The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1020-K Owner's Thread - Page 155 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4621 of 4635 Old 01-16-2016, 12:21 PM
Member
 
johnlaw12002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
power off/on

I have had the vxs 1020k for about 5 years, its running a polk surroundbar, psw-111 sub, fire stick and a comcast box, I have had zero issues, then about a week ago the sub started making random light thumping noises, and now the receiver is being picky when it decides to work. For example i power it on and it cycles into hdmi 1 as it is supposed to but then turns off or never manages to connect the tv with the cable. So basically it powers on and off by itself now and has rendered the family room TV disabled. Any suggestions on the first thing to do to trouble shoot the problem?
johnlaw12002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4622 of 4635 Old 01-16-2016, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
First thing I'd try is to run the speaker check routine,making sure there's no cross wiring. Also check for crimps everywhere, in case it's overheating. I thing I got error messages on the Led when mine overheated, or there were red or orange lights. I've also had my subwoofer blow, but that sounded like world war 3 in a thunderstorm when it happened. Maybe try disconnecting just the sub???
johnlaw12002 likes this.
ItzMe is offline  
post #4623 of 4635 Old 01-17-2016, 05:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Ian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin/Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ok, looks like my trusty Pioneer VSX1020 has died or something has gone wrong. Last night towards end of the Arizona game I heard a pop and lost all audio regardless of input. I switched all inputs and I get video but, no audio. Turned the receiver off and I usually get 2 click sounds within seconds of each other as it powers off. I no longer hear that. I unplugged the receiver and left it unplugged all night but this morning when i plugged it back on, I get one click sound when I hit the power button but not the second click sound. I get video through any of the inputs but, no sound. I can see in the received display that sound is coming in. I went to back of the receiver and all cables are nice and tight.

I love this receiver but need to know if it is done after 5 years, probably not worth repairing, or should I get the replacement model for this receiver. What is the current replacement model for this reciever and does it have Dolby Atmos decoder, 3d pass through and 4k pass through?

Thanks for any assistance anyone can provide.

Ian B
Mr Ian B is offline  
post #4624 of 4635 Old 01-17-2016, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Personally I like Yamaha or Denon better. They only have one app rather than having to pick the app for your model year. The remotes are better too. On top of that, Pioneer is owned by Onkyo now and I had a bad experience with them. I still have the Pioneer in the bedroom but have since had a Yamaha and Denon in the home theater. You'll have to pay a lot to get atmos 9 channel. There isn't much content and I get most of my discs from Netflix and I doubt I'll see an atmos disc this year.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4625 of 4635 Old 01-17-2016, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Ian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin/Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
Personally I like Yamaha or Denon better. They only have one app rather than having to pick the app for your model year. The remotes are better too. On top of that, Pioneer is owned by Onkyo now and I had a bad experience with them. I still have the Pioneer in the bedroom but have since had a Yamaha and Denon in the home theater. You'll have to pay a lot to get atmos 9 channel. There isn't much content and I get most of my discs from Netflix and I doubt I'll see an atmos disc this year.
Great info. Will pass on the Dolby Atmos for now and see what Yamaha and Denon have to offer. Will report back whatever I end up buying.

Ian B
Mr Ian B is offline  
post #4626 of 4635 Old 01-17-2016, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Ian B View Post
Great info. Will pass on the Dolby Atmos for now and see what Yamaha and Denon have to offer. Will report back whatever I end up buying.

Ian B
And sorry about the receiver!
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4627 of 4635 Old 01-17-2016, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Ian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin/Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ok, after researching I have it narrowed down to these 5 but the Yamaha would have to be ordered. The Denon models have the same price but one has higher total wattage.

PIONEER VSX-1130K $399.99

YAMAHA V579BL $499.95(NEEDS TO BE ORDERED)

DENON AVR-S910W $479.99

DENON AVR-S710W $479.99

SONY STRDN860 $449.99, INCLUDES A FREE 3D BLU RAY PLAYER MODEL Sony - BDPS6500


Ian B
Mr Ian B is offline  
post #4628 of 4635 Old 01-19-2016, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for keeping us informed about what new AVR you select and why. We're all bound to be past 1020k owners in the coming months or years, so your perspective is helpful.
ItzMe is offline  
post #4629 of 4635 Old 01-19-2016, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Check out accessories4less if you can stomach refurbs. I got a deal on the Denon x2100 before Christmas, currently $349. It has a lot more features than the Pioneer and appeared brand new.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4630 of 4635 Old 01-26-2016, 01:03 PM
Member
 
Pedro6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone using an IR sensor to control their receiver? I purchased and tried the following cable but it does not seem to work. Do I need something else?

http://www.amazon.ca/gp/aw/d/B005E2XLNM/ref=mp_s_a_1_11?qid=1453838480&sr=8-11&pi=AC_SX110_SY165_QL70&keywords=ir+repeater
Pedro6 is offline  
post #4631 of 4635 Old 01-31-2016, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Ian B View Post
Ok, after researching I have it narrowed down to these 5 but the Yamaha would have to be ordered. The Denon models have the same price but one has higher total wattage.

