*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 391 / 591 / 1611 Owner's Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 4674 Old 09-01-2010, 03:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by vschaos View Post

This is good news. Instead of me running an amplifier would I be able to run a pre-amp instead with the 1611?

Hi. I don't understand the question. Other than for a specialized turntable phono cartridge preamp, why would you want to "run a preamp"? A capable preamp is built into every AVR. Review the first post on the thread in which batpig explains the capabilities of each model.

The difference with stepping up to the more expensive 3311 is even more features, SQ and flexibility, as it is more of an audiophile level AVR. It has the line level preouts that can be used to power an ext amp, though most folks don't find that necessary for usual applications unless running inefficient 4 Ohm speakers at high levels. Note: you should be prepared to spend 1.5-2X the MSRP of the AVR on speakers if you wish to experience the added SQ a unit like the 3311 offers.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 4674 Old 09-01-2010, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
vschaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundofMind View Post

Hi. I don't understand the question. Other than for a specialized turntable phono cartridge preamp, why would you want to "run a preamp"? A capable preamp is built into every AVR. Review the first post on the thread in which batpig explains the capabilities of each model.

The difference with stepping up to the more expensive 3311 is even more features, SQ and flexibility, as it is more of an audiophile level AVR. It has the line level preouts that can be used to power an ext amp, though most folks don't find that necessary for usual applications unless running inefficient 4 Ohm speakers at high levels. Note: you should be prepared to spend 1.5-2X the MSRP of the AVR on speakers if you wish to experience the added SQ a unit like the 3311 offers.

Sorry I am just confusing myself and asking the wrong questions. I am getting my speakers first and then will get a receiver. As for speakers RC30's, rc-lcr, rc10s for surrounds, and either a custom sub or svs.
vschaos is offline  
post #543 of 4674 Old 09-01-2010, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by vschaos View Post

...I am getting my speakers first ...RC30's, rc-lcr, rc10s for surrounds, and either a custom sub or svs.

Sounds like a plan. Those speakers will work well with any of the models you are considering.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #544 of 4674 Old 09-01-2010, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
Unsaturated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubernifty View Post

I just bought a Denon AVR-591 receiver to replace my old AVR-788. I'm aware that most of the time on Blu-Ray there is no difference in audio quality between bitstreaming and decoding to PCM in the Blu-Ray player but what if I use Windows 7 and PowerDVD 9 Ultra? In this case Windows 7 either up samples or down samples the PCM audio and will most likely apply other "enhancements" before the audio gets to the receiver. Is this the one and only case where having the receiver decode Dolby TrueHD/DTS-MA will sound better?

I'd like to know if it's worth upgrading my graphics card from an ATI Radeon 4770 to an ATI Radeon 5750.

Yeah, any graphics card before the Radeon 5xxx is going to down sample the HD blu-ray audio a little bit. The Radeon 5xxx cards are capable of bitstreaming untouched HD audio through HDMI. A cheap upgrade to a 5450 is all you really need (it's what I use), but if you want to game you can go with the higher-end models. More info on the Radeon 5xxx can be found here and here
Unsaturated is offline  
post #545 of 4674 Old 09-01-2010, 02:05 PM
Member
 
Akhkharu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The Colony (Dallas Area), TX
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I edit this info?

Specifically the input source and volume level.

"The further I get from the things that I care about, the less I care about how much further away I get."
Akhkharu is offline  
post #546 of 4674 Old 09-01-2010, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,376
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 1275
the Quick Select is a "snapshot". You can't physically edit it in the menu (other than the name), what you do is configure the receiver as you desire (input source, volume, surround mode, etc) and then "re-memorize" it by holding down the QS button for a few seconds until the display flashes.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #547 of 4674 Old 09-01-2010, 05:26 PM
Member
 
Akhkharu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The Colony (Dallas Area), TX
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

the Quick Select is a "snapshot". You can't physically edit it in the menu (other than the name), what you do is configure the receiver as you desire (input source, volume, surround mode, etc) and then "re-memorize" it by holding down the QS button for a few seconds until the display flashes.

perfect, thanks!

