*Official* Denon AVR-1911/791 & AVR-2311CI/891 Owner's Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrjktcvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
When you tune in a radio station with an HD channel, does the signal appear in the digital optical out? If so, is copy protection enabled?
mrjktcvs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 05:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,358
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
On previous years models the only audio coming from the Optical OUT is what goes in to the Optical IN. Perhaps a 2311 owner can confirm this is still the case?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #633 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
have asked this before, but anyone with an oppo blu ray player find a remote preset code to control it with the denon remote?
winston9332 is offline  
post #634 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrjktcvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

On previous years models the only audio coming from the Optical OUT is what goes in to the Optical IN. Perhaps a 2311/891 owner can confirm this is still the case?


Thanks, that's disappointing. I doubt that has changed, since there probably aren't a lot of owners of CD recorders and even fewer with DATs. I have both.
mrjktcvs is offline  
post #635 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 05:49 PM
Member
 
thewonderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

A quick question about the 2311... i read somewhere that the USB port can read memory sticks and some HDD... and more importantly, it can play FLAC including HD (24/96) . Can anyone confirm this? This would be a real bonus to the unit..

Also, I notice with the sound calibration it recommends using a camera tripod in 6 locations in the room. I am going to try and borrow one , but has anyone any other suggestions of what can be used instead of a tripod?

I have mine being delivered later this week

Thanks!
thewonderer is offline  
post #636 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewonderer View Post

...Also, I notice with the sound calibration it recommends using a camera tripod in 6 locations in the room. I am going to try and borrow one , but has anyone any other suggestions of what can be used instead of a tripod?...

jdsmoothie has a table lamp with the shade removed. The mic srews onto the top. Seriously.

Oh, he loans it out to folks who are unwilling to spend a few bucks on a cheap camera tripod from Walmart, etc. That part's a joke.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #637 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 06:02 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,358
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjktcvs View Post

Thanks, that's disappointing. I doubt that has changed, since there probably aren't a lot of owners of CD recorders and even fewer with DATs. I have both.

You're likely correct, although that's why I changed my post to confirm. The 2011 model on line docs are closed out for some reason, however, the HD radio on the 3311 can be played via the RCA analog OUTs which is likely also true for the 2311 as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #638 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 06:05 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,358
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundofMind View Post

jdsmoothie has a table lamp with the shade removed. The mic srews onto the top. Seriously.

Although my table lamp served me well for a couple years ... I'm now official as I actually picked up a camera tripod at a neighbor's garage sale last year.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #639 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 06:13 PM
Member
 
thewonderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundofMind View Post

jdsmoothie has a table lamp with the shade removed. The mic srews onto the top. Seriously.

Oh, he loans it out to folks who are unwilling to spend a few bucks on a cheap camera tripod from Walmart, etc. That part's a joke.

ha ha... table lamp hey... well if only there was a walmart in OZ i'd be down their... still it's given me an idea!
thewonderer is offline  
post #640 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 06:22 PM
Newbie
 
azzurro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by azzurro View Post

Sorry, I must be missing something on how to memorize the settings for QS. I went through all the configs and looked through the manual and cannot figure out how to keep the rear surround speaker settings to stick with QS. Rear speaker settings are kept just using the regular input switching. Any tips?

OK my mistake, I found in the manual where holding down the Quick Select button memorizes the settings. All is good now. I had assumed that since they were labeled the same on the remote, Quick Select just simply switched to that input.
azzurro is offline  
post #641 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Although my table lamp served me well for a couple years ... I'm now official as I actually picked up a camera tripod at a neighbor's garage sale last year.

I know, previously there's no way you would've lent that lamp out!

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #642 of 5070 Old 07-25-2010, 07:18 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,358
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
Quote:
Originally Posted by azzurro View Post

OK my mistake, I found in the manual where holding down the Quick Select button memorizes the settings. All is good now. I had assumed that since they were labeled the same on the remote, Quick Select just simply switched to that input.

