*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 391 / 591 / 1611 Owner's Thread - Page 162 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4831 of 4840 Old 07-10-2015, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 26,092
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1956 Post(s)
Liked: 2095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
I am watching streaming movies on my Roku stick and I have my Roku stick connect via HDMI through my avr. The streaming movies are AAC sound. Can my receiver encode them to 5.1 surround sound? Right now all it shows on the display is PLii. Is there a setting I need to change or am I stuck with false surround sound with PLii.
That's up to the source, not the receiver. The receiver can only play the signal it is given.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4832 of 4840 Old 07-10-2015, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
That's up to the source, not the receiver. The receiver can only play the signal it is given.
well the source is saying it is AAC sound
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #4833 of 4840 Old 07-10-2015, 04:03 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,569
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4739 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
I am watching streaming movies on my Roku stick and I have my Roku stick connect via HDMI through my avr. The streaming movies are AAC sound. Can my receiver encode them to 5.1 surround sound? Right now all it shows on the display is PLii. Is there a setting I need to change or am I stuck with false surround sound with PLii.
DD PLII means a stereo signal is being received and a 5.1 signal is being output to your speakers.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4834 of 4840 Old 07-15-2015, 09:07 AM
Newbie
 
darylfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question. Does the 591 have any kind of video noise reduction? I have a laser disc player hooked to it that needs it Thanks
darylfoot is offline  
post #4835 of 4840 Old 07-15-2015, 09:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,569
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4739 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
Quote:
Originally Posted by darylfoot View Post
Quick question. Does the 591 have any kind of video noise reduction? I have a laser disc player hooked to it that needs it Thanks
The 591 has no video processing on board at all .. so no.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4836 of 4840 Old 07-25-2015, 06:35 PM
Member
 
b5fan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 42
To All,

I know I'm late to this party, but I'd like to thank all those who asked excellent question and to all those who gave some great answer (especially you Batpig). If not for this thread, I may have never discovered some of the awesome things my AVR591 could do. It has made an great receiver into and fantastic, great receiver!

Thanks to you all,

From: A Denon Fan named "-B"
b5fan001 is offline  
post #4837 of 4840 Old 07-26-2015, 07:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HELP!? Partially Blown Channel? Denon AVR591

Denon AVR591 Partially blown Channel?
Hello all,

I am a new user here and also a new AVR owner. After upgrading from a Yamaha that is nearly 20 yrs old I grabbed a Denon AVR591 for a pretty stellar price used. I got home, hooked it up and ran Audyssey and everything worked great. No problems with ANY channels (all 5.1 used). I tested the channel levels in the Manual Audio settings to tweak the sound to our room and everything ran smoothly. Now two weeks later I added a new Polk Audio CS2 as the center channel (Previously KEF Reference Series Model 90) and still everything seemed fine up until today. I went to tweak the channel dB levels and I found my Sur. L speaker has sound output but the volume is very muffled. I checked to see if it was the speaker dying by switching the L and R surrounds and the issue persisted; Sur. L is muffled (but not silent). I further tested to see if the issue was my wireless surround kit by wiring the speaker directly to the Sur. L channel port on Receiver: Problem persisted. Is it possible to have a channel partially blown? My understanding is that if the fuse/transistor was blown there would be NO audio output on that channel. Are there any steps to be taken? My Sur. R is set to -2dB and I have to turn my Sur. L up to +6dB to be pretty close to the same volume level. Could this be a problem with Audyssey itself or is there something electrical I must look for? Any solutions/advice are appreciated and if this is the WRONG place for this post please Direct my to the appropriate area. Very much appreciated.

Best Regards,

Newbie
TheTaxButler is offline  
post #4838 of 4840 Old 07-27-2015, 01:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,569
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4739 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
^^
If raising the SL to +6db resolves your issue, likely the best work around as repair would likely cost at least $200-$300.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4839 of 4840 Unread Yesterday, 10:36 PM
Senior Member
 
gregavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a question about the 1611. I bought one about a year ago for $100 just because I thought it was a great deal, even though I already had a 4311 in my HT and a 789 in my living room set-up. Now I'm helping a friend of mine build a modest HT in his garage and he'd like to have a 7.1 setup. He'd also like to have a zone 2 for his pair of patio speakers. Is the 1611 capable of having this setup using an additional 2 CH outboard amp?

Thanks in advance.

It used to be:"Wine, Women and Song"Now it's: "Beer, The Old Lady and TV"My Theater Build http://s1116.photobucket.com/user/Gr...?sort=6&page=1
gregavi is offline  
post #4840 of 4840 Unread Today, 03:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,569
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4739 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregavi View Post
I have a question about the 1611. I bought one about a year ago for $100 just because I thought it was a great deal, even though I already had a 4311 in my HT and a 789 in my living room set-up. Now I'm helping a friend of mine build a modest HT in his garage and he'd like to have a 7.1 setup. He'd also like to have a zone 2 for his pair of patio speakers. Is the 1611 capable of having this setup using an additional 2 CH outboard amp?

Thanks in advance.

Not using an external amp no, as there are on Zone 2 pre-outs, however, with only a 5.1 setup in the garage the Surround Back speaker posts can be assigned to Zone 2 to power the patio speakers.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off