The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1020-K Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 4546 Old 05-01-2010, 10:19 AM
Member
 
tmiddleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjscheid View Post

At the risk of exposing myself as a complete noob... I'm wondering if I need to quickly cancel my amazon pre-order before i get to the top of the line...

I had hoped to play (at a minimum)
1. AM/FM
2. iPod and
3. internet radio sources to zone 2 (garage) and speaker b (patio)

Will I be able to or not? if not, what would be the alternative input wiring if i keep the pre-order and get the 1020?
I'm assuming 1 & 3 = yes, but 2 not sure after reading the thread.

Thank you!

All of those sources can be played in Zone 2 or Speaker B but not both. The first thing you set is your speaker setup and you have to choose between five or six options, two of which are Zone 2 and Speaker B.
tmiddleton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 4546 Old 05-01-2010, 10:31 AM
Member
 
tmiddleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoviesLover View Post

2 questions for the group:

(1) Anyone know if the above 3 problems are solved by getting the new pioneer 1120?

(2) on the "can only play analog input music in zone 2, does this mean that a blu ray player connected to the avr with hdmi wouldnt play a cd in zone 2?!?! If this is the case (seems wierd to me!), would an upgrade to the 1120 fix problem?

1) I would like to know this as well. From what I've read, we can forget about playing digital sources in a Zone 2 setup. The 1120 might send the digital source to Speaker B if that setup is used though.

2) That is indeed the case unless your bd player has a seperate analog out (red & white rca plugs) and will output through HDMI and analog at the same time. I use a PS3 so I don't have that option. To my understanding, if you want to convert two digital sources at the same time you would need the unit to have two Digital/Analog Converter chips. It seems that only very high-end units will handle that feature.
tmiddleton is offline  
post #93 of 4546 Old 05-01-2010, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pelly_NV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

Pelly_NV,

Does this Pioneer or any Pioneer AVR have anything similar to Audyssey Dynamic Volume?


Respectfully,
Willie

(updated) Turns out there is a feature similar to Audyssey's Dynamic Volume. Pioneer calls it Auto-Level Control (ALC). This feature is mentioned on pg. 56 of the manual.
Pelly_NV is offline  
post #94 of 4546 Old 05-01-2010, 04:32 PM
Member
 
Kevin57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only problem I'm having is when I'm watching a bluray and select another source the bluray player locks up. The only way to recover is to shut down the player and turn back on. I'm using HDMI cables. Other than that everything else is working great. Any ideas or is this normal?
Kevin57 is offline  
post #95 of 4546 Old 05-01-2010, 07:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:


Digital source cannot be sent to Zone 2 or B Speakers. (Deal breaker)

I don't understand why this is such a deal breaker for people? Its already confirmed the iPod works in Zone 2. How difficult is it to run analog RCA cables from your sources to the receiver? Pretty much all A/V receivers need analog connections for Zone2.

It would take me less than 5 minutes to connect all my devices via analog.

Your DVD player has red and white stereo outputs, so does your blu ray player (unless its a PS3), a CD player has them. Even a cable or sat box has them. The tuner already works in Zone2.

You don't need to disconnect your existing HDMI and optical/digital coax connections.

I've been doing this for 6 years with my HK receiver. Its not that big a deal.

Most people probably have the cables laying around the house. Stereo cables usually come in the box with new DVD, CD and BD players.

If you don't have any the cheap cables are less than $1 and the fancy ones cost just over $2.50.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #96 of 4546 Old 05-01-2010, 07:00 PM
Member
 
milehighxr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So is this thing warm feces or what? I think I'm gonna get one soon. Might wait til Wii Black comes out, and do the damage all at once. Any major draw backs on this thing? Also I can't find it in Energy Star website to see how much power it uses, and can't find it in owners manual. It is more for curiosity sake, than a potential deal breaker.
milehighxr is offline  
post #97 of 4546 Old 05-01-2010, 07:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 351
The power consumption figures are on page 127 of the owners manual.
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/St...ctions0302.pdf

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #98 of 4546 Old 05-01-2010, 08:23 PM
Member
 
aeitingon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody found a good list of internet radio stations that work with this stereo?
aeitingon is offline  
post #99 of 4546 Old 05-01-2010, 10:53 PM
Member
 
lojack1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I'm loving this receiver. I'm coming from an HK AVR-247 which was very good, but this thing is just awesome. Configuring the optical cable from my computer was a pain to figure out. For some reason the auto signal detection didn't seem to work very well, but once I set it to digital only it worked fine.