You're not the first to think the Quick Selects were just an easy way to turn on the AVR with a specific source selected. Although as you learned from the manual, the QS buttons actually store about a half dozen settings for the input source selected.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #643 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 08:42 AM
Newbie
 
Gelineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by miked2023 View Post

Iphone 4.1 is a no go. Not sure if 4.0 worked or not, can't remember as I just recently got set up and was mainly using my Ipod as a tester. My old Iphone 2g works fine though so it's definitely looking like a software issue. Maybe Denon can figure out how to future proof this in a future firmware update. What are the chances of that? Has anyone contacted Denon about this yet?

iOS 4.0 is a no go for my phone and my wife's. I will definitely be contacting Denon about this to see if they have plans to release a firmware update that could address this. Thanks Apple, for breaking what used to work under iOS 3.
Gelineau is offline  
post #644 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
csk2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recently bought a avr-791. Have couple of questions:

1) when I change the volume on the receiver, I thought I would see it on the TV, it doesn't show

2) I have a Bose cubes and definitive tech prosub 800 (I replaced yamaha 595 receiver with avr-791), with this denon 791, my sub is not deep like before (I already did the auddysey tuner and accepted its values) -- Is there any other settings that I mess around with?

Thanks very much in advance !
csk2009 is offline  
post #645 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 09:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,358
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
1. This is not a feature of the 791. You need to upgrade to the 2311/891 for the volume level to overlay the video source, although some have reported their particular HDTV allows them to display the volume (as a result of the TV, not the AVR).

2. What did the AVR set your sub to? You can adjust the sub volume louder by using the CH LVL button on the remote.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #646 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 09:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,291
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 1211
Quote:
Originally Posted by csk2009 View Post

1) when I change the volume on the receiver, I thought I would see it on the TV, it doesn't show

you would not have thought that had you read the 2nd question in my FAQ:
http://batpigworld.com/fadq.html



or the FAQ at the beginning of this thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post18693809

Quote:


Q. Should I go with the 791/1911 model or is it worth it to pay more for the 891/2311CI model?


The AVR 791 and 1911 are twin models -- see above for the specific differences. They provide:

- Basic black/white OSD which CANNOT OVERLAY on top of video; when you call up the OSD, the video will blank out and the OSD will appear


The AVR 891 and 2311CI are twin models -- see above for the specific differences. They provide the following additional features beyond the 791/1911:


- Upgraded video processing, including:
... (1) superior ABT-2015 video scaling chip (better HD processing and deinterlacing performance)
... (2) color GUI menus instead of basic black/white text OSD
... (3) the ability to OVERLAY volume, status, and GUI graphics on top of the video signal


batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #647 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 10:31 AM
Member
 
fwells11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need some assistance from any Denon 1910 owners please. My H/T equipment is enclosed in a non see-through cabinet and is programmed to operate via a Harmony remote which has kept me familiarizing myself with it to much extent.

This weekend I noticed a blu ray movie I was watching has only stereo sound. I opened the cabinet up to troubleshoot and found my avr front panel display to be blank. When pushing the Surround button to cycle through the surround modes, it did not change the mode and did not register anything on the display either.

Changing source or volume will display but within a few seconds the display goes back to the blank state.

Can anyone please verify if this is normal behavior for the AVR. Because it has always been out of sight, I am not sure if it is. I am pretty sure I have been able to use the Surround button at any time to change the type of surround sound any source uses and I seem to recall there was always something displayed while the avr was running.

I need to be sure there is a problem before I contact Denon Support to report it broken please.

Thank You in advance.
fwells11 is offline  
post #648 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 11:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,291
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 1211
you are probably in PURE DIRECT mode; the blank display is normal behavior when in this mode.

hit the "Standard" button on your remote to engage regular surround decoding and it should shut off Pure Direct.

if that's not it, check the Display Dimmer.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #649 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 11:56 AM
Newbie
 
csk2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks jdsmoothie and batpig for your responses ! I found batpig had a very detailed FAQ page, let me check it out first....

