HDMI 1920x1200 receiver support? (Sony STR-DH810) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 04-05-2010, 11:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MyDogHasFleas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up a new 2010 model Sony receiver STR-DH810. I connect my PC which has HDMI output to the receiver's HDMI input. Then I connect my receiver's HDMI output to my 1920x1200 LCD monitor.

Lo and behold, the computer's display settings show the display as a "SONY AVAMP" rather than what it actually is, and limit me to setting 1920x1080 resolution. This happens even when I turn pass-thru on and put the receiver in standby mode.

If I connect the PC directly to the monitor via HDMI cable, all is well video-wise. Unfortunately then I have to listen to sound over the monitor's speakers instead of my home theater speakers.

I think I'm going to need to return this receiver as it does not do what I want, that is, to pipe the sound from the PC over HDMI to the receiver for processing, yet pass through full 1920x1200 to the monitor.

Are there any HDMI receivers which support 1920x1200? Or is there a different solution to my problem? I've also thought about using an HDMI splitter, I wonder if that would work. They're kind of expensive though.
MyDogHasFleas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
DaveHCYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hdmi 1.4 supports resolutions greater than 1080p, so it should be able to do it. If you set the output from your computer to 1920x1200 then the receiver should be able to pass it through.

You might try contacting your graphics card manufacture, or checking their forums. Its been years since I've done it, but with one of my old video cards, I had to get 3rd party drivers to get it to work.

Basically whats happening is your video card is trying to make things "easy" for you by limiting you to the resolutions that the Sony is reporting, even though you know better than the video card.
DaveHCYJ is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 09:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
- yup, "sony avamp" is what it is... the pc is getting that from the edid information provided by the avr...

- it's likely that when the pc is handshaking with the avr, the avr is telling it "i can only accept up to 1920 X 1080, so please send that"...

- an hdmi switch is unlikely to buy you much, as the pc won't be able to complete a handshake with two different output resolutions...

i don't know which (if any) avr's will pass 1920 X 1200...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MyDogHasFleas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've done some more research. I think the bottom line is that the receiver just doesn't support anything more than 1080p (1920x1080). The Onkyo TX-SR607 is also reported to have exactly the same problem, right here on AVS in the "official thread".

Some users who have fooled the HTPC into sending 1920x1200 report that the receiver no longer processes the audio over HDMI, which kind of defeats the whole purpose.

I wonder if the newer HDMI 1.4 supporting receivers will handle my situation.

I think what I will do is return the Sony receiver and wait a bit until the newer receivers get some experience. I think the receiver designers just didn't allow for HTPCs and HDMI -supporting video cards going to LCD displays very well.
MyDogHasFleas is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 09:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
@dave...

all flavors of hdmi (right from version 1.0) will support 1920X1200p60...

that doesn't mean that the ce implemented that support...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MyDogHasFleas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

- an hdmi switch is unlikely to buy you much, as the pc won't be able to complete a handshake with two different output resolutions...

I think you meant "splitter" but yes I agree, on 2nd thought, stupid idea, will not work

Quote:


i don't know which (if any) avr's will pass 1920 X 1200...

me neither but if I find out I will post here. I'm hoping that the newer HDMI 1.4-supporting receivers will do the trick. Like the Onkyo TX-SR608 or Sony STR-DN1010, which will be available in the next couple of months.
MyDogHasFleas is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 09:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

yea, splitter... that's what i get for trying eat and post at the same time...

it'll be interesting to see what ends up supporting computer resolutions... a lot of displays do...

i'm wondering if the cem's are even really considering the htpc marketplace when designing avr's...

now i'm also curious to see what happens if i feed my avr a wuxga signal... gonna try it tonight and see what happens...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
DaveHCYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Onkyo 608 has a vga input, so maybe the marketplace is moving more towards support for htpc's. We'll have to wait and see if it supports any higher resolutions though...

Also, the OP's receiver is a 1.4 receiver, so it seems that rules out 1.4 making this work. But who knows, it could actually work -- we still don't know if he has tried forcing it to do 1920x1200 yet.
DaveHCYJ is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MyDogHasFleas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveHCYJ View Post

Also, the OP's receiver is a 1.4 receiver, so it seems that rules out 1.4 making this work. But who knows, it could actually work -- we still don't know if he has tried forcing it to do 1920x1200 yet.

Are you sure it supports HDMI 1.4? Nothing that I have in the box says that. And HDMI 1.4 is listed as an "added capability" for the STR DN-1010 in this review.

From what I've read, people who force 1920x1200 lose the ability for the receiver to decode the audio portion of the signal, so it'd be moot anyway. I'm going to give up and return this thing, and wait a few months before I try again. I'm just going to use my old receiver which does not have HDMI and limp along sadly for a while.
MyDogHasFleas is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
DaveHCYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyDogHasFleas View Post

Are you sure it supports HDMI 1.4? Nothing that I have in the box says that. And HDMI 1.4 is listed as an "added capability" for the STR DN-1010 in this review.

My bad. I just skimmed that review the first time I read it -- I assumed it was like Onkyo's 2010 lineup, where every model all the way down into the home theater in a box ones are getting the full 1.4 implementation.
DaveHCYJ is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 10:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveHCYJ View Post

The Onkyo 608 has a vga input, so maybe the marketplace is moving more towards support for htpc's. We'll have to wait and see if it supports any higher resolutions though...

Also, the OP's receiver is a 1.4 receiver, so it seems that rules out 1.4 making this work. But who knows, it could actually work -- we still don't know if he has tried forcing it to do 1920x1200 yet.

it'd be nice if they did... it would make some people real happy...

we'll find out in a couple hours what happens if you force it through mine...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 03:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
update:

no can do (re: force)... at least in the case of os/x... it will only allow me to set resolutions that the avr will accept according to it's edid info...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 03:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Did you expect this to work?
I would of said no before you even tried it.

I mean, I don't know of any that do x768 either for that matter.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 03:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
nope. i didn't. but i was curious, so i figured i'd try...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 04-06-2010, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MyDogHasFleas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another update, according to the Onkyo 608 manual (see page 75), 1920x1200 is not supported.

I guess I'll just have to make do with direct HDMI connections and sending the headphone audio to the receiver over RCA cable connections. Ah well.

What I'd really like is an HDMI mixer that can take 4 HDMI sources and output them to 3 HDMI screens in any manner I like, with any resolution I want, as well as processing the audio. I wonder how much money I'd have to spend to get this? Or how long I'd have to wait before this was available for under $1000?
MyDogHasFleas is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 05-05-2010, 09:59 AM
Newbie
 
FaKK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
found this side via google.

I'm looking for a new AV Reciver and had the hdmi 1.4 Sonys in mind, so i won't buy them. I just testet 1200p with my Panasonic SA-BX500 and had the very same result plus the monitor stays black while restricting higher resolutions.

What is a Solution? Got a ATI HD4xxx & HD5xxx with multichan. PCM + AC3/DTS HD Support and don't want to buy an additional HDMI Sound card.
Using 1st Port via DVI for the Monitor & 2nd one 'empty' via HDMI for a AV Reciver is nuts too:
- You can't use 2nd Monitor anymore unless it's resolution is <1080p plus its 16:9
- 2nd Monitor needs always to be turned on/at least clone mode.
FaKK is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off