  
post #11 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 12:39 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,452
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharc View Post

Response (Nabil Mneimneh) - 03/23/2010 12:08 PM
This issue is not unique to marantz receivers. This was an issue all manufacturers were experiencing at the time this receiver was released. Keep in mind this receiver is close to 10 years old and the newer receivers are able to compensate for the errors in Direct TV's audio output.

Like the man said .. your AVR is 10 years old. Today's AVRs don't have that problem .. rather now they have HDMI handshake issues.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Like the man said .. your AVR is 10 years old. Today's AVRs don't have that problem .. rather now they have HDMI handshake issues.

I bought it 2003 which makes it 7 years old, the HR-21 came out in early 2009 which means the receiver was 5-6 years old when the Directv box was introduced. I was certainly anticipating the life expectancy of a $800 a/v receiver to be longer than 60-72 mos.
kucharc is offline  
post #13 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 12:48 PM
Member
 
chance6021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Pioneer 1019ah-k does the exact same thing.
chance6021 is offline  
post #14 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chance6021 View Post

My Pioneer 1019ah-k does the exact same thing.

AH-HA...finally...I was starting to think that out of the 18,000,000+ Directv subscribers that I was the only one...

What is your workaround?
kucharc is offline  
post #15 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 12:58 PM
Member
 
chance6021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharc View Post

AH-HA...finally...I was starting to think that out of the 18,000,000+ Directv subscribers that I was the only one...

What is your workaround?

Don't have one. I may try the optical, but right now I switch on the receiver to a different input and then come back to D* and it works.

It's really sort of weird as to when my will do it though. If say I am watching ESPN HD and then I switch to Tru TV sometimes it will play the sounds from Tru if I hadn't been watching ESPN for all that long.

This could just be by coincidence, but none the less should be fixed. Think I'm gonna see if I can get Direct to switch out my HR-22 for something newer but I doubt they will.
chance6021 is offline  
post #16 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 02:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
JMII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by chance6021 View Post

Don't have one. I may try the optical, but right now I switch on the receiver to a different input and then come back to D* and it works.

As the owner of the Pio 1019 and a DirecTV HD-DVR (HR20-700) I can confirm the fix is to use OPTICAL. I get Dolby Digital 5.1 on the HD channels just fine. Switching to SD channels the audio still works, no need to change inputs on the AVR. More info here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...v#post17790577

My equipment list is
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Playstation Network ID = jmii ...that's JM roman numeral 2
JMII is offline  
post #17 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 02:16 PM
Member
 
chance6021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMII View Post

As the owner of the Pio 1019 and a DirecTV HD-DVR (HR20-700) I can confirm the fix is to use OPTICAL. I get Dolby Digital 5.1 on the HD channels just fine. Switching to SD channels the audio still works, no need to change inputs on the AVR. More info here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...v#post17790577

Thanks...I figured it was somewhere in there but was way to behind to catch up.
chance6021 is offline  
post #18 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like that there is a solution for the Pioneer...but I am already using an optical cable.
kucharc is offline  
post #19 of 29 Old 03-23-2010, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Note that the Direct TV boxes are not HDMI/HDCP certified for use with HDMI repeaters as used in AVRs. The box may work fine when plugged directly into an HD display but not going through an AVR via HDMI. Direct TV circumvents the HDMI/HDCP certification process as to save big $ and deliver to market more qwikly..

The majority of AVR brands are properly HDMI/HDCP certified so the problem lies with Direct TV, but since they are so big they could care less.
For more detailed info, check out www.digital-cp.com

Just my $0.01...
M Code is offline  
post #20 of 29 Old 03-24-2010, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

Note that the Direct TV boxes are not HDMI/HDCP certified for use with HDMI repeaters as used in AVRs. The box may work fine when plugged directly into an HD display but not going through an AVR via HDMI. Direct TV circumvents the HDMI/HDCP certification process as to save big $ and deliver to market more qwikly..

The majority of AVR brands are properly HDMI/HDCP certified so the problem lies with Direct TV, but since they are so big they could care less.
For more detailed info, check out www.digital-cp.com

Just my $0.01...

I don't think that HDMI is the issue here since I am using optical cable.
kucharc is offline  
post #21 of 29 Old 03-24-2010, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the final correspondence with Marantz....what do you guys think?


Response (Nabil Mneimneh) - 03/24/2010 03:03 PM
I apologize that you feel that we are attempting to sidestep the issue. If you connect a dvd player, or another cable box to the receiver these switches between dolby digital, and 2 channel PCM operate without issue. This problem occurs only with the Direct TV boxes. At the time this receiver was released many if not all manufacturers were experiencing issues of this nature. Our current product has been built differently to compensate for the way they output their audio, but this is not something that can be fixed via firmware. We will be saddened to lose you as a customer, however we can not resolve a problem that occurs outside the realm of our product.

