*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 391 / 591 / 1611 Owner's Thread - Page 138 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4111 of 4599 Old 02-15-2012, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
mekkerl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^
Awesome, exactly the information I needed!
Thanks batpig!
mekkerl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4112 of 4599 Old 02-15-2012, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Herman Trivilino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mekkerl View Post

I am thinking of adding front heights to my 1611 set-up. Does the 1611 process and EQ these nicely where I will hear an improvement?

I doubt the 1611 processes the front height speakers any differently than any other z processor. Kinda reminds me of the old days when all we had was ProLogic, except from what I've read it really doesn't make much of an improvement.
Herman Trivilino is offline  
post #4113 of 4599 Old 02-15-2012, 11:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by mekkerl View Post

I am thinking of adding front heights to my 1611 set-up. Does the 1611 process and EQ these nicely where I will hear an improvement? Is it worth doing with the 1611?

We watch about 85% BD movies and about 15% sports.

One person had this response on another thread:
------------
I have had mine set up for about 4-5 months now. I have recently started turning them off for movies. I found that all they did was play the same sound that is coming out of the rear surrounds, and that it lessens the directional ques (for me any way)

I do still enjoy them when I listen to music in Multi Chnl stereo, but If i was doing my basement again, I don't think I would bother.
------------

I just don't want this to be the case for me...turning them off, etc...

Thanks!

I have a 1611 that I am running front heights with. Let me just say that the heights absolutely suck with music. No amount of tweaking makes it any better. I often enjoy PLIIm sourround sound matrixing of 2 channel music and you loose that when using heights with the 1611. Of course I also listen in stereo and all you have is your mains for this. I think it would be kinda cool to be able to run stereo out of your mains and heights at the same time...but there is no feature for this.

Now for movies, especially sound effect action type movies the heights are really nice. It most cases it makes my fronts seem like they are 12 ft tall...I have a huge wall of sound coming at me. I dont notice that the heights are reproducing the same sounds as the surrounds...the biggest thing I notice is that ambient effects seem to be a lot less localizable and the wall of sound I already mentioned. For dialog oriented movies (comedies and chick flicks mostly) I barely notice the heights, or the surrounds for that matter.

Also when playing blu's with hi def audio or any surround source material for that matter, you keep the surround audio and the PLIIz processing works in conjunction with it to produce the front height effects. The display on the denon will say for example DDHD + PLIIz or some such.

I have also heard setups with heights that were able to use the DSX processing feature and it sounds really nice. I hope to one day own a higher end denon with this feature so I can take advantage of it.

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!
LOL!
Why you wouldn't want to join this forum
67jason is online now  
post #4114 of 4599 Old 02-16-2012, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
mekkerl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^
That's good information...I'm going to try a temporary set-up with the heights...I just can't find anything to put the speakers on that will be high enough up to the ceiling.
mekkerl is offline  
post #4115 of 4599 Old 02-16-2012, 08:43 PM
Member
 
GSimmons1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Made some switches to my setup after having everything the same for over a year and it seems I've lost my ARC functionality. The TV input on my receiver says "Video Only" and I can't get any sound from my cable box at all. I switched a few inputs around in my settings but I don't believe I touched anything that had to do with the TV input on the receiver.

I'm using the AVR-591 and a Sony KDL-46HX800....and it again it worked absolutely fine before tonight and I've made sure the receiver is plugged into the "ARC" port on the television and HDMI Control is still set to ON.

EDIT: It seems as though the "HDMI Control" setting on the AVR is no longer working. I have it turned on but none of the features have kicked in. Do I need to do a factory reset on all settings to get this to work correctly? Its a shame all my hard work on this thing looks to be going down the toilet...
GSimmons1987 is offline  
post #4116 of 4599 Old 02-17-2012, 04:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
Note that connecting an optical cable from the TV to the AVR will easily replicate the ARC feature, otherwise, sounds like a reset is in order.

