The **Official** Denon 3311CI/ 991 Owner's Thread NO PRICE TALK - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 09:09 AM
Newbie
 
keslerfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Coconut Grove, FL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 3311CI coming later today and it suddenly dawned on me that my monitor, digital wise, only has a component input and a DVI input. It is a commercial Pioneer plasma from five or six years ago that still performs perfectly.

Nominally I would like to use HDMI cables from my SAT box and my Blu-Ray player and HTPC to the 3311 using a high quality HDMI to DVI cable.

Is this a viable option or do I have to use component cables all the way through to the monitor?

Thanks,

Don
keslerfl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bvader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by stretch View Post

Hey, we are local to eachother!

What speakers will be driven by your Denon?

I have Paradigm Monitor series, thinking of upgrading, but I'm going to see how the new receiver will make them sound.

I currently have a set of Definitives Pro Cinema 100s, and they are nice / well rounded for HT, but I also have inherited a pair of Vandersteens 2CEs Floor Speakers (Nice) that I plan to connect.

In truth, this AVR upgrade is as much functionality as audio quality (Gasssp!) but I do hope to try the Vandersteens and Audio Research main amp someday using the 3311 as a pre.

Some day I will look at some new speakers, but not on my upgrade path at the moment.

Long Live The Gorn!
bvader is offline  
post #273 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Petrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by keslerfl View Post

I have a 3311CI coming later today and it suddenly dawned on me that my monitor, digital wise, only has a component input and a DVI input. It is a commercial Pioneer plasma from five or six years ago that still performs perfectly.

Nominally I would like to use HDMI cables from my SAT box and my Blu-Ray player and HTPC to the 3311 using a high quality HDMI to DVI cable.

Is this a viable option or do I have to use component cables all the way through to the monitor?

Thanks,

Don

HDMI to DVI cable will be fine.

Life is hard. It's harder if you're stupid.
Petrus is offline  
post #274 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 09:56 AM
Member
 
BoB-O TiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those that actually have a 3311, does the "Internet Radio" capability extend to SIRIUS internet radio? (As opposed to the SIRIUS tuner input)

Thanks,
BoB
BoB-O TiVo is offline  
post #275 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
kevinmscs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by VGI View Post

So I got 6 pieces in last week of the 2311 and the 3311 (3each).. I started setting up units at customers homes and came across this bug and its driving us nuts..

I recreated it tonight here and I am getting worried..

So if you turn on HDMI control and set it for last source and I left off power control. When you turn on the Panasonic VT25 tv and the Directv HR22 box and the Denon 3311 , most of the time you get no audio.. It will not pick up the source audio from the HDMI ???

If you shut off the HDMI control, it works every time.. Its apparently a bug and its happening on all of the receivers we installed.

I did download the latest 3311 software and it doesnt fix it..

Can you guys try this and let me know if you can recreate this ?

Just when I thought changing from Onkyo's to Denon was going to get me out of bug city I am back in

I know Denon will fix it but I wonder if they even know this ?

Thanks
Craig
Theatermax NJ

Oh boy! Now its started all over again. Whats the point of HDMI control OFF? Well i returned the Onkyo hoping the Denon would do...
kevinmscs is offline  
post #276 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Petrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by VGI View Post

So I got 6 pieces in last week of the 2311 and the 3311 (3each).. I started setting up units at customers homes and came across this bug and its driving us nuts..

I recreated it tonight here and I am getting worried..

So if you turn on HDMI control and set it for last source and I left off power control. When you turn on the Panasonic VT25 tv and the Directv HR22 box and the Denon 3311 , most of the time you get no audio.. It will not pick up the source audio from the HDMI ???

If you shut off the HDMI control, it works every time.. Its apparently a bug and its happening on all of the receivers we installed.

I did download the latest 3311 software and it doesnt fix it..

Can you guys try this and let me know if you can recreate this ?

Just when I thought changing from Onkyo's to Denon was going to get me out of bug city I am back in

I know Denon will fix it but I wonder if they even know this ?

Thanks
Craig
Theatermax NJ

My components are not the exact same, but my setup is very similar and I do not have that problem. I have a Panasonic PZ85U TV < Denon 3311< Samsung 3270 DVR and have not experienced the issues you are outlining. I have tried multiple settings with HDMI control on and off and Power control off and have no issues. Not an exact apple to apple comparison, but close. Hope you figure it out.

Life is hard. It's harder if you're stupid.
Petrus is offline  
post #277 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 11:29 AM
Member
 
photobias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I'm from outside USA, somebody help me please!


I'm planning to buy a 3310ci, do you have an idea if there is some specific date to get some big discount? for example, 4 july? I'm planning to buy in Electronics Expo, any coupon of discount will be very welcome.


Thanks in advance.
photobias is offline  
post #278 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
keslerfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Coconut Grove, FL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petrus View Post

HDMI to DVI cable will be fine.

That is great news. Thanks.
keslerfl is offline  
post #279 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 12:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Quote:
Originally Posted by keslerfl View Post

I have a 3311CI coming later today and it suddenly dawned on me that my monitor, digital wise, only has a component input and a DVI input. It is a commercial Pioneer plasma from five or six years ago that still performs perfectly.

The 2010 models had issues with some DVI TV's which was resolved with a firmware update. The 2011 models "should" already have the update installed.
If you should have any issue, putting an HDMI switch between the AVR and the TV often resolves the HDCP issue.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #280 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 12:44 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Quote:
Originally Posted by VGI View Post

So if you turn on HDMI control and set it for last source and I left off power control. When you turn on the Panasonic VT25 tv and the Directv HR22 box and the Denon 3311 , most of the time you get no audio.. It will not pick up the source audio from the HDMI ???

