*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 391 / 591 / 1611 Owner's Thread - Page 156 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4651 of 4674 Old 08-28-2014, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,392
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked: 1282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
each HDMI port has different settings??
The TV, not the receiver. Most TV's store picture settings by input.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4652 of 4674 Old 08-28-2014, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
The TV, not the receiver. Most TV's store picture settings by input.

yes i just saw that. I went to over the air tv and my mode is completly different than my hdmi settings. I had no idea they were different
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #4653 of 4674 Old 08-28-2014, 05:49 PM
Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
The TV, not the receiver. Most TV's store picture settings by input.

all all tv's that way
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #4654 of 4674 Old 08-29-2014, 06:34 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,524
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
More than likely yes as the expectation is you may want different settings for different sources.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4655 of 4674 Old 09-01-2014, 02:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Don Borvio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Multi IN now only stereo?

I have an issue that just started on my AVR-1611. Whether it's blu-rays or streaming video, the Standard Multi-In no longer shows the type of audio signal received or processed. Currently, it is only playing stereo on this setting even though the display shows "Multi IN" and the audio received in the information/status is 4/3/.1 PCM sound. I've tried all the troubleshooting I can think of besides leaving it unplugged, which I will do when I go to bed here shortly. That includes:

Multiple sources: Vudu streaming and blu-rays on an Xbox One and Panasonic BD player (BDT-220)
Multiple HDMI cables
Resetting the Denon multiple times, with the power + surrounds and even pulling the power for a few seconds first.
Flipping between all audio settings on the Xbox One and the Panasonic: bitstreaming/PCM, 5.1, 7.1, etc.

My setup is TV<-Denon<-Xbox<-Cable Box via HDMI.

This all worked in the past flawlessly. I ran the Audyssey setup too and all the channels will play sounds, also if I switch to settings like Multi-Channel Stereo as well.

Is there just something wrong now with the HDMI board/audio processing where it's not processing more than a stereo output? Anyone have any other ideas on a fix? I was thinking about buying a new receiver...I guess it might be time to do that. :/
Don Borvio is offline  
post #4656 of 4674 Old 09-01-2014, 02:36 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,524
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
When "Multi CH IN" shows on the 1611 front panel display, it means the source device is decoding the DD/DTS audio to PCM so if you prefer to let the AVR do it (no difference either way in audio quality), you must set the source device to "bitstream" vice "LPCM." While the audio is playing, press the STANDARD button and select either DD or DTS as appropriate.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4657 of 4674 Old 09-01-2014, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Don Borvio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, after plugging it back in and doing another reset it seems to be working OK with either PCM or bitstream. Still doesn't show on the display anything but "Multi In" on bitstream though. But at least it's working...for now.
Don Borvio is offline  
post #4658 of 4674 Old 09-01-2014, 01:37 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,524
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
If the display reads "Multi CH IN" then the unit is NOT receiving bitstream audio regardless of the source setting to the contrary.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4659 of 4674 Old 09-02-2014, 01:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Don Borvio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
If the display reads "Multi CH IN" then the unit is NOT receiving bitstream audio regardless of the source setting to the contrary.
You're right. This was half the Xbox One's issue though the weird stereo playback (with PCM or not) was NOT the Xbox One's issue. Apparently the Xbox One doesn't do lossless bitstreaming, only internal decoding to DD/DTS bitstream or PCM. What's driving me nuts about this is: I swore the Xbox One DID have this functionality and it worked for months. I know I saw the "DTS HD MA" on the receiver display. Either I've stepped into an alternate dimension or had the world's most convenient feature bug.
Don Borvio is offline  
post #4660 of 4674 Old 09-02-2014, 03:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,524
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
More likely from the Panasonic BDP.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4661 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 12:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey fellas,
I'm new to this forum but I had a few questions about my AVR-1611, I have a PC input (just hdmi from pc to receiver) and an xbox one input. I can get sound from both hdmi and digital and those play through the speakers connected to my avr fine (not tv speakers). But I can't get any video signal sent to my TV. I have a samsung TV model code UN60EH6003. Can anyone help me in this matter? Thanks guys.
tiringkiller01 is offline  
post #4662 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 02:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,524
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
Did this just occur out of the blue or has it always been this way? Is there an HDMI cable connected from the HDMI monitor output to the TV? Have you tried connecting it to all the TV's inputs? Have you tried replacing this cable? Do both HTPC and xBox pass video when connected directly to the TV?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4663 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 06:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just bought the receiver used yesterday. Before I bought it I had everything going straight to the tv and worked fine. I do have an hdmi from the hdmi out on the receiver to the hdmi in on the tv. I also tried all the hdmi ports on the back of both the receiver and tv and tried switching which hdmi cables went to the tv and xbox. I had 4 hdmi cords that I tried using. I've read around and I've heard that sometimes the reciever just isnt compatable with the tv because it doesn't want to "talk" to the tv if that makes any sense?
tiringkiller01 is offline  
post #4664 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 07:36 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,524
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
Whenever you purchase used electronics, first thing you want to do is to reset the microprocessor to restore the settings to their original mfr defaults.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	104
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	245706  

