The "Official" Pioneer VSX-1020-K Owner's Thread - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by kryptonian View Post

Anyone know what kind of DAC this receiver uses?

No.

Greg Lee
GregLee is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 05:24 PM
Member
 
milehighxr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

I hope you mean hot #### .. what you said sounds like... so is this thing crap or what..?? It's only been out for a few weeks, don't think the ES websites going to have the info yet.. I thought the manual was on Pioneers website..??

Hot shite, yes. If I thought it was pooh I wouldn't be drooling over it. Local BB has it on the shelf, without a display. It's the first receiver I have seen under $600.00 that has Ethernet. Though if I can stream internet radio through a Wii, it might be moot anyhow. Apparently Wii will do Netflix now, so I'll have a potential option of downgrading one TV from DirecTV If I want.

Owners manual is on Pioneers website, and I apparently missed the page on the power usage . It is 16% more energy efficient than the Sony it will eventually replace.
milehighxr is offline  
post #123 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 06:50 PM
Member
 
trinibwoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked one up from Best Buy on Friday to replace my HDMI-less Yamaha RX-V659. Smooth sailing so far. Not doing anything too fancy - 5.1 setup with Plasma, PS3, cable box, Wii and Roku. The OSD is nice but not really a big deal.

It doesn't feel like much of an upgrade as yet given my simple use case. Reduced clutter a little by removing a few cables (2x optical + 1 component) but otherwise it feels like more of the same. Biggest benefit is probably the front HDMI connection for when I want to hook up my laptop (a rare occurrence).
trinibwoy is offline  
post #124 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 07:37 PM
Member
 
nokian93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In for one here also, Picked it up yesterday along with a psw111 sub for dirt cheap. Most likely i think im gonna return that sub and pick up some def tech pro monitor 800's for the rear surround. Still not sure, but anyways this receiver is slick. I love it, finally got rid of that piece of crap samsung hts-720 receiver i had. Now to slowly start replacing the speakers :-D
nokian93 is offline  
post #125 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 10:07 PM
Member
 
tmiddleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

check to make sure that the optical input you are using is assigned correctly to the "airport" input... also, if you have a hdmi port assigned to that input as well, use the "signal select" button on the remote control to tell the avr to get the audio from the optical port, rather than the hdmi port.... also make sure you are feeding the avr a file that it's happy with...

if none of the above works...

this is truly odd... i'm not doubting at all what you are seeing, but let's investigate this a little deeper... because if indeed this is true, "speaker b" is now essentially "zone 2", with the liability of not being able to play separate sources or have separate volume control (versus replicating "speaker a", which is the way this has worked forever)...

and there's no mention of it working any differently than in the past in the manual... of course, as we know, there are often undocumented "features" that are discovered once these are in the field...

after trying what i posted above, if it still doesn't work, post some pics of your input assignments, audio parameters and whatever else might seem useful...

you get to be the first "guinea pig"... aren't you the lucky one...

When I had the source set to the Airport I could hear sound from main front speakers but not the B speakers. I switched to iPod and heard sound from all.

I'll be out of town for the next couple of days. I'll try more options and post results with I get back.
tmiddleton is offline  
post #126 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 10:16 PM
Newbie
 
jpastin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So finally got it all hooked up, and configured. My case was pretty simple. I had an old H/K AVR 35 (Which I loved), and am using this as my first stepping stone to HD. Plan on adding TV and BD sometime this year.

Well first off it blows my AVR 35 out of the water. It was a pretty decent receiver back in the day, but i never realized how much I was missing.

MCACC worked like a charm (I was used to having to set levels and delays manually) My only problem with it was that after MCACC, I felt that it was a little light on the bass notes. Since all of my speakers are large, It was trying to put all of the LFE for analog sources through the fronts. And while they are more than capable of handling most of it, the really low stuff <~80HZ, just didn't have much life. However, when I set my Sub from 'Yes' to 'Plus', it made a world of difference. The richness and liveliness from the low end that was missing was back and then some.