I've use Audyssey on my Onkyo 605 which works great, but I didn't like the calibration the Harman used at all. It just never produced good results so I ended up doing it all manually. In contrast my first experience here with MCACC produced extremely good results. The only things I changed was the speaker setting from Large to Small, and I boosted the sub a bit since it wasn't quite enough for my liking.

From a sound quality standpoint I couldn't be happier. I've had lower end Pioneer receivers in the past which sounded great so of course I knew this would be even better, but I'm really impressed at how much better this sounds over my Harman which I really loved. The sound is so much more detailed. Its almost strange that I'm hearing so many things in songs that I've been listening to regularly that I never really noticed before.

I've cranked this receiver up and it doesn't begin to break a sweat. Its handling everything I throw at it with ease with no strain whatsoever. I've blasted music for hours and it stays nearly as cool as it is when its off. I've never had a receiver run anywhere near this cool. I am a very happy camper right now!
lojack1976 is offline  
post #100 of 4546 Old 05-01-2010, 11:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Stilly77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
^^^^^^^

Glad to hear the power is adequate for you. Is there a cooling fan inside the unit?
Stilly77 is offline  
post #101 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 04:07 AM
Senior Member
 
MitsuHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MoreHead NC
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeitingon View Post

anybody found a good list of internet radio stations that work with this stereo?

Have not found a list but it's very easy to add them from your PC directly onto the Pioneer. You can even make it change to the channel you just added from your PC to make sure it works.

I love this stereo. It's the most complicated piece of gear I have ever owned....lots of configuration that needs to be done compared to the old stuff you just connected speakers to. It's a great AVR and I am still learning and playing with it. I don't read the manual (RTFM!) until I have to and boy...I needed it yesterday.....and today. If not configured correctly many things do not work correctly!
MitsuHelp is offline  
post #102 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 04:08 AM
Senior Member
 
MitsuHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MoreHead NC
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing I have not done yet is tried YouTube....woke up in the middle of the night wondering about it

I don't see anything in the manual.......

Anyone try it yet?
MitsuHelp is offline  
post #103 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 04:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

I don't understand why this is such a deal breaker for people? Its already confirmed the iPod works in Zone 2. How difficult is it to run analog RCA cables from your sources to the receiver? Pretty much all A/V receivers need analog connections for Zone2.

+1... it's not like this is "something new"...

@lojack and mitsu... good to see a couple actually in the hands of people and the positive results... if you guys get to a point where you can't decipher the manual (been there ), post questions... there's a few of us floating around who have the secret decoder ring...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #104 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 05:17 AM
Member
 
fistula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 1020 yesterday and got everything hooked up...coming off of an onkyo sr607 that had its hdmi fried in a lightning storm this 1020 is just amazing.

its been running cool and features are great but i have one issue..

playing a blu ray this morning i lost a/v sync. changed the input and went right back to the blu ray and the a/v sync was ok again.

anything im missing here? i havent had to deal with a/v sync since the DLP days

everything right now is hooked up hdmi btw

--edit found the ASync function. problem should be fixed
fistula is offline  
post #105 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
MitsuHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MoreHead NC
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

+1... it's not like this is "something new"...

@lojack and mitsu... good to see a couple actually in the hands of people and the positive results... if you guys get to a point where you can't decipher the manual (been there ), post questions... there's a few of us floating around who have the secret decoder ring...

Appreciate it! That's why I love this forum

I purchased a HTB system in 2003 that has internet capabilities and video playback from PC that is very primitive. This unit (although does not play video files) is pretty cool.it actually is more computer like and very interesting!

I'm sure I will be coming up with questions as time goes on! Still enjoying this and tossing the wifey for this thing..for at least several hours a day!!!
MitsuHelp is offline  
post #106 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 05:54 AM
Member
 
fistula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeitingon View Post

anybody found a good list of internet radio stations that work with this stereo?

Just go to shoutcast.com find what you want and make it open in winamp and then you can double click the name on the winamp player and it will give you the url to use
fistula is offline  
post #107 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 06:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiddleton View Post

I set it to my Airport input which is connected with digital optical and got no sound from Speaker B. I switched it to iPod and got sound.

