*Official* Denon AVR-1911/791 & AVR-2311CI/891 Owner's Thread - Page 172 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5131 of 5156 Old 08-18-2015, 04:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,258
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9738 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloch View Post
Hi im not sure where to put my question as i have not been able to find something similar.

I have a problem witht he HDMI passthrough on my Denon 2311. Whenever the reciever is turned on the video signal is flawless and has no erros. But when i put my reciever in standby it flickers once e very 2 or 3 minutes. Its not a hdmi handshake issue but merely a frame or two is misplaced on the monitor. I have triede twice doing a microprocessor reset with no luck.

Have anyone experienced something similar ?
I have not tried doing a firmware upgrade as i dont have any devices capable of rs 232 output. But will it solve the problem if i found a way ?


And thanks for the forum which have helped me thousand of times in other matters : )
If you are using HDMI(ARC) try setting the HDMI-CEC setting (Anynet+, BraviaSync, VieraLink, etc.) to OFF on the TV to see if there is any change. If still no joy, suggest you try using each of the other HDMI inputs on the AVR to see if one works any better than the one you're using now.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5132 of 5156 Old 08-18-2015, 11:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have an AVR-791, purchased new in 2009 from a local, independent home theater vendor (not a big box store). Last year one of the HDMI inputs from the Roku quit; no problem, I plugged it into the game HDMI port on the 791 and moved on. Earlier this year, the audio seemed to reset itself to it's own levels. I couldn't figure out the setup, so I got a different local, independent home theater guy to come by and re-set it up, mostly because the guy I bought it from didn't return my phone calls. This second guy is also not the best about returning phone calls. Tonight, I have no audio from any HDMI port: satellite, bluray, or Roku. From my reading here, I know the textbook solution is to reset the microprocessor 4 or 5 times, then perform setup from the beginning. Which looks daunting. My general question is, should I bother figuring this thing out from scratch, or just toss it and get a newer generation, maybe something that is plug-and-play (if there is such a thing)? Is this the life expectancy for a device such as this (~6 years) with daily use? I'd appreciate any ideas. Thanks.
goodideadave is offline  
post #5133 of 5156 Old 08-19-2015, 02:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,258
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9738 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodideadave View Post
I have an AVR-791, purchased new in 2009 from a local, independent home theater vendor (not a big box store). Last year one of the HDMI inputs from the Roku quit; no problem, I plugged it into the game HDMI port on the 791 and moved on. Earlier this year, the audio seemed to reset itself to it's own levels. I couldn't figure out the setup, so I got a different local, independent home theater guy to come by and re-set it up, mostly because the guy I bought it from didn't return my phone calls. This second guy is also not the best about returning phone calls. Tonight, I have no audio from any HDMI port: satellite, bluray, or Roku. From my reading here, I know the textbook solution is to reset the microprocessor 4 or 5 times, then perform setup from the beginning. Which looks daunting. My general question is, should I bother figuring this thing out from scratch, or just toss it and get a newer generation, maybe something that is plug-and-play (if there is such a thing)? Is this the life expectancy for a device such as this (~6 years) with daily use? I'd appreciate any ideas. Thanks.
Setup is certainly much easier on the more current models, however, it's up to you whether you want to run through the reset and reconfigure process on the 791. Any questions can be answered here in the forum. Also, if you get it to work, but still want some of the newer features on the modern AVRs, you could repurpose the 791 to power Zone 2 speakers in another room (eg. bedroom).

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5134 of 5156 Old 08-19-2015, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there an easy way to tell what the home theater guys may have changed from the default values so I don't have to go through the entire setup?
daven2 is offline  
post #5135 of 5156 Old 01-13-2016, 05:34 PM
Member
 
herbeapuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi.
I have an Denon 891 receiver.
I would like to know what video format will it read from the usb port.
I downloaded a movie on my usb key. the format is XviD-FUM. I can view the movie on my PC no problem
but the usb key is read as empty by the denon 891.

what video format will the denon support please?

and do you know of a free program to change the format

thank you
stef
herbeapuce is offline  
post #5136 of 5156 Old 01-14-2016, 02:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 27,888
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3270 Post(s)
Liked: 3130
Quote:
Originally Posted by herbeapuce View Post
Hi.
I have an Denon 891 receiver.
I would like to know what video format will it read from the usb port.
The answer is NONE. The USB port is audio only.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #5137 of 5156 Old 01-14-2016, 03:06 PM
Member
 
herbeapuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
The answer is NONE. The USB port is audio only.
Ho...shut...

thank you very much for your help. I will use my laptop with hdmi to the TV then.....