BTW, since the Full color GUI is very attractive to me, I thought of checking the price for AVR-891. I found this central digital (http://www.centraldigital.com/Produc...9114&l=Froogle) for $580 (which is only $90 more than what I paid for the 791), kind of tempting... has anyone dealt with this vendor before? any feed back? (the reseller rating is decent (4.8 out 5 of ~5,000 reviews)
csk2009 is offline  
post #650 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 12:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,358
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
Regardless of their feedback, they are not a Denon authorized vendor and therefore Denon will not honor the warranty if you need service. If you "call" the authorized vendors (Electronics Expo, 6Ave, J&R) often mentioned in these threads you'll likely find you can get the same or even better price. Should you decide to go with Central Digital, be sure to also add the 3 year warranty they offer.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #651 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
agentdelta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wondering what the implications of using these speakers in a 5.1 setup (as front R and L, with the other 3 being smaller reference speakers) with the AVR-891. Would you consider this amp underpowered or in any way unsafe?
agentdelta is offline  
post #652 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 02:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,291
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 1211
the implication would be awesome sound

those speakers, like almost all Klipsch products, are 8-ohms nominal and very sensitive (95dB/1watt/1m). They are easy to drive, and you will not have issues unless trying to play outrageous concert level volumes in a large room.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #653 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
agentdelta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah Excellent As a further clarification, could you comment on the following two points:
  • I currently have an AVR 5700. Going 'down' to the AVR 891 is giving me some reservations. Will I be losing any noticeable sound quality? The reason for my 'downgrade' is mostly connectivity, HD decoding, other minor features. I'd like to keep the cash spent < $1000.
  • Would going higher up the model line be buying much in terms of sound quality? Not asking about feature sets. Also this is a living room home theatre setup and will not be taken to ridiculous volumes.
agentdelta is offline  
post #654 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 02:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,291
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 1211
there is zero question that the 5700 has a much, much stronger amp section than a new, entry/mid-level AVR like the 891. But, at typical "real world" listening volumes, the major advances in DSP processing, especially Audyssey MultEQ and Dynamic EQ/Volume, will probably yield a superior overall listening experience.

if you were running those speakers in a large, dedicated home theater at reference volumes, I would say stick with the 5700 or consider a higher-end model like the upcoming 4311... but at typical "living room volumes" you will probably be fine.

if you are a critical listener, you may want to consider stepping up $200 in msrp to the 991 model. The critical addition here is MultEQ XT, which will add that last bit of extra polish to the room acoustic correction. Stepping up another $200 to the 3311 gets you pre-outs (in case you do want to add external amps), dual HDMI outputs, and 3 zone support.

Do not expect major increases in sound quality moving up the line.... not that they don't sound better as you move up, just that it will be more subtle... but definitely appreciable to a critical listener with nice speakers (which you have).

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #655 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Gilles Panizzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kenmore, Wa.
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by csk2009 View Post

Recently bought a avr-791. Have couple of questions:

1) when I change the volume on the receiver, I thought I would see it on the TV, it doesn't show

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

1. This is not a feature of the 791. You need to upgrade to the 2311/891 for the volume level to overlay the video source, although some have reported their particular HDTV allows them to display the volume (as a result of the TV, not the AVR).

I have the same problem with my new 1911: I can't see the "audio adjust scale" on my new Samsung TV. I have done the following, while talking with a Denon rep. on the phone:

Menu > Input Setup > Video > i/p Scaler: Analog/HDMI

The Denon rep. said that the 1911 is capable of "pass through" and I should be able to see the volume scale. When I change to Tuner (HD Radio) I do see the volume scale but there is no picture, which I assume is normal. I am running HDMI out from my TiVo Premiere to Sat/Cbl HDMI (2) input on the 1911, then out to HDMI 1 (DV) on my new Samsung UN46C8000 set.

Is the 1911 capable of "passing through" the volume scale to my TV when I am watching either the TiVo or DVD etc.? If not the 1911, which model (Hopefully in the $600 range!)? Thank you.