I might have missed a setup step somewhere but I don't think so. Its behavior does seem odd though.

check to make sure that the optical input you are using is assigned correctly to the "airport" input... also, if you have a hdmi port assigned to that input as well, use the "signal select" button on the remote control to tell the avr to get the audio from the optical port, rather than the hdmi port.... also make sure you are feeding the avr a file that it's happy with...

if none of the above works...

this is truly odd... i'm not doubting at all what you are seeing, but let's investigate this a little deeper... because if indeed this is true, "speaker b" is now essentially "zone 2", with the liability of not being able to play separate sources or have separate volume control (versus replicating "speaker a", which is the way this has worked forever)...

and there's no mention of it working any differently than in the past in the manual... of course, as we know, there are often undocumented "features" that are discovered once these are in the field...

after trying what i posted above, if it still doesn't work, post some pics of your input assignments, audio parameters and whatever else might seem useful...

you get to be the first "guinea pig"... aren't you the lucky one...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #108 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
MitsuHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MoreHead NC
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitsuHelp View Post

One thing I have not done yet is tried YouTube....woke up in the middle of the night wondering about it

I don't see anything in the manual.......

Anyone try it yet?

OOOOppppssss.....Krap.....Looks like you have to have an Iphone to make Youtube work
MitsuHelp is offline  
post #109 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 08:08 AM
Member
 
DSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dallas
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin57 View Post

The only problem I'm having is when I'm watching a bluray and select another source the bluray player locks up. The only way to recover is to shut down the player and turn back on. I'm using HDMI cables. Other than that everything else is working great. Any ideas or is this normal?

You might try turning off the HDMI control option in the HDMI setup page. See page 63 in the manual.

I downloaded the manual from Pioneer, it's easier to read and search using Adobe than using the actual hard copy.
DSmith is offline  
post #110 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 08:27 AM
Member
 
redsoxfan_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed the 1020 has anchor vs. 1120 marvell. I just got new LED LCD and PQ is important feature for me. any idea how much of an upgrade this is, if any? Overall, does anyone see a major reduction in PQ using HDMI switching (newbie, sorry if these are basic questions)
redsoxfan_1 is offline  
post #111 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsoxfan_1 View Post

I noticed the 1020 has anchor vs. 1120 marvell. I just got new LED LCD and PQ is important feature for me. any idea how much of an upgrade this is, if any? Overall, does anyone see a major reduction in PQ using HDMI switching (newbie, sorry if these are basic questions)

Historically, one should not rely on their receiver for video processing in most cases. Most tvs or source components (bdps) are superior in cadence recognition, edge enhancement, and deinterlacing.

Denon had the best video processors last year with the high end abt chip. Onkyo was closely behind in their higher end models with the reon hqv. marantz and last year's pioneers could only upscale analogue signals. The 1120 appears to be the first pioneer receiver to offer upscaling of digital signals with the marvell chip. The 1020 will only upscale analogue signals.

Once again, as a rule of thumb, worry more about the receiver passing through hdmi signals unmolested and less about video processing.
winston9332 is offline  
post #112 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 09:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsoxfan_1 View Post

I noticed the 1020 has anchor vs. 1120 marvell. I just got new LED LCD and PQ is important feature for me. any idea how much of an upgrade this is, if any? Overall, does anyone see a major reduction in PQ using HDMI switching (newbie, sorry if these are basic questions)

it's of zero value for a blu-ray source...

for cable/satellite/fios, unless your new tv is a total pos, the video processing in it will be more than adequate for virtually all but the pickiest people (i.e. the "frame by frame" junkies)... i've made this point before, but this isn't 5 years ago, even the most inexpensive components have at least adequate processing in them now... it'll be lack of bits that will be the limiting factor of pq for that, not video processing...

where external video processing (i.e. other than in the display) can help is for sd-dvd when you have a large screen... keep in mind that "scaling" is easy... it's "deinterlacing" that is hard... deinterlacing difficult material is what separates the men from the boys... for sd-dvd, you are far better off getting a player with a well implemented chip (like the oppo bdp83, for example) or if you want more doo-dads, a dvdo edge rather than a completely cripped avr implementation...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #113 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 09:43 AM
Member
 
Kevin57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSmith View Post

You might try turning off the HDMI control option in the HDMI setup page. See page 63 in the manual.

I downloaded the manual from Pioneer, it's easier to read and search using Adobe than using the actual hard copy.

