*Official* Denon AVR-1911/791 & AVR-2311CI/891 Owner's Thread - Page 155 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4621 of 5060 Old 03-27-2012, 10:02 PM
Member
 
ooofest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olbi View Post

I also have a Polk sub and I have it connected as ccotenj described it and Audissey run without issues.

Good to hear. It turns out that I have a Velodyne subwoofer and a Denon AVR-2106 with this same configuration (including the Polk speakers) from an install I made some years back, but the Velodyne manual actually called for it explicitly.

I should have stretched my brain a bit and realized sooner that this Polk subwoofer would work similarly, instead of second-guessing. Just getting old and slow.

- ooofest
ooofest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4622 of 5060 Old 04-01-2012, 03:19 AM
Member
 
DELTAsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a problem with my AVR-791. I'm getting no sound from my 5.1 speakers unless I run the Audessy auto setup. I hear the click of the amp coming on when turning on or off the AVR but also when the setup starts and finishes, after the setup it goes back to no sound. I have reset the microprocessor with no luck.

It was all working fine till today. Any ideas

Samsung UA55HU9000, Klipsch Quintet 5.1, Onkyo TX-NR515AE
DELTAsnake is offline  
post #4623 of 5060 Old 04-01-2012, 03:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
Try blowing compressed air into the headphone jack, or simply insert/remove a headphone plug a few times.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4624 of 5060 Old 04-01-2012, 03:48 AM
Member
 
DELTAsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Try blowing compressed air into the headphone jack, or simply insert/remove a headphone plug a few times.

That worked. Thanks.

Samsung UA55HU9000, Klipsch Quintet 5.1, Onkyo TX-NR515AE
DELTAsnake is offline  
post #4625 of 5060 Old 04-01-2012, 03:51 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
Great! That was easy and quick. Enjoy your day.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4626 of 5060 Old 04-05-2012, 06:12 PM
Member
 
SoCal11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Altadena CA
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no "phono" input for the AVR-791. In order to get a turntable to work, do I need a pre-amp device to play records on a turntable and plug into a different input port? Thanks for any advice.
SoCal11 is offline  
post #4627 of 5060 Old 04-05-2012, 07:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
Correct. A phono preamp will connect to any of the analog inputs on the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4628 of 5060 Old 04-05-2012, 08:27 PM
Member
 
SoCal11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Altadena CA
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks JD... any recommendations on pre amps?
SoCal11 is offline  
post #4629 of 5060 Old 04-06-2012, 03:57 PM
Member
 
rocketbeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pulling my hair out.... just got a new Sony 60NX720 and AVR-1912.... Trying to get ARC to work.... Enabled on the receiver, and they seem to be communicating (for example when I switch the speaker setting on the TV from TV -> External I hear the AVR click).... But I never hear any sound..... any suggestions?
rocketbeagle is offline  
post #4630 of 5060 Old 04-06-2012, 04:48 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
If you have enabled "Control for HDMI (BraviaSync)" on the TV and still no joy, then turn both the AVR and TV OFF and back ON again to see if that resolves the issue. If not, then you will need to connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4631 of 5060 Old 04-06-2012, 04:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCal11 View Post

Thanks JD... any recommendations on pre amps?

Nothing specific no as there are numerous models offered on line. Check out the below sight for more info.

http://www.needledoctor.com/New/Phono-Preamps

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4632 of 5060 Old 04-07-2012, 09:42 AM
Member
 
rocketbeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
If you have enabled "Control for HDMI (BraviaSync)" on the TV and still no joy, then turn both the AVR and TV OFF and back ON again to see if that resolves the issue. If not, then you will need to connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR.

After much trial and tribulation, I tried another (shorter) HDMI cable... the original one was a High Speed HDMI 1.4 from Monoprice (25ft - 22AWG)... new cable works, but still a bit flaky....

If I switch to optical, is there any downside besides an extra cable? Also - how do I tell the TV to output to Optical vs HDMI ARC?
rocketbeagle is offline  
post #4633 of 5060 Old 04-07-2012, 11:08 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
Nope, no downside ... in fact you might even get better quality audio as many TVs only output PCM 2.0 using ARC, while they can output DD 5.1 from the optical audio out. To go the optical route, disable BraviaSync on the TV or HDMI Control on the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4634 of 5060 Old 04-08-2012, 03:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Nope, no downside ... in fact you might even get better quality audio as many TVs only output PCM 2.0 using ARC, while they can output DD 5.1 from the optical audio out. .

I've not heard that before. I believe there's no difference in audio formats between the ARC and optical outputs.
BIslander is offline  
post #4635 of 5060 Old 04-08-2012, 11:21 AM
Member
 
slennon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can plug my ipod into the ipod dock and it works as advertised but my iphone won't work. It loads and I can see songs and playlists on the AVR but when I play a song there is no sound. probably some stupid setting. Any suggestions?
slennon is offline  
post #4636 of 5060 Old 04-08-2012, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by slennon View Post

I can plug my ipod into the ipod dock and it works as advertised but my iphone won't work. It loads and I can see songs and playlists on the AVR but when I play a song there is no sound. probably some stupid setting. Any suggestions?