If you shut off the HDMI control, it works every time.. Its apparently a bug and its happening on all of the receivers we installed.

It's unclear to me whether you are trying to send audio to the TV speakers or the surround speakers??

When HDMI Control is ON, you can't send audio to the TV speakers

It's also unclear whether you're trying to actually use the HDMI pass-through feature which won't work unless HDMI Control is ON as well as the Power Off not set to OFF. This feature also only works when the AVR is in Standby mode.

Another item worth noting is that HDMI Control only works when using the HDMI Monitor Out #1 jack.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #281 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know anything about a release date of Denon AVR-3311 in Europe?
Gaco is offline  
post #282 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 12:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
You might want to check on the European version of this forum ... avforums.com.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #283 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 01:02 PM
Member
 
RBats's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Naperville, IL, USA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

It's unclear to me whether you are trying to send audio to the TV speakers or the surround speakers??

Exactly what I asked him right after he posted his statement. The 2311 that I have (before I get my 3311 from EE) outputs sound as it should -- when 2311 is on standby, passthru is active and sound comes thru tv speakers. When 2311 is on, sound comes through speakers connected to 2311.
RBats is offline  
post #284 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Looks like EE started to ship the Sat orders, juts received tracking info...


DJoel
Djoel is online now  
post #285 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
[KYA]Mega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post

Looks like EE started to ship the Sat orders, juts received tracking info...

I came here to say the same thing... I have a tracking number now... but it's too soon for the UPS site to have the data, so I still don't have an ETA, but happy it shipped.

[KYA]Mega is offline  
post #286 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevinmscs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by [KYA]Mega View Post

I came here to say the same thing... I have a tracking number now... but it's too soon for the UPS site to have the data, so I still don't have an ETA, but happy it shipped.

is the free shipping UPS Ground?
kevinmscs is offline  
post #287 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bvader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
EE Sunday Order Guy here ... still being patient...really I am.

(I did call this AM, they said "Your Order is in the warehouse should be shipping in 1-2 business days")

Long Live The Gorn!
bvader is offline  
post #288 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
[KYA]Mega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinmscs View Post

is the free shipping UPS Ground?

Yes.

[KYA]Mega is offline  
post #289 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 03:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevinmscs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well i chatted/called EE and got such a good deal that i went with the 3311 (initially was leaning toward the 2311). Hopefully i'd get it next week.
kevinmscs is offline  
post #290 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by [KYA]Mega View Post

I came here to say the same thing... I have a tracking number now... but it's too soon for the UPS site to have the data, so I still don't have an ETA, but happy it shipped.



OK mine is schedule to be delivered on the 30Th which happens to be tomorrow It's nice to shop at an in the area B&M type shop..Funny thing I never seen the inside of one these stores EE, driven passed a few of them though.

DJOel
Djoel is online now  
post #291 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 06:25 PM
Member
 
dpstrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered on Sunday. Still waiting for my tracking. I'm excited!
dpstrand is offline  
post #292 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 06:27 PM
Member
 
highgrovemanor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ups says tuesday the 6th for me. don't remember when over the weekend I ordered. EE's free shipping isn't the fastest, as I'll miss the long july 4th weekend in the US. where is amazon prime when you need it? oh yea, full MSRP.
highgrovemanor is offline  
post #293 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 07:24 PM
Member
 
crabbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The 2010 models had issues with some DVI TV's which was resolved with a firmware update. The 2011 models "should" already have the update installed.
If you should have any issue, putting an HDMI switch between the AVR and the TV often resolves the HDCP issue.

Can you elaborate on the issue or do you have any pointers to info? I held off on the 3310 because I read the ps3 wouldn't send audio over hdmi to the receiver when the receiver is hooked up to a dvi tv. Is that the issue? I'm hoping it works now.
crabbz is offline  
post #294 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sean_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by highgrovemanor View Post

ups says tuesday the 6th for me. don't remember when over the weekend I ordered. EE's free shipping isn't the fastest, as I'll miss the long july 4th weekend in the US. where is amazon prime when you need it? oh yea, full MSRP.

Mine is showing shipped day of today, but I don't have a delivery date yet. Was hoping to get it Friday. Where are you located? --just to give me an idea of my chances. Thanks. Sean
Sean_S is offline  
post #295 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 07:26 PM
Member
 
mark754's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered on Sunday, it shipped today (Tuesday) and ETA is next Tuesday. I was hoping to luck out and get it by the end of the week. It's probably better this way...I'll spend the long weekend having fun instead of trying to figure out Denon's crappy manual
mark754 is offline  
post #296 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 07:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sean_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark754 View Post

I ordered on Sunday, it shipped today (Tuesday) and ETA is next Tuesday. I was hoping to luck out and get it by the end of the week. It's probably better this way...I'll spend the long weekend having fun instead of trying to figure out Denon's crappy manual

Where are you located, if I may ask?
Sean_S is offline  
post #297 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 08:04 PM
Member
 
mark754's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean_S View Post

Where are you located, if I may ask?

So Cal. Electronics Expo is on the east coast, I believe, so we have the longest transit times.
mark754 is offline  
post #298 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 08:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,032
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Yep ... in fact a stone's throw from the Denon warehouse in NJ.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #299 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
 
[KYA]Mega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Mine is coming Tuesday the 6th as well, and I live in San Antonio, TX.

[KYA]Mega is offline  
post #300 of 10482 Old 06-29-2010, 08:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
jdskycaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Ordered mine today from EE. Was told it will ship Thursday so I should have it sometime next week as well.

Regards,

JD
jdskycaster is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3311ci Receiver , Denon , Receivers Amplifiers
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off