Pioneer VSX-1120 TXH HDMI V1.4 Receiver Owners' Thread - Page 170 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5071 of 5090 Old 01-30-2016, 02:47 PM
Member
 
galneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How are these holding up for people?

Mine just turned 5 years old. It's on about 16 hours a day and has had a 200mm fan exhausting from the top of it since day 1. I remember reading about a number of early failures which I attributed mostly to heat stress. I hope I'm not just lucky..? I'll continue to use it as long as it lasts.
galneon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5072 of 5090 Old 01-30-2016, 04:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,744
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Mine still ran perfectly until it was replaced by a a used Denon 4520ci, which needed $350 in repairs & worked for a few weeks before all the HDMI inputs started acting flakey. Returned the 1120 back into service, then replaced it with a used Onkyo, which started turning my TV set off after a while. Back went the Pioneer, until I finally broke down & bought a new Marantz SR6010. The 1120 was /is a great AVR then & now. Am keeping it as a backup, cuz yah never know!!
galneon likes this.

Heart in SoCal - Soul from the Motor City
AFTV2+ KODI 17=>SR6010=>Integra DTA-70.1=>Chane A1.4 x 3 + DCM OW-1s x 2 + 1 x RSL Speedwoofer10 S+ 1 x Yamaha YST-SW315
christoofar is offline  
post #5073 of 5090 Old 03-09-2016, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 182
We're 5 years in on ours and it's been rock solid, zero issues, since Day One. We upgraded to some uber power hungry 4 ohm speakers for the C, FR and FL almost 2 years ago, and since then the 1120 gets an Emotiva assist pushing those. But as you say, it's been a great AVR, and does all the switching and decoding we need. Except Atmos and X, of course, but we're patient. Or cheap. (Actually, mostly just cheap.) 😜
Danabw, christoofar and galneon like this.
mogrub is offline  
 
post #5074 of 5090 Old 03-17-2016, 09:32 PM
Member
 
DLux247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been using this receiver since the day it came out with no problems so far. In fact, this is the only piece of A/V gear I haven't updated in the past two years.

I recently purchased an LG EG9100 OLED. Between that and getting the new AppleTV I actually came on here to see if anyone has any setting suggestions. Right now I have ATV, PS3, & DirectTV going into 1120 via HDMI & then 1120 going into OLED via HDMI.

Since these newer panels now support 24fps wasn't sure if have 1120 processing was still necessary (or even best).

Thoughts??

Dustin
LG OLED 55EG9100 | Samsung PN51D8000 (DEAD)
Pioneer VSX-1120-K | PS3slim | AppleTV4
Polk Audio | RC85i | RC60i | RM202 | PSW10
DLux247 is offline  
post #5075 of 5090 Old 03-18-2016, 02:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLux247 View Post
Been using this receiver since the day it came out with no problems ... recently purchased an LG EG9100 OLED ... I came on to see if anyone has any setting suggestions. Right now I have ATV, PS3, & DirectTV going into 1120 via HDMI & then 1120 going into OLED via HDMI.
That sounds like the best way to do it, absent some special reason not to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DLux247 View Post
Since these newer panels now support 24fps wasn't sure if 1120 processing was still necessary (or even best).
That depends on what you mean exactly by "1120 processing" -- how do you have your 1120 set currently? (I'm one of the many that don't use the 1120's video processing any longer.)

Tell us how you like your new OLED!


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is offline  
post #5076 of 5090 Old 03-19-2016, 06:39 PM
Member
 
DLux247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
That sounds like the best way to do it, absent some special reason not to.



That depends on what you mean exactly by "1120 processing" -- how do you have your 1120 set currently? (I'm one of the many that don't use the 1120's video processing any longer.)

Tell us how you like your new OLED!
For AppleTV (HDMI 2 port)
I had the video conversion still w resolution set to 1080 and PureCinema to auto. Everything else is set factory. Curious as to why haven't used yours in a while? Not saying it's wrong, pure curiosity...


I've got audio parameter to pure direct.

I refused LCD as I HATE ghosting. Always thought plasma was better bc black levels and processing speed. When I saw OLED I finally saw something that was so good I couldn't resist. Little over a week and so far it hasn't disappointed. Still tweaking but wow, it's incredible!

Dustin
LG OLED 55EG9100 | Samsung PN51D8000 (DEAD)
Pioneer VSX-1120-K | PS3slim | AppleTV4
Polk Audio | RC85i | RC60i | RM202 | PSW10
DLux247 is offline  
post #5077 of 5090 Old 04-27-2016, 04:58 AM
Member
 
MACinPittsford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see some of you have apple tv connected to the 1120. I assume it connects directly with hdmi, is that correct?

Does it enable airplay from an iphone through the apple tv to the receiver? Both music and video? Are any special settings required for the 1120? Does it seem to work well?

