*Official* Denon AVR-1911/791 & AVR-2311CI/891 Owner's Thread - Page 171 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2014, 04:31 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4410 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
^^
X2000 would be a nice choice.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2014, 04:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
X2000 would be a nice choice.
Thanks!
drhill is online now  
Old 11-23-2014, 03:35 PM
Member
 
bisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Binbrook, Ontario
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Denon AVR-2311CI Optical Output Issues

I'm having an issue getting the optical output working on my AVR-2311CI so that I can use my Triton Headphones. I have all of my sources (Xbox One, HTPC, Wii U and Cable Box) hooked up via HDMI, but I can't seem to get the audio to output over the Optical Out. I can't seem to find the option to enable the optical output. I hooked an optical cable up to the optical out and I'm not seeing any light coming from the cable either. Any ideas how I can enable the output?
bisk is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 03:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4410 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
^^
There is no HDMI --> optical down conversion, rather you must use OPT IN --> OPT OUT.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 11-23-2014, 05:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, I have the avr 791 and it doesn't seem to be detecting my speakers. I have tried hooking up through hdmi and component, I get video but no sound. Any help?
joshhud is offline  
Old 01-03-2015, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a 1911, and have successfully set up my zone 2 on the deck, but can not figure out how to adjust/change the volume for zone 2. I can change the volume on my main/5.1 setup, but can't adjust it for zone 2. I have gone into the settings, and changed the startup volume, but am at a loss after that. Any help would be appreciated!!!!!! Thanks in advanced!!
BViz is offline  
Old 01-04-2015, 06:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4410 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
^^
If you are using the 1911 to power the speakers, you should be able to select Zone 2 and use the AVR remote for volume control. If using an external amp, volume control is via the external amp.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	484
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	458778  

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 01-04-2015, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the reply. I forgot to add that I lost the original remote in a move. I have a Harmony 700. Any tips on programming it to control the Zone 2 volume, or would have to post in a different form? Thanks again for your quick reply.
BViz is offline  
Old 01-04-2015, 12:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4410 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
^^
Sorry no, as I don't use Harmony. However, if you have downloaded the 1911 remote codes from the Logitech website to the 700, you should be good to go.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 01-04-2015, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the reply. I'm going to call Logitech customer support and see if they can help. Great thread, I have leaned lots. Keep it up!!! Thanks again.
BViz is offline  
Old 02-21-2015, 06:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
AVR 2311 - RS-232 control port

Hi,

Does anyone know how to turn on the RS-232 control port on the AVR-2311?

I'm trying to connect it to my Control4 Controller.

Thanks
mohi is offline  
Old 02-21-2015, 07:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4410 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
^^
It's always on ... you simply need to send it the proper serial control codes which Control4 should be able to provide.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 02-21-2015 at 07:47 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 03-29-2015, 08:02 PM
Member
 
ncrules23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a 791, trying to connect headphones to it. But I'm only getting surround mix out of it. Can't hear any words. They are stereo headphones, what am I doing wrong?
ncrules23 is offline  
Old 03-30-2015, 02:37 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4410 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
^^
Insert and remove the headphone jack a few times as it may simply not be making a solid connection.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-26-2015, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
**OptimusPrime**'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Hello!
Bear with me here, I am possibly going to upgrade to a new tv and I have a question about 4k and my current receiver, the 2311CI.
I know my receiver can pass through 1080p and 3D. Question is, not that there is really is a true 4k source yet, but if there was, will my receiver simply pass it through to the tv?
Most 4k content I'd play would probably come from the tv itself...but if directv or any other streaming device/service were connected to the receiver, would it simply pass that signal to the tv?
Thanks in advance!

Last edited by **OptimusPrime**; 04-26-2015 at 07:41 AM.
**OptimusPrime** is offline  
Old 04-26-2015, 08:03 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4410 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
^^
No, it would not, rather the 4k signal would have to be connected directly to the TV with audio to the AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 04-26-2015, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
**OptimusPrime**'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Great!! More cables!
Thanks!
**OptimusPrime** is offline  
Old 05-11-2015, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
holyindian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 33
delete.

Last edited by holyindian; 05-11-2015 at 04:14 PM.
holyindian is offline  
Old 06-29-2015, 07:42 AM
Member
 
dsubra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI
Recently, my Denon 1911 keep shutting off after few minutes. Unplug for few minutes, start working again. All the connection ok. Also using small exhaust fan for cooling. Even tried using different power point. Already reset micro-processor. Pls help, tq. David
dsubra is offline  
Old 06-29-2015, 07:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4410 Post(s)
Liked: 2370
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsubra View Post
HI
Recently, my Denon 1911 keep shutting off after few minutes. Unplug for few minutes, start working again. All the connection ok. Also using small exhaust fan for cooling. Even tried using different power point. Already reset micro-processor. Pls help, tq. David
Unplug all speaker wire and source connections from the AVR. If it still keeps shutting down, it will need to be repaired, otherwise, if it doesn't shut down, start plugging one item back in at a time to see which is causing it to shut down.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
 

Tags
Denon Avr 791 Receiver , Denon Avr 1911 Receiver , Denon Avr 891 Receiver , Denon Avr 2311ci Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off