"The further I get from the things that I care about, the less I care about how much further away I get."
Akhkharu is offline  
post #548 of 4674 Old 09-02-2010, 04:06 PM
Newbie
 
pev11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received a new 1611 to replace a non working Sony V333ES. The first thing I've noticed is how light the 1611 is. It weighs about 22lbs compared to the Sony 35lbs.

Total output in wattage between the V333ES and the 1611 is similar, so I'm not sure why so much weight difference. The transformer on the Sony looks much beefier and is obviously heavier. This has me wondering.
pev11 is offline  
post #549 of 4674 Old 09-02-2010, 06:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
The Denon is more efficient, rated at 75W (likely benchmarks at 60W-65W) then is the Sony, rated at 110W (likely benchmarks at 40-50W).

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #550 of 4674 Old 09-02-2010, 09:19 PM
Newbie
 
moejoe16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone notice any gaming lag with sound going through this receiver? I'm thinking of buying this for my xbox360 and rockband and want to make sure this doesn't add any noticeable latency in the mix.
moejoe16 is offline  
post #551 of 4674 Old 09-03-2010, 05:03 AM
Newbie
 
Acipenser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may sound like a silly question, but:

I am looking to get the 591, but can't seem to find it from an authorized dealer at a price below what I can get the 1611 from Elec Expo for with the coupon code.

Anyone know of an authorized dealer that is selling the 591 at a good price?

I know, just get the 1611. But I don't need the 7.1, so I would get the 591 if I can find it at a price point a bit lower than the 1611.

Thanks.
Acipenser is offline  
post #552 of 4674 Old 09-03-2010, 11:38 PM
Member
 
edthatalkinhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an AVR 1611, and I cannot figure out for the life of my how to set it to receive audio via the hdmi cable from my tv plugged in the monitor slot. Any suggestions? I know it can do it because the plug is labeled as 'ARC'.
edthatalkinhorse is offline  
post #553 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 12:46 AM
Member
 
ubernifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acipenser View Post

This may sound like a silly question, but:

I am looking to get the 591, but can't seem to find it from an authorized dealer at a price below what I can get the 1611 from Elec Expo for with the coupon code.

Anyone know of an authorized dealer that is selling the 591 at a good price?

I know, just get the 1611. But I don't need the 7.1, so I would get the 591 if I can find it at a price point a bit lower than the 1611.

Thanks.

I'm not sure what price you're getting, but I paid $355 for the AVR-591 at Best Buy. If this is the approximate price you're seeing from Elec Expo you're making me wish I'd bought the AVR-1611.
ubernifty is offline  
post #554 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 06:28 AM
Newbie
 
Acipenser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out post #523!
Page 18, I think.
Acipenser is offline  
post #555 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acipenser View Post

Check out post #523!
Page 18, I think.

The p. # will depend on the settings you chose.
Tip:
You can right click on "link" in the upper right corner of the post, and "copy shortcut", then paste it right into your post. Or get really slick and highlight a word like "here", hit "insert link" and paste it into the box which appears.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #556 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 06:56 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by edthatalkinhorse View Post

I have an AVR 1611, and I cannot figure out for the life of my how to set it to receive audio via the hdmi cable from my tv plugged in the monitor slot. Any suggestions? I know it can do it because the plug is labeled as 'ARC'.

Make sure that HDMI Control on the 1611 is set to ON as well as HDMI-CEC is set to ON on the TV. In some instances, the TV and AVR must be of the same brand to work correctly.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #557 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 07:54 AM
Member
 
pajamahead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Took the dive on the 1611 based on the deals mentioned earlier. I have read most of the posts but still unclear. The video pass through on standby is pretty painless? Also, there are no settings to disable to make sure the picture is unmolested? Thanks. Just moved and looking forward to 7.1 and multizone action.
pajamahead is offline  
post #558 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 11:44 AM
Newbie
 
buro13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok this is my first receiver ever and have Energy RC Micro 5.1's in my apartment.

