The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1020-K Owner's Thread - Page 157 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4681 of 4707 Old 12-01-2016, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
I have a harmony hub and you can do things like that with it, but not automatically.
Thanks, I have a hub on order, hoping I can integrate with Smartthings hub I have and Alexa Google Home and automate!

How do you use your hub?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4682 of 4707 Old 12-01-2016, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,133
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danabw View Post
Thanks, I have a hub on order, hoping I can integrate with Smartthings hub I have and Alexa Google Home and automate!

How do you use your hub?
Well not very much at the moment. Harmony is doing some strange things with the activities I set up. All of my devices have ip, so I don't need the blaster. If I do turn on tv, it does that pretty well, the TV goes on, the receiver on and switches over to the tivo.

If I press listen to music, it turns on the receiver, switches to internet radio and for some odd reason turns on the projector. CEC is off.

Watch a movie works properly.

Another nuisance is that the power off keeps putting the tivo to sleep even though I told it not to. I split the tivo to go to other tvs.

Echo/Dot commands are difficult to remember, but the other day I was talking to my wife about tea and Dot said OK and the tv turned on.

So hit and miss, I figure things will eventually get better.

Harmony still seems blissfully ignorant of state...
ItzMe and Danabw like this.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #4683 of 4707 Old 12-08-2016, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Santa has a hub waiting for me, but after reading all this I may send it back to the North Pole.

I really want to use Alexa when I'm watching tv from my adjacent kitchen, usually cooking. I really want to use Alexa to adjust AVR volume, mute, pause my Directv tv, skip tv, things like that when my hands aren't free.
ItzMe is offline  
 
post #4684 of 4707 Old 12-08-2016, 09:00 AM
Newbie
 
Spitfirejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfirejoe View Post
I ordered resistors from Parts Express (couldn't get an exact match to 306 ohms, so got a 300 and a 6.2) I cut the wires to the posistor and wired up the replacement resistors in series.
Final update on the above - my combination of resistors gave the unit a signal of 306.2 ohms, which I knew was too high a reading. I just figured it was "close enough". Nope - multiple failures.

I cut out the 6.2 resistor and tried again. I've now been running the VSX-1020 for quite a few hours now with no subsequent failures. When the wife isn't home, I'll pump up the volume quite a bit and let it run for hours. No issues. I'm afraid to play the thing while no one is home since I've effectively removed the overheat safety switch.

I've just purchased a Pioneer SC-1222-K from a local gentleman. This beast has the Class D amps that are rated to run my 4 ohm Infinity Qb speakers, and has a few other toys for me to play with. The 1020 is coming out of the system, and I have to decide if I can give it to someone else and let them play with it. It certainly wouldn't feel right to sell it to anyone with the bastard modification I did.

Thanks for all the sharing of info on the 1020. I really appreciated everyone's input.

Joe Guinan
Fremont, Nebraska
Spitfirejoe is offline  
post #4685 of 4707 Old 12-08-2016, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post
Well not very much at the moment. Harmony is doing some strange things with the activities I set up. All of my devices have ip, so I don't need the blaster. If I do turn on tv, it does that pretty well, the TV goes on, the receiver on and switches over to the tivo.

If I press listen to music, it turns on the receiver, switches to internet radio and for some odd reason turns on the projector. CEC is off.

Watch a movie works properly.

Another nuisance is that the power off keeps putting the tivo to sleep even though I told it not to. I split the tivo to go to other tvs.

Echo/Dot commands are difficult to remember, but the other day I was talking to my wife about tea and Dot said OK and the tv turned on.

So hit and miss, I figure things will eventually get better.

Harmony still seems blissfully ignorant of state...
My harmony remote/hub has arrived and things are all working pretty much perfectly. I've had almost no issues, the normal tweaks to activities after getting them imported from my current harmony 700 remote setup.

Integration with both Alexa and Google Home works great, and I can use IFTTT to customize the commands and the responses of Google Home (for both the Harmony as well as any other actions I do with my smart home).

I have one of the newer Sony Android TVs, and there's a Harmony app on the TV that allows me to integrate my Harmony Activities into the Action menu on the TV.