I tried the bluetooth adapter years ago and found it to be next to useless, so I'm trying to find out if apple tv is a better solution.

Thanks for any info you can provide.
MACinPittsford is offline  
post #5078 of 5090 Old 04-27-2016, 11:38 AM
Member
 
MACinPittsford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MACinPittsford View Post
I see some of you have apple tv connected to the 1120. I assume it connects directly with hdmi, is that correct?

Does it enable airplay from an iphone through the apple tv to the receiver? Both music and video? Are any special settings required for the 1120? Does it seem to work well?

I tried the bluetooth adapter years ago and found it to be next to useless, so I'm trying to find out if apple tv is a better solution.

Thanks for any info you can provide.
One more question -- can I get the airplay music to play over Zone 2 speakers?
MACinPittsford is offline  
post #5079 of 5090 Old 06-06-2016, 04:02 PM
Newbie
 
jamus28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question

I just picked up this bad boy on Craigslist. I know it unfortunately doesn't support dlna/airplay but it has an ethernet port for some remote controls and Internet radio.
I figured out how to connect it on my network and change the internet radio station URLs. Now I'd like to stream music from my pc locally on my network.

I tried using VLC to stream over http. I set the station url to my ip: (not a link) 192.168.1.201:8080
I only get a connection error. Does this receiver not work with local network streams? Do I have to stream a specific format? Do I have to forward router ports or other shenanigans?

Has anyone successfull used a PC (shoutcast? Icecast?) to stream locally to the internet radio function?
Thanks.

EDIT:
I managed moderate success using an Icecast server + butt to stream a virtual audio cable to myip:8000/stream
Caveats:
- ONLY works with mp3 streaming so far. Connection error reported for Ogg vorbis, FLAC, AAC, and opus format.
- 48khz on the audio output or input devices causes horrible noise, but 44.1khz is clean.

Last edited by jamus28; 06-13-2016 at 12:28 AM. Reason: New useful info
jamus28 is offline  
post #5080 of 5090 Old 06-19-2016, 08:03 AM
Member
 
Pacfanweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mine is apparently dead. We had a lightning strike a tree in our yard. Killed the cable box, modem, tap and a splitter, along with my 1120. It comes on...takes literally a minute to do so. You can switch inputs, etc, but it will not output anything to my amp. (I use the preamp outs for an external amp)

I assume it is kaput.

This sucks. I still loved this receiver. Bought it probably 3-4 years ago off Craigslist and only gave $175 for it. I'm not going to smell a deal like that now for any receiver with preamp outs.

What's funny is, it was plugged into the same surge protector that my 65" VT60, 3 game systems and the cable box were, but only the receiver and cable box got hurt. Everything else is okay.
Pacfanweb is offline  
post #5081 of 5090 Old 06-19-2016, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,680
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pacfanweb View Post
What's funny is, it was plugged into the same surge protector that my 65" VT60, 3 game systems and the cable box were, but only the receiver and cable box got hurt. Everything else is okay.
And the coax probably isn't surge protected the same way the power is (if at all). Sounds like the power surge came in on the coax, and the cable box passed it on to the receiver (this can happen even via HDMI, I have been told).

Bummer
HopefulFred is offline  
post #5082 of 5090 Old 06-21-2016, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLux247 View Post
Curious as to why haven't used your [video processing] in a while? Not saying it's wrong, pure curiosity...
Sorry, this delayed response is brought to you courtesy of my lazy arse getting way too busy there for a while. But on the video processing thing, my whole goal is to get the purest, most unprocessed signal from the shiny disc to the display (in my case a projected image). I don't want anything to do anything to it. Then get as good an ISF calibration as I can, so the rendered image is as faithfully replicated as possible.

Same general approach on the audio side, although I tend to push the LFE a little, or even a lot. The purist in me gets horrified. But I do it anyway.

Quote:
... When I saw OLED I finally saw something that was so good I couldn't resist. Little over a week and so far it hasn't disappointed. Still tweaking but wow, it's incredible!
Awesome, glad it's fun. Bet you've got it dialed in now!


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is offline  
post #5083 of 5090 Old 08-30-2016, 09:17 PM
Member
 
DLux247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MACinPittsford View Post
One more question -- can I get the airplay music to play over Zone 2 speakers?
Well I'm sure you've figured this out by now but the ATV Airplay works great. Never had an issue with it. Not sure about zone 2 though

Dustin
LG OLED 55EG9100 | Samsung PN51D8000 (DEAD)
Pioneer VSX-1120-K | PS3slim | AppleTV4
Polk Audio | RC85i | RC60i | RM202 | PSW10
DLux247 is offline  
post #5084 of 5090 Old 12-23-2016, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
enderland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by galneon View Post
How are these holding up for people?