Regards
stef
herbeapuce is offline  
post #5138 of 5156 Old 04-09-2016, 04:53 AM
Member
 
newcomers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have an avr 1911 which ive had for about 5 years now, and just upgraded all my speakers from the Jamo A102HS5 to wharfdale DX1 5.1

After I installed just the center speaker, I tested the sound and noticed that there wasnt any bass or much mid, but thought nothing of it. I then installed the front surounds and noticed that they had very good bass, which was then the same with the rear surrounds. I tried the center again but that was the same.

I then hooked up a surround speaker to the center channel, and this then had no bass either. Wired the center speaker to a surround channel and the bass was fine, so this eliminates any speaker fault. I have tried new speaker cable on the center channel but its made no difference.

I never noticed it on my old speaker as they were never that great, but now its obviously making a massive difference. About a month ago, my wife heard a very loud pop from the amp, does it sound like I need a new amp?
newcomers is offline  
post #5139 of 5156 Old 04-10-2016, 03:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,258
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9738 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by newcomers View Post
Hi,

I have an avr 1911 which ive had for about 5 years now, and just upgraded all my speakers from the Jamo A102HS5 to wharfdale DX1 5.1

After I installed just the center speaker, I tested the sound and noticed that there wasnt any bass or much mid, but thought nothing of it. I then installed the front surounds and noticed that they had very good bass, which was then the same with the rear surrounds. I tried the center again but that was the same.

I then hooked up a surround speaker to the center channel, and this then had no bass either. Wired the center speaker to a surround channel and the bass was fine, so this eliminates any speaker fault. I have tried new speaker cable on the center channel but its made no difference.

I never noticed it on my old speaker as they were never that great, but now its obviously making a massive difference. About a month ago, my wife heard a very loud pop from the amp, does it sound like I need a new amp?
What is the crossover setting for the center speaker as compared to the other speakers? Did you run Audyssey again as required?

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5140 of 5156 Old 04-10-2016, 03:27 AM
Member
 
newcomers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
What is the crossover setting for the center speaker as compared to the other speakers? Did you run Audyssey again as required?
Yes I ran Audyssey again. The crossover for the center is 80 and the others are 120.
newcomers is offline  
post #5141 of 5156 Old 04-23-2016, 07:55 AM
Newbie
 
defter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi friends, i'm going to ask a question about denon 1911

My actual setup is Yamaha rx v465 + Jamo C605 + s60cen + s602, and my dad offers me a denon 1911 for my actual speakers ( only for a few bucks ), my concern is about the change . Is really a worth change my actual avr to the denon 1911 ? My preferences are 50% music and 50% movies.

Thanks for the help

PD: Sorry for my english , i wrotte from Chile, o hope you understand.
defter is offline  
post #5142 of 5156 Old 04-23-2016, 08:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,258
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9738 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by defter View Post
Hi friends, i'm going to ask a question about denon 1911

My actual setup is Yamaha rx v465 + Jamo C605 + s60cen + s602, and my dad offers me a denon 1911 for my actual speakers ( only for a few bucks ), my concern is about the change . Is really a worth change my actual avr to the denon 1911 ? My preferences are 50% music and 50% movies.

Thanks for the help

PD: Sorry for my english , i wrotte from Chile, o hope you understand.
If as you say, "only for a few bucks," doesn't it make sense to simply try it and decide for yourself?
Qwantum likes this.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5143 of 5156 Old 04-27-2016, 12:36 PM
Newbie
 
rharris200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVR menu screen not appearing on TV

I own a Denon AVR-2311CI. Has worked beautifully for 4+ years. However, I can no longer see the Denon menu screen on my TV when I am listening to music. My set up is Xfinity Cable Box (HDMI), Panasonic Bluray (HDMI) and Squeezebox digital music source (Toslink)>>Denon AVR-2311CI (HDMI) >>Vizio TV. The AVR does the switching. I can see the AVR menu when watching cable and Bluray, but when I switch the Denon to the music source, I get nothing on the screen, not the DENON banner, nor the menu screen. Until a week ago I could see the menu when switched to any of these three sources, but for some reason it has stopped for the Squeezebox. Audio on this source is fine. On the TV, it shows a 720P input signal when watching cable, 1080p when watching Bluray, and 480i when switched to the Squeezebox, so it would appear that a video signal is getting through. So my guess is that it is a setting within the AVR, but I can't find it.