Loving it so far.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
post #4686 of 4707 Old 12-08-2016, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
danadw, Can you point me to a list of commands you can use IFTTT to customize?
ItzMe is offline  
post #4687 of 4707 Old 12-08-2016, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
danadw, Can you point me to a list of commands you can use IFTTT to customize?
I created my own applets on the IFTTT site. On the IFTTT site you connect IFTTT to your Google Home, then create an applet that sets up the if/then, linking your desired command to the Google Home command (e.g., i connected the phrase "Let's watch drama!" to the commands that starts my Roku activity).

You need a hub (I use the Samsung Smartthings hub) to link the Harmony commands to your Google Home.

That help?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
post #4688 of 4707 Old 12-08-2016, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It helps enough to know what to Google, thanks. I''ll explore IFTTT and the Logitech hub with Echo.
ItzMe is offline  
post #4689 of 4707 Old 12-09-2016, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
It helps enough to know what to Google, thanks. I''ll explore IFTTT and the Logitech hub with Echo.
It is actually much simpler than it sounds. 😃

Have fun!

I also use the Smartthings hub and a z-wave garage door switch add-on (Linear Gocontrol) connected to my garage door opener so I can open and close it remotely and via voice, and also monitor open/closed status, and get notified if it opens between 11 PM and 7 AM, when it normally should be closed. Fun toys, and also useful.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.

Last edited by Danabw; 12-09-2016 at 08:47 AM.
Danabw is offline  
post #4690 of 4707 Old 12-13-2016, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
While I see some value in the garage activity, I really just want to be able to watch tv handsfree when I'm in the kitchen working... louder, lower, mute, change input, change channel on Dvr, skip forward on DVR, etc.

Home automation should get to that point.
ItzMe is offline  
post #4691 of 4707 Old 12-15-2016, 11:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
While I see some value in the garage activity, I really just want to be able to watch tv handsfree when I'm in the kitchen working... louder, lower, mute, change input, change channel on Dvr, skip forward on DVR, etc.

Home automation should get to that point.
Yes, the volume, mute, and channel up/down actions with Harmony aren't available through the interfaces with Google home at this point, which is an issue with Harmony that they need to resolve. You can now ask Google Home to pay a specific show on Netflix, though.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
post #4692 of 4707 Old 12-16-2016, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
ItzMe is offline  
post #4693 of 4707 Old 12-16-2016, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Sweet...I prefer Google Home, but have an Echo as well. Want these to work on Google Home!

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
post #4694 of 4707 Old 12-16-2016, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Probably a just-me issue, but the new skill won't link to my account. Original Harmony skill is linked to my account.



Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
post #4695 of 4707 Old 12-16-2016, 05:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Resolved the issue...ended up going through hub setup on another Android phone I have at home, even though the hub was already set up, and after that, everything worked.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
post #4696 of 4707 Old 12-18-2016, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Does the harmony use discreet input codes on the 1020k? I'm curious if I could also use my programmed universal remotes (not harmony) in my living room and the Alexa commands when I'm in the kitchen, or would that cause things to get out of sync?
ItzMe is offline  
post #4697 of 4707 Old 12-18-2016, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Does the harmony use discreet input codes on the 1020k? I'm curious if I could also use my programmed universal remotes (not harmony) in my living room and the Alexa commands when I'm in the kitchen, or would that cause things to get out of sync?
Yes, you have access to discrete input commands via Harmony...my activities all start by choosing the input I want the receiver to switch to.

The problem would be that Alexa/Harmony hub wouldn't know what state the entertainment system was in if you turn on your entertainment system using the universal remote. So you'd have to tell Alexa/Harmony to turn on the same activity, (even though your entertainment components are already on and in use) and doing that might cause some issues (e.g., you have a component that doesn't have a discrete power command, so when you start the activity in Alexa, Harmony sends a "power on/power off" command to turn on the component, which would turn off the component that is already on.

And there may be issues going in the opposite direction (start activity on Alexa and then control w/Universal) where Alexa/Harmony won't know the state of the entertainment system.

So you'd have to think through the issues and how you'd use it. In particular if other family members were going to be using it you'd likely spend a lot of time doing tech support...

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
post #4698 of 4707 Old 12-18-2016, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Danabw, thanks! That was very helpful. I'm thinking my universal remotes (yes there are 2 in my living room) and the Harmony Hub just might be able to coexist, since our habit 98% of the time, is to start from and end the day with the DVRs HDMI. All the kitchen hands-free Alexa use would involve only the Pioneer and the DVR (pause, mute, skip, etc).

