*Official* Denon AVR-1911/791 & AVR-2311CI/891 Owner's Thread - Page 170 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5071 of 5095 Old 09-19-2014, 03:01 PM
Member
 
kushum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
alright guys need some help. last week i fried my hdmi board on a 891 switching inputs without turning off the receiver, I know my dumba$$. well last night i decided to bring it out to play with it before actually going out and deciding on a new avr. So long story short i got everything to work connecting my pc>fiio e18>891 cd rca input but the sub isn't working. Is there a way of getting my sub to work and a way to adjust the sound? My headphones sound good coming out of the receiver but my speakers sound like trash.
kushum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5072 of 5095 Old 09-19-2014, 03:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
Set the speakers to SMALL/80Hz.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5073 of 5095 Old 09-19-2014, 05:24 PM
Member
 
kushum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Set the speakers to SMALL/80Hz.
thats the thing i cant get a image up on the monitor since the board is fried and nothing is popping up on the display on the receiver
kushum is offline  
post #5074 of 5095 Old 09-19-2014, 11:48 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
Time for a new AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5075 of 5095 Old 09-22-2014, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys, new to all this and any help will be great! I have a Denon AVR-891 and it will turn on for about 5 seconds, display "main zone on" on the screen then turns it's self off. A flashing red light then displays around the on/standby button. Any ideas how to fix this? Cheers
Jedos is offline  
post #5076 of 5095 Old 09-22-2014, 08:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
The most common problem is a loose speaker wire from one post touching another post. Is the red light flashing quickly (eg. 2x/sec) or more slowly (eg. every 2 sec)?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5077 of 5095 Old 09-22-2014, 11:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
The most common problem is a loose speaker wire from one post touching another post. Is the red light flashing quickly (eg. 2x/sec) or more slowly (eg. every 2 sec)?

That's sounds pretty feasible. Haven't had the chance to check the speaker wires and don't really know what I'm looking at but there is definitely a short there somewhere as it will run without fail when I have the outer cover off but as soon as I put it back on it shorts out. That red light flashes slowly. About once every 2 seconds. Sounds like an easy fix if I can locate the loose wire. Will keep tinkering with it and see how I go. Thanks heaps!
Jedos is offline  
post #5078 of 5095 Old 09-23-2014, 02:03 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
A slow flashing light generally means a "poor ventilation" issue causing the unit to heat up. Is there sufficient open room around the AVR (eg. at least 3-4") and not inside an enclosed cabinet?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5079 of 5095 Old 09-23-2014, 04:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
A slow flashing light generally means a "poor ventilation" issue causing the unit to heat up. Is there sufficient open room around the AVR (eg. at least 3-4") and not inside an enclosed cabinet?

Yeh I got it given to me off a mate because he was having issues with ventilation and tripping out. He tried running it in the open and ontop of a fan forced pad for laptops to push cool air through it but that didn't work. When I run it without the cover off in an open space it works perfect but as soon as I put the cover back on it trips. I'm guessing there is a loose wire that is shorting out.
Jedos is offline  
post #5080 of 5095 Old 10-02-2014, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Eben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will This Work?

Connect DirecTV HD box with component to AVR1911; assign component to V. AUX; associate V. AUX with HD Radio -- all this so when I select HD Radio on the AVR I will get audio from the radio but video from the sat. receiver. Will it work (especially for HD video sources, i.e., sports)?
Eben is offline  
post #5081 of 5095 Old 10-02-2014, 08:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
The feature you want does exist. With the HD Radio playing, set the Video Select setting (p. 47 Owner's manual) to the component video input.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5082 of 5095 Old 10-03-2014, 07:27 AM
Newbie
 
himebaughdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have what is hopefully a simple question.

I have connected my Denon AVR 1911 to a Dish receiver, TV, surround sound bar and sub woofer. All works fine when using the main zone, but I am trying to connect two outside speakers on to Zone 2 and nothing works. I have checked many things and it seems like I have covered everything, but no luck. I would like to listen to the Sirius radio that comes through the Dish receiver on my outside deck. I'm a novice at this and would appreciate some help.

Thanks
himebaughdn is offline  
post #5083 of 5095 Old 10-03-2014, 08:09 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
Only analog sources will pass to Zone 2, so you must also connect an analog (red/white) cable from the Dish receiver and connect it to the analog inputs with the same name being used for the HDMI input (eg. CBL/SAT).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5084 of 5095 Old 10-03-2014, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
himebaughdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you! I will try it.
himebaughdn is offline  
post #5085 of 5095 Old 10-07-2014, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Eben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
The feature you want does exist. With the HD Radio playing, set the Video Select setting (p. 47 Owner's manual) to the component video input.
OK, tried this but I'm sure I did something wrong. I connected DirectTV receiver to AVR using component. I assigned the component to V.AUX. When I selected V.AUX I got a picture (no sound, as expected)! However, when I selected HDRadio and then set the Video Select to V.AUX, I got sound but no video.
Eben is offline  
post #5086 of 5095 Old 10-07-2014, 09:09 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
Ensure V.Aux doesn't also have HDMI assigned.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5087 of 5095 Old 10-07-2014, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Eben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Ensure V.Aux doesn't also have HDMI assigned.
At work now, will check tonight, thanks.
Eben is offline  
post #5088 of 5095 Old 10-08-2014, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Eben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Ensure V.Aux doesn't also have HDMI assigned.
I checked last night and V.AUX had only COM assigned.
Eben is offline  
post #5089 of 5095 Old 10-08-2014, 09:33 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
Try doing a soft reset by unplugging the power to the 1911 for 10 minutes. Also try using a different source name.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5090 of 5095 Old 10-08-2014, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Eben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Try doing a soft reset by unplugging the power to the 1911 for 10 minutes. Also try using a different source name.
If these don't work, is the next step a full reset? No big deal because I added new speakers recently and haven't yet rerun Audyssey.
Eben is offline  
post #5091 of 5095 Old 10-08-2014, 01:09 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
Yup.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5092 of 5095 Old 10-08-2014, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Eben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Yup.
Cool. Appreciate the assistance.
Eben is offline  
post #5093 of 5095 Old 10-15-2014, 04:47 AM
Member
 
dsubra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stereo mode / surround not working

Hi,


After cleaning my set , suddenly only Direct mode working in main (zone 1).In stereo mode no sound from amp, so any surround eg PLII, Dolby Digital, any simulation no sound , only Direct source, why? Zone 2 working as usual. Pls help. Tq.
dsubra is offline  
post #5094 of 5095 Old 10-15-2014, 05:35 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,325
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked: 1608
^^
Refer to your Owner's manual and do a microprocessor reset.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5095 of 5095 Old 10-15-2014, 06:06 AM
Member
 
dsubra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Refer to your Owner's manual and do a microprocessor reset.

Thanks for the prompt reply, i thought so.....but 'off'ing the set for 10mins rectify the problem already.
Tq again.
dsubra is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 791 Receiver , Denon Avr 1911 Receiver , Denon Avr 891 Receiver , Denon Avr 2311ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off