Mine just turned 5 years old. It's on about 16 hours a day and has had a 200mm fan exhausting from the top of it since day 1. I remember reading about a number of early failures which I attributed mostly to heat stress. I hope I'm not just lucky..? I'll continue to use it as long as it lasts.

Mine consistently takes 45 minutes to turn on. It sits on "POWER ON" for about this time, turns on, but it is not functional. Cycling power results in it actually turning on again correctly and quickly.

This is fairly consistent, but it is super annoying. I'm getting tired of this because it means we need to know ~1 hour in advance when we are going to watch a movie.

I'm also at a loss for what would cause this after much aggravation trying to fix it... don't really want to bite the bullet and buy a new receiver as this one "works."
enderland is offline  
post #5085 of 5090 Old 12-23-2016, 04:06 PM
Member
 
galneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by enderland View Post
Mine consistently takes 45 minutes to turn on. It sits on "POWER ON" for about this time, turns on, but it is not functional. Cycling power results in it actually turning on again correctly and quickly.

This is fairly consistent, but it is super annoying. I'm getting tired of this because it means we need to know ~1 hour in advance when we are going to watch a movie.

I'm also at a loss for what would cause this after much aggravation trying to fix it... don't really want to bite the bullet and buy a new receiver as this one "works."
I had a piece of rack audio gear that did the same thing. What I did to work around it was leave the power switch in the "on" position constantly and turn it on and off by turning the powerstrip on and off. Turning the unit on directly had a 20% chance of booting up fully whereas leaving it in the on position and switching it at the powerstrip worked 100% of the time. I know, bizarre. You, of course, cannot try this fix since our receivers have a momentary power switch as opposed to latching.

Anyway, eventually I replaced the internal power supply and it fixed the problem. It was very sensitive to current variation at startup, in my opinion, and having it all-on and ready for power from the second power was allowed through the powerstrip made all the difference. It's possible your AVR is similarly starved at startup as well and stalls during the crucial boot process. It's probably serviceable, but I can't say if it's worth it at this point. All you can really try without cracking it open is blowing it out--dust causes more issues than most people realize.
enderland likes this.
galneon is offline  
post #5086 of 5090 Old 12-23-2016, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
enderland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by galneon View Post
I had a piece of rack audio gear that did the same thing. What I did to work around it was leave the power switch in the "on" position constantly and turn it on and off by turning the powerstrip on and off. Turning the unit on directly had a 20% chance of booting up fully whereas leaving it in the on position and switching it at the powerstrip worked 100% of the time. I know, bizarre. You, of course, cannot try this fix since our receivers have a momentary power switch as opposed to latching.

Anyway, eventually I replaced the internal power supply and it fixed the problem. It was very sensitive to current variation at startup, in my opinion, and having it all-on and ready for power from the second power was allowed through the powerstrip made all the difference. It's possible your AVR is similarly starved at startup as well and stalls during the crucial boot process. It's probably serviceable, but I can't say if it's worth it at this point. All you can really try without cracking it open is blowing it out--dust causes more issues than most people realize.

Wow, the power strip "hack" seems to work - or at least it has all the times I've tried it this evening. Now I just have to remember not to turn off the receiver with the remote or the TV...

Thanks
galneon likes this.
enderland is offline  
post #5087 of 5090 Old 12-23-2016, 07:16 PM
Member
 
galneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Haha that's great. I discounted it as a solution in your case because I didn't think our AVRs remembered the power state upon AC loss, but it sounds like they do after all. Good to know since I'll likely have my 1120 until it dies. Glad it worked for you!
mogrub likes this.
galneon is offline  
post #5088 of 5090 Old 12-23-2016, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
enderland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by galneon View Post
Haha that's great. I discounted it as a solution in your case because I didn't think our AVRs remembered the power state upon AC loss, but it sounds like they do after all. Good to know since I'll likely have my 1120 until it dies. Glad it worked for you!

It seems to be working? I've been able to cycle power tonight in ways that previously never would have worked.

There's no guarantee it works as intended at this point. I mean, it is broken somehow...

But this thing has been flaky for several years now with respect to this, so who knows Maybe it'll break again in a few months/years...
enderland is offline  
post #5089 of 5090 Old 03-19-2017, 05:43 PM
Newbie
 
Evtron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

Brushed my VSX-1120 off and am looking to use it as audio only. I have Sony X850D TV that I'd like to use for all the inputs and video but am mainly just looking to use the 1120 for audio only to a home theater. I have an optical cable connected and set to TV/SAT but I can't seem to figure out how to get the audio working. Consulted the user's manual but can't get any clarity. Any help is greatly appreciated!
Evtron is offline  
post #5090 of 5090 Old 03-20-2017, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,680
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 484
You probably need to go into the input settings and see what audio input is associated with the TV/SAT.
HopefulFred is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off