*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 391 / 591 / 1611 Owner's Thread - Page 160 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4771 of 4787 Old 02-26-2015, 01:52 AM
Member
 
richeydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FresYes, CA
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a problem with my Denon 591. I was purchased in 04/2011. A couple of weeks ago I noticed distortion(mostly dialogue) in the center channel while playing netflix movies with my Roku 3. I did a search and I stumbled upon this thread. I seem to be having the same problem as several other people. I know I can set the Roku to stereo but I'd rather have a permanent solution. Has anyone sent their receiver to a repair center and had the decoding bug fixed?
richeydog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4772 of 4787 Old 02-26-2015, 02:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,907
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3479 Post(s)
Liked: 2115
^^
AFAIK, a firmware update has not been released to resolve this issue in the models in this thread.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4773 of 4787 Old 02-26-2015, 07:10 AM
Member
 
elinter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: waldorf, md, usa
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 1611 output the OSD via HDMI as an overlay or does it require a separate composite connection to the TV?
elinter is offline  
post #4774 of 4787 Old 02-26-2015, 07:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,907
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3479 Post(s)
Liked: 2115
^^
OSD displayed on black background over HDMI. Overlay on source feature begins with 2311CI.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4775 of 4787 Old 02-26-2015, 12:59 PM
Member
 
richeydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FresYes, CA
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
AFAIK, a firmware update has not been released to resolve this issue in the models in this thread.
Thanks. Even if there were a firmware update we would have to send it in to a repair center, correct? I don't think this receiver has an ethernet connection.

Last edited by richeydog; 02-26-2015 at 01:30 PM.
richeydog is offline  
post #4776 of 4787 Old 02-26-2015, 01:47 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,907
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3479 Post(s)
Liked: 2115
^^
Correct.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4777 of 4787 Old 03-05-2015, 04:18 PM
Member
 
abuhafsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Center channel cross over at 60Hz??

I’ve had a Denon 591 receiver for over 4 years without any issues. I recently upgraded to a set of NHT superzero 2.1 speakers (satellite and center) and an SVS SB12-NSD subwoofer. After calibrating with the auto-setup, my center speaker crossover is set to 60Hz, while the satellites are set to 110hz (front) and 120hz (rear). I performed the auto setup several times with the same results. The center speaker itself sounds okay, and when I spoke to the NHT customer rep he thought the problem may be with the receiver. He suggested I manually set the cross over to 85-90 hz.

I’ve never experienced such a low center cross-over with my other speakers (Boston Acoustics and Energy Take classics).

Does anyone have any idea what’s going on? Is the receiver trying to ‘blend in’ with the better sub that I now have? How can I figure out if the issue is with the speaker or the receiver?

Any ideas or tips appreciated. Thx.
abuhafsa is offline  
post #4778 of 4787 Old 03-05-2015, 04:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,907
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3479 Post(s)
Liked: 2115
^^
What is it you think is wrong about the center speaker crossover?

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4779 of 4787 Old 03-05-2015, 04:34 PM
Member
 
abuhafsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
What is it you think is wrong about the center speaker crossover?
Well, the speaker is rated at 85Hz - 20kHz at -3dB, so isn't it going to muddy the midrange if it tries to reproduce frequencies below 85Hz instead of the sub?
abuhafsa is offline  
post #4780 of 4787 Old 03-05-2015, 04:47 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,907
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3479 Post(s)
Liked: 2115
How the speaker is rated in the mfr's environment and how it reacts in your room can be different. If you prefer to raise the crossover, then do so.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4781 of 4787 Old 03-15-2015, 01:15 AM
Newbie
 
sk280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello AVR591 owners,

I recently purchased an excellent condition AVR591 here in Australia with model# AVR1611. I seem to have a major issue with the volume. I have to raise the master volume to atleast 50 before I can hear any sound from the receiver. This seems to be case for HDMI and analog connections. I thought it was Audessey and did a microprocessor reset (off + surround buttons + on), still the same.

Having said this, when I increase the volume to 65, it does get loud and I can hear every detail. When using settings set by Audessey, its a lot better except for the volume which is too low. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited by sk280; 03-15-2015 at 02:49 AM.
sk280 is offline  
post #4782 of 4787 Old 03-15-2015, 06:18 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,907
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3479 Post(s)
Liked: 2115
^^
There's nothing wrong with your volume control. Denon AVRs use a logarithmic volume control such that average volume is 50-70.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4783 of 4787 Old 03-15-2015, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk280 View Post
When using settings set by Audessey, its a lot better except for the volume which is too low. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Hi sk280, maybe you selected "no" to Dynamic Volume at end of setup. Try changing Dynamic Volume to Evening and set Reference Level Offset to 10 or 15 dB.

Dynamic Volume and Reference Level Offset can be found under Audyssey Settings in Audio Adjust menu.
120inna55 likes this.
JChin is offline  
post #4784 of 4787 Old 03-16-2015, 12:09 AM
Newbie
 
sk280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
There's nothing wrong with your volume control. Denon AVRs use a logarithmic volume control such that average volume is 50-70.
Thanks jdsmoothie. I googled logarithmic volume and found this to be the case.

I have decent floor standing speakers, 91dB sensitivity. Music is not great with this Denon 591.

However, identical speakers when played using my Vintage denon legacy stereo amplifier with cd played from my vintage Akai cd player in cd direct mode sounds fantastic. More detail, effortless, joy to hear.

I can't believe there is so much difference in clarity. All along, I thought all Amps sound the same. Time to sell the 591.

Regards
sk280 is offline  
post #4785 of 4787 Old 03-16-2015, 12:11 AM
Newbie
 
sk280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi sk280, maybe you selected "no" to Dynamic Volume at end of setup. Try changing Dynamic Volume to Evening and set Reference Level Offset to 10 or 15 dB.

Dynamic Volume and Reference Level Offset can be found under Audyssey Settings in Audio Adjust menu.
Thanks jchin. I will reset the microprocessor, rerun audessey and try this again.
sk280 is offline  
post #4786 of 4787 Old Today, 05:55 PM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm not sure when or how this happened, but I noticed that I'm no longer getting a display on my 591, on the receiver itself. If I do anything like changing the volume it comes up for a few seconds, then goes off.

I'm assuming it's a setting that got modified, but not sure what.
dpeters11 is online now  
post #4787 of 4787 Old Today, 06:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,907
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3479 Post(s)
Liked: 2115
^^
On a higher level model, this issue would be caused by selecting the PURE DIRECT mode, but the 591 doesn't have this feature, rather the front panel is either ON or OFF. Check the Display setting (p. 50) and try a different setting.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off