The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1020-K Owner's Thread - Page 104 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kingpcgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 1,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by FM Fan View Post

Can someone tell me how to obtain the Receiver's IP address

Log into your router and see what address it assigned. Please don't ask how you do that since it varies by model of router.

TiVo Elite, TiVo 4, Four TiVo Minis, TiVo Stream, Roku 3, Google Chromecast, Cox Cable, Sonos
kingpcgeek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 03:40 PM
Member
 
justinto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The router will automatically assign an address. You can always go into the receiver and create a static address if necessary.

Justin

Panasonic 50" Plasma TC-P50-GT30
Panasonic 58" Plasma TC-P58V10
Panasonic Blu Ray Player DMP-BDT 210 and 110
Marantz SR6006 (2)
Aperion Verus Grand Speakers

justinto is offline  
post #3093 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
FM Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will try that...but the Manual says the IP address for the Receiver is found on page 103...
Thanks for the help!
FM Fan is offline  
post #3094 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 04:11 PM
Member
 
looter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FM Fan View Post

I will try that...but the Manual says the IP address for the Receiver is found on page 103...
Thanks for the help!

It will vary depending on the local network. Your router assigns it via DHCP. I think you can see it if you go to System Setup>Network Setup.

Pages 103-104 do describe the RANGE that the IP address need to be.
looter is offline  
post #3095 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 04:55 PM
Newbie
 
shovel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help......I recently purchased a VSX 1020 K, had it all hooked up and working great. TV, Blue ray, IPOD all sounded great....came home today and noticed the center channel and sub were not putting out any sound. I went through the auto setup again, I can hear sound in the center and sub during the setup, but after that I could not. I figured it was something I hit on the remote, after searching awhile, I called Pioneer and the tech told me to set the advanced surround to ext. speaker, while this got me some sound, it was not as good as it was and I still have no sound when in auto surround. Any suggestions?? Thanks in advance......
shovel74 is offline  
post #3096 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 05:05 PM
Member
 
looter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shovel74 View Post

Help......I recently purchased a VSX 1020 K, had it all hooked up and working great. TV, Blue ray, IPOD all sounded great....came home today and noticed the center channel and sub were not putting out any sound. I went through the auto setup again, I can hear sound in the center and sub during the setup, but after that I could not. I figured it was something I hit on the remote, after searching awhile, I called Pioneer and the tech told me to set the advanced surround to ext. speaker, while this got me some sound, it was not as good as it was and I still have no sound when in auto surround. Any suggestions?? Thanks in advance......

What size do you have speakers set to? They should usually be set to small if you are using a powered sub. Do you get center channel on any source (TV, BD cable or SAT)? I had a bad center channel relay on my 1020 and had to have it repaired. It would take 20 minutes to warm up then the center channel would kick in. But if it works in the setup, it should work from the source too. Are you using HMDI for each source?
looter is offline  
post #3097 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 05:16 PM
Newbie
 
shovel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have the speakers set to small. Yesterday I had center and sub from everything I listened to, and yes, I have HDMI for Blue ray and my cable box. Makes me sick because it is only two weeks old, and I was just getting used to it and loved the sound.
shovel74 is offline  
post #3098 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stew4msu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wylie, Texas, USA
Posts: 7,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Are you sure it's being fed 5.1?

"The dream never dies, just the dreamer."

Stew4msu is offline  
post #3099 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 05:40 PM
Newbie
 
shovel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excuse my ignorance......I am new at this........what do you mean by fed 5.1?
shovel74 is offline  
post #3100 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stew4msu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wylie, Texas, USA
Posts: 7,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Do they not work on Blu-Rays' too, or have you only tried it with TV? It's possible the TV shows you're watching don't have a sub channel or a center channel (only stereo).

"The dream never dies, just the dreamer."

Stew4msu is offline  
post #3101 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
shovel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried various sources, but I do not have any dvds or blue rays here to try. There is a slight difference when I change channels on the tv, but I just tried some music that I listened to yesterday, "The Thunder Rolls" by Garth Brooks, the bass yesterday scared my daughter and today there was none.
shovel74 is offline  
post #3102 of 4547 Old 03-07-2011, 09:38 PM
Senior Member
 
NewbieRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to switch from the A Speakers to the B Speakers on the remote or can this only be done on the front of the receiver? Thanks.
NewbieRob is offline  
post #3103 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 07:54 AM
Member
 
looter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two disappointing iOS apps from Pioneer today. iControlAV2 and AirJam. They are only compatible with the new VSX-1021-k.

