*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 391 / 591 / 1611 Owner's Thread - Page 158 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4711 of 4732 Old 11-13-2014, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
One more question. Is pl2 just as good as Dolby digital
Bamafan35611 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4712 of 4732 Old 11-13-2014, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,094
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
One more question. Is pl2 just as good as Dolby digital
Not in theory -- the stereo signal is being upmixed to "simulated" surround sound instead of native surround sound (where the receiver is getting 6 channels of data instead of 2). That said, the compression is so high on Netflix streams that you aren't exactly working with super high quality stuff in the first place. I wouldn't sweat it.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #4713 of 4732 Old 11-13-2014, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am just wondering why my avr don't say pcm
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #4714 of 4732 Old 11-13-2014, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,094
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
I am just wondering why my avr don't say pcm
It will if you check the input signal information. PCM is not a surround mode

The front display is showing you the current surround mode

Last edited by batpig; 11-13-2014 at 06:31 PM.
batpig is offline  
post #4715 of 4732 Old 12-06-2014, 10:51 AM
Member
 
motoxpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony Bluray connected to my AVR-591 and I get audio from Bluray discs but not when I play CDs. Is there a setting I need to adjust on the receiver? It used to work just fine, but no longer.
motoxpress is offline  
post #4716 of 4732 Old 12-07-2014, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sound cuts out with Chromecast plugged in to a different input.

I have a Chromecast plugged into my AVR-591 and it seems to be causing the sound to cut out intermittently when I am listening to a different input. For example, I have the Chromecast plugged into the BD input, and I am listening to music via SP/DIF on the DVD input.

The music will intermittently interrupt for a few seconds once in a while. This does not happen when I unplug the Chromecast.

Any clue what could be causing that?
preiter1 is offline  
post #4717 of 4732 Old 12-08-2014, 03:13 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,994
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2196 Post(s)
Liked: 1801
^^
Try plugging the Chromecast into each of the other HDMI inputs to see if one works better.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4718 of 4732 Old 12-08-2014, 03:14 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,994
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2196 Post(s)
Liked: 1801
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoxpress View Post
I have a Sony Bluray connected to my AVR-591 and I get audio from Bluray discs but not when I play CDs. Is there a setting I need to adjust on the receiver? It used to work just fine, but no longer.
What does the front panel display when a CD is playing?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4719 of 4732 Old 12-08-2014, 09:05 AM
Member
 
motoxpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
What does the front panel display when a CD is playing?
PCM Audio


-mx
motoxpress is offline  
post #4720 of 4732 Old 12-08-2014, 10:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,994
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2196 Post(s)
Liked: 1801
^^
If it used to work, then try unplugging the AVR for 10 minutes and if still no joy, then do a microprocessor reset (p. 70 Owner's manual) noting this will return all settings to factory defaults and erase the Audyssey setup as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4721 of 4732 Old 12-13-2014, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone, I am about to purchase a used AVR 1611, i ve reading all the thread but i would like to ask for some help.

If we could do 5 bullets points of the pro and the cons, what would they be?
bataleon is offline  
post #4722 of 4732 Old 12-13-2014, 09:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,994
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2196 Post(s)
Liked: 1801
^^
Please review posts 1 and 2 on page 1 of this thread.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4723 of 4732 Old 12-13-2014, 12:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,094
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1612
And in terms of cons it would be features that have been added since this model was current (like networking). The best way to learn about these is to review the first few posts of owners threads in subsequent model years.
batpig is offline  
post #4724 of 4732 Old 12-15-2014, 11:41 PM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I love Denon AVRs

I have 2 Denon AVRs. One for my home theater, the 4311, and one for my Living Room system, the 789. I have an opportunity to buy a 1611 in excellent condition for $100 (or less if I haggle). I really don't need a new AVR but it seems like such a bargain I can't pass it up. I know, I'm addicted! I would either replace my 789 with it or buy it for my mom or a friend in need. The 789 has more power and the 1611 has more HDMI inputs. 1611 has 3D pass through, which is really not important to me. Both have MultEQ. Which one is the better AVR, in the opinion of the experts?

As always, thanks in advance.

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is offline  
post #4725 of 4732 Old 12-16-2014, 05:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,994
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2196 Post(s)
Liked: 1801
^^
Each has it's pros, although if you need an inexpensive AVR and the 1611 fits the bill ... get your wallet out.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4726 of 4732 Old 12-16-2014, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought the 1611 today for $100 and after closer inspection decided to stay with the 789 because it has more inputs than the 1611. The omission of an optical input was a deal breaker for me. Still, it's a nice AVR that will likely be enjoyed by a friend or family for many years.

I concluded that the 789 is a higher series but older, so the 1611 has some more modern features that the 789 doesn't, but the 789 is a little higher end with more power and inputs.

Happy Holidays to all!

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is offline  
post #4727 of 4732 Old Yesterday, 01:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Return Audio from TV question:

So I have a Samsung Smart TV hooked up to the Monitor HDMI port on my 591. How do I get my 591 to accept audio from my Samsung so I can use the 591 for sound when using the Smart Apps like Netflix?

I read you have to turn HDMI Control on. And I do have it on but I noticed on the display on the 591 that it says auto next to HDMI. So I'm assuming this isn't working because it needs to be set to manual? If so, now do I set it to manual?
longlimb is offline  
post #4728 of 4732 Old Yesterday, 01:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Your better off just running an optical cable from the TV to the AVR and then switching to the TV input when you want to listen to smart apps from your TV.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #4729 of 4732 Old Yesterday, 04:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
Your better off just running an optical cable from the TV to the AVR and then switching to the TV input when you want to listen to smart apps from your TV.
Dang. Was afraid of that. Already hung the TV on the wall and installed a HDMI jack that runs through the wall. Oh well, guess I need to run audio now. Thanks.
longlimb is offline  
post #4730 of 4732 Old Yesterday, 07:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,994
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2196 Post(s)
Liked: 1801
Quote:
Originally Posted by longlimb View Post
Return Audio from TV question:

So I have a Samsung Smart TV hooked up to the Monitor HDMI port on my 591. How do I get my 591 to accept audio from my Samsung so I can use the 591 for sound when using the Smart Apps like Netflix?

I read you have to turn HDMI Control on. And I do have it on but I noticed on the display on the 591 that it says auto next to HDMI. So I'm assuming this isn't working because it needs to be set to manual? If so, now do I set it to manual?
I wouldn't be so quick to give up on HDMI(ARC). Please follow the post below ...

The 'Official' 2014 Denon "S Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4731 of 4732 Old Yesterday, 09:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Try plugging the Chromecast into each of the other HDMI inputs to see if one works better.
Tried the Chromecast in several different HDMI ports, still causes the audio on a different input to cut out periodically.

Any other thoughts?
preiter1 is offline  
post #4732 of 4732 Old Today, 03:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,994
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2196 Post(s)
Liked: 1801
^^
Try replacing the Chromecast.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off