I have an almost identical setup in another room (It is a Denon AVR-891), and everything works fine. I have spent hours trying to figure this out, mostly making sure the settings on the AVR are as the same as one the AVR-891. Any ideas?
rharris200 is offline  
post #5144 of 5156 Old 04-27-2016, 12:40 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,258
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9738 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by rharris200 View Post
I own a Denon AVR-2311CI. Has worked beautifully for 4+ years. However, I can no longer see the Denon menu screen on my TV when I am listening to music. My set up is Xfinity Cable Box (HDMI), Panasonic Bluray (HDMI) and Squeezebox digital music source (Toslink)>>Denon AVR-2311CI (HDMI) >>Vizio TV. The AVR does the switching. I can see the AVR menu when watching cable and Bluray, but when I switch the Denon to the music source, I get nothing on the screen, not the DENON banner, nor the menu screen. Until a week ago I could see the menu when switched to any of these three sources, but for some reason it has stopped for the Squeezebox. Audio on this source is fine. On the TV, it shows a 720P input signal when watching cable, 1080p when watching Bluray, and 480i when switched to the Squeezebox, so it would appear that a video signal is getting through. So my guess is that it is a setting within the AVR, but I can't find it.

I have an almost identical setup in another room (It is a Denon AVR-891), and everything works fine. I have spent hours trying to figure this out, mostly making sure the settings on the AVR are as the same as one the AVR-891. Any ideas?
Ensure the "Video Convert" setting for that source is ON.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5145 of 5156 Old 04-27-2016, 12:48 PM
Newbie
 
rharris200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Ensure the "Video Convert" setting for that source is ON.
Thanks for responding. Yes, the "Video Convert" is on for that source.
rharris200 is offline  
post #5146 of 5156 Old 04-27-2016, 01:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,258
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9738 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by rharris200 View Post
I own a Denon AVR-2311CI. Has worked beautifully for 4+ years. However, I can no longer see the Denon menu screen on my TV when I am listening to music. My set up is Xfinity Cable Box (HDMI), Panasonic Bluray (HDMI) and Squeezebox digital music source (Toslink)>>Denon AVR-2311CI (HDMI) >>Vizio TV. The AVR does the switching. I can see the AVR menu when watching cable and Bluray, but when I switch the Denon to the music source, I get nothing on the screen, not the DENON banner, nor the menu screen. Until a week ago I could see the menu when switched to any of these three sources, but for some reason it has stopped for the Squeezebox. Audio on this source is fine. On the TV, it shows a 720P input signal when watching cable, 1080p when watching Bluray, and 480i when switched to the Squeezebox, so it would appear that a video signal is getting through. So my guess is that it is a setting within the AVR, but I can't find it.

I have an almost identical setup in another room (It is a Denon AVR-891), and everything works fine. I have spent hours trying to figure this out, mostly making sure the settings on the AVR are as the same as one the AVR-891. Any ideas?
Quote:
Originally Posted by rharris200 View Post
Thanks for responding. Yes, the "Video Convert" is on for that source.
Try doing a "soft reset" by powering off and unplugging the 2311CI for 10 minutes.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5147 of 5156 Old 04-27-2016, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
rharris200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Try doing a "soft reset" by powering off and unplugging the 2311CI for 10 minutes.
Tried that, didn't help.
rharris200 is offline  
post #5148 of 5156 Old 04-27-2016, 03:07 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,258
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9738 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by rharris200 View Post
Tried that, didn't help.
Try connecting to each of the other HDMI inputs to see if one works for that source. If still no joy, a microprocessor reset would be the next procedure to try (p. 84 Owner's manual).

