The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1020-K Owner's Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1020-K Owner's Thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

El Gabito's Avatar El Gabito
06:07 PM Liked: 10
post #31 of 4580
04-28-2010 | Posts: 143
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelly_NV View Post

Haven't seen an option for this and doesn't have by default. I'll try poking around more today.

All I see is this in the manual:

Quote:


The operations below can also be used on
Pioneer Control with HDMI-compatible TVs.
When the receiver's volume is adjusted or
the sound is muted, the volume status is
displayed on the TV's screen.
When the OSD language is switched on
the TV, the receiver's language setting also
switches accordingly.

This is a key feature for me as well. Probably go Denon/Onkyo if it won't work.
MitsuHelp's Avatar MitsuHelp
04:05 AM Liked: 10
post #32 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 415
Joined: Oct 2005
Noticed yesterday that their site did not show coming soon and I had no updates in email or on their site so I called. They said that they had some in so I asked why I had not received any updates.he asked from my order number and said it's been shipped!!

It will be here Friday provided no floods or volcanos!
Nitemage's Avatar Nitemage
07:49 AM Liked: 11
post #33 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 284
Joined: Nov 2004
Since this unit only has a 240 watt power supply. Are any users out there driving a full 7.1 surround system with mid size speakers. Are you having any issues getting enough power?

I'm looking at running the receiver with a set of Ascend speakers and I'm wondering if I should go for the VSX-1020 just for the added power. (Room size is 14x25)
GregLee's Avatar GregLee
08:12 AM Liked: 78
post #34 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 3,250
Joined: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitemage View Post

Since this unit only has a 240 watt power supply. Are any users out there driving a full 7.1 surround system with mid size speakers. Are you having any issues getting enough power?

Note the size of the speakers has nothing to do with how much power they need -- rather, you want to look at the ohms and the efficiency rating. But except for some special cases, maybe electrostatic speakers, for typical home speakers, rooms, and receivers, I just don't think you need to worry about power. To answer your question, I have two 7.1 systems with speakers of varying sizes and very moderate priced Pioneer receivers -- no power problems. The 1020 is rated at 80W/channel, rated fairly conservatively (but only 2 channels driven). That's not a lot; for the price, you can find higher rated AVRs. I'm sure it won't be a problem for me.
winston9332's Avatar winston9332
09:56 AM Liked: 31
post #35 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 5,822
Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitemage View Post

Since this unit only has a 240 watt power supply. Are any users out there driving a full 7.1 surround system with mid size speakers. Are you having any issues getting enough power?

I'm looking at running the receiver with a set of Ascend speakers and I'm wondering if I should go for the VSX-1020 just for the added power. (Room size is 14x25)

really curious about this too. the 2amp draw is a third of the similarly priced onkyo and a good 100 watts lower than last year's model that only measured 30 watts per channel with all channels driven. worry this might not have much power when pushed even moderately.
ccotenj's Avatar ccotenj
11:54 AM Liked: 90
post #36 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 21,915
Joined: Mar 2005
what i'm curious about is if most people realize how little power they actually use....
Pelly_NV's Avatar Pelly_NV
12:28 PM Liked: 15
post #37 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 291
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goatse View Post

still doesn't EQ the subwoofer correct?

Sorry for the awful iPhone pic.

The AVR doesn't do any EQ adjustment for sub as far as I can see. However, it does seem to have an adjustment for standing waves. See here (the SW is selected here, can't tell in this terrible pic):


Pelly_NV's Avatar Pelly_NV
12:34 PM Liked: 15
post #38 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 291
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregLee View Post

The 1020 is rated at 80W/channel, rated fairly conservatively (but only 2 channels driven). That's not a lot; for the price, you can find higher rated AVRs. I'm sure it won't be a problem for me.

The 1020 is 110Wx7 right? http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-VSX-10.../dp/B0039XQQX0
GregLee's Avatar GregLee
12:44 PM Liked: 78
post #39 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 3,250
Joined: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelly_NV View Post

The 1020 is 110Wx7 right? http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-VSX-10.../dp/B0039XQQX0

Pioneer gives two ratings: 110W/channel, 1kHz, 8ohm, 0.05%thd, 1 ch driven, and one more conservative rating (which I was referring to): "Continuous average power output of 80 watts per hcannel, min., at 8 ohms, from 20 Hz to 20 000 Hz with no more than 0.08 % total harmonic distortion." (from p. 127 of the user manual).
Pelly_NV's Avatar Pelly_NV
12:52 PM Liked: 15
post #40 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 291
Joined: Mar 2008
One thing I'd love to change is the size of the cover art when playing music from my iPhone. Does ayone know if that playback screen has any configuration options?