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4665 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I reset the microprocessor back to factory settings and tried it but still no luck... I also tried to use the hdmi assign option but that didn't work either
tiringkiller01 is offline  
post #4666 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 08:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry I forgot to add something and I'm on my phone so I cant edit my reply. But it seems that the tv is getting some signal or else the tv wouldn't let me select that input. Also there are 2 hdmi logos on the screen of the reciever. One with a box around it and another with a filled box around it right above the other hdmi box. If that makes any sense. Thanks again for the help
tiringkiller01 is offline  
post #4667 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 10:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,524
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
HTPCs can be iffy. Review the following ...

The 'Official' 2014 Denon "S Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

On the Xbox, ensure the "Deep Color Output" is set to OFF (if there is one).

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4668 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
HTPCs can be iffy. Review the following ...

The 'Official' 2014 Denon "S Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

On the Xbox, ensure the "Deep Color Output" is set to OFF (if there is one).
I reviewed that information and i tried out some of the solutions but still no luck. If I'm correct the xbox one shouldn't have any issues with connecting to the tv from the receiver since many people do this? If that is the case then I believe it is some issue between the avr and the TV. Is there anything I can do about that? I will test on my friends tv and see if changing the tv does anything
tiringkiller01 is offline  
post #4669 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 11:03 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,524
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
Get a new TV or different AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4670 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'll probably just end up getting a different receiver. Denon doesn't seem to work well with other things. I connected the avr-1611 to my friends vizio tv and still no video output if that would solve the issue any. If all else fails I'll resell it.
tiringkiller01 is offline  
post #4671 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 01:34 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,524
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
More than likely you bought a defective unit.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4672 of 4674 Old 09-04-2014, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yeah... I might have it checked out to get fixed sometime in the future but for now I have it working the way I like just not in the way I initially hoped. I ran the hdmi straight to the tv from my xbox one and since the xbox one has another hdmi input normally used for tv I just hooked up the pc input to that and will use it that way for the time being. All audio will run through the digital output from my xbox to the receiver though so it still works for what's needed! Thank you for all the suggestions and help. If I ever find out exactly what is wrong with it and how to fix it (not just a workaround) I'll be sure to inform you guys. Thank you so much!
tiringkiller01 is offline  
post #4673 of 4674 Old 09-13-2014, 10:55 AM
Member
 
motoxpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had issues with the 591 HDMI output cutting out randomly? At first, I thought my BR player was going out but, I took the receiver out of the loop and it worked fine. I suppose it could be a cable but, I did make sure they were well secured.

-mx
motoxpress is offline  
post #4674 of 4674 Old 09-13-2014, 11:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,524
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
^^
Try replacing the cable. If no joy, a soft reset (unplug power for 10 minutes). If still no joy, a microprocessor reset (see Owner's manual). And lastly repair or replace.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off