Otherwise I have only positive things to say. Connection was a piece of cake (although I haven't hooked up zone 2 yet), and so far everything works well. The 'Neural' mode for music is fantastic. I listened to several different types of music, and with each piece, I felt as if i was sitting with the band. The surround felt natural, not artificial or forced, and the audio imaging was superb. While certain features of the music were centered in one speaker or another, they blended across speakers smoothly. There was no jarring disconnect as my attention shifted around the sound stage.

So far so good. The only thing that i found kind of annoying is that digital sources aren't output to the analog out on the DVR/BDR output. I tried recording from an iPod and got nothing, but the analog signal from my Tivo worked just fine.

As far as the remote goes, its the first AVR remote that is actually useful. It had codes for most of my components, and was able to learn for the others. Plus I was able to mix and match. For example the Tivo code mostly worked, but there were a couple of buttons that weren't where i wanted them. I was able to learn over them, and put them where i wanted.

Can't speak too much to the video processing, as this was kind of the keystone that needed to get upgraded before anything else, but so far i am more than impressed with this device, and think it was well worth the money. So far it is everything I was looking for out of a mid level receiver!
jpastin is offline  
post #127 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 10:17 PM
Member
 
tmiddleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

I don't understand why this is such a deal breaker for people? Its already confirmed the iPod works in Zone 2. How difficult is it to run analog RCA cables from your sources to the receiver? Pretty much all A/V receivers need analog connections for Zone2.

It would take me less than 5 minutes to connect all my devices via analog.

Your DVD player has red and white stereo outputs, so does your blu ray player (unless its a PS3), a CD player has them. Even a cable or sat box has them. The tuner already works in Zone2.

You don't need to disconnect your existing HDMI and optical/digital coax connections.

I've been doing this for 6 years with my HK receiver. Its not that big a deal.

Most people probably have the cables laying around the house. Stereo cables usually come in the box with new DVD, CD and BD players.

If you don't have any the cheap cables are less than $1 and the fancy ones cost just over $2.50.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

My blu-ray player is a PS3 and I don't have a seperate CD player. Also, the main audio source that I would be listening to on Zone 2/Speaker B uses Optical or Analog rca plugs but not both and the DAC in the AVR is far superior.
tmiddleton is offline  
post #128 of 4546 Old 05-02-2010, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Stilly77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kryptonian View Post

I asked this question already but got no response one way or the other. One more try....Anyone know what kind of DAC this receiver uses? Thanks!

Pioneer has used the Wolfson WM8728 in the following receivers (and their equivalents) to the best of my knowledge:

WM8728

VSX:

1018AH
01TXH
03TXH
919AH-K
1019AH-K
21TXH
23TXH

years 2008-2009

My 919 and 01TXH sound great, the DAC's are excellent.
Stilly77 is offline  
post #129 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 06:05 AM
Member
 
sqmzeea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I checked the manual for the 1020 but couldn't tell if I can drive my L/C/R which are 6 ohms and my LS/LB/RB/RS which are 8 ohms with this receiver?

Anybody know if I'll be ok doing this?

Thanks,
M

Eating humble pie....
sqmzeea is offline  
post #130 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 06:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Curious how it sounds and thoughts on head room...
winston9332 is offline  
post #131 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 06:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
zervinb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sqmzeea View Post

Hi all,

I checked the manual for the 1020 but couldn't tell if I can drive my L/C/R which are 6 ohms and my LS/LB/RB/RS which are 8 ohms with this receiver?

Anybody know if I'll be ok doing this?

Thanks,
M

Last year's corresponding model, the VSX-1019 had a setting for connecting 6 ohm speakers to the receiver. The 1020 should also be having it. Check the manual once again. It should mostly be written over there.
zervinb is offline  
post #132 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 06:23 AM
Member
 
sqmzeea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On page 127 of the manual I found this:

Amplifier section
Continuous average power output of 80
watts* per channel, min., at 8 ohms, from
20 Hz to 20 000 Hz with no more than
0.08 %** total harmonic distortion.
Front (stereo) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .80 W + 80 W
Power output (1 kHz, 8 Ω, 0.05 %, 1 ch driven)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 110 W per channel
Guaranteed speaker impedance
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 Ω to 8 Ω,
less than 8 Ω to 6 Ω (setting required)

It mentions here ^^^^^^ that a setting is required but there is no mention of this setting elsewhere in the manual. Is there something in the GUI that a proud new owner might be able to verify?

