*Official* Denon AVR-1911/791 & AVR-2311CI/891 Owner's Thread - Page 169 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5041 of 5060 Old 05-03-2014, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
jpcamaro70's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Help please. I turned on the system today but the sub didn't. Last night the wife was bitching so I turned the sw level all the way down.

Today when I hit ch level on the remote it doesn't even show the sub. But I checked the setting and it says sub yes. What did I do?

My Gear
jpcamaro70 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5042 of 5060 Old 05-03-2014, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
jpcamaro70's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
My fronts were set to large so it's on again but all my custom settings are screwed. It took nee forever to get it the way I like it.

My Gear
jpcamaro70 is offline  
post #5043 of 5060 Old 05-03-2014, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
jpcamaro70's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Man this sucks

My Gear
jpcamaro70 is offline  
post #5044 of 5060 Old 05-16-2014, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had this receivers for several years and am in the Dallas area now where almost every station has an hd radio signal. Is there something I need to turn on in the menus to receive the stations. I never realized this receiver had a HD TUNER.

Made a mistake in life? Nothin' a little Valtrex can't take care of...
jrod9707 is offline  
post #5045 of 5060 Old 05-16-2014, 11:42 PM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod9707 View Post

I have had this receivers for several years and am in the Dallas area now where almost every station has an hd radio signal. Is there something I need to turn on in the menus to receive the stations. I never realized this receiver had a HD TUNER.

Never mind found this in the manual.

Press TUNER to switch the input
source to “HD Radio”.
2 Press BAND to select “FM” or “AM”.
FM When listening to an FM broadcast. AM When listening to an AM broadcast.
3Tune in the desired broadcast
station.
q To tune in automatically
(Auto tuning)
Press MODE to light the “HD-AUTO” or “AUTO” indicator on the display, then use TUNING d or TUNING f to select the station you want to hear.
•The indicator lights on the display when an HD Radio
station is tuned in.
• When “HD-AUTO” (tuning mode) is selected, only HD Radio
stations are tuned in.
• If “AUTO” (tuning mode) is selected, both HD Radio and analog
stations are tuned in.
w To tune in manually (Manual tuning)
Press MODE to turn off the display’s “AUTO” indicator, then use TUNING d or TUNING f to select the station you want to hear.

Made a mistake in life? Nothin' a little Valtrex can't take care of...
jrod9707 is offline  
post #5046 of 5060 Old 05-17-2014, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I tried following the directions and it does not turn the HD RADIO ON. ANY SUGGESTIONS?

Made a mistake in life? Nothin' a little Valtrex can't take care of...
jrod9707 is offline  
post #5047 of 5060 Old 05-17-2014, 02:42 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
Are you able to get any FM or AM stations? Do you have the FM and AM antenna's that came with the AVR connected? HD broadcasts are limited in distance so if you are not close enough to the radio station, the signal will simply fall back to the analog FM/AM signal.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5048 of 5060 Old 05-18-2014, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I only have the FM antenna connected. I have no problems getting signal and my cx5 has a hd radio and it has no problem getting signal when it's in the garage. The radio just switches back and forth from manual and auto but doesn't show the HD AUTO. Any ideas?

Made a mistake in life? Nothin' a little Valtrex can't take care of...
jrod9707 is offline  
post #5049 of 5060 Old 05-18-2014, 06:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
If digital signal isn't strong enough at the AVR, it reverts to the analog signal. You might want to try a more powerful FM antenna.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5050 of 5060 Old 05-19-2014, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great suggestion. I'll try that. Thankyou!

Made a mistake in life? Nothin' a little Valtrex can't take care of...
jrod9707 is offline  
post #5051 of 5060 Old 06-03-2014, 11:38 AM
Member
 
JJMONIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am in thr Toronto area and my 2311CI has horrible reception. It is in the basement but my older Sony mini system worked great. I posted about this a few years back and the general response was that reception on newer recvievers is horrible.

I now listen to either the radio stations through my cable box or stream fromone of my media players.

JJ

JJ
JJMONIE is offline  
post #5052 of 5060 Old 06-22-2014, 04:40 AM
Member
 
JJMONIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Did my 2311 blow up?