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5149 of 5156 Old 04-27-2016, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,330
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1177 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Try connecting to each of the other HDMI inputs to see if one works for that source. If still no joy, a microprocessor reset would be the next procedure to try (p. 84 Owner's manual).
Do you think it could be the same problems as when viewing the "TV" source via ARC where the video settings aren't available?

lujan
75 Ultra HD
832 HD
19 HD DVD
7 SD
lujan is online now  
post #5150 of 5156 Old 04-27-2016, 03:52 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,258
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9738 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Do you think it could be the same problems as when viewing the "TV" source via ARC where the video settings aren't available?
No as the OP until recently was able to see the GUI/menu as he noted.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5151 of 5156 Old 05-01-2016, 10:09 AM
Newbie
 
rharris200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Try connecting to each of the other HDMI inputs to see if one works for that source. If still no joy, a microprocessor reset would be the next procedure to try (p. 84 Owner's manual).
Been away for a few days. Just tried your suggestions. Didn't work. AVR is now reset. The only input sources that show the GUI on the TV are SAT/CBL, Game, BD, and TV. The ones that don't are DVR, CD, DVD, V.Aux,Dock, USB, and HD Radio.

To recap, the only inputs I use are SAT/CBL, BD, DVR, and CD. My squeezebox music source is connected by Toslink to the DVR input, and analog to the CD input (used for zone 2).

Unless you have any other thoughts JD, I am thinking that something has gone haywire in the AVR. In the meantime, I switched the input assignment for my music (OPT2) from DVR to Game, and at least I can now I can use that source selection and see the GUI when I play music. Never could see the GUI when using zone 2, so I couldn't see it anyway when using the CD input. And it's a good thing I don't use the tuner because I could never see what I am tuned to!

Thanks for your ideas.
rharris200 is offline  
post #5152 of 5156 Old 05-09-2016, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Well after 5 plus years and fairly light duty I think my receiver just tanked.

Ive been having an issue on my projector where the resolution would scale it down and look letterboxed and in smaller letters(hard to describe).
Also then it would just have problems connecting and I thought it was my projector as Ive never had an issue with the receiver and now after I bought the projector I start having issues.
Anyway today the projector was just stuck on a blue input screen. I swapped out the cable, tried different ports. I also hooked up a smaller tv and nothing, I also connected the receiver to small tv with a short HDMI cable and nothing.

So now I know its the receiver and I cannot even get the receiver to show the GUI menu or another source when switching inputs.

Is this a known issue?
Any suggestions?

You can't just Kiss ass, You gotta Kick ass

-Dolph Lungren

jrod9707 is offline  
post #5153 of 5156 Old 05-09-2016, 10:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,258
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9738 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod9707 View Post
Well after 5 plus years and fairly light duty I think my receiver just tanked.

Ive been having an issue on my projector where the resolution would scale it down and look letterboxed and in smaller letters(hard to describe).
Also then it would just have problems connecting and I thought it was my projector as Ive never had an issue with the receiver and now after I bought the projector I start having issues.
Anyway today the projector was just stuck on a blue input screen. I swapped out the cable, tried different ports. I also hooked up a smaller tv and nothing, I also connected the receiver to small tv with a short HDMI cable and nothing.

So now I know its the receiver and I cannot even get the receiver to show the GUI menu or another source when switching inputs.

Is this a known issue?
Any suggestions?
Other than resetting the microprocessor a few times .... time to buy something more current.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5154 of 5156 Old 05-09-2016, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Other than resetting the microprocessor a few times .... time to buy something more current.
JD would you say its safe to say something on the board is fried/not working?

You can't just Kiss ass, You gotta Kick ass

-Dolph Lungren

jrod9707 is offline  
post #5155 of 5156 Old 05-09-2016, 10:57 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,258
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9738 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod9707 View Post
JD would you say its safe to say something on the board is fried/not working?
Yup. Although still give it a few resets to confirm.
jrod9707 likes this.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5156 of 5156 Old 05-09-2016, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Well I did the full factory reset and nothing. Basically everything works except video output which really sucks. Maybe ill throw it on craigslist for someone that needs it for whole house audio or something else.

Thanks JD

You can't just Kiss ass, You gotta Kick ass

-Dolph Lungren

jrod9707 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 791 Receiver , Denon Avr 1911 Receiver , Denon Avr 891 Receiver , Denon Avr 2311ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off