PIONEER VSX-1130K $399.99

YAMAHA V579BL $499.95(NEEDS TO BE ORDERED)

DENON AVR-S910W $479.99

DENON AVR-S710W $479.99

SONY STRDN860 $449.99, INCLUDES A FREE 3D BLU RAY PLAYER MODEL Sony - BDPS6500


Ian B
I just upgraded from the VSX 1020 to a Pioneer Elite SC-81 with Class D amps, and Saber DAC. It was a huge improvement over the 1020.
Amazon has it new from an authorized dealer for less than $500.00...

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ilpage_o07_s00

Samsung UN55H6350 LED TV, Pioneer SC-81 AV Receiver, Polk RTi8 Mains, Polk CSi3 Center, SVS PB1000 Subwoofer, Apple TV3, 2015 Roku3 ,Sonos Connect
Steelman99 is offline  
post #4632 of 4635 Old 02-05-2016, 11:32 AM
Newbie
 
Bails52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Diego area
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Smart Hub apps and HT sound

I could really use some help.
I recently purchased a Samsung Smart TV and I don't know how to set it up so that the Smart Hub apps play through my HT system. Right now the regular TV broadcast is through HT, but once I switch to the apps, everything is independent of the receiver. If I turn the receiver off, I still get video and TV sound.
From what I've read, I need an optical cable running from the TV to the receiver, which I do have. My suspicion is that I just don't have the correct receiver settings to make use of the optical cable connection. I know that the optical in ports are "assignable," but I don't know what that means.
Thanks!
Bails52 is offline  
post #4633 of 4635 Old Today, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 76
As I recall, this receiver doesn't have audio return channel via hdmi. That sounds like what you are trying to do.

I can't remember exactly how you do it, but you can pick hdmi, optical or analog input for each hdmi input. I think you do it on the receiver, not sure if it can be done from the remote.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4634 of 4635 Old Today, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 515 Post(s)
Liked: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bails52 View Post
I could really use some help.
I recently purchased a Samsung Smart TV and I don't know how to set it up so that the Smart Hub apps play through my HT system. Right now the regular TV broadcast is through HT, but once I switch to the apps, everything is independent of the receiver. If I turn the receiver off, I still get video and TV sound.
From what I've read, I need an optical cable running from the TV to the receiver, which I do have. My suspicion is that I just don't have the correct receiver settings to make use of the optical cable connection. I know that the optical in ports are "assignable," but I don't know what that means.
Thanks!
As noted, this receiver doesn't support ARC, so you have to use optical out from your TV to the receiver.

Connect your optical cable from the TV to the receiver, to one of the the three optical ports from the list below (the fourth port is optical out from the receiver so don't use that).

1. DVD/LD
2. TV/Sat
3. MT Tape
4. Optical Out

Use the optical input that you aren't already using on the receiver for viewing other content. E.g., if you have a DVD/LD connected to the receiver, don't use that optical input, since you're already using that input selection for your DVD player. (There are optical ports available for devices like a DVD player or LD because back in the day before HDMI was common, if you had a DVD/LD player that only had component outputs for video, you'd have to use optical out from the DVD/LD to get sound to the receiver.) No one has an MT Tape deck any more, so that's the easiest one to use for your TV optical input w/out having a conflict.

Then change settings on your TV to tell it to use an external audio system for audio - on my Sony TV that's Settings>Sound>Speakers; set to Audio System. Your TV will have a similar setting. That tells the TV to send it's audio feed to an external system when it is producing audio, as when its apps are running.

Then when you are using apps, set your receiver so that the MT Tape input (or whichever optical input you chose to use) is selected on your receiver.

That should do it. I don't have my manual handy (happened to have a print-out showing the inputs/outputs on the back of the receiver) and I can't remember if you have to also tell the receiver to use the optical input when using the MT/Tape input, but I don't think you do - as long as you have audio coming into the MT Tape optical input port, I believe it will play when you select the MT Tape input on the receiver.

See the attached (somewhat blurry) pic - the four ports on the upper left of the pic are the four optical ports, first three input ports, the bottom one an output port.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cap_0313.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	82.4 KB
ID:	1236209  

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.

Last edited by Danabw; Today at 09:34 AM.
Danabw is offline  
post #4635 of 4635 Old Today, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,954
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bails52 View Post
My suspicion is that I just don't have the correct receiver settings to make use of the optical cable connection. I know that the optical in ports are "assignable," but I don't know what that means.
Thanks!
Hi Bails52, whichever optical port its plugged into either OPT 1 or OPT2 on the VSX-1020, on the remote press Signal Sel button and set it to Digital.
JChin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off