*OFFICIAL* Denon AVR 391 / 591 / 1611 Owner's Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 4654 Old 07-06-2010, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarksonknight View Post

1. Sometimes my Xbox 360 shows up in stereo (and hence only uses the front speakers) and sometimes in DD 5.1 (which sounds great). The Xbox itself is set to output DD 5.1. This happens independent of what's being played - one game I was playing sounded dull and there was no surround (591 was showing stereo mode), and then last night it all of the sudden is showing DD 5.1 and the surround is flipped on. I had previously assumed that the game just didn't support 5.1, which puzzled me. I also noticed that when it's in stereo mode, there's a distinct lip sync issue with the Xbox. It was not noticeable when I was in DD 5.1 mode last night. The PS3 shows PCM and "MULTI CH IN", so I know that's set up properly.

Next time this happens try going into Xbox 360 audio menu and select stereo and then back to DD 5.1. If this corrects the problem most likely a handshake issue.
JChin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 4654 Old 07-06-2010, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
m00ndancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan94tt View Post

Ok I am on my second 591 and have more issues.

First one worked well with everything except regular DVDs and the "home" screen on PS3. It would do nothing but handshake and lose the signal.

Now exchanged that one for a new 591 at Best Buy where I bought it and this new 2nd one handshakes on regular cable watching as well as any aspect of PS3 usage. All connections have been tripled checked, I have changed HDMI cables numerous times to check them and all have been replaced.

I am so aggravated with this receiver I could toss it off my balcony. I have done a hard reset on it and all that. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

This might be a stupid question but: Have you tested with another HDMI cable?
m00ndancer is offline  
post #183 of 4654 Old 07-06-2010, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 1083
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarksonknight View Post

This happens independent of what's being played - one game I was playing sounded dull and there was no surround (591 was showing stereo mode), and then last night it all of the sudden is showing DD 5.1 and the surround is flipped on.

this is a known HDMI handshake problem with the Xbox 360. I think it may have something do to with the power on sequence (e.g. make sure to turn on the 360 after the AVR is already on that input) or something like that -- if you google or look through Xbox forums you will find reports of the same thing, where the Xbox 360 somehow defaults to 2-ch output even when set to Dolby Digital.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #184 of 4654 Old 07-06-2010, 09:44 AM
Member
 
clarksonknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

this is a known HDMI handshake problem with the Xbox 360. I think it may have something do to with the power on sequence (e.g. make sure to turn on the 360 after the AVR is already on that input) or something like that -- if you google or look through Xbox forums you will find reports of the same thing, where the Xbox 360 somehow defaults to 2-ch output even when set to Dolby Digital.

Ah, this makes perfect sense. Before I had started the 360 I was watching cable so the 591 was already powered on. I'll mess with the power-up sequences on my Harmony remote to see if this resolves anything.


No signature here...
clarksonknight is offline  
post #185 of 4654 Old 07-07-2010, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rob316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by myfootsmells View Post

welp just picked up an AVR-1611 from 6ave.com for $355 shipped.

I got mine for $317 shipped woo hoo.
rob316 is offline  
post #186 of 4654 Old 07-09-2010, 07:07 PM
Newbie
 
convexmacrolabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 591 has recently started producing a noticeable and annoying buzzing sound from any attached midrange drivers. Laying my hand against the 591's case significantly attenuates the buzzing, leading me to believe that the receiver is not properly grounded. I tried running a grounding wire between the case and the third prong on a nearby power outlet, but it achieved no noticeable affect. I live in an apartment building and do not have access to make changes to the electrical system. Any tips?
convexmacrolabs is offline  
post #187 of 4654 Old 07-09-2010, 07:16 PM
Newbie
 
AcidSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ordered 1611 for $295 shipped! after bcb

Link
AcidSun is offline  
post #188 of 4654 Old 07-09-2010, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
BudlongTaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can you guys help me decide on the 1611 or the onkyo sr608?
BudlongTaco is offline  
post #189 of 4654 Old 07-10-2010, 06:18 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,909
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
Quote:
Originally Posted by convexmacrolabs View Post

My 591 has recently started producing a noticeable and annoying buzzing sound from any attached midrange drivers. Laying my hand against the 591's case significantly attenuates the buzzing, leading me to believe that the receiver is not properly grounded. I tried running a grounding wire between the case and the third prong on a nearby power outlet, but it achieved no noticeable affect. I live in an apartment building and do not have access to make changes to the electrical system. Any tips?

Try the following tips until the buzzing goes away:
1. Disconnect all sources from the 591.
2. If the 591 is plugged in to a power strip, plug it directly in to the outlet.
3. Reposition your speaker wire cables so as not to lay over any power cables.
4. Plug in to a different outlet on a different circuit.