I dont know in "amp assign" what setting to have. I only have 5.1 speakers so do I keep it at Normal or Zone 2 or any of the other options?

Also do you guys recommend doing the Audyssey setup? I did it and like how it sounds but would it sound better if I set everything up manually or is the audyssey setting pretty legit? It also recognizes my center speaker as "small" I thought it was medium or large since it is bigger than the other speakers.

Also cant get the s-video input to show up on the tv but I can hear it. Can you use it or is it only for the ipod dock station thing?

Thanks for the help guys and just joined right now
buro13 is offline  
post #559 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 01:37 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by pajamahead View Post

Took the dive on the 1611 based on the deals mentioned earlier. I have read most of the posts but still unclear. The video pass through on standby is pretty painless? Also, there are no settings to disable to make sure the picture is unmolested? Thanks. Just moved and looking forward to 7.1 and multizone action.

HDMI Standby just involves two settings and you're good to go .. so yes, pretty painless. The 1611 doesn't do any video processing other than converting analog inputs to HDMI. There is no video upscaling so there is no reason to have a setting to disable it.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #560 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 01:40 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by buro13 View Post

I dont know in "amp assign" what setting to have. I only have 5.1 speakers so do I keep it at Normal or Zone 2 or any of the other options?

Also do you guys recommend doing the Audyssey setup? I did it and like how it sounds but would it sound better if I set everything up manually or is the audyssey setting pretty legit? It also recognizes my center speaker as "small" I thought it was medium or large since it is bigger than the other speakers.

Also cant get the s-video input to show up on the tv but I can hear it. Can you use it or is it only for the ipod dock station thing?

1. With a 5.1 setup, the standard Amp Assign setting is Zone 2 (the factory default setting).

2. Audyssey is indeed recommended as it's the main selling point of these lower level Denon AVRs. Whether the Denon sets a speaker to LARGE or SMALL has nothing to do with the physical size of the speaker, rather whether it can play frequencies < 50hz (LARGE) or not (SMALL). Those tiny satellites can only go down to 150hz so they would all be set to SMALL.

3. The S-video jack has been reported to work with other sources on the 591 so it should also work with other sources on the 1611 as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #561 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 02:26 PM
Member
 
edthatalkinhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Make sure that HDMI Control on the 1611 is set to ON as well as HDMI-CEC is set to ON on the TV. In some instances, the TV and AVR must be of the same brand to work correctly.

Ok, I've turned on the hdmi control and the cec is also on on my tv, but it still doesnt work. Let me explain what im trying to do and maybe that'll add some context to the question.
I just got a panasonic p50g25, and it is able to stream netflix directly to the tv. I want to listen to the audio through my 1611. when im not watching netflix, i usually have my 1611 receiving input via hdmi from my comcast box or my xbox. when i go to stream netflix, it still plays the audio from the selected input (comcast or xbox). what do i have to do to get the 1611 to recognize the audio is coming from the tv?
edthatalkinhorse is offline  
post #562 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 03:54 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Make sure the HDMI cable from the 1611 Monitor Out is connected to HDMI1 on the Panny. When you want to listen to audio through the surround speakers you've got to select a source. When watching netflix you'll want to select the TV source.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #563 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 06:41 PM
Member
 
xx2000xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just wanted to say thanks for the coupon you posted as it still works and the 1611 is still $310. Picked up some Monitor 60's to start off with then build from there.
xx2000xx is offline  
post #564 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 08:50 PM
Newbie
 
buro13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

1. With a 5.1 setup, the standard Amp Assign setting is Zone 2 (the factory default setting).

2. Audyssey is indeed recommended as it's the main selling point of these lower level Denon AVRs. Whether the Denon sets a speaker to LARGE or SMALL has nothing to do with the physical size of the speaker, rather whether it can play frequencies < 50hz (LARGE) or not (SMALL). Those tiny satellites can only go down to 150hz so they would all be set to SMALL.

