*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 391 / 591 / 1611 Owner's Thread - Page 164 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4891 of 4906 Old 04-18-2016, 12:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,404
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10984 Post(s)
Liked: 5087
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkecrates View Post
Ok so now I reset my device and there is no audio...guess I have to dig out the manual and figure out how to get sound...smdh
What is the source device? HDMI? Analog? Does the TUNER work?
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4892 of 4906 Old 06-20-2016, 08:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Buenos Aire, Argentina
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk280 View Post
Thanks jdsmoothie. I googled logarithmic volume and found this to be the case.

I have decent floor standing speakers, 91dB sensitivity. Music is not great with this Denon 591.

However, identical speakers when played using my Vintage denon legacy stereo amplifier with cd played from my vintage Akai cd player in cd direct mode sounds fantastic. More detail, effortless, joy to hear.

I can't believe there is so much difference in clarity. All along, I thought all Amps sound the same. Time to sell the 591.

Regards
Hi sk280. Did you sold your Denon a avr591? What was the result? What did you buy? Did you get back to a legacy stereo amplifier?
Osvaldopeni is offline  
post #4893 of 4906 Old 06-21-2016, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For a 2 channel signal how well do you guys think the processing into dolby pro logic ii sounds on the avr 591?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #4894 of 4906 Old 06-22-2016, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Buenos Aire, Argentina
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
For a 2 channel signal how well do you guys think the processing into dolby pro logic ii sounds on the avr 591?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
I do prefer to use multi channel stereo. In my personal case i do have two front speakers and two sorround. All are able to reproduce the full frequency Range. I have no Sub Woofer. It was important to adjust the channel level from the remote after running auddysey in orden to get good results.
Osvaldopeni is offline  
post #4895 of 4906 Old 06-23-2016, 03:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,404
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10984 Post(s)
Liked: 5087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
For a 2 channel signal how well do you guys think the processing into dolby pro logic ii sounds on the avr 591?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
Should sound very similar to playing a standard 5.1 audio signal.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4896 of 4906 Old 07-19-2016, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
sk280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osvaldopeni View Post
Hi sk280. Did you sold your Denon a avr591? What was the result? What did you buy? Did you get back to a legacy stereo amplifier?
No I didnt sell it. I kept it after re-tuning with Auddessy MultiEQ and quite like the result. I still use my Denon Stereo amp for music in the other room.

BUT Overall I love Denon's Audessey and how much its able to correct room EQ deficiencies.
sk280 is offline  
post #4897 of 4906 Old 07-19-2016, 05:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Buenos Aire, Argentina
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk280 View Post
No I didnt sell it. I kept it after re-tuning with Auddessy MultiEQ and quite like the result. I still use my Denon Stereo amp for music in the other room.

BUT Overall I love Denon's Audessey and how much its able to correct room EQ deficiencies.
In my case I still missing the bass sound Of legacy stereo amplifier. Maybe is a mater Of keep trying with different speaker placement and running audysey again. I use to like bass sound that you fe el not only with your ears, but also with you body, the bass that you fe el like a short beat in your body. With the Denon is not the same. It Israel like bass be ame todo long...too resonant. I hope do you understand Water i mean. Water i have to say as very positive is Wath ama sing and celar the Voice is reproducen.
Osvaldopeni is offline  
post #4898 of 4906 Old 09-20-2016, 01:21 PM
Member
 
cuevad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi i have the 591,and jamo s606 fronts,mirage s-10,epson moviemate 62 projector

i will not have this system connected to a tv ,the tv is to big to move to the setup room

cannot figure out how to get the projector to display the osd audessey setup screen,

also have not been able to get audio from the projector to play thur rec,

is there a way to use the projector or a laptop to display and setup audessey

thanks
cuevad is offline  
post #4899 of 4906 Old 09-20-2016, 01:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 24,925
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 903 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Is your projector connected with HDMI from the receiver? If not, you wont get Audyssey menus or OSD to show up on screen. It only works over HDMI.

Why do you need to send audio from the projector to the receiver? The projector doesn't have any Smart apps and you should connect your laptop directly to the AVR 591 for audio and video.

If there is some reason you need to send audio from the projector to the receiver you can use a digital audio cable. It just a cable with a single RCA connector on each end.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #4900 of 4906 Old 09-20-2016, 02:27 PM
Member
 
cuevad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
Is your projector connected with HDMI from the receiver? If not, you wont get Audyssey menus or OSD to show up on screen. It only works over HDMI.

Why do you need to send audio from the projector to the receiver? The projector doesn't have any Smart apps and you should connect your laptop directly to the AVR 591 for audio and video.