Would have loved to be able to select artist/album by cover art (like in iTunes)
david_halliday's Avatar david_halliday
01:13 PM Liked: 10
post #41 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 14
Joined: Sep 2006
How warm does this thing get???

I was going to get an Onkyo 807 but after seeing it in action realized it just would not work in my cabinet (it gets really hot!).

Thanks...
Defcon's Avatar Defcon
04:50 PM Liked: 39
post #42 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 919
Joined: Sep 2001
I would also like to know how hot this gets. The amazon review for VSX-1019 (http://www.amazon.com/review/R2JTDNN...#R2JTDNN7OAUM6) says it gets too hot, and that may be an issue with my tv stand.
ccotenj's Avatar ccotenj
04:52 PM Liked: 90
post #43 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 21,915
Joined: Mar 2005
^^^

ALL modern avr's produce a goodly amount of heat... there's lots of electronic doodads in there that are all converting electricity into it...

some may run a bit cooler than others, but none run "cool"....
Defcon's Avatar Defcon
05:22 PM Liked: 39
post #44 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 919
Joined: Sep 2001
Well, there's hot and then there's 'Onko 607' hot', which can cause damage. e.g. in the Onkyo 608 thread, people are happy it has a much more efficient PSU and runs a lot cooler. None of the equipment I have ever gets too hot to touch, IMO that's not a good sign.
Pelly_NV's Avatar Pelly_NV
05:54 PM Liked: 15
post #45 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 291
Joined: Mar 2008
I've watched Blu-rays, DirecTV, and plenty of music through this AVR already. Actually think the unit stays cooler than my old 1909. Chassis barely gets warm to the touch.
smckenna3's Avatar smckenna3
06:08 PM Liked: 10
post #46 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelly_NV View Post

I've watched Blu-rays, DirecTV, and plenty of music through this AVR already. Actually think the unit stays cooler than my old 1909. Chassis barely gets warm to the touch.

and how does it sound.....
lojack1976's Avatar lojack1976
06:40 PM Liked: 10
post #47 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 78
Joined: May 2009
Cancelled my PowersellerNYC order and picked up the 1020 at Best Buy today. Plan to hook it up a little later tonight.
winston9332's Avatar winston9332
06:43 PM Liked: 31
post #48 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 5,822
Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelly_NV View Post

I've watched Blu-rays, DirecTV, and plenty of music through this AVR already. Actually think the unit stays cooler than my old 1909. Chassis barely gets warm to the touch.

how about its power?

my only worry about this receiver (as I am sure you've read on the parallel 1120/1020 thread is that they cutt 100 watts from the draw from the 1019, which tested 34 watts with 5 channels driven.
Pelly_NV's Avatar Pelly_NV
09:11 PM Liked: 15
post #49 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 291
Joined: Mar 2008
So far, I'm definitely pleased with the results. Still more tweaking to do, but sound quality is at least on par (or better) than my previous Denon 1909.
Defcon's Avatar Defcon
11:24 PM Liked: 39
post #50 of 4580
04-29-2010 | Posts: 919
Joined: Sep 2001
Am I going to see any improvement in sound compared to a Sony STR-DG820? I'm considering it, not sure how much of an upgrade it is, and e.g. how much difference MCACC will make.
DSmith's Avatar DSmith
07:13 AM Liked: 10
post #51 of 4580
04-30-2010 | Posts: 50
Joined: Dec 2001
Picked one up yesterday from Best Busy and canceled my Amazon order.

I hooked it up but was not able to get the zone 2 to work. I attached the zone 2 speakers to the surround backs and then configured my speakers for zone 2 but I'm unable to get any sound out of the zone 2 speakers. If I configure the speakers for a 7.1 setup I can get test tones out of the zone 2 speakers so I know they are attached correctly.

The receiver displays mutizone on the display and I can turn up/down the zone 2 volume but there's no sound.

The instructions in the book are far from perfect so perhaps I've done something wrong. Has anyone else had an issue?