Well, this was embarrassing, a friend came over to the house for the first time last night and I wanted to show him how my HT system was. Start streaming a BR rip of Fast & Furious 6, the first scene with the car race and pop! After 30 seconds, the front panel of my Denon goes blank and I lose all sound but still had picture.

I feel like an idiot now for showing off so to speak and then blowing my amp but it wasn't at 100%, maybe 85% and for only 30 seconds max.

Any idea what happened? Am a better off sending it to Denon or is there a local guy in the GTA that can help me out? Thanks guys.

JJ

JJ
JJMONIE is offline  
post #5053 of 5060 Old 06-22-2014, 06:12 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
The AVR will generally go into protection mode well before 100% which is why a rule of thumb is to never go above 80 or 0db depending on which volume scale is being used. Try resetting the microprocessor per the instructions listed in the Owner's manual and if still no joy, then check Denon's website below for the closest repair shops. Note however, that unlike in the USA, the warranty on the 2311CI in Canada is only 2 years. If you purchased with a credit card, the issuer may add a 3rd year. If you are out of warranty, you may want to consider a newer model if the repair estimate is $200-$300.

http://ca.denon.com/ca/support/pages...tersearch.aspx

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5054 of 5060 Old 06-24-2014, 08:27 AM
Member
 
JJMONIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Good news! I opened up the receiver and found a blown fuse. Replaced it and all is good now. I think I went too much, too fast while the amp was cold. Thanks.

JJ

JJ
JJMONIE is offline  
post #5055 of 5060 Old 07-03-2014, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Cyberhog9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somehow I have lost audio from my AVR 791 to my speakers.Everything is how it's always been hooked up.I had audio this morning and now I can't get anything.Cable box,TV Phono and the reciever all work,but I must have hit a wrong button somehow.Denon's user manual is like wading thru War and Peace.

Any ideas?
Cyberhog9 is offline  
post #5056 of 5060 Old 07-03-2014, 04:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
Check the front panel display of the 791. If it reads "H/P ON" then blow some compressed air into the headphone jack, otherwise if not, try resetting the microprocessor per the instructions on p. 78 in the Owner's manual.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5057 of 5060 Old 07-03-2014, 05:42 PM
Member
 
Cyberhog9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried resetting the microprocessor multiple times. I'm about to unhook and just kick the living **** out of overpriced crap electronics.Nothing I have done and I have read the Denon manual is working.I think the Auddessy part is broken.
Cyberhog9 is offline  
post #5058 of 5060 Old 07-07-2014, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
yavuzalp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AVR 791 No sound

OK guys here is my problem I had this AVR 791 for about 3 years now. My problem started about a year ago. I had my ps3, apple tv, sat box and another TV box installed. and working fine for quite a while. And one day I turned on sat/cable and there was no sound but picture was there. I checked the other equipment and i had the sound but sat/cab. So i switched the to another hdmi port and kept using but from that point on i have been keep loosing all the ports one by one every 3-4 months. As of Friday all my ports are gone and I have no sound but great picture . It doesn't say HP on the front display but I still sprayed it with compressed air no luck tried to reset the system no luck any idea? If i turn of the receiver but TV is on I can get the sound from TV.
I already went out bought a SONY STR DN850 but I want this to get fixed so i can use it on my basement or I can sell it on Craigslist but I can't do anything with it on its current condition any ideas what it can be or what should I do?
Thanks in advance for your inputs.
yavuzalp is online now  
post #5059 of 5060 Old 07-07-2014, 11:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
From your description, sounds like the HDMI board has gone bad ... generally a $400 expense out of warranty.
yavuzalp likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5060 of 5060 Old 07-07-2014, 08:11 PM
Newbie
 
yavuzalp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL $400 ...I guess that thing goes to trash that is what I was worried about I didn't want to spend diagnostic than find out this so i got the sony i hope this will be better than the Denon. Thanks for your reply.
yavuzalp is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 791 Receiver , Denon Avr 1911 Receiver , Denon Avr 891 Receiver , Denon Avr 2311ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off