If still no joy, you may have to return the 591 for another one as it may just be defective.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #190 of 4654 Old 07-10-2010, 06:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,909
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
Quote:
Originally Posted by BudlongTaco View Post

can you guys help me decide on the 1611 or the onkyo sr608?

It boils down to which is more important to you .. features or audio fidelity?
The 1611 offers the more advanced speaker correction EQ system (Audyssey MultEQ) which uses 2x the filters and also provides filters for the sub, while the Onkyo has more features but provides only the basic Audyssey 2EQ (no sub filters).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #191 of 4654 Old 07-10-2010, 10:00 PM
Newbie
 
BudlongTaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

It boils down to which is more important to you .. features or audio fidelity?
The 1611 offers the more advanced speaker correction EQ system (Audyssey MultEQ) which uses 2x the filters and also provides filters for the sub, while the Onkyo has more features but provides only the basic Audyssey 2EQ (no sub filters).

at the moment I have a 3.1 setup and more than likely gonna upgrade to a 5.1 next year...With that being said I like the Denon but would like a nudge lol
BudlongTaco is offline  
post #192 of 4654 Old 07-11-2010, 04:16 AM
Newbie
 
m00ndancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BudlongTaco View Post

at the moment I have a 3.1 setup and more than likely gonna upgrade to a 5.1 next year...With that being said I like the Denon but would like a nudge lol

Nudge -> Denon 1611. The MultiEQ did wonders for my sound at home. I don't have a dedicated home cinema but share the space with the rest of the living room. The acoustics are horrible, but the Denon (591 US/1611 EU) did a wonderful job correcting things as good as it will get. I have listen to some of the resent Onkyos and I don't like the sound of them. But that really depends on the speakers you have. There are lots of good people around here that can advice you on what combination that works best for you. My combination are the 591 US/1611 EU with a H/K HKTS-7
m00ndancer is offline  
post #193 of 4654 Old 07-11-2010, 05:14 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,909
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
Quote:
Originally Posted by BudlongTaco View Post

at the moment I have a 3.1 setup and more than likely gonna upgrade to a 5.1 next year...With that being said I like the Denon but would like a nudge lol

What's to nudge. If you like the Denon then contact one of the on line authorized vendors (Electronics Expo, 6Ave, J&R, etc.) and see what their best deal is on the 1611.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #194 of 4654 Old 07-15-2010, 01:57 PM
Member
 
Quantumleaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up a AVR-591 at Best Buy last week.

Previously I had been a Pioneer loyalist but their last 3-4 lines seem tacky and cheaply-built to me. The Denons seem rock-solid. Running a 5.1 system with Polk Monitor 70s as the mains, requisite matching surrounds and center channel and a PSW-505 sub.

Unfortunately I will not be able to set it up for at least another month (wife and all my other gear is 1100 miles away - if anybody knows of any decent job opportunities around Anderson, Indiana PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE let me know, LOL).
Quantumleaper is offline  
post #195 of 4654 Old 07-15-2010, 06:36 PM
Member
 
tntechbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejhayes76 View Post

Am I correct when I look at the back of either the 591 or 1611 that neither have a CD input?

Can the Sat/Cable input be used, but be labeled as CD? (and be switched to by pressing 'CD' on the remote?

Seems odd not to have a CD input. I'd hate to step up to the 791 just for that...

If no CD input. How would you play CD music on the 591?
Sorry about question. I know almost nothing about receivers and such.
tntechbug is offline  
post #196 of 4654 Old 07-15-2010, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 1083
you just use another input. the only thing special about the "CD" input is that it is labeled "CD"....

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #197 of 4654 Old 07-16-2010, 01:16 AM
Member
 
tntechbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All righty.
Thanks.
tntechbug is offline  
post #198 of 4654 Old 07-16-2010, 04:14 PM
Newbie
 
BAslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

once these hit the streets you will be guaranteed to be able to find sub-msrp pricing at authorized online vendors like Electronics-Expo, J&R, and 6ave.com....

Electronics-Expo is now selling Denon cheap. The 7.1 1611 = $314 ( less than the list price for the 591 ), and the 1911 = $426. The 1911 uses the Achor Bay video processing chip for better upscaling. The 1611 uses a generic chip. The 591BA HTIB is selling for $499 - a $100 discount. Thats the 591 AV plus their MCS95 speaker system. I grabbed the 1911 at that price ( list is $599.)
BAslave is offline  
post #199 of 4654 Old 07-16-2010, 04:26 PM
Newbie
 
BAslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

only if you care about 3D

bat, does superior upscaling allow an AV receiver make standard def resolution on a TV resemble HD if I use an HDMI cable? I have DirecTV, and many of the Stars movie channels are not in HD. They look blurry when connected directly to the satellite receiver.
BAslave is offline  
post #200 of 4654 Old 07-16-2010, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 1083
Quote:


I grabbed the 1911 at that price

good price

Quote:


The 1611 uses a generic chip.