Thanks,
Darrel
ccotenj's Avatar ccotenj
07:24 AM Liked: 90
post #52 of 4580
04-30-2010 | Posts: 21,915
Joined: Mar 2005
sources?

the manual would imply (and it would be consistent with previous year's models) that only analog audio sources will be available in zone 2...
MitsuHelp's Avatar MitsuHelp
07:57 AM Liked: 10
post #53 of 4580
04-30-2010 | Posts: 415
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

sources?

the manual would imply (and it would be consistent with previous year's models) that only analog audio sources will be available in zone 2...

OK....let it fly

What is an analog source if there are any other than FM radio.....gawd....I hated asking this question....I know it's going to be painful
sjchmura's Avatar sjchmura
08:05 AM Liked: 13
post #54 of 4580
04-30-2010 | Posts: 1,767
Joined: Jan 2002
Can anyone get their ATI 5xxx card after sleep to "sync" all the time in 1080p?
ccotenj's Avatar ccotenj
09:08 AM Liked: 90
post #55 of 4580
04-30-2010 | Posts: 21,915
Joined: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitsuHelp View Post

OK....let it fly

What is an analog source if there are any other than FM radio.....gawd....I hated asking this question....I know it's going to be painful

not too painful...

what others have done in the past is to hook up their sources with both digital and analog cables...

i know that's not a great solution... but it is what it is... fwiw, it's not unique to pio avr's...

the alternative is to set up the second set of speakers as "speaker b", but then you cannot play different sources at the same time...
Sackett's Avatar Sackett
09:17 AM Liked: 10
post #56 of 4580
04-30-2010 | Posts: 32
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

sources?

the manual would imply (and it would be consistent with previous year's models) that only analog audio sources will be available in zone 2...

I would be very interested in a test to see which sources do and do not work in Zone 2. I flipped through the manual a couple weeks ago, and I only recall something like 'some sources do not work on Zone 2', but no difinitive list.

For instance, I was planning on running internet radio and iPod to Zone 2. Will this not be possible?

Can someone out there do a Zone 2 test for us??
MitsuHelp's Avatar MitsuHelp
09:17 AM Liked: 10
post #57 of 4580
04-30-2010 | Posts: 415
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

not too painful...

what others have done in the past is to hook up their sources with both digital and analog cables...

i know that's not a great solution... but it is what it is... fwiw, it's not unique to pio avr's...

the alternative is to set up the second set of speakers as "speaker b", but then you cannot play different sources at the same time...

OK....that makes sense!

I would want to listen to the same source on zone two so then I would be able to listen to digital or analog....correct? (w/o having to setup B speakers)
Pelly_NV's Avatar Pelly_NV
09:23 AM Liked: 15
post #58 of 4580
04-30-2010 | Posts: 291
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjchmura View Post

Can anyone get their ATI 5xxx card after sleep to "sync" all the time in 1080p?

Working for NVIDIA, it pains me to do this. LOL

You can hit up the head of ATI's Catalyst driver team on twitter and Terry will likely have an answer for you the same day.

http://twitter.com/catalystmaker
MitsuHelp's Avatar MitsuHelp
09:47 AM Liked: 10
post #59 of 4580
04-30-2010 | Posts: 415
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sackett View Post

I would be very interested in a test to see which sources do and do not work in Zone 2. I flipped through the manual a couple weeks ago, and I only recall something like 'some sources do not work on Zone 2', but no difinitive list.

For instance, I was planning on running internet radio and iPod to Zone 2. Will this not be possible?

Can someone out there do a Zone 2 test for us??

Mine should be delivered late today so that will be one of the first things to test but it may not be until tomorrow.....I will definitely send out the results as soon as I have them unless someone beats me to it!

I'm hoping what they are saying is that the AVR cannot decode from two different digital sources at one timeie one on zone 1 and one on zone 2..
DSmith's Avatar DSmith
10:38 AM Liked: 10
post #60 of 4580
04-30-2010 | Posts: 50
Joined: Dec 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

sources?

the manual would imply (and it would be consistent with previous year's models) that only analog audio sources will be available in zone 2...

I haven't seen this disclaimer but I hope this is not true because I plan on using my Blu-ray player (via HDMI) to play CD's as well as the iPod connection in Zone 2.

Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3