3. The S-video jack has been reported to work with other sources on the 591 so it should also work with other sources on the 1611 as well.


Thanks for the help and heads up. Does it matter that I am trying to connect the S-Video to see and listen to my laptop on the tv? Pretty much want to watch Hulu through the receiver to the TV via S-video.
buro13 is offline  
post #565 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 08:54 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by xx2000xx View Post

I just wanted to say thanks for the coupon you posted as it still works and the 1611 is still $310. Picked up some Monitor 60's to start off with then build from there.

Remember ... even without the coupon code ... calling them and asking for their best price will still give you the same discount.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #566 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 08:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by buro13 View Post

Thanks for the help and heads up. Does it matter that I am trying to connect the S-Video to see and listen to my laptop on the tv? Pretty much want to watch Hulu through the receiver to the TV via S-video.

Laptops can be a little tricky and sometimes don't work due to the particular video card installed. Perhaps if you provide that information another owner would be able to respond as to whether it works or not?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #567 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 08:58 PM
Member
 
Memento2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acipenser View Post

... I know, just get the 1611. But I don't need the 7.1, so I would get the 591 if I can find it at a price point a bit lower than the 1611.

Ditto here. No help about a lower 591 price sorry, but my reservation about the 1611 was its power -consumption- and thus heat. Whether or not the two unused amps cost more initially, would they cost every day though not in use? Turns out that's not a big factor.

591 is spec'd at 360 watts consumption, and 1611 at 450 watts. I'm not a big environmental guy, but in my area, 1 watt*year costs about $1, plus cooling. Measuring my 1611 now, with efficient 5.1 8-ohm speakers, it's using only 0.3 to 0.4 amps from the wall socket. So even allowing for bias in my meter, with the unknown power factor, that should be < 48 watts. Whatever the reasons why my modest measured 48 is << the 450 spec'd consumption, I'm happy.

[What I'd really like is ability to "Assign" an amp to to the subwoofer pre-amp signal for modest LF needs. Maybe in next year's model!] Cheers.
Memento2 is offline  
post #568 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Remember ... even without the coupon code ... calling them and asking for their best price will still give you the same discount.

Good to know and thanks.

I was just wondering if anyone is using any sort of bluetooth adapter to stream from their phone or anything like that?
scoobdude is offline  
post #569 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 09:17 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Memento2 View Post

591 is spec'd at 360 watts consumption, and 1611 at 450 watts. I'm not a big environmental guy, but in my area, 1 watt*year costs about $1, plus cooling. Measuring my 1611 now, with efficient 5.1 8-ohm speakers, it's using only 0.3 to 0.4 amps from the wall socket. So even allowing for meter variance, with the unknown power factor, that should be < 48 watts. Whatever the reasons why my modest measured 48 is << the 450 spec'd consumption, I'm happy.

At average volumes with fairly efficient speakers, an AVR only uses about 5W/CH which is why we suggest when folks are considering the 591/1611, 791/1911, and 891/2311 to consider the features required as the power difference between them will be moot. Unlike a plasma TV, total power consumption with an AVR is rarely ever reached.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #570 of 4674 Old 09-04-2010, 10:35 PM
Member
 
Memento2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buro13 View Post

... do you guys recommend doing the Audyssey setup?

When I read this thread pre-buy, it sounded a little pretentious that many people were expected to like the one same static EQ target, never mind the custom complications of achieving that, and its one method of Dynamic adjustment.

But post-buy it turns out that I'm part of the herd, and in any case the setup is needed to get the Dynamic Vol compression which I did want. Previous knowledgable notes and links discuss that one can change a number of parameters from the base setup, while still preserving the DynVol capability.

Similarly with the surround modes. Perhaps it's worth re-iterating the documentation, that each has 1+ parameter(s) which you can tailor. Cheers.
Memento2 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off