Customer - 03/24/2010 12:57 PM
It appears that there is no reasonable solution to this problem. I mistakenly believed that when I bought a DD5.1 a/v receiver it would be able to process a DD5.1 signal and be able to switch to a PCM signal. I have been searching websites and forums on a/v equipment trying to see if there are other people having this issue but I have not had much luck. I am skeptical that all manufacturers were having this problem when the satellite receiver was released, because that would mean that every a/v receiver powering an HD directv receiver would have been replaced in the last 6-7 years. If that was the case I would think that I would be able to find something about it online.
It is unfortunate that your company refuses to acknowledge any responsibility to an end use consumer on this matter. As a fan of quality a/v equipment I am disappointed to inform you that I can no longer continue to purchase Marantz/Denon equipment( I also have a Denon 2900 DVD player that needs to be replaced/upgraded soon). One reason that I chose a Marantz receiver and Denon DVD player was the perceived reputation of not only your high quality components but your well regarded customer service as well. I have now come to believe that I was wrong on both counts.
In 2006 I had to send the SR6200 in for repair which cost several hundred dollars plus shipping. I struggled with the decision at that time of whether to just replace it with a new one or get the SR6200 fixed. I chose to repair the SR6200. In hindsight that was the wrong decision.
Signed,
A loyal Denon and Marantz customer since 2000
kucharc is offline  
post #22 of 29 Old 03-24-2010, 12:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Can you get your DirecTV receiver replaced? Maybe the newer H23 receiver will not have this problem?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #23 of 29 Old 03-24-2010, 12:40 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,452
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
Uh ... time to buy a more current AVR?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #24 of 29 Old 03-24-2010, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rynberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No excuse for Marantz on this issue. I'm using a Denon AVR-2700 I bought in 1998 and an HR-20 with optical for audio. I have zero issues going between HD and SD channels.
rynberg is offline  
post #25 of 29 Old 03-24-2010, 01:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rynberg View Post

No excuse for Marantz on this issue. I'm using a Denon AVR-2700 I bought in 1998 and an HR-20 with optical for audio. I have zero issues going between HD and SD channels.

These issues are well known. So there is not much else to say on it. An HR21 may exhibit the issue where the HR20 just doesn't.....
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #26 of 29 Old 03-24-2010, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

These issues are well known. So there is not much else to say on it. An HR21 may exhibit the issue where the HR20 just doesn't.....

I find a lot of information on sound issues via HDMI connection but it seems that the solution is to use optical cable. I have always had optical cable connection. I have searched quite a bit online and can't seem to find many similar complaints on the problem I am experiencing.
kucharc is offline  
post #27 of 29 Old 03-24-2010, 04:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Beemer533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure it helps, but I currently have a Marantz SR7400 with a DTV HR22 HDDVR. Before that, I had an HR21 HD receiver; I have always used the optical audio with both without any problems.

If the SR6200 is indeed almost 10 years old, personally I am not surprised Marantz won't do anything; if my SR7400 (which I have had for 7 years) was doing the same thing, I would be getting a new AVR.

If the 6200 works with DD from other sources, then it is doing what it is/was designed to do. If the older DTV receivers are doing something weird with the audio, I don't see how that is Marantz's issue?

Too bad either way...

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, Over.....
Beemer533 is offline  
post #28 of 29 Old 03-24-2010, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ralarcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharc View Post

Here is the final correspondence with Marantz....what do you guys think?


Response (Nabil Mneimneh) - 03/24/2010 03:03 PM
I apologize that you feel that we are attempting to sidestep the issue. If you connect a dvd player, or another cable box to the receiver these switches between dolby digital, and 2 channel PCM operate without issue. This problem occurs only with the Direct TV boxes. At the time this receiver was released many if not all manufacturers were experiencing issues of this nature. Our current product has been built differently to compensate for the way they output their audio, but this is not something that can be fixed via firmware. We will be saddened to lose you as a customer, however we can not resolve a problem that occurs outside the realm of our product.

Customer - 03/24/2010 12:57 PM
It appears that there is no reasonable solution to this problem. I mistakenly believed that when I bought a DD5.1 a/v receiver it would be able to process a DD5.1 signal and be able to switch to a PCM signal. I have been searching websites and forums on a/v equipment trying to see if there are other people having this issue but I have not had much luck. I am skeptical that all manufacturers were having this problem when the satellite receiver was released, because that would mean that every a/v receiver powering an HD Directv receiver would have been replaced in the last 6-7 years. If that was the case I would think that I would be able to find something about it online.
It is unfortunate that your company refuses to acknowledge any responsibility to an end use consumer on this matter. As a fan of quality a/v equipment I am disappointed to inform you that I can no longer continue to purchase Marantz/Denon equipment( I also have a Denon 2900 DVD player that needs to be replaced/upgraded soon). One reason that I chose a Marantz receiver and Denon DVD player was the perceived reputation of not only your high quality components but your well regarded customer service as well. I have now come to believe that I was wrong on both counts.
In 2006 I had to send the SR6200 in for repair which cost several hundred dollars plus shipping. I struggled with the decision at that time of whether to just replace it with a new one or get the SR6200 fixed. I chose to repair the SR6200. In hindsight that was the wrong decision.
Signed,
A loyal Denon and Marantz customer since 2000


In case you are looking for a replacement receiver, I might point out, my old Yamaha RX-V 2200, now currently being used in my wife's AV room, has no problems now, or has ever had a problem with D* HD DVRs, Tivo HD DVR's, my old RX-V2400 never did have any problems, again neither audio or video, nor my 1 year old RX-V 3900. I tend to stick to Yamahas for that very reason.
Consider Yamaha for replacement.


Cheers
Ralarcon is offline  
post #29 of 29 Old 03-24-2010, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kucharc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralarcon View Post

In case you are looking for a replacement receiver, I might point out, my old Yamaha RX-V 2200, now currently being used in my wife's AV room, has no problems now, or has ever had a problem with D* HD DVRs, Tivo HD DVR's, my old RX-V2400 never did have any problems, again neither audio or video, nor my 1 year old RX-V 3900. I tend to stick to Yamahas for that very reason.
Consider Yamaha for replacement.


Cheers

I will definitely look at Yamaha and I may try to wait until Tivo releases their new Directv box. Thanks.
kucharc is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off