*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 391 / 591 / 1611 Owner's Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 4731 Old 06-14-2010, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
tegdim1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the 591 for 3 weeks now and if it has a blue light, I still have not seen it. Even when it shows its playing trudhd or dts I get no blue light. I dont think they have the blue light, but I may be wrong.
tegdim1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 4731 Old 06-14-2010, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,094
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1612
no blue light.... HD audio is old news

for this year the magical special light gets the latest fad - 3D baby! you ain't cool unless you got it!

look at the image, you can see the outline of the "3D" where the "HD" used to be:


batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #63 of 4731 Old 06-14-2010, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

no blue light.... HD audio is old news

for this year the magical special light gets the latest fad - 3D baby! you ain't cool unless you got it!

look at the image, you can see the outline of the "3D" where the "HD" used to be:


By the manual it doesn't seem like the "3D" even lights up.
JChin is offline  
post #64 of 4731 Old 06-14-2010, 03:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,593
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Ohhhh, shiny... can't wait to see my '3D' logo light up .

This will have people running around claiming they now have some sort of new 3D audio, wait n' see .

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #65 of 4731 Old 06-14-2010, 08:35 PM
Member
 
bissonnette7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thinking that if you use Bountii you can get a nice discount on the 591. Assuming zone 2 or 7.1 is not important, you can the add the Denon dock from EE and get video and onscreen for less than the 791 (which doesnt have video anyway from the IPod). This is pieced together from Batpig and JDS mostly, so i hope i have it right
bissonnette7 is offline  
post #66 of 4731 Old 06-15-2010, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
UCFKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Harman Kardon AVR 247 right now, which is good but a little mild with my JBL speakers for my tastes, and I'm getting a Sony 3D TV next month so I figured I'll upgrade the receiver, too, I just don't wanna blow a lot of cash on it. Basically, all I want out of my next receiver is for blurays and games and TV to sound amazing in 5.1 and an onscreen menu. I don't need any upscaling as the TV will do that just fine I'm sure.

It really seems like the 591 is the one for me to get. All who own it, are you happy with it? Levels of happiness? My speakers aren't high end by any means and the room it'll be in is a basement so acoustically I don't have to worry about much, I just want clear, bold, bright sound and I'm pretty sure the 591 will do that.

If I wasn't into home theater, I'd have a whole lotta money.
UCFKevin is offline  
post #67 of 4731 Old 06-15-2010, 08:09 PM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCFKevin View Post

I have a Harman Kardon AVR 247 right now, which is good but a little mild with my JBL speakers for my tastes, and I'm getting a Sony 3D TV next month so I figured I'll upgrade the receiver, too, I just don't wanna blow a lot of cash on it. Basically, all I want out of my next receiver is for blurays and games and TV to sound amazing in 5.1 and an onscreen menu. I don't need any upscaling as the TV will do that just fine I'm sure.

It really seems like the 591 is the one for me to get. All who own it, are you happy with it? Levels of happiness? My speakers aren't high end by any means and the room it'll be in is a basement so acoustically I don't have to worry about much, I just want clear, bold, bright sound and I'm pretty sure the 591 will do that.

I have the 591 and use it with my DirecTV receiver and a PS3. I love it. Now, to be fair, my old receiver was an Onkyo with no HDMI, so there's a big difference. I'm very happy.
dpeters11 is offline  
post #68 of 4731 Old 06-15-2010, 11:06 PM
Member
 
fcatwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an earphone + speaker question. I'm looking at the 591 to replace a 10yo Denon DRA-375 stereo receiver that allows the use of the speakers and earphones at the same time. The earphone jack does not kill the A-B switches on this machine.

The newer Denons apparently do not allow use of the earphone jack without silencing the speakers and it would be nice to find a work-around if anyone has any ideas. I haven't bought the 591 yet but it should serve our needs if I can find a solution to this problem. For info, It'll only be driving three speakers (two bookcase and a center) as our goal is good voice and fair music and we have floor-space limitations. And yes, we are skipping an entire generation of great electronics and moving from CRT to 3D.
fcatwo is offline  
post #69 of 4731 Old 06-16-2010, 05:13 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,982
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2195 Post(s)
Liked: 1800
fcatwo -

Your work around to get audio via the headphones and the speakers at the same time is to get a set of analog wireless headphones and connect the headphones to either RCA audio OUT or Zone 2 OUT jacks. However, the new lower level 2011 models have dropped the RCA Out jacks (although last year's 590 has them) and the lowest level that now has them is either the Denon 1911 (4 digit model) or 891 (3 digit model). You'll also need to connect your sources that you want to listen to with an analog cable as well as HDMI using this method.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #70 of 4731 Old 06-16-2010, 09:22 AM
Member
 
fcatwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks JD

I had thought something like that might work. Now all I have to do is decide if having use of both the speakers and earphones is worth the $. I also looked at Yxxxxx and their equipment mirrors Denon in features and price. Having owned a Denon for 10 yrs without problems I see no need to go elsewhere.
fcatwo is offline  
post #71 of 4731 Old 06-16-2010, 05:06 PM
Member
 
clarksonknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked my 591 up today, hopefully will get wired up tonight but won't get to run Audyssey until Friday when my tripod comes in. Will update/review then!