"It's funny how the colours of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen."

- - Alex DeLarge, A Clockwork Orange
Gilles Panizzi is offline  
post #656 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 03:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,291
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 1211
no offense, but did you completely miss my response to him immediately after his post? It is not a problem, it is working as designed. This has absolutely nothing to do with "pass through", I think you are confusing terms.

Bottom line, it is NOT possible on the 1911; this is one of the "step up features" of the 891/2311 model. Please read my FAQ (covered in the 2nd question as I stated above) and the FAQ on the first page.


Quote:


Q. Should I go with the 791/1911 model or is it worth it to pay more for the 891/2311CI model?


The AVR 791 and 1911 are twin models -- see above for the specific differences. They provide:

- Basic black/white OSD which CANNOT OVERLAY on top of video; when you call up the OSD, the video will blank out and the OSD will appear


The AVR 891 and 2311CI are twin models -- see above for the specific differences. They provide the following additional features beyond the 791/1911:


- Upgraded video processing, including:
... (1) superior ABT-2015 video scaling chip (better HD processing and deinterlacing performance)
... (2) color GUI menus instead of basic black/white text OSD
... (3) the ability to OVERLAY volume, status, and GUI graphics on top of the video signal


batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #657 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Gilles Panizzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kenmore, Wa.
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

no offense, but did you completely miss my response to him immediately after his post? It is not a problem, it is working as designed. This has absolutely nothing to do with "pass through", I think you are confusing terms.

Gee mister, but sorry I did completely miss your response to csk 2009. I'm just moving into my new house in a new city, remodeling & demo'ing parts of it, and I just picked up my new tv, receiver and TiVo Premiere yesterday. I've had a bit of a full plate. I only found this thread today and I've not had a huge amount of spare time to read every single bit of it. I was told that the 1911 would be able to display volume but obviously the salesman, as well as the Denon rep., was wrong. At any rate, thank you for your reply and thanks as well for your Denon Setup Guide & FAQ.

"It's funny how the colours of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen."

- - Alex DeLarge, A Clockwork Orange
Gilles Panizzi is offline  
post #658 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
agentdelta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool, thanks for all the useful info so far. I hooked up the avr 891 to the KSP 400's and it sounds awesome (as predicted)! I got through most of the config and am relatively confident that I have it set up well.
Since I have a 5 speaker setup and do not plan to add rear surround or front height speakers, or use another zone, I am thinking that using the bi-amp setup would be optimal. My question is, what would I gain by doing this?
agentdelta is offline  
post #659 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 05:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,358
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
Not likely anything really noticable, although if you've got the extra speaker wire, might as well give it a try. Don't forget to remove the jumper between the speaker posts on the speakers if you do though.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #660 of 5070 Old 07-26-2010, 05:14 PM
Newbie
 
woodygee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought an AVR-1911 today in the UK. I've hooked it up to a Sony KDL-40WE5 TV via HDMI and have spent most of the evening connecting my sources and configuring the amp. PS3 (GAME) and a Sony DVD player (DVD) all connected via HDMI successfully. I have also connected a Dreamcast to the SAT/CBL composite video and associated RCA jacks, and a Wii via the component in and associated BD RCA jacks. I configured the AVR-1911 to use the component input for the BD source.

All these sources display their video correctly through the HDMI, but only the HDMI sources have their audio coming through the TV speakers successfully (in the process of saving up for external speakers). There is no sound from the component and analog sources and even the USB/iPod source with an iPod/iPhone connected. I've been through the manual, the menus of the AVR-1911 and this and other forums, but I cannot find an explanation of how to get the analog audio to play out of the TV speakers.

Any hints to getting the analog audio working would be much appreciated. Many thanks in advance for any help.
woodygee is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 791 Receiver , Denon Avr 1911 Receiver , Denon Avr 891 Receiver , Denon Avr 2311ci Receiver
Gear in this thread - 2311ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off