Just jot down the various settings you changed from their mfr defaults so you can more easily return to them after the reset.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4117 of 4599 Old 02-17-2012, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSimmons1987 View Post

EDIT: It seems as though the "HDMI Control" setting on the AVR is no longer working. I have it turned on but none of the features have kicked in. Do I need to do a factory reset on all settings to get this to work correctly? Its a shame all my hard work on this thing looks to be going down the toilet...

Hi GSimmons1987, before doing a factory reset ... suggest power down all components, unplug power cord for about a minute for both tv and receiver. Plug power cords and power on tv and receiver. Then check receiver setting (HDMI Control is "on") and Tv settings (Bravia Sync and ARC is "on") are still enabled. If not, enable them and power off and on tv and receiver as well.
JChin is offline  
post #4118 of 4599 Old 02-17-2012, 03:24 PM
Member
 
GSimmons1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After some fiddling around I found out that when I plug my iMac into one of the HDMI ports on either the AVR or the TV via the mini display adapter it completely cripples the HDMI control. Once I unplugged the Mac everything went back to normal. I don't know if its a Sony issue or a Denon issue but its definitely a problem.
GSimmons1987 is offline  
post #4119 of 4599 Old 02-22-2012, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Bob Loblaw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I'm spending most of my time viewing content thru the ps3 these days, so I ditched the Comcast HD DVR, and now have the very basic cable coming in through coax. I'm having trouble figuring out of I can run the coax straight into the receiver. As it is I'm having no luck getting a signal and wonder if I'll be forced to run the coax to the tv and then use optical audio to get sound to the receiver. Any thoughts? I have the 591. Thanks.
Bob Loblaw2 is offline  
post #4120 of 4599 Old 02-22-2012, 03:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
AVRs don't have TV tuners so you'll have to connect the TV cable to your TV and then either use ARC or connect optical from the TV to the 591.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4121 of 4599 Old 02-22-2012, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Bob Loblaw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
AVRs don't have TV tuners so you'll have to connect the TV cable to your TV and then either use ARC or connect optical from the TV to the 591.

Ok thanks, so how do I make use of the ARC?
Bob Loblaw2 is offline  
post #4122 of 4599 Old 02-22-2012, 03:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
If you have an HDMI 1.4 TV that supports ARC, then set it's HDMI-CEC feature to ON and set audio to external speakers as well as setting HDMI Control on the 591 to ON as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4123 of 4599 Old 02-22-2012, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Bob Loblaw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
If you have an HDMI 1.4 TV that supports ARC, then set it's HDMI-CEC feature to ON and set audio to external speakers as well as setting HDMI Control on the 591 to ON as well.

Cool. Thanks for the quick and helpful responses.
Bob Loblaw2 is offline  
post #4124 of 4599 Old 02-22-2012, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
mekkerl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I am watching a movie, and set dynamic volume to evening, and dynamic eq to 'on'...will it stay like that the next time I watch a movie? Even if I change inputs and watch TV or listen to radio...then power down, and turn on the next day to watch a movie? Will it still be set to on and evening?
mekkerl is offline  
post #4125 of 4599 Old 02-22-2012, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by mekkerl View Post

If I am watching a movie, and set dynamic volume to evening, and dynamic eq to 'on'...will it stay like that the next time I watch a movie? Even if I change inputs and watch TV or listen to radio...then power down, and turn on the next day to watch a movie? Will it still be set to on and evening?

Set it as a quick select

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #4126 of 4599 Old 02-22-2012, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
mekkerl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, that's what I used to do, but I should have mentioned that I am using a Harmony 1100 remote, that when I select watch movie, it always selects the BD input on the avr each time I select watch a movie. I'll have to check if I can change that start-up command to use the quick select button instead...
mekkerl is offline  
post #4127 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 04:57 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Quote:
Originally Posted by mekkerl View Post

If I am watching a movie, and set dynamic volume to evening, and dynamic eq to 'on'...will it stay like that the next time I watch a movie? Even if I change inputs and watch TV or listen to radio...then power down, and turn on the next day to watch a movie? Will it still be set to on and evening?