Hi slennon, don't know but maybe turn up the volume on the iPhone.
JChin is offline  
post #4637 of 5060 Old 04-09-2012, 08:27 AM
Member
 
slennon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't know what it was but it's working today
slennon is offline  
post #4638 of 5060 Old 04-10-2012, 05:32 PM
Member
 
debrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Yes, it's possible to "stack" inputs on the same source name; however, the HDMI input takes priority so ensure it is turned OFF prior to turning ON the alternate source.

Ok,
So I've since moved my htpc to the BD input via hdmi and input 3 (which is sat/cbl & assigned to component/optical for bell), is still occasionally having video disconnects every 5 secs when htpc is on.

I can understand this happening when I initially had my htpc on the same input as the bell, but should this still be happening?

Thanks
debrain is offline  
post #4639 of 5060 Old 04-10-2012, 05:39 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
Yes, HTPC's often have HDMI handshake issues with AVRs. Try the tips listed in this post --> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...?p=20422026#L7

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4640 of 5060 Old 04-11-2012, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I just got a new blu-ray player and under the "Digital Audio" setup section it is asking for the "Sampling Frequency". The choices are "48", "96" or "192". Does anyone know what the best setting is for the Denon 2311ci? Thanks for any help!

lujan
654 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #4641 of 5060 Old 04-11-2012, 09:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
The player should default to the correct frequency of the DVD/BD/CD audio track, however, 96hz should do the trick.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4642 of 5060 Old 04-11-2012, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
The player should default to the correct frequency of the DVD/BD/CD audio track, however, 96hz should do the trick.

Thanks, so I guess it really doesn't matter what it's set at? Maybe I should have asked if the Denon is capable of 192hz if I set it at that?

lujan
654 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #4643 of 5060 Old 04-11-2012, 02:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
Audyssey won't work above 96hz on the 2311CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4644 of 5060 Old 04-11-2012, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Audyssey won't work above 96hz on the 2311CI.

Good to know, thanks.

lujan
654 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #4645 of 5060 Old 04-11-2012, 04:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 921
note that the VAST majority of movie soundtracks (even Blu-ray with lossless tracks) are 48kHz sample rate. Only a few movies are 96kHz... and it's only the occasional, rare boutique offering that is 192kHz, so basically you aren't missing anything by setting it at 96kHz max output in the player.

You can check what you are getting in the Denon GUI by going to INFORMATION > AUDIO INPUT SIGNAL and it will show you the sample rate of the input signal.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #4646 of 5060 Old 04-12-2012, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

...
You can check what you are getting in the Denon GUI by going to INFORMATION > AUDIO INPUT SIGNAL and it will show you the sample rate of the input signal.

Also, good to know. I'll have to program that into my Harmony as I hardly ever use the remote that came with the Denon.

lujan
654 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #4647 of 5060 Old 04-15-2012, 09:33 AM
Member
 
debrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by debrain View Post

Ok,
So I've since moved my htpc to the BD input via hdmi and input 3 (which is sat/cbl & assigned to component/optical for bell), is still occasionally having video disconnects every 5 secs when htpc is on.

I can understand this happening when I initially had my htpc on the same input as the bell, but should this still be happening?

Thanks

Jd,

Sorry, perhaps I've misled you as to which input this is actually happening on. I am having no issues while on the htpc input. Only getting dropouts when I'm on the component/optical input (and only if the htpc wakes up)

Or

Perhaps I'm just misunderstanding...are you saying then that hdmi handshake issues from htpc's on a completely different input can cause video/audio dropouts when you're actually on a component/optical assigned input?

i read through the faq and the one potential resolution of running hdmi to the tv and optical to the avr is not an option for me, although i did try component straight to tv. That got rid of video dropouts, but audio dropout still ocurred. (Again, only if htpc wakes up).

I also tried different inputs and cables for htpc with same results on the component/optical input.

Sorry if i sound as though im doubting known hdmi handshake issues. I do realize they do occur; but affect other inputs you're currently centered on?
- just wanna know if im dealing with known issues and advice on workarounds or... if avr maybe faulty?
- my current short and simple resolution is to keep pc off while on component input


Thanks
debrain is offline  
post #4648 of 5060 Old 04-15-2012, 12:40 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
No, you should not be experiencing the dropouts with the optical audio input. You may want to try resetting the microprocessor.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4649 of 5060 Old 04-15-2012, 02:05 PM
Member
 
debrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
No, you should not be experiencing the dropouts with the optical audio input. You may want to try resetting the microprocessor.

So no luck even after reset. Still though, this did only start happening after I introduced the htpc to the mix. Should I consider that the avr maybe faulty then or call denon? Sure seems odd.
debrain is offline  
post #4650 of 5060 Old 04-15-2012, 02:55 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,002
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 1317
^^
I'd give Denon a call, but in the end it may just be easier to keep the HTPC off.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 791 Receiver , Denon Avr 1911 Receiver , Denon Avr 891 Receiver , Denon Avr 2311ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off