The **Official** Denon 3311CI/ 991 Owner's Thread NO PRICE TALK - Page 316 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9451 of 10482 Old 05-06-2012, 06:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
^^
Where to set AMP ASSIGN is fairly well explained on p. 53 in the 3311CI Owner's manual.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9452 of 10482 Old 05-06-2012, 09:57 PM
Member
 
keagy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have an older Panasonic Plasma (50Px600U) connected to the 3311. HDMI Control is turned on in the 3311 settings. When I power off the plasma