The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1020-K Owner's Thread - Page 103 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3061 of 4605 Old 03-05-2011, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
Millerca2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianZane View Post

I just bought an Onkyo and it displays a huge graphical banner at the bottom of my screen everytime I mute or change the volume which covers up my DTV banners, there is no way to turn this off, is there an option on the VSX-1020 to turn the OSD off when changing the volume or muting? Thanks I'd appreciate the assistance before I purchase this receiver.

There is no OSD with the 1020, so it isn't an issue.
Millerca2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3062 of 4605 Old 03-05-2011, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
ChristianZane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It says "A full-color GUI to control your home theater experience"... so when you change the volume or mute, you don't get a graphic on your TV? Is there an option to turn that ON if you wanted it? Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Millerca2 View Post

There is no OSD with the 1020, so it isn't an issue.

ChristianZane is offline  
post #3063 of 4605 Old 03-05-2011, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,866
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post

Regarding Page 10 of the manual, is there an audio or video file somewhere that I can download to test all the digital formats (DTS-HD, DTS, MSTR, etc). I also want to see when my "XC" speaker lights up and when it doesn't.

These:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1181902
and here:
http://www.demo-world.eu/trailers/hi...n-trailers.php
Have fun!

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #3064 of 4605 Old 03-05-2011, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,866
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianZane View Post

It says "A full-color GUI to control your home theater experience"... so when you change the volume or mute, you don't get a graphic on your TV? Is there an option to turn that ON if you wanted it? Thanks!

I was going to suggest downloading the manual, but Pioneer's site seems to be down, so I found it here:
http://www.retrevo.com/support/Pione...3658ag511/t/2/

And, no, AFAIK.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #3065 of 4605 Old 03-05-2011, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
Millerca2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianZane View Post

It says "A full-color GUI to control your home theater experience"... so when you change the volume or mute, you don't get a graphic on your TV? Is there an option to turn that ON if you wanted it? Thanks!

To clarify. When you do the mcacc or setup there is an on screen GUI and it is very nice. Once the setup is completed you will no longer have any display on the screen. No way to turn it on even if you wanted to. Some people like it, some that have their receivers tucked away don't.
Millerca2 is offline  
post #3066 of 4605 Old 03-05-2011, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
ChristianZane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great thanks, Pioneer site has been down all day which is why I couldn't get this info in their manual, cheers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Millerca2 View Post

To clarify. When you do the mcacc or setup there is an on screen GUI and it is very nice. Once the setup is completed you will no longer have any display on the screen. No way to turn it on even if you wanted to. Some people like it, some that have their receivers tucked away don't.

ChristianZane is offline  
post #3067 of 4605 Old 03-05-2011, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
Flash711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having audio issues. Running a Sumsung BD-c5900 to the 1020. The last few movies I've watched I'm having audio cut outs using DTS-HDMA. Switched HDMI cables around same result. Tried one of the movies at a neighbors audio was flawless. Samsung said it's an issue with the receiver, that there might be a setting to correct this. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Flash711 is offline  
post #3068 of 4605 Old 03-05-2011, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
lsilvest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Regarding Page 10 of the manual, is there an audio or video file somewhere that I can download to test all the digital formats (DTS-HD, DTS, MSTR, etc). I also want to see when my "XC" speaker lights up and when it doesn't.

I'm assuming the XC represents the extra rear center speaker added to my 5.1 speaker set.

Here's what the manual says about that, but I find that hard to understand:
XC - Either one channel other than the ones above, the mono surround channel or matrix encode flag
The rear center speaker in a 6.1 setup will play the same as one of the other rear speakers. Essentially it just gives you a little more volume or depth from the rear.
lsilvest is offline  
post #3069 of 4605 Old 03-05-2011, 08:55 PM
Member
 