1611 actually doesn't use ANY chip -- it has no video processing at all!

This is one of the step-up features you get moving up to the 79x/19xx level.

Quote:


bat, does superior upscaling allow an AV receiver make standard def resolution on a TV resemble HD if I use an HDMI cable? I have DirecTV, and many of the Stars movie channels are not in HD. They look blurry when connected directly to the satellite receiver.

maybe... give this section a read: http://batpigworld.com/fadq.html#video

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #201 of 4654 Old 07-16-2010, 08:19 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,909
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
Quote:
Originally Posted by BAslave View Post

..... does superior upscaling allow an AV receiver make standard def resolution on a TV resemble HD if I use an HDMI cable? I have DirecTV, and many of the Stars movie channels are not in HD. They look blurry when connected directly to the satellite receiver.

Perhaps "superior" upscaling might, however, you're not going to find such a chip in any AVRs priced under $2000, as for one thing they are rarely if ever fully implented. What you see using an upscaling chip in a lower level AVR is likely going to be no better than what you're currently seeing from your TV now when SD video is upscaled to 1080p. If video upscaling is critical to you, you'll want to consider a dedicated video processor like the DVDO Edge.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #202 of 4654 Old 07-16-2010, 11:08 PM
Member
 
tntechbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the Denon AVR-591 and Denon DHT-591BA, same receiver?
Thanks.
tntechbug is offline  
post #203 of 4654 Old 07-16-2010, 11:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by tntechbug View Post

Is the Denon AVR-591 and Denon DHT-591BA, same receiver?
Thanks.

Yes, same receiver with BA (Boston Acoustics speakers).
JChin is offline  
post #204 of 4654 Old 07-16-2010, 11:31 PM
Member
 
tntechbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JChin, Thank you ...
tntechbug is offline  
post #205 of 4654 Old 07-18-2010, 03:09 PM
Member
 
Coastwatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 1611 is set up and now I'm attempting to get the Denon remote to control my Panasonic Blu-ray player. I'm stuck at step 11 on page 57 of the owner's manual. I can find the brand (Panasonic/step 7), the code shows up(31641/step 8) and that's as far as I get. Can someone give me help on entering the code? Thanks
Coastwatcher is offline  
post #206 of 4654 Old 07-18-2010, 10:08 PM
Member
 
Coastwatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got it. It helps to have the Blu-ray player on! :-)
Coastwatcher is offline  
post #207 of 4654 Old 07-18-2010, 10:19 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,909
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 1422
Coastwatcher -

What model Panasonic BDP do you have that the preset code now works for you? Is there just a single code listed for Panasonic?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #208 of 4654 Old 07-18-2010, 11:38 PM
Member
 
Coastwatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The player is model DMP-BD60. I could only find the one code. Tried the steps on page 57 several times without any luck. Then tried them with the player powered on. Should have thought of that. Works fine. Thanks to you, Batpig and several others here for all the help/advice. I am very happy with the 1611.
Coastwatcher is offline  
post #209 of 4654 Old 07-19-2010, 06:51 AM
Member
 
mdameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I placed my order for a 591 ($349.99) and a set of Polk Audio RTi4's ($149.99) off Amazon this morning. Free shipping.

I won't be running a sub or center for awhile, and will be using some Sony HTIB for the rears (temporarily). I'm stoked!

Upon reading this thread I realize I could have gotten an older model since it will be years before I go 3D, but that's OK. I had to use Amazon (had gift cards) and their selection was kind of spotty.

My only source component is the 360, which I use for movies, games, and Netflix instant. I get OTA HD to my TV's antenna input.

I do have one question: what is the best way to play an iPod through the 591? The dock is expensive. That's the way I usually play music through my AVRs since I don't own a CDP nor have an HTPC. My Sony HTIB came with a dock which was awesome. Any ideas?
mdameron is offline  
post #210 of 4654 Old 07-19-2010, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
m00ndancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you're interested in audio only, get yourself an ipod to rca cable
or a third party dock with the rca outlet and connect to any rca input on the receiver. I do that with my "Spotify-computer" to my avr-1611eu/591us

Since I'm in sweden I can't give you any advice on where and what to buy.
m00ndancer is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off