*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 391 / 591 / 1611 Owner's Thread - Page 159 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4741 of 4749 Old 01-20-2015, 01:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,272
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1331 Post(s)
Liked: 1709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
OK I have a question. How is it when a movie is Dolby digital and it shows up on my denon dvr as PL II C.
That means the 5.1 DD track isn't getting to the receiver. If you check the input signal it will tell you the receiver is only getting a stereo input.

You need to check settings in your source device. Something is configured wrong that is preventing the source from sending the bitstream 5.1 audio.
batpig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4742 of 4749 Old 01-27-2015, 04:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I replaced an HDMI splitter with an AVR-591. Everything worked fine until then. When ever I switch sources, my optima project will shut off with the error light on. I have to cycle the power source in order to get the projector back on.

My guess is some kind of autodetect on the receiver maybe? Something I should be able to shut off. The projector often times does a flash of rainbow colors before it shuts down.

Any help would be great.
McKayCR is offline  
post #4743 of 4749 Old 01-27-2015, 06:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,207
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2695 Post(s)
Liked: 1910
^^
Was the 591 purchased "used"? Reset the microprocessor (p. 70 Owner's manual) to restore all settings to factory default. Ensure all cables are securely fitted to the AVR. Try connecting the HDMI out to a TV instead to see if the same issue presents.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4744 of 4749 Old 01-27-2015, 07:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Tried hooking up to a TV, didn't seem to have an issue at all. I hooked the projector back up, reset the demon back to factory and tested, same results as before. The projector shut down and an error light lit up.
McKayCR is offline  
post #4745 of 4749 Old Yesterday, 06:03 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,207
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2695 Post(s)
Liked: 1910
^^
Try using a different AVR with the PJ.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4746 of 4749 Old Yesterday, 06:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
391 with Samsung 65h6400

Hi. i have the 391 (which I just took out of storage) and I have just bought the Samsung series 6 6400 smart TV.


Xbox work fine through the receiver, but can get the TV to work.


I have monitor out on the AVR going in to HDMI 2 (arc) on the Samsung.


Thanx for the help.
BernieMtl is online now  
post #4747 of 4749 Old Today, 03:05 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,207
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2695 Post(s)
Liked: 1910
^^
Not sure what "can't get the TV to work" means, but the 391 does not feature HDMI(ARC), so if you are trying to pass the TV's smart app audio back to the 391, you must connect an optical cable from the TV to the 391.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4748 of 4749 Old Today, 04:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry.


Cant get the sound from the TV to play through the receiver. Do I need to add an optical cable


Thank you
BernieMtl is online now  
post #4749 of 4749 Old Today, 04:57 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,207
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2695 Post(s)
Liked: 1910
^^
Yes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off