Draconian1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a pair of mission 702e speakers, and they support bi wiring. the recommended power is 20-100wpc. Am I able to bi-wire with the 1020-k or would I end up over powering the speaker?
Draconian1 is offline  
post #3070 of 4605 Old 03-05-2011, 09:21 PM
Member
 
airtimehocutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am lookin at getting the 1020 also. i am worried that this unit will not handle my 2 front left/right spreakers. they are a full range speaker with 15" subs. i have a powered sub also but i want to have plenty of power during stereo mode. i had an older yamaha reciever that beat the crap out of my current denom reciever as far as power goes. bass was a big difference. i read i could connect the extra 2 channells on the 7.1 to give extra power to the fronts (only have 5.1). this is in a dedicated home theatre room. 15 by 26 thanks
airtimehocutt is offline  
post #3071 of 4605 Old 03-06-2011, 07:57 AM
Newbie
 
nickachambers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have hooked up speakers in my kitchen to zone 2 and they work. The only problem is they sound flat. I need to boost the treble and bass but i cant figure out how to do this. Right now they don't sound good at all.

Please someone help me
nickachambers is offline  
post #3072 of 4605 Old 03-06-2011, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsilvest View Post

The rear center speaker in a 6.1 setup will play the same as one of the other rear speakers. Essentially it just gives you a little more volume or depth from the rear.

I tried the test files via usb into both the brp (which is connected HDMI thru the 1020 and has 3d 7.1 encoding) and the tv (toslink to the 1020). Not all the files played. But no files ever caused the pioneer's indicators to light up more than the 5 speaker LEDs as I'd hoped. I thought it did, but on closer inspection it was the low frequency LED that was lighting up. I cant seem to get the extra speaker to ever indicate.
ItzMe is offline  
post #3073 of 4605 Old 03-06-2011, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,866
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Anyone played with x-curve (manual page 103)?

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #3074 of 4605 Old 03-06-2011, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,866
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsilvest View Post

The rear center speaker in a 6.1 setup will play the same as one of the other rear speakers. Essentially it just gives you a little more volume or depth from the rear.

Or you can try a very old trick: hook up the rear center to the positive of the left rear and the positive of the right rear. That gives a boost to whatever is playing in one OR the other, but not in both.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #3075 of 4605 Old 03-06-2011, 04:05 PM
Member
 
PeaveyAxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickachambers View Post

I have hooked up speakers in my kitchen to zone 2 and they work. The only problem is they sound flat. I need to boost the treble and bass but i cant figure out how to do this. Right now they don't sound good at all.

Please someone help me

That's because the 1020's capabilities for Zone 2/Speaker B settings suck balls.

I'm dealing with the exact same issue. I finally came to the sad realization that this is as good as it gets without running your Zone 2 signal to an external amp. I assumed the capabilities would be a lot better before I purchased. NEVER ASSUME ANYTHING.
PeaveyAxe is offline  
post #3076 of 4605 Old 03-06-2011, 06:34 PM
Newbie
 
waynebrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to hook up my laptop and I'm having a hell of a time getting my 1120k to take hdmi video and optical audio from my MacBook.

Did I just spend $500 for a receiver I can't hook up video and audio simultaneously?!
waynebrady is offline  
post #3077 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynebrady View Post

I'm trying to hook up my laptop and I'm having a hell of a time getting my 1120k to take hdmi video and optical audio from my MacBook.

Did I just spend $500 for a receiver I can't hook up video and audio simultaneously?!

What are you getting exactly? (besides a hell of a time)

I assume you got this to work on another receiver since you think the laptop can't be at fault.

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #3078 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 06:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
a) ensure the macbook is setup correctly...

b) use the "sigsel" button on the remote to tell the avr to get the audio from the optical, not the hdmi, input...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #3079 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 06:57 AM
Member
 
looter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickachambers View Post

I have hooked up speakers in my kitchen to zone 2 and they work. The only problem is they sound flat. I need to boost the treble and bass but i cant figure out how to do this. Right now they don't sound good at all.

Please someone help me

You can't and that is a definite short coming of the 1020.
looter is offline  
post #3080 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 07:05 AM
Member
 
looter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynebrady View Post

I'm trying to hook up my laptop and I'm having a hell of a time getting my 1120k to take hdmi video and optical audio from my MacBook.

Did I just spend $500 for a receiver I can't hook up video and audio simultaneously?!

