NAD C270/C272 bridged running 4 ohm load, safe? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-04-2010, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbrizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, this is my first post here. I'm planning on building a DIY sub and hoping someone can answer a question about the amps I'm going to use with it.

I have two power amps I can use, NAD C272 and NAD C270 (not sure which I'll use yet, they're both approx 300wrms). I'm planning on using a Dayton RSS390HF 15 inch driver in a sealed box and Paradigm X-30 external crossover. The only problem is this driver is 4 ohm (and Re is 3.3 ohm) and my NAD amps are only rated down to 8 ohm bridged. NADs are pretty good at driving tricky speakers but I would be very unhappy if I overheated and killed one of these amps. Not to mention buying the driver, building the enclosure then finding the amp would go into protection

Has anyone had any experience running 4 ohm speakers with an NAD amp bridged, bearing in mind that this will probably be driven quite hard at times?
jbrizz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-22-2011, 12:28 AM
Newbie
 
MacProCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a shame that no one ever replied to this thread, since now this page shows up prominently when doing a web search for the NAD C270 or NAD C370.

So, to answer the original question for others who come along via web search in the future:

Yes, either of these two NAD amps should be able to handle 4 ohms while running in bridged mode. As I'm sure you know, (which is why you were asking the question), you do have to be cautious about lower impedances when running bridged (because that mode cuts in half the impedance that amp sees -- in other words, a 4 ohm load looks like 2 ohms to the amp).

But these two NAD amps in particular should handle the load with aplomb, because they have the built-in ability to compensate for the load presented. That's detailed in this Stereophile review of the matching C370, where they also show that the amp could drive a 1 ohm load when running in stereo, which means 2 ohms bridged is fine.

http://www.stereophile.com/integrate...633/index.html
MacProCT is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-28-2012, 03:19 AM
Newbie
 
IceB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been looking for the answer on the same question.

I have Paradigm Studio 100 V2 and NAD C160 Pre with NAD C272 in stereo mode.
So right now, I would like t fine another NAD C272 on the 2nd hand market and to bridge them in mono.
This way it should be ~400W for every speaker.
According to the http://www.stereophile.com/content/paradigm-reference-studio100-v2-loudspeaker-measurements review me speakers go under 4 ohms, therefore I was concerned regarding the amplifier impedance .

Additional answer was found here : http://forums.audioreview.com/amps-preamps/bridging-nad-maggies-14248.html
IceB is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off