No signature here...
clarksonknight is offline  
post #72 of 4731 Old 06-16-2010, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hydrogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
hydrogin is offline  
post #73 of 4731 Old 06-17-2010, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Angus66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a Denon AVR-591 to replace an older HT receiver (Sony STR-DE935) that has served me well for many years.

I'm looking forward to setting it up and enjoying it!
Angus66 is offline  
post #74 of 4731 Old 06-17-2010, 06:06 PM
Member
 
Angus66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The only way the AVR can pass HDMI audio to the TV when the AVR is ON is if HDMI Audio Out is set to TV. Make sure you don't have that setting in one of the Quick Select buttons you are using.

I just wired/connected my 591 to my TV /Blu-Ray player / speakers. The problem is, I don't get any audio/video on my TV if the 591 is off. I'm also only getting video through the HDMI cable - there's no sound coming from the TV's built in speakers.

Is the 591 able to pass audio/video to the TV when it is off?
I probably will never use it that way, but my wife certainly will want to.
Angus66 is offline  
post #75 of 4731 Old 06-17-2010, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
herdfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 2,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpeters11 View Post

I have the 591 and use it with my DirecTV receiver and a PS3. I love it.

Are you, or anyone else, having issues with the 591 losing the HDMI Input Mode.

I bought one for my parents to replace and old one that was acting up. I went with Denon as I have a 3806, 2805 and and a 685 and they have all be rock solid.

What is happening with my parents is I have a DirecTV receiver hooked up via HDMI, but some times it will lose audio. It seems something is triggering it to go back to analog audio. I put a "FIX" button on my parent's MX-880 to cycle through the input modes, but I would like to know why this is happening. And how to fix it. I have tried both AUTO and HDMI and it has happened with both. Initially it was when the DirecTV receiver was having signal issue problems (some pixelization) due to storms. But today it happened for no reason.

Seems to happen every 2-3 days.

Thanks.

Please do not send me PM's asking for software! You will not get it.
herdfan is offline  
post #76 of 4731 Old 06-17-2010, 10:11 PM
Member
 
clarksonknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrogin View Post

Congrats. May I ask where you bought from?

Best Buy.


No signature here...
clarksonknight is offline  
post #77 of 4731 Old 06-17-2010, 11:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,094
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1612
Quote:
Originally Posted by herdfan View Post

Are you, or anyone else, having issues with the 591 losing the HDMI Input Mode.

I bought one for my parents to replace and old one that was acting up. I went with Denon as I have a 3806, 2805 and and a 685 and they have all be rock solid.

What is happening with my parents is I have a DirecTV receiver hooked up via HDMI, but some times it will lose audio. It seems something is triggering it to go back to analog audio. I put a "FIX" button on my parent's MX-880 to cycle through the input modes, but I would like to know why this is happening. And how to fix it. I have tried both AUTO and HDMI and it has happened with both. Initially it was when the DirecTV receiver was having signal issue problems (some pixelization) due to storms. But today it happened for no reason.

Seems to happen every 2-3 days.

Thanks.

this sounds like an HDMI handshake issue with the DirecTV box; check out post #9 on this thread, JDSmoothie has a good overview of how to deal with HDMI handshake problems and cable boxes.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #78 of 4731 Old 06-17-2010, 11:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,094
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus66 View Post

I just wired/connected my 591 to my TV /Blu-Ray player / speakers. The problem is, I don't get any audio/video on my TV if the 591 is off. I'm also only getting video through the HDMI cable - there's no sound coming from the TV's built in speakers.

Is the 591 able to pass audio/video to the TV when it is off?
I probably will never use it that way, but my wife certainly will want to.

See the end of the video/HDMI section of my FAQ: http://batpigworld.com/fadq.html#video

quoting:

Quote:


To get the HDMI standby passthrough feature to work, use the following procedure:

* Set HDMI Control to ON in the Denon
* Designate the "Standby Source" for passing through (if available)
* Make sure the HDMI Audio setting is set to AMP (not TV!) as you only want audio passing through to the TV when the unit is powered down

With this configuration, when you power down the Denon into Standby, it should pass the designated source through to your TV. If you get video but no audio, try turning off the HDMI-CEC control in the TV, as this has been known to interfere with the HDMI passthrough! It is counter-intuitive, but the HDMI-CEC in the TV will often interfere with the HDMI-CEC in the receiver.


batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #79 of 4731 Old 06-18-2010, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Angus66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

See the end of the video/HDMI section of my FAQ: http://batpigworld.com/fadq.html#video

Thanks for the links/answer batpig.

I had actually figured it out (which took much stumbling/fumbling/experimenting on my part) before you posted. I appreciate your reply regardless.

I have to rearrange my TV/Home theater area this weekend for better speaker placement, so I haven't run the mic setup program yet. When I do I'm sure I'll be using your guide and FAQ's quite a bit.