Even now my 2 universal remotes are occasionally out of sync with each other other, and it's never a big deal the way they're programmed. If I notice the channel change isn't working, it's because we we were watching the Apple TV the night before. A short tap on the URs DVR button takes control of the DVR (a long press of that button would run a macro routine to flip over to the DVR mode, regardless what mode it was previously in). We're generally in either DVR mode or Apple TV mode, ending and starting at DVR.

Now having to turn the Off HDMI CEC may be annoying when it comes to those rare occasions where I'm using the ATVs Siri remote. Could I leave the HDMI CEC on? Hmmmm.

Sounds like I need to think this through more. Thanks for letting me talk it out
Danabw likes this.
ItzMe is offline  
post #4699 of 4707 Old 12-18-2016, 11:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
Danabw, thanks! That was very helpful. I'm thinking my universal remotes (yes there are 2 in my living room) and the Harmony Hub just might be able to coexist, since our habit 98% of the time, is to start from and end the day with the DVRs HDMI. All the kitchen hands-free Alexa use would involve only the Pioneer and the DVR (pause, mute, skip, etc).

Even now my 2 universal remotes are occasionally out of sync with each other other, and it's never a big deal the way they're programmed. If I notice the channel change isn't working, it's because we we were watching the Apple TV the night before. A short tap on the URs DVR button takes control of the DVR (a long press of that button would run a macro routine to flip over to the DVR mode, regardless what mode it was previously in). We're generally in either DVR mode or Apple TV mode, ending and starting at DVR.

Now having to turn the Off HDMI CEC may be annoying when it comes to those rare occasions where I'm using the ATVs Siri remote. Could I leave the HDMI CEC on? Hmmmm.

Sounds like I need to think this through more. Thanks for letting me talk it out
LOL, a friend calls it "needing a teddy bear to talk to" when he needs to think through an issue.

Happy planning. I think you'll love the Harmony hub paired with Alexa and your system. Now that they've added voice control over volume, it's much more useable.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
post #4700 of 4707 Old 12-20-2016, 07:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So how cool would this be? . " Alexa, tell Harmony to listen to Pandora on the Apple TV."
Danabw likes this.
ItzMe is offline  
post #4701 of 4707 Old 12-23-2016, 10:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post
So how cool would this be? . " Alexa, tell Harmony to listen to Pandora on the Apple TV."
LOL...I've set up an IFTTT that allows me to ask Google Home to ask Alexa to ask Harmony to change the volume in my TV. Tah-dah!

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
post #4702 of 4707 Old 12-31-2016, 07:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've got Alexa and harmony working really well together. The more I experiment the more I'm impressed and feel like I'm living in the future.

My challenge now is to find a way to change the pioneer to speaker B or speaker A and B to send music to my back porch speakers. I think that can only be done manually on the front panel 😕
Danabw likes this.
ItzMe is offline  
post #4703 of 4707 Old 01-05-2017, 01:10 PM
Member
 
KingKapalone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My dad is having (had it for awhile) a problem with his 1020k and will now be an issue when trying to use his new Harmony. He's had this issue since he got it years ago. The cable box is on and plugged into the receiver via HDMI. If he turns on the power to the TV and then to the receiver, the TV starts it's power on and the receiver turns on. The receiver then turns off before the TV is able to output any video. Turning the receiver back on will then work fine.

The same thing happens if I try to watch the HTPC. The HTPC is already on and connected to HDMI 5. Turn the TV on, receiver on, switch inputs if needed, receiver turns off, then TV finishes booting up.

If I turn on receiver first and let it finish powering up, even start receiving the audio from the cable box, then turn the TV on, the receiver still shuts off. After turning it back on, everything works fine.

Any idea what is going on? Need more info from me? This is preventing setting up the Harmony because it's obviously trying to turn everything on at once.

edit: haha funny how small things don't take a priority until they're more of a problem. I just found the Control via HDMI setting in the receiver settings and turned it off since I don't think it's used and it fixed the problem. 30 minutes of work for a years old problem.
Danabw likes this.

Last edited by KingKapalone; 01-05-2017 at 01:31 PM.
KingKapalone is offline  
post #4704 of 4707 Old 01-06-2017, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danabw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,204
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 842 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingKapalone View Post
My dad is having (had it for awhile) a problem with his 1020k and will now be an issue when trying to use his new Harmony. He's had this issue since he got it years ago. The cable box is on and plugged into the receiver via HDMI. If he turns on the power to the TV and then to the receiver, the TV starts it's power on and the receiver turns on. The receiver then turns off before the TV is able to output any video. Turning the receiver back on will then work fine.