Thanks,
Mark

Eating humble pie....
sqmzeea is offline  
post #133 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 06:28 AM
Member
 
fistula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

Curious how it sounds and thoughts on head room...


Ive been running it for 2 days and as much as i love the unit i have to say at this point i cant get it to sound as crisp as my Onkyo 607. Not sure what the deal is, ill give it some more tweaking but its missing that detail that i was used to with my 607.

The internet radio feature is awesome..but internet radio -even at 320kbps -sounds pretty muddy. but if i load mp3s into the usb it sounds as expected.
fistula is offline  
post #134 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pelly_NV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by fistula View Post

Ive been running it for 2 days and as much as i love the unit i have to say at this point i cant get it to sound as crisp as my Onkyo 607. Not sure what the deal is, ill give it some more tweaking but its missing that detail that i was used to with my 607.

The internet radio feature is awesome..but internet radio -even at 320kbps -sounds pretty muddy. but if i load mp3s into the usb it sounds as expected.

I'm in the same boat unfortunately. I've tried running the Full AUTO MCACC and saved the three different types (Symmetry, Front Focus, and ALL Channel) into different MCACC memory slots. If you hit the "MCACC" button on the remote, you can toggle between your saved profiles. Unfortunately, the best results come from slot 5 which doesn't have any calibration! LOL

Going to mess with REW 5 Beta soon and find out what the heck is going on.
Pelly_NV is offline  
post #135 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
MitsuHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MoreHead NC
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still going through the manual.....

Can you run MCACC for Zone 2?

OR can I make EQ changes for Zone 2 that will not change the main zone?
MitsuHelp is offline  
post #136 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 07:05 AM
Senior Member
 
MitsuHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MoreHead NC
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry but cannot find this answer either.....

If I switch to zone 2 and adjust the volume then want to go back to the main zone using the remote how do I do that?

Sorry sounds dumb but this may help other dummies also
MitsuHelp is offline  
post #137 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 07:23 AM
Newbie
 
jpastin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been able to find MCACC software for the PC that can read these files? The manual ays to get it from here (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...Custom+Install), but there isn't a section for the 1020. I tried downloading the v2.2 software from another model, but it can't read the file. I think it is looking for a CSV file, while this is a binary file.
jpastin is offline  
post #138 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
MitsuHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MoreHead NC
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpastin View Post

Has anyone been able to find MCACC software for the PC that can read these files? The manual ays to get it from here (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...Custom+Install), but there isn't a section for the 1020. I tried downloading the v2.2 software from another model, but it can't read the file. I think it is looking for a CSV file, while this is a binary file.


I tried also and could not find the 1020....they wrote the manual a while ago but never placed the files on the website.....maybe a Pioneer rep will see this!
MitsuHelp is offline  
post #139 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 07:27 AM
Newbie
 
jpastin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sent them an email, we'll see what I get in response...
jpastin is offline  
post #140 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 08:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitsuHelp View Post

Still going through the manual.....

Can you run MCACC for Zone 2?

OR can I make EQ changes for Zone 2 that will not change the main zone?

no mcacc processing applied to zone 2...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #141 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 08:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by sqmzeea View Post

On page 127 of the manual I found this:

Amplifier section
Continuous average power output of 80
watts* per channel, min., at 8 ohms, from
20 Hz to 20 000 Hz with no more than
0.08 %** total harmonic distortion.
Front (stereo) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .80 W + 80 W
Power output (1 kHz, 8 Ω, 0.05 %, 1 ch driven)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 110 W per channel
Guaranteed speaker impedance
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 Ω to 8 Ω,
less than 8 Ω to 6 Ω (setting required)

It mentions here ^^^^^^ that a setting is required but there is no mention of this setting elsewhere in the manual. Is there something in the GUI that a proud new owner might be able to verify?