My 1st impression of this AVR (even though I don't have it even close to being fully set up), is that it seems to ooze quality. That's a good thing in my book.

My only gripe or dislike so far is the convoluted owners manual and remote - they're not so intuitive. That's not a big deal to me though.
Angus66 is offline  
post #80 of 4731 Old 06-18-2010, 06:32 PM
TKI
Member
 
TKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm planning on getting a AVR-591 receiver soon, does this receiver do 1080/24p? don't see mention of it
TKI is offline  
post #81 of 4731 Old 06-18-2010, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,094
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1612
every new receiver can pass 1080p/24, it's 2010 now

that and "does it do audio over HDMI or do I need a separate cable?" are no longer questions you need to worry about

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #82 of 4731 Old 06-19-2010, 12:49 PM
TKI
Member
 
TKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

every new receiver can pass 1080p/24, it's 2010 now

that and "does it do audio over HDMI or do I need a separate cable?" are no longer questions you need to worry about

haha okay.. just making sure

how does this receiver handle downmixing to 2 speakers? does it do it well? i don't have a 5.1 setup yet and i wanna make sure while i have 2 speakers for the time being it'll be able to downmix all the true hd, dts ma, dolby digital etc tracks well enough.
TKI is offline  
post #83 of 4731 Old 06-19-2010, 02:21 PM
Newbie
 
jdiazch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last week I bought the 1611, my first AVR after been a very proud owner of Nakamichi CMS-5. Only today I'm enjoying it, because I bought a couple of good frontal speakers and a (don't know if that good) central - Monitor Audio Silver Rx1 and Klipsch RC-10. The MA and the Denon made me forget my old love Now I'll do my best to configure it and in the near future I'll invest in a decent sub and rear speakers - maybe the MA Radius 45, no idea about the sub. Any suggestion?
jdiazch is offline  
post #84 of 4731 Old 06-20-2010, 08:22 PM
Member
 
clarksonknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got my banana jacks soldered and got everything hooked up tonight. Calibration was a cinch (although it kept telling me that my fronts were out of phase when they were wired properly). Sounds great, although the sub seems to be a little over-the-top so I need to figure out how to tame that from the remote so I don't have to dial it down manually. Have only had things going with the PS3, cable gets installed tomorrow and I'll be doing my DVE calibration soon as well. Pretty satisfied, so far!


No signature here...
clarksonknight is offline  
post #85 of 4731 Old 06-20-2010, 10:43 PM
Member
 
ejhayes76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I correct when I look at the back of either the 591 or 1611 that neither have a CD input?

Can the Sat/Cable input be used, but be labeled as CD? (and be switched to by pressing 'CD' on the remote?

Seems odd not to have a CD input. I'd hate to step up to the 791 just for that...
ejhayes76 is offline  
post #86 of 4731 Old 06-20-2010, 10:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,982
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2195 Post(s)
Liked: 1800
Although the analog inputs cannot be relabled, you can certainly plug the CD into the DVD or SAT/CBL inputs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #87 of 4731 Old 06-20-2010, 11:01 PM
Member
 
ejhayes76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about the coaxial digital? Can I assign it to CD (and again have the CD button on the remote switch to it?).

If so, will that input play back through zone 2 on the 1611? I think I heard or read that only analogs can be zone 2, but that might have been a different brand.

Thanks again.
-Ed
ejhayes76 is offline  
post #88 of 4731 Old 06-20-2010, 11:07 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,982
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2195 Post(s)
Liked: 1800
Yes, digital inputs are assignable although only the 1611 remote has a CD button. Although only analog inputs will go to Zone 2, only the 1611 has Zone 2 capability.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #89 of 4731 Old 06-21-2010, 06:52 AM
Member
 
Angus66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got everything set up the way I wanted it this weekend and went to run the auto setup program, only to find that my 11-year old Definitive Technology subwoofer was non-functional.
I REALLY enjoyed the DT sub's sound - it will be hard to replace.

I guess I'm in the market for a new home-theater subwoofer.
Angus66 is offline  
post #90 of 4731 Old 06-21-2010, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,094
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1612
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejhayes76 View Post

What about the coaxial digital? Can I assign it to CD (and again have the CD button on the remote switch to it?).

If so, will that input play back through zone 2 on the 1611? I think I heard or read that only analogs can be zone 2, but that might have been a different brand.

Thanks again.
-Ed

The different level AVR's share the same remote so there are buttons that are non-functional with the lower-level units. The 1611, since it has Zone 2 ability, gets the slightly different remote from the higher level 791/891/etc models, thus it has some buttons that don't actually function on this model.

Neither the 1611 or 591, however, have the "CD" as a named input. So that button will NEVER work. You can of course rename any input, so you can make the "DVD" or "SAT/CBL" input say "CD" on the display... however, you can't "re-map" the buttons on the remote to correspond.

The dedicated "CD" input (with associated button on the remote that actually works ) is one of the step-up features you get moving up to 791/1911.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off