If there is some reason you need to send audio from the projector to the receiver you can use a digital audio cable. It just a cable with a single RCA connector on each end.
,reading a little saw a suggestion to try all the hdmi slots,i have only tried BD and DVD

the projector is a all in one ,i tried the composite inputs i get video but the audio comes only from the internal speakers

if i connect the laptop by hmdi would i be able to access the osd

thanks for your help
cuevad is offline  
post #4901 of 4906 Old 09-20-2016, 02:38 PM
Member
 
cuevad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi afrogt ,tried the monitor hdmi port ,got the Aud osd .

thanks
cuevad is offline  
post #4902 of 4906 Old 09-30-2016, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
b5fan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Exclamation My AVR 591 still impresses me!

After more than 5 years, you would think that my AVR591 would cease to amaze me. Well.....I've been amazed again. My cousin let me borrow seasons 1 and 2 of Game of Thrones on Blu-Ray (I know...I'm late to the party). It is the first title I've ever seen with Dolby Atmos. While I understand that this receiver doesn't do Dolby Atmos, I know that the sound is an improvement over Dolby Digital. i watched the first couple episodes in Dolby Digital. Sounded great!!! Just for giggles, I picked the Atmos setting for sound. I never went back to Dolby Digital. With my added BACK speakers amplified with my old Denon from the mid-eighties, this receiver has impressed me yet again. The folks who do the sound, on GoT, should receive every award possible because I have never experienced so immersive a sound environment for any movie I own.

I was disappointed to learn that the next season was DTS-HD. I assume that they stick with that going forward. It sounds very good but I'm not as impressed as I think I should be.

But this post is more about the astounding ability of this receiver to impress me time and time again! I never recommend any other brand than Denon..EVER!!

-B

Have a great day and be kind to each other,
-B
TiVo Roamio OTA with Denon AVR 591
My floor speakers, surrounds and sub are Polk brand. Home Theater Seats, needed.
FiOS 50/50 Streaming[/SIZE]
b5fan001 is offline  
post #4903 of 4906 Old 09-30-2016, 12:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 24,925
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 903 Post(s)
Liked: 689
What displays on your 591 screen when selecting dolby atmos track of Game of Thrones?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #4904 of 4906 Old 09-30-2016, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
b5fan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
What displays on your 591 screen when selecting dolby atmos track of Game of Thrones?
Dolby TrueHD, I think. I'm pretty sure.

Info from the interwebs: Atmos in home theaters can support 24.1.10 channels, and uses the spatially-encoded object audio substream to mix the audio presentation to match the installed speaker configuration. The spatial audio coding tool is applied to the cinematic object audio mix when filmmakers remix and render the TrueHD and Dolby Digital Plus soundtracks with Dolby Media Producer.

-B

Have a great day and be kind to each other,
-B
TiVo Roamio OTA with Denon AVR 591
My floor speakers, surrounds and sub are Polk brand. Home Theater Seats, needed.
FiOS 50/50 Streaming[/SIZE]
b5fan001 is offline  
post #4905 of 4906 Old 10-01-2016, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Herman Trivilino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b5fan001 View Post
i watched the first couple episodes in Dolby Digital. Sounded great!!! Just for giggles, I picked the Atmos setting for sound. I never went back to Dolby Digital.
Quote:
Originally Posted by b5fan001 View Post
Dolby TrueHD, I think. I'm pretty sure.
It sounds to me like you've simply switched from the Dolby Digital to the Dolby TrueHD audio track. Two separate audio tracks encoded on the disc. The authors have evidently put a lot more effort into authoring the TrueHD track, which is the reason it sounds so much better. I understand that the Dolby Digital track is a lossy compression and the TrueHD track is a lossless compression, but that is a very difficult difference to discern, even in a studio.

The dts-HD tracks on the other episodes may sound even better, again depending on how well they were authored.
Herman Trivilino is offline  
post #4906 of 4906 Old 10-17-2016, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
b5fan001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herman Trivilino View Post
It sounds to me like you've simply switched from the Dolby Digital to the Dolby TrueHD audio track.
<snip!>
The dts-HD tracks on the other episodes may sound even better, again depending on how well they were authored.
Hello,

I received Seasons Three and Four from my cousin with DTS-HD. Then, I received Season Five with Dolby Atmos. I honestly felt that the DTS-HD was not as good as the Dolby Atmos version. For the record, I watched Season Six on Amazon Prime with Dolby Digital 5.1 encoded to give me Dolby Digital EX. There was very little all that season that put the DD to the test until episodes 8 and 9 with the Battle of the Bastards and Slavers Bay battle in Meeren. I have to admit there were moments that got my attention but I didn't feel that the experience was as immersive as the first two seasons with DD running under the Dolby Atmos setting under the audio menu on the disc.

Have a great day and be kind to each other,

Have a great day and be kind to each other,
-B
TiVo Roamio OTA with Denon AVR 591
My floor speakers, surrounds and sub are Polk brand. Home Theater Seats, needed.
FiOS 50/50 Streaming[/SIZE]
b5fan001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off