As someone else said use Signal Select. See post #1535 of the thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post19186714
looter is offline  
post #3081 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by airtimehocutt View Post

i am lookin at getting the 1020 also. i am worried that this unit will not handle my 2 front left/right spreakers. they are a full range speaker with 15" subs. i have a powered sub also but i want to have plenty of power during stereo mode. i had an older yamaha reciever that beat the crap out of my current denom reciever as far as power goes. bass was a big difference. i read i could connect the extra 2 channells on the 7.1 to give extra power to the fronts (only have 5.1). this is in a dedicated home theatre room. 15 by 26 thanks

Go with separates or at least a AVR with pre-outs so you can use an external amp.

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #3082 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draconian1 View Post

I just picked up a pair of mission 702e speakers, and they support bi wiring. the recommended power is 20-100wpc. Am I able to bi-wire with the 1020-k or would I end up over powering the speaker?

Doth bother with bi-wiring.
Its nothing more than a marketing gimmick to get you to just buy more wires.

http://www.nousaine.com/pdfs/Wired%20Wisdom.pdf

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #3083 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 11:21 AM
Newbie
 
doc420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received my 1020. My old receiver didn't have any HDMI inputs so I connected everything(PS3, 360, DVR box) to my TV and used the optical out from the TV to the receiver just for sound.

Should I do this again or hook up everything to the 1020 and then output it to the TV?
doc420 is offline  
post #3084 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc420 View Post

Just received my 1020. My old receiver didn't have any HDMI inputs so I connected everything(PS3, 360, DVR box) to my TV and used the optical out from the TV to the receiver just for sound.

Should I do this again or hook up everything to the 1020 and then output it to the TV?

If your TV passes DD or DTS, then I guess this should work.
But more likely is that you will limit your self to just 2ch audio from the set's output.

Forget about hearing HD audio from a bluray player hooked up like that.

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #3085 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 11:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc420 View Post

Just received my 1020. My old receiver didn't have any HDMI inputs so I connected everything(PS3, 360, DVR box) to my TV and used the optical out from the TV to the receiver just for sound.

Should I do this again or hook up everything to the 1020 and then output it to the TV?

hook up everything to the 1020... it's designed to be a switcher... the tv is not...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #3086 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
doc420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootman_head_fi View Post

If your TV passes DD or DTS, then I guess this should work.
But more likely is that you will limit your self to just 2ch audio from the set's output.

Forget about hearing HD audio from a bluray player hooked up like that.

So you are saying to hook up everything to the receiver? Does this downgrade the image quality from my devices(TV/DVR box, Ps3, 360) to my TV since it's not a straight connection(going through receiver to TV)?

Thanks!!!
doc420 is offline  
post #3087 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
doc420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

hook up everything to the 1020... it's designed to be a switcher... the tv is not...

Well that answers my question. Thanks!

Edit: Which has better sound quality Optical or HDMI?
doc420 is offline  
post #3088 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 12:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc420 View Post

So you are saying to hook up everything to the receiver? Does this downgrade the image quality from my devices(TV/DVR box, Ps3, 360) to my TV since it's not a straight connection(going through receiver to TV)?

Thanks!!!

no, image quality will not suffer...

Quote:
Originally Posted by doc420 View Post

Well that answers my question. Thanks!

Edit: Which has better sound quality Optical or HDMI?

if both are passing the "same" data, neither... hdmi has the advantage of being able to handle the high bit codecs and multi-channel pcm... use hdmi if at all possible...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #3089 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bootman_head_fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Nanny State
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

hook up everything to the 1020... it's designed to be a switcher... the tv is not...

Unless you get that pesky device that doesn't like to HDMI handshake with an AVR.
Hooking it directly to the TV usually fixes those intermittent drop outs.

...and a TV is designed to be a switcher, a video one.

Are you really hearing a difference?
http://youtu.be/G-lN8vWm3m0

Set an example:
Treat everyone with kindness and respect, even those who are rude to you...
Not because they are nice, but because YOU are. :)
bootman_head_fi is offline  
post #3090 of 4605 Old 03-07-2011, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
FM Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I am trying to program internet radio stations using my laptop. LAN connection has been made and we are connected. The Manual says to enter the Receiver's IP address in the Browser URL window...and it says the Receivers IP address is on page 103 of the Owner's Manual...but I do NOT see it there, or anywhere else.
Can someone tell me how to obtain the Receiver's IP address...and how to select my Internet Radio Stations using my laptop.
Thank you!
FM Fan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off