Thanks for the advice. I had this turned off when I checked it. I will keep trying. Any more thought would be great. I can't tell you how much I enjoy this new receiver.
Kevin57 is offline  
post #114 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 11:22 AM
Member
 
didadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sold my Onkyo NR807 and interested in either 1020K or 1120K. Mainly because of "future proofing" - Love that lingo. I think, need for 1.4HDMI is really what I'm looking for. Any applications / hardware availability using ether channel that 1.4 HDMI offers?

Any good deals on this 1020K oflate? I definitely seem to have missed 450$ price for this a month ago. Probably will check with JR tomorrow to get some sort of deal.
didadi is offline  
post #115 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 11:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighxr View Post

So is this thing warm feces or what? I think I'm gonna get one soon. Might wait til Wii Black comes out, and do the damage all at once. Any major draw backs on this thing? Also I can't find it in Energy Star website to see how much power it uses, and can't find it in owners manual. It is more for curiosity sake, than a potential deal breaker.

I hope you mean hot #### .. what you said sounds like... so is this thing crap or what..?? It's only been out for a few weeks, don't think the ES websites going to have the info yet.. I thought the manual was on Pioneers website..??

Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?

mgkdragn is offline  
post #116 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 11:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by didadi View Post

Sold my Onkyo NR807 and interested in either 1020K or 1120K. Mainly because of "future proofing" - Love that lingo. I think, need for 1.4HDMI is really what I'm looking for. Any applications / hardware availability using ether channel that 1.4 HDMI offers?

Any good deals on this 1020K oflate? I definitely seem to have missed 450$ price for this a month ago. Probably will check with JR tomorrow to get some sort of deal.

The unit has been out only a few weeks and it is already in short supply. Google is your friend here, as price discussion is discouraged on the threads..

Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?

mgkdragn is offline  
post #117 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 11:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

historically, one should not rely on their receiver for video processing in most cases. Most tvs or source components (bdps) are superior in cadence recognition, edge enhancement, and deinterlacing.

Denon had the best video processors last year with the high end abt chip. Onkyo was closely behind in their higher end models with the reon hqv. Marantz and last year's pioneers could only upscale analogue signals. The 1120 appears to be the first pioneer receiver to offer upscaling of digital signals with the marvell chip. The 1020 will only upscale analogue signals.

Once again, as a rule of thumb, worry more about the receiver passing through hdmi signals unmolested and less about video processing.

+1

Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?

mgkdragn is offline  
post #118 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
NickChicago's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiddleton View Post

No ability to listen and watch two different inputs. (My five year old Yamaha did this just fine)

Does this mean that I wouldn't be able watch an HDMI source (say a gaming console) while listening to an optical audio source (say a Sonos or CD)?

That would actually be a dealbreaker for me and is something I just assumed all receivers would be able to do nowadays. (My 8 year old Denon does it just fine.)
NickChicago is offline  
post #119 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 01:22 PM
Member
 
lojack1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stilly77 View Post

^^^^^^^

Glad to hear the power is adequate for you. Is there a cooling fan inside the unit?

I'm not sure if there's a fan. I didn't really look into it, but after hours of running I can put my hand on it and there's barely any heat coming out. Truly impressive to me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

+1... it's not like this is "something new"...

@lojack and mitsu... good to see a couple actually in the hands of people and the positive results... if you guys get to a point where you can't decipher the manual (been there ), post questions... there's a few of us floating around who have the secret decoder ring...

Someone jacked a Hobbit for his ring huh? LOL. I actually didn't bother to look in the manual for setup instructions. Everything seemed mostly straightforward. Setup was very different than how Onkyo and Harman does things so everything seemed foreign at first glance.

It seemed odd that the optical audio could only be passed through HDMI 1. For some reason the option stayed grayed out on HDMI 2 so I had to switch a couple of things around. Then it still didn't work.

I racked my brain trying to figure that one out since I just assumed it worked right when the option is set to pass it in the menu. After messing around with the remote I discovered the Signal Select button and by default it was set to Auto which in theory should still work fine, but it didn't. Once I changed it to Digital it worked fine.
lojack1976 is offline  
post #120 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 01:40 PM
Member
 
kryptonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I asked this question already but got no response one way or the other. One more try....Anyone know what kind of DAC this receiver uses? Thanks!
kryptonian is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off