Thanks,
Mark

mark... leave it on 8ohm unless the avr goes into thermal shutdown... you'll be fine...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #142 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelly_NV View Post

I'm in the same boat unfortunately. I've tried running the Full AUTO MCACC and saved the three different types (Symmetry, Front Focus, and ALL Channel) into different MCACC memory slots. If you hit the "MCACC" button on the remote, you can toggle between your saved profiles. Unfortunately, the best results come from slot 5 which doesn't have any calibration! LOL

Going to mess with REW 5 Beta soon and find out what the heck is going on.

Do you think mcacc is clipping the high frequencies? if you push it, +/-0db, does it the sound quality begin to distort?
winston9332 is offline  
post #143 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pelly_NV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

Do you think mcacc is clipping the high frequencies? if you push it, +/-0db, does it the sound quality begin to distort?

Seems like the "meat" of the speakers is missing. Something is fishy in the crossover region. Hoping to use REW to map things out and see the problem area on a plot.
Pelly_NV is offline  
post #144 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelly_NV View Post

Seems like the "meat" of the speakers is missing. Something is fishy in the crossover region. Hoping to use REW to map things out and see the problem area on a plot.

i know i might get stones thrown at me, but do you think it might be a power issue?
winston9332 is offline  
post #145 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 09:47 AM
Member
 
kryptonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stilly77 View Post

Pioneer has used the Wolfson WM8728 in the following receivers (and their equivalents) to the best of my knowledge:

WM8728

VSX:

1018AH
01TXH
03TXH
919AH-K
1019AH-K
21TXH
23TXH

years 2008-2009

My 919 and 01TXH sound great, the DAC's are excellent.


Thanks!
kryptonian is offline  
post #146 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 11:00 AM
Member
 
MoviesLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

Historically, one should not rely on their receiver for video processing in most cases. Most tvs or source components (bdps) are superior in cadence recognition, edge enhancement, and deinterlacing.

Denon had the best video processors last year with the high end abt chip. Onkyo was closely behind in their higher end models with the reon hqv. marantz and last year's pioneers could only upscale analogue signals. The 1120 appears to be the first pioneer receiver to offer upscaling of digital signals with the marvell chip. The 1020 will only upscale analogue signals.

Once again, as a rule of thumb, worry more about the receiver passing through hdmi signals unmolested and less about video processing.

WINSTON (or other experts) -- are you saying that with a decent TV (mine is a Sharp LC-60C52U), that the SD TV program hdmi feed from my time warner DVR cable box wont look noticeable better going through the 1120's Marvell chip (vs going through the 1020 "unmolested")? if so, that's kind of disappointing. i was looking forward to the video chip making my SD stuff (TV, Wii and PS2) look better, the way that my BD (panasonic bd-85) is making my regular old DVD's look better....

Thanks
MoviesLover is offline  
post #147 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 11:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

that is correct...

you cannot polish a turd...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #148 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Petrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

that is correct...

you cannot polish a turd...

You can, but you won't like how it turns out...

Life is hard. It's harder if you're stupid.
Petrus is offline  
post #149 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 11:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

lol! oh my, could we run with this one....

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #150 of 4546 Old 05-03-2010, 11:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoviesLover View Post

WINSTON (or other experts) -- are you saying that with a decent TV (mine is a Sharp LC-60C52U), that the SD TV program hdmi feed from my time warner DVR cable box wont look noticeable better going through the 1120's Marvell chip (vs going through the 1020 "unmolested")? if so, that's kind of disappointing. i was looking forward to the video chip making my SD stuff (TV, Wii and PS2) look better, the way that my BD (panasonic bd-85) is making my regular old DVD's look better....

Thanks

Winston is correct. Although you could set the HDMI out's for a pass through and still let your TV do the scaling.. I doubt, however, that either the Pioneer or your TV will do a lot for any SD material... My projector uses a Reon chip and no source device does any better on the upconversion than the Reon in my case. Other than BD, everything else that runs SD outputs to the PJ in 480i ...

Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?

mgkdragn is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off