The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1020-K Owner's Thread - Page 152 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4531 of 4553 Old 04-26-2014, 09:01 PM
Member
 
dmann304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know why mine would power off and on with Ethernet cable hooked up to it?
it was working and now for some reason when Ethernet is hooked up it powers off and on and freezes.
dmann304 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4532 of 4553 Old 04-27-2014, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Did you try a new cable? The only thing I could think is some kind of short.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4533 of 4553 Old 06-01-2014, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
pcguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, I could use some help configuring the sound setting for my 1022-k. My speakers are the following: FRONTS - Polk Audio Monitor Series II and CENTER - Polk Audio CS1 Series II (3.0, might go 3.1 later with a sub). We watch a wide range of shows, including kids shows in SD and HD, reality, lots of dramas in HD and some HBO movies.

My issue is that I have trouble hearing voices/speaking parts (mostly the Dramas and movies in HD). Background noises and action sequences don't help, so we leave closed caption on all the time (which I hate).

When I use my PS3 to watch a movie, Netflix or play a game, it's auto changed to PCM which I'm fine with (I think).

Can you help me find a setting I can set and forget? Or at least 2-3 settings for the different types of shows we watch?

Your professional opinions are appreciated.
pcguy07 is offline  
post #4534 of 4553 Old 06-02-2014, 08:30 PM
Newbie
 
spidiracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all I need your help.

I have a VSX1020K that likes to shut down due to overheating. I've checked all the speaker wires and they are good, tested the speakers, replaced the connections on the back with banana plug wires. The receiver is in a large cabinet with no other electronics in the cabinet running.

I've done a reset and that didn't help.

If I place a large fan in front of the receiver i can usually run it as long as i want but it will occasionally shut off even with that. I checked the OHMS of the posistor as described in this thread. The number was out of spec so i ordered a new cable and installed that today. Listening to music and after about 20 minutes it dies on me again. Now I have the fan in front it and its running just fine. There is no dust on the inside of it, the top never feels hot or even warm....

I dont know what else to do... Any idea's? I would really appreciate your help!

OH... so the OHMS on my new cable came out to 255 OHMS... my original was 280 OHMS... Spec is 310 OHMS right? How is a brand new $30 cable worse than the original???
spidiracer is offline  
post #4535 of 4553 Old 06-03-2014, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcguy07 View Post

My issue is that I have trouble hearing voices/speaking parts (mostly the Dramas and movies in HD). Background noises and action sequences don't help, so we leave closed caption on all the time (which I hate).

Go to manual MCACC and increase the center channel 1kHz by 3dB or more. You might want to do the L and R, too, but that won't help as much.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4536 of 4553 Old 06-03-2014, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
pcguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post

Go to manual MCACC and increase the center channel 1kHz by 3dB or more. You might want to do the L and R, too, but that won't help as much.

Is there also a specific sound setting that I should be using? If not one, then which one for which situation?

Thanks,
pcguy07 is offline  
post #4537 of 4553 Old 06-03-2014, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 264

No, you can keep the effects coming from the surrounds, you just want some help with the dialog, most of which comes from the center. You may also want to increase the center's trim (volume) a little, but not too much, or it will "stick out," which you don't want.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4538 of 4553 Old 06-03-2014, 11:25 AM
Newbie
 
pcguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post

No, you can keep the effects coming from the surrounds, you just want some help with the dialog, most of which comes from the center. You may also want to increase the center's trim (volume) a little, but not too much, or it will "stick out," which you don't want.

OK, so what sound effect settings would you choose?
pcguy07 is offline  
post #4539 of 4553 Old 06-03-2014, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 264

Auto.

;)


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4540 of 4553 Old 06-03-2014, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
pcguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post

Auto.
wink.gif

HAHA, that would make sense. Thanks for the help LastButNotLeast. I very much appreciate it.

I will make these changes soon and let you know how it worked out.
pcguy07 is offline  
post #4541 of 4553 Old 06-07-2014, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
pcguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post

No, you can keep the effects coming from the surrounds, you just want some help with the dialog, most of which comes from the center. You may also want to increase the center's trim (volume) a little, but not too much, or it will "stick out," which you don't want.

Im not sure you saw my speaker setup explained in my original post, but I have a 3.1 speaker configuration. No Surrounds. Its not an option due to living room setup and my two young crazy boys!
pcguy07 is offline  
post #4542 of 4553 Old 06-07-2014, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 264

Doesn't change my suggestions at all.

Have you tried them?

Sorry, can't help with the kids (though I have in-walls for surrounds, which you might consider).


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4543 of 4553 Old 06-11-2014, 03:52 AM
Newbie
 
Diam0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi,

 

Can please anyone photo the D-main board?

 

I bought used receiver, when I switch it on, LCD on and switching working, But no sound and video. When I disassembled upper case I  see that HDMI transmitter chip is missed. So I need know which model is it. In datasheet only this chip not marked (sad). Can anyone help me please?

 

 

P.S. Sorry for my English

Diam0n is offline  
post #4544 of 4553 Old 07-10-2014, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sound Retriever not available with Dolby Digital Plus?

My Sound Retriever function is not available when watching Netflix Via PS3 with DD +. Audio sounds a little muffled.

The Sound Retriever seems to work with other audio settings though.

Would anyone have any insight into this issue?