The same thing happens if I try to watch the HTPC. The HTPC is already on and connected to HDMI 5. Turn the TV on, receiver on, switch inputs if needed, receiver turns off, then TV finishes booting up.

If I turn on receiver first and let it finish powering up, even start receiving the audio from the cable box, then turn the TV on, the receiver still shuts off. After turning it back on, everything works fine.

Any idea what is going on? Need more info from me? This is preventing setting up the Harmony because it's obviously trying to turn everything on at once.

edit: haha funny how small things don't take a priority until they're more of a problem. I just found the Control via HDMI setting in the receiver settings and turned it off since I don't think it's used and it fixed the problem. 30 minutes of work for a years old problem.
You know, just the ability sit down and write out your problem is probably a key thing in solving it. A friend of mine refers to it as "consulting with a teddy bear."

Glad you worked it out.

On the other hand, I have to admit to my surprise about this receiver supporting control via HDMI. Since I've always used Harmonies, that feature's never been really useful to me so I must've turned it off when I first got the receiver and then forgot about it.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

2015 Sony X850C FAQ: Recommended Picture settings, 3D FAQ, HDR FAQ, DirecTV 4K Ready FAQ, Troubleshooting & common problems; Dropbox Link || Alternate Google Drive FAQ Link. FAQ is frequently (often daily!) updated, check back often! || My gear: TV - Sony XBR75X850C, BD - Sony BDP S350, AVR - Pioneer VSX-1020, Speakers - RBH MC-616C MKII Center Channel, RBH MC-6C MKII Bookshelf (fronts), RBH MC-615 In-ceiling surrounds, RBH TS-10AP 200W self-powered sub.
Danabw is offline  
post #4705 of 4707 Old 02-25-2017, 04:50 AM
Newbie
 
Spitfirejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfirejoe View Post
Final update on the above - my combination of resistors gave the unit a signal of 306.2 ohms, which I knew was too high a reading. I just figured it was "close enough". Nope - multiple failures.

I cut out the 6.2 resistor and tried again. I've now been running the VSX-1020 for quite a few hours now with no subsequent failures. When the wife isn't home, I'll pump up the volume quite a bit and let it run for hours. No issues. I'm afraid to play the thing while no one is home since I've effectively removed the overheat safety switch.

I've just purchased a Pioneer SC-1222-K from a local gentleman. This beast has the Class D amps that are rated to run my 4 ohm Infinity Qb speakers, and has a few other toys for me to play with. The 1020 is coming out of the system, and I have to decide if I can give it to someone else and let them play with it. It certainly wouldn't feel right to sell it to anyone with the bastard modification I did.

Thanks for all the sharing of info on the 1020. I really appreciated everyone's input.
Another final update. Just to see what would happen, I swapped the VSX-1020 into my Home Theater set-up. Everything worked, sounded wonderful, and then it shut itself down. I didn't even try to reset it, just took it out of the system and put it back on a shelf in the shop. I'm assuming the extra "work" of driving several speakers was just too much for it to handle. The SC-1222-K is working fine and I just don't want to invest any more effort or time in that piece of crap VSX-1020. I think it's going to go to the electronics recycling bin at work. If anyone wants it - let me know.

Joe Guinan
Fremont, Nebraska
Spitfirejoe is offline  
post #4706 of 4707 Old 04-24-2017, 04:17 PM
Newbie
 
nstevenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Multiple EQ settings

On the 1020 I know I can have a different EQ setting on each memory setting but is it possible to set different EQ for each output? I ask because as much as I like the MCACC for TV and movies I want a different, more musical, profile associated with an analog music input so I don't have to pick a different memory. I know that's not hard to do but it's a nuisance.

Last edited by nstevenator; 04-26-2017 at 08:41 PM. Reason: typo
nstevenator is offline  
post #4707 of 4707 Old 09-21-2017, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Before updating to tvOS 11 if I pressed any button on the remote my AVR would automatically switch inputs. That stopped working now. Nothing changed in my Pioneer AVR, and my Apple TV remains set with Never Sleep and Control TVs and Receivers On. If I airplay from another iOS device the AVR Does auto switch, so the hdmi CEC does work in that sense. Anyone else experiencing this?

Btw, I'm posting the question here because no one replied in the Apple TV thread.
ItzMe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off