While looking at these 2 apps I went back and read the reviews for the original iControlAV 3.1.0. MULTIPLE people said they could power ON the VSX-1020-k with the app by setting up the receiver's network to work in standby mode. I doubt they are lying, but I haven't found a way to do this and the app directs me to manually power the 1020 back on to use the app again.

Anyone have instructions on powering up from standby with iControlAV 3.1.0? Or can anyone in this forum actually do this?

http://m.engadget.com/default/articl...sic&postPage=1
looter is offline  
post #3104 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Smurfocolypse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone - with the recent release of some of the 1021-k specs and intitial MSRP (~$550, i think) - do you expect the price on the 1020-k to fall further?

Right now it's very reasonable in the $360-370 range from various online retailers. I've been teetering on the cliff's edge at that price point, however am curious if a further price drop is expected (and how soon/long it will take).

Any thoughts?
Smurfocolypse is offline  
post #3105 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 10:47 AM
Member
 
portishead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re: 1021: While the airplay functionality is nice, I can already do this with an airport express I have hooked up. I could also just buy an Apple TV for $100 and do the same thing. I know it is nice to have it integrated in the receiver, but not a deal breaker.

The unfortunate thing is how Pioneer released the iControlAV2 and left the original users in the dust. No iPad full screen for iControlAV1 users. It's unfortunate, but possibly they will update it in the near future. I don't see why they needed a separate app. I wonder if they will enable the receiver to actually be powered on by the new iControlAV2 app?
portishead is offline  
post #3106 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 10:58 AM
Member
 
looter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by portishead View Post

Re: 1021: While the airplay functionality is nice, I can already do this with an airport express I have hooked up. I could also just buy an Apple TV for $100 and do the same thing. I know it is nice to have it integrated in the receiver, but not a deal breaker.

The unfortunate thing is how Pioneer released the iControlAV2 and left the original users in the dust. No iPad full screen for iControlAV1 users. It's unfortunate, but possibly they will update it in the near future. I don't see why they needed a separate app. I wonder if they will enable the receiver to actually be powered on by the new iControlAV2 app?

I say flood the app store with negative reviews stating that it doesn’t work with the 1020 and that the original app has been abandon. Maybe we can shame Pioneer into doing the right thing and updating as many features as are compatible with the iPhone app and the 1020.
looter is offline  
post #3107 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 11:37 AM
Member
 
portishead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I knew that would work, I would do it, but I doubt it will make any difference. I'll write a review though and let them know what I think.
portishead is offline  
post #3108 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 11:38 AM
Member
 
looter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by portishead View Post

If I knew that would work, I would do it, but I doubt it will make any difference. I'll write a review though and let them know what I think.

One can always dream.
looter is offline  
post #3109 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Draconian1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootman_head_fi View Post

Doth bother with bi-wiring.
Its nothing more than a marketing gimmick to get you to just buy more wires.

http://www.nousaine.com/pdfs/Wired%20Wisdom.pdf

Yea I ended up moving the 702's to the rear and put some M74 speakers up front and bi-amped those.
Draconian1 is offline  
post #3110 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 11:43 AM
Member
 
jasonpctech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Perhaps Pioneer is taking a lesson from Apple in yearly obsolescence.
About the VSX-1021,
"Compared to the other AirPlay-compatible receivers from Denon, which cost upwards of a $1000, this Pioneer box could be a steal. Especially considering the HDMI 1.5 support (allowing multiple DLNA connections at once) and custom iOS apps that enhance its functionality in many ways."
Read the whole story here:
http://ca.gizmodo.com/5779048/pionee...ctually-afford

Note: for those that hate Gawker media's new face lift just put a ca instead of www in front to keep the old format.

lol, guess some folks beat me to it.

Don't let the smoke out.
My Theater setup: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=373
jasonpctech is offline  
post #3111 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 01:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Being as I have no use for AirPlay I guess now is the time I should start looking for a used or refurbed 1020.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #3112 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
NewbieRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbieRob View Post

Is there a way to switch from the A Speakers to the B Speakers on the remote or can this only be done on the front of the receiver? Thanks.

BUMP. Does anyone know??
NewbieRob is offline  
post #3113 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 06:45 PM
Newbie
 
Rickytee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbieRob View Post

BUMP. Does anyone know??

I really don't think so. I use this feature a lot, but haven't found a way to switch to speakers A or B on the remote yet. Maybe the new I-Phone app will have it, but we'll be out of luck if they don't offer compatibility for 1020-K systems.

But, I still love my 1020-K! Despite its flaws, which there are usually workarounds for, and despite its complicated remote, which is actually great when you get used to it, it all looks sweet, works well and sounds amazing. How about that EXT. STEREO mode? Just wonderful!
Rickytee is offline  
post #3114 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 07:14 PM
Member
 
fox1541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbieRob View Post

Is there a way to switch from the A Speakers to the B Speakers on the remote or can this only be done on the front of the receiver? Thanks.

I don't use different speakers other than my main speakers, so I can't say for sure, but I have an MX-900 remote and the program to set it up lists all the codes you can program the remote with.

It lists the following speaker related codes:
Speakers A ON
Speakers B ON
Speakers A+B ON
Speakers OFF
Speakers

It looks promising for what you are looking for with a programmable remote.
fox1541 is offline  
post #3115 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
cd_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smurfocolypse View Post

Hey everyone - with the recent release of some of the 1021-k specs and intitial MSRP (~$550, i think) - do you expect the price on the 1020-k to fall further?

Right now it's very reasonable in the $360-370 range from various online retailers. I've been teetering on the cliff's edge at that price point, however am curious if a further price drop is expected (and how soon/long it will take).

Any thoughts?

It's a great deal at that price. Go for it. Or wait a month and hopefully you can find it on even lower clearance price somewhere. I have the 1020 & love it. Wish it worked with the v.2 iPad app, but it works ok with the v.1 iPhone app. AirPlay is no big deal if you have an AppleTV, which will do AirPlay anyway.
cd_smith is offline  
post #3116 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 07:26 PM
Newbie
 
cd_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by portishead View Post

Re: 1021: While the airplay functionality is nice, I can already do this with an airport express I have hooked up. I could also just buy an Apple TV for $100 and do the same thing. I know it is nice to have it integrated in the receiver, but not a deal breaker.

The unfortunate thing is how Pioneer released the iControlAV2 and left the original users in the dust. No iPad full screen for iControlAV1 users. It's unfortunate, but possibly they will update it in the near future. I don't see why they needed a separate app. I wonder if they will enable the receiver to actually be powered on by the new iControlAV2 app?

Just speculation, but I bet the 1020 will work fine with the v.2 app. Why would Pioneer want to enable it while the 1020's at $360 and the 1021's are now hitting the streets at $550? I don't see $190 extra value in the 1021. maybe once the 1020 is officially discontinued we'll get an upgrade in the app.
cd_smith is offline  
post #3117 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
NewbieRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fox1541 View Post

I don't use different speakers other than my main speakers, so I can't say for sure, but I have an MX-900 remote and the program to set it up lists all the codes you can program the remote with.

It lists the following speaker related codes:
Speakers A ON
Speakers B ON
Speakers A+B ON
Speakers OFF
Speakers

It looks promising for what you are looking for with a programmable remote.

That is GREAT to know. THANKS!
NewbieRob is offline  
post #3118 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 09:03 PM
Newbie
 
jsxlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the Pioneer product specification page, it says VSK-1020-K is compatible with the iControlAV2 iPhone and ipad Application.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...ers/VSX-1020-K

I just got my 1020 only a few days, and I can still return it and wait for the 1021. But if I can use the app and I already has AppleTV, I guess I am fine with 1020.
jsxlee is offline  
post #3119 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 09:07 PM
Member
 
portishead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsxlee View Post

In the Pioneer product specification page, it says VSK-1020-K is compatible with the iControlAV2 iPhone and ipad Application.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...ers/VSX-1021-K

I just got my 1020 only a few days, and I can still return it and wait for the 1021. But if I can use the app and I already has AppleTV, I guess I am fine with 1020.

That's the link for the 1021. 1020 makes no mention of iControlAV2 support.
portishead is offline  
post #3120 of 4547 Old 03-08-2011, 09:08 PM
Member
 
portishead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cd_smith View Post

Just speculation, but I bet the 1020 will work fine with the v.2 app. Why would Pioneer want to enable it while the 1020's at $360 and the 1021's are now hitting the streets at $550? I don't see $190 extra value in the 1021. maybe once the 1020 is officially discontinued we'll get an upgrade in the app.

That's a good point. 1021 still has airplay which I don't think will ever work with the 1020 though.
portishead is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off