Last edited by Steelman99; 07-10-2014 at 06:43 PM.
Steelman99 is offline  
post #4545 of 4553 Old 07-11-2014, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I found another thread that maybe explains this issue. My fix was to disable DD+.

Dolby Digital Plus and Netflix on Various AVRs
Steelman99 is offline  
post #4546 of 4553 Old 07-12-2014, 01:11 AM
Newbie
 
Justin Coleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IP Address problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmann304 View Post
Does anyone know why mine would power off and on with Ethernet cable hooked up to it?
it was working and now for some reason when Ethernet is hooked up it powers off and on and freezes.
I had the same problem would not complete MCACC.
Disconnect the cable and give it an IP address, gateway, subnetmask. This should work. Turn off DHCP.
Justin Coleman is offline  
post #4547 of 4553 Old 08-13-2014, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Sebaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
VSX-1020k headphone detection is defective

I've had this problem not too long after I got the receiver in 2011 but it's getting worse and worse. I use headphones a lot, and this receiver seems to have some kind of sensor to detect when headphones are plugged in rather than the old mechanical system. Either way, many times I plug in the headphones and it stays in speaker output. I have to unplug and plug in again, sometimes repeatedly, to get it to recognize the headphones.


Also, lately the right channel disappears at the slightest movement of the cable. I have an extension cable that I just bought because the older one was doing that, and I attributed it to the cable, but testing the extension cable along with the headphones cable on another device by moving the cables in all directions doesn't reproduce this problem, so I can assume it's not the cables, either extension or headphones.


Is the headphone output in this receiver its "Achilles Heel"?

Sebastian

Last edited by Sebaz; 08-13-2014 at 07:02 AM.
Sebaz is offline  
post #4548 of 4553 Old 09-05-2014, 09:30 PM
Newbie
 
Brent212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1980 View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast

Interesting, actually. If you have the pdf of the manual and search for "Up Mix," there's a highlight (see page 10) to the right of "Sound" and under "ALC" that's BLANK! There's no other mention of it in the manual.
I've heard of hidden features before, Ben, but you got us on this one.


I also have that up mix on the display of my receiver. I have no idea what it does and I don't know how to turn it off. My set up is 4 towers for L/R/SL/SR and a center with no sub. I set all 4 towers to large and center to small with crossover of 100. Does it has something to do with not having a sub?
Also trying to figure out how to turn the "up mix" off, and I believe there isn't a single answer on the entire internet. It's got to be possible, right? Or is it just always on when you set your speakers a certain way (rear on the side?)?
Brent212 is offline  
post #4549 of 4553 Old 10-16-2014, 06:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need a refresher on which Speaker System to choose to run a MCACC setup after a living room remodel. I have a 5.1 setup (including a subwoofer) with a 6th speaker in the rear center, for signals that let me use the 6th speaker. The manual is too confusing.

I also have 2 speakers that are Speaker B for my back porch. I don't want to calibrate them, they're independent. thanks!
ItzMe is offline  
post #4550 of 4553 Old 10-16-2014, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If you so the automated setup it should detect what you have.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4551 of 4553 Old 10-16-2014, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
neutro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
I need a refresher on which Speaker System to choose to run a MCACC setup after a living room remodel. I have a 5.1 setup (including a subwoofer) with a 6th speaker in the rear center, for signals that let me use the 6th speaker. The manual is too confusing.

I also have 2 speakers that are Speaker B for my back porch. I don't want to calibrate them, they're independent. thanks!
Well it looks to me like you should use the speaker system setting "Speaker B" in that case. See the Manual on p.15, schema [C], titled "7.1 channel surround system & Speaker B connection". In your case you have 6.1 channels but you could bump it to up to 7.1 in the main room. In the schema, the two speakers on the B posts are shown in the same room but they could be elsewhere. I don't think they will be calibrated by MCACC.

neutro is offline  
post #4552 of 4553 Old 10-16-2014, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Neutro. To confirm, that setting would give me full 5.1 when 7.1 or a pseudo 6.1 isn't available? And the back porch would remain independent? I also recall that in the past it would use use that 6th speaker on on occasion as a sorta filler, which is fine with me.
ItzMe is offline  
post #4553 of 4553 Old 10-16-2014, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
neutro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Thanks, Neutro. To confirm, that setting would give me full 5.1 when 7.1 or a pseudo 6.1 isn't available? And the back porch would remain independent? I also recall that in the past it would use use that 6th speaker on on occasion as a sorta filler, which is fine with me.
The Speaker B setup gives you either 6.1/7.1 channels when the B-speakers are not used, or 5.1 channels in the main room and stereo output of the same content on the B-speakers. So they're not independent.

If you want independent sound on the back porch (i.e. different content played on the two setups), then you must use the Zone 2 setting (schema [E] on page 16 of the manual). However with Zone 2 setting, you will be limited to 5.1 channels on your main setup, and the sources available for the 2nd zone setup are limited (in particular, you can't play sources connected through HDMI or other digital connections other than the net stations).

With the Speaker B setup, the B-speakers are connected to the "B" terminals on the lower right of the back panel. With the Zone 2 setup, you use the Surround Back terminals (hence why you can't have 6.1/7.1 channels this way).

That being said, I'm not sure if you can have a 6.1/7.1 setup on the main zone if you only use the Zone 2 pre outs (which would require you to have a stereo amp for your back porch setup).


Last edited by neutro; 10-16-2014 at 08:58 AM.
neutro is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off