*Official* Denon AVR-1911/791 & AVR-2311CI/891 Owner's Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 5060 Old 06-02-2010, 06:13 PM
Member
 
JohannFreytag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sound quality is indeed the main concern, thanks JD!
JohannFreytag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 5060 Old 06-03-2010, 06:32 AM
Member
 
furby076's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nighthawk68 View Post

The Bose Acoustimass 10 is specifically designed to work with a stand alone receiver, the speakers do all work and connect thru the base module (subwoofer) and then out to the receiver. I have such a system set up at work for demonstrations, though not on a Denon receiver :-(

The other Bose systems are dependent on their own head units.

~Ed

The one I have is similar to yours. My cube speakers run through the subwoofer to my Sony Receiver. I've had the receiver/speakers since about 2000 and they all work great...I just want a receiver with more options and I plan on getting a 3d tv within a year or so...plus I am tired of optical cables not giving the best sound because content providers don't like optical cables (lack of copyright) so gimp their output.

Now to wait for it to release
furby076 is offline  
post #63 of 5060 Old 06-03-2010, 07:06 AM
Member
 
snarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do all of these directly interface with Pandora ?
snarks is offline  
post #64 of 5060 Old 06-03-2010, 07:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,019
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Not directly, no, as they don't offer any network connectivity ... the 3311/991 is the lowest networking model that offers the Pandora feature. However, you can use other components to access Pandora ... HTPC, PS3, AppleTV, etc. that could then be connected to any of these non-network models.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #65 of 5060 Old 06-03-2010, 09:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by furby076 View Post

The one I have is similar to yours. My cube speakers run through the subwoofer to my Sony Receiver. I've had the receiver/speakers since about 2000 and they all work great...I just want a receiver with more options and I plan on getting a 3d tv within a year or so...plus I am tired of optical cables not giving the best sound because content providers don't like optical cables (lack of copyright) so gimp their output.

Now to wait for it to release

honestly, you should consider upgrading your speakers. The Bose AM system does not really work well with Audyssey MultEQ.... so you will be losing a lot of the benefit of the new AVR. At the minimum, you should add a real subwoofer to the system so the Bose "bass module" isn't trying to play the deep LFE.

also, frankly, if you are after "the best sound" you should think about upgrading anyway. The difference between optical and HDMI audio is TINY compared to the difference between Bose cubes and real speakers

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #66 of 5060 Old 06-03-2010, 12:23 PM
Member
 
furby076's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

honestly, you should consider upgrading your speakers. The Bose AM system does not really work well with Audyssey MultEQ.... so you will be losing a lot of the benefit of the new AVR. At the minimum, you should add a real subwoofer to the system so the Bose "bass module" isn't trying to play the deep LFE.

also, frankly, if you are after "the best sound" you should think about upgrading anyway. The difference between optical and HDMI audio is TINY compared to the difference between Bose cubes and real speakers

I agree with you but I had a number of big expenses this year for condo repairs so am not ready to venture into this part just yet. I could probably get good speakers and wall mount them, utilizing the wires from my bose system (I would just cut the bose plugs) but in small steps

Why do the bose speakers interfere with audyssey? I wouldn't think they are related as audyssey evaluates the music and adjusts the sound (I think/guess this is how it works) while speakers just push out sound?

On a side note I visited one of Denon's retailers and I saw they had the 2311ci for sale...it's the only place so I am worried they just jumped the gun or forgot to say "pre-order". Is anyone aware of this?

http://www.modia.com/surround_sound_...=204&mfg=Denon

If the 899 price is standard (meaning it can't be gotten cheaper from some other place) then it would be worth getting it.

Thanks
furby076 is offline  
post #67 of 5060 Old 06-03-2010, 12:41 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,019
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
It's the MSRP which will likely be undercut somewhat as soon as the 2311 is also available by the other Authorized Denon e-tailers as the 3310 is already being sold below that price.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #68 of 5060 Old 06-03-2010, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
Emission's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the Denon 891 available yet? What is the ETA?

- Mike
Emission is offline  
post #69 of 5060 Old 06-03-2010, 10:33 PM
Member
 
Coastwatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike,
A search of the Best Buy site shows the 891 is available at the Oxnard Best Buy. If this is correct I'm sure other stores in southern California have them as well.
Coastwatcher is offline  
post #70 of 5060 Old 06-04-2010, 10:06 AM
Member
 
goodwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First of all I'm bummed that you didn't start this thread, but at least you have post # 3!!

When you have time, will you update your post #3 to include the usual "What do you get for choosing the higher model of last year versus the current model for the same price." And also could you elaborate specifically on the video conversion portions of the entire lineup up to the 2310CI? For example last year the 1910 offered more options than the 1610, but the 2310 CI had the better chipset...etc.

I'm looking for a Denon model that will covert HDMI 1080 24p to HDMI 1080 60P as the source will be from a Popcorn Hour A200 splitting HDMI across 2 TVs: One that can handle 1080 24P and one that can only accept 1080 60P, which is why I want the receiver at the 1080 60P to do the conversion for me.
goodwad is offline  
post #71 of 5060 Old 06-04-2010, 10:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:


When you have time, will you update your post #3 to include...

it's in the works I will have add in some model comparisons as soon as I have a chance, but in general the "tiers" are the same as last year's models, with the slight change being that the 1611 is 7.1 vs the 591 being 5.1:

591 = entry-level 5.1 unit with analog>hdmi video conversion but no scaling/processing
1611 = identical to 591 but adds two more amps that can be assigned (surr.back, front height, bi-amp, or zone 2)
791/1911 = adds a handful of small features and video processing, but still no GUI
891/2311 = adds better video processing, GUI with volume/status overlay, etc.

From last year to this year, the biggest additions are HDMI 1.4 / 3D / ARC support, with the trade-off being reduced legacy connection options. Basic amp / sound quality should be the same.

Quote:


I'm looking for a Denon model that will covert HDMI 1080 24p to HDMI 1080 60P

only the higher-end ABT-2010/2015 equipped models can do a 1080p framerate conversion (i.e. 89x/23xx and up).

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #72 of 5060 Old 06-04-2010, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Motovet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Bend, Wa.
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which one of these would come closest to the power output of an HK AVR 635?
Motovet is offline  
post #73 of 5060 Old 06-04-2010, 12:27 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,019
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Likely between the 1911/791 (90W) and 2311/891 (105W) as H/K (75W) uses more realistic numbers than other mfr's, although any power difference at this level is moot. Choose the AVR that offers the "features" you want.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #74 of 5060 Old 06-04-2010, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
Fishinaz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need help with my new AVR-791..I am trying set up multiple zones. I was able to get the surround set up done last night (5.1). I have read that this model has a limitation of 5.1 and a zone 2, which is ok because my room does not justify a 7.1. So what I am trying to do is have a surround 5.1 zone and zone 2 (patio speakers) where I could have a movie going in zone 1 and the radio on zone 2? Help?
Fishinaz1 is offline  
post #75 of 5060 Old 06-04-2010, 03:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 925
have you read the Zone 2 section of my FAQ?: http://batpigworld.com/fadq.html#multizone

1) set AMP ASSIGN to "ZONE 2"
2) add analog RCA audio connections for any devices going to Zone 2

that's pretty much all there is to it....

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #76 of 5060 Old 06-04-2010, 05:01 PM
Member
 
tully214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tenessee
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the onscreen gui is a video overlay on the source picture? I will be using hdmi entirely. Mainly wanting to know if there is a volume bar over my source material.
Be good
tully214 is offline  
post #77 of 5060 Old 06-04-2010, 05:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 925
yes on 2311/891

no on 1911/791

see the 2nd question in my FAQ: http://batpigworld.com/fadq.html

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #78 of 5060 Old 06-04-2010, 06:27 PM
Member
 
goodwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

only the higher-end ABT-2010/2015 equipped models can do a 1080p framerate conversion (i.e. 89x/23xx and up).

Looks like I'll be in the market for another 2310 CI then. That GUI overlay is nice! And I already found it necessary to update the firmware do to some known blue ray player conflicts involving HD audio...(I need that serial port option).

I have an IR repeater in my setup involving 2 HDTV's in two different rooms. If I get another 2310 CI, I know there will be a conflict, but I also know I can change the remote id in the menu->manual->option->remote id.

I can change the remote ID from 1 to 4 on my existing 2310 CI, but once I change it from 1, I cannot control that receiver with that remote. So my question is, how do I match the PHYSICAL remote ID with what I tell the receiver to listen for from the [menu->manual->option->remote id]?

EDIT: I couldn't see any dip switches or anything on the physical remote, with that said, I have already manually "learned" what I needed on my Logitech Harmony 550...maybe there's IR codes or a setup for which ID to set the remote to?
goodwad is offline  
post #79 of 5060 Old 06-05-2010, 01:53 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,019
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodwad View Post

I can change the remote ID from 1 to 4 on my existing 2310 CI, but once I change it from 1, I cannot control that receiver with that remote. So my question is, how do I match the PHYSICAL remote ID with what I tell the receiver to listen for from the [menu->manual->option->remote id]?

Great question as the instruction on how that's done doesn't seem to appear in the Owner's manual. I'd give Denon a call for help on this one and report back with the solution unless someone else already knows the answer. Thanks.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #80 of 5060 Old 06-05-2010, 08:21 AM
Newbie
 
r3ddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would appeciate input on this...

Which Denon would make more sense since I could care less about 3D pass through and both would fall within my budget...

Denon AVR-2311ci vs Denon AVR-3310ci?

With clearence prices on the 3310's, I am kinda stuck between the two models. Any thoughts that someone could share?

Thanks
r3ddog is offline  
post #81 of 5060 Old 06-05-2010, 12:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 925
every year we have the question of whether to get the new model or the higher-end model from last year on closeout pricing....

basically, the only new features worth noting are (1) HDMI 1.4 with 3D / ARC support and (2) the USB input on the front that is compatible with direct ipod connection.

in all other respects, the 3310/990 from last year should be superior. You get way more legacy inputs, pre-outs for all channels, DSX (optional with the $100 upgrade), networking... it's just a more flexible, better equipped model, more "room to grow".

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #82 of 5060 Old 06-05-2010, 01:46 PM
Newbie
 
Says's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Direct USB connection to the Ipod would mean you don't need to buy additional Denon Ipod Dock????
Says is offline  
post #83 of 5060 Old 06-05-2010, 02:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 925
correct, on these models you just plug your standard ipod USB cable into the front USB jack and you can even select music with the OSD/GUI using the Denon remote.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #84 of 5060 Old 06-05-2010, 03:19 PM
Newbie
 
r3ddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the input on this. Makes sense and without needing HDMI 1.4 for 3d support, I will probably lean towards the 3310.
r3ddog is offline  
post #85 of 5060 Old 06-05-2010, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
Says's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Denon AVR 591 & 1691 have direct ipod connections?
Says is offline  
post #86 of 5060 Old 06-05-2010, 03:53 PM
Newbie
 
novemberdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received an AVR-791. Trying to run Audyssey to setup up a 5.1 set of speakers. I also am using Zone 2.

After all the tones, it runs Calculate. It runs for hours, stuck at 96%.

Any experience Denon users have a suggestion? Is this an issue I would
expect a firmware update t resolve in the future?

I am planning on calling Denon monday morning.

Harold
novemberdrive is offline  
post #87 of 5060 Old 06-05-2010, 05:19 PM
Newbie
 
novemberdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgot to mention. If I set up the Denon to think the zone2 speakers are simply part of a 7.1 setup. The calculation runs to completion.

Harold
novemberdrive is offline  
post #88 of 5060 Old 06-05-2010, 07:15 PM
Member
 
okc329's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
on AVR-791 support the import of firmware updates?
okc329 is offline  
post #89 of 5060 Old 06-06-2010, 08:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Says View Post

Does Denon AVR 591 & 1691 have direct ipod connections?

no, this is one of the upgrades of the 791/1911 level.


Quote:
Originally Posted by okc329 View Post

does the USB on AVR-791 support the import of firmware updates?

can't say for sure but probably not...

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #90 of 5060 Old 06-06-2010, 09:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by novemberdrive View Post

I just received an AVR-791. Trying to run Audyssey to setup up a 5.1 set of speakers. I also am using Zone 2.

After all the tones, it runs Calculate. It runs for hours, stuck at 96%.

Any experience Denon users have a suggestion? Is this an issue I would
expect a firmware update t resolve in the future?

I am planning on calling Denon monday morning.

I assume you have set AMP ASSIGN to ZONE 2?

try resetting the microprocessor. if that doesn't fix it, definitely call Denon...

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 791 Receiver , Denon Avr 1911 Receiver , Denon Avr 891 Receiver , Denon Avr 2311ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off