Yes, these settings are remembered by input. Also note that Dyn EQ MUST be set to ON in order for Dyn Vol to be enabled as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4128 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 05:43 AM
Senior Member
 
mekkerl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, thank you jd.

I found that turning dynamic volume and dynamic eq ON makes the center channel MUCH more clear and louder.
It also makes it so I don't have to turn the volume knob up so much to get the level to a suitable volume.
mekkerl is offline  
post #4129 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
Chuchsch1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a Denon AVR-591 Surround Receiver. My problem is I was using my SAT/CBL HDMI Port for my Time Warner Cable DVR box. I have a very touchy 2 year old who likes to play with any electronic device within her grasp. Prior to us buying a gate to block the tv stand she turned the volume up very loud. Now, I'm not sure if this is just a coincidence that it happened the day after she did this, but I now get VIDEO only out of that port, no audio at all. I know there is a generalnvolume limit you can seton the receiver, that wasn't set at the time. Is it possible that the audio portion of that port could be blown, I've switched cables just to make sure I didn't have a dead HDMI cable, cables work when switched to other devices or ports. I was just wondering if anyone has any ideas. Thanks in advance for any help anyone can provide.
Chuchsch1980 is offline  
post #4130 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 01:40 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
More than likely someone pressed the INPUT MODE button on the remote. Press it again until "AUTO" is displayed and the audio should return.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4131 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 01:48 PM
Newbie
 
Chuchsch1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jdsmoothie, you are a AVS GENIUS!! Lol, seriously thank you. I just did it, and it's all good. Thanks for your help!
Chuchsch1980 is offline  
post #4132 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 01:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
Great! Now go set the Volume Limit to either -20db or -10db and protect your speakers for when the next time the "wondering fingers" get loose.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4133 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 02:01 PM
Newbie
 
Chuchsch1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes that's a VERY good idea. Or I will have no sound at all from my completely blown speakers! Thanks again!
Chuchsch1980 is offline  
post #4134 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 04:10 PM
Member
 
euphoriapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Did you ever run AUTO SETUP which you said you hadn't done back in October? If not, run AUTO SETUP.

yes i ran the autorun on the first attempt said me "caution front and center speakers" and only detected the three front speakers (Left Right Center) no "beep beep beep" and no signal of the back speakers .

There is is anyway for i reset the receiver?
euphoriapt is offline  
post #4135 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 04:31 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
Reset the microprocessor (p. 70).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4136 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 04:52 PM
Member
 
euphoriapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i know, but i dont have the manual .. my wife through it to the garbage with the box ... smart .. i find it online .. but still the same problem ..
euphoriapt is offline  
post #4137 of 4599 Old 02-23-2012, 05:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
^^
If the reset didn't change anything, then try unplugging the 591 for about 10 minutes and do the reset procedure again. If still no joy, you're likely looking at repair.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4138 of 4599 Old 02-24-2012, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Herman Trivilino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by euphoriapt View Post

yes i ran the autorun on the first attempt said me "caution front and center speakers" and only detected the three front speakers (Left Right Center) no "beep beep beep" and no signal of the back speakers .

Do you have the back speakers connected to the AVR correctly?
Herman Trivilino is offline  
post #4139 of 4599 Old 02-24-2012, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Bob Loblaw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the advantages and disadvantages people have experienced with this setting. I was under the impression it was an option to prevent sudden and loud sounds like explosions from being too loud...but then I saw someone mention that it improved the center channel levels...

Your thoughts?
Bob Loblaw2 is offline  
post #4140 of 4599 Old 02-24-2012, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
mekkerl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^
I can't tell you why, but when I have the TV on or a movie playing, when I toggle between Dyn Vol on and off, the sound is more pronounced (or louder) with the setting ON.

I don't find myself turning the volume knob up as much.

One thing I don't extremely care for when it is on, is the surrounds are much louder and amplified during loud scenes in a movie, like explosions, etc... I find that when watching the movie, and there are these loud explosion scenes (or similar), I feel that the surrounds are all I can hear (because they are the closest to the seating area).

I don't know the 'why's' for all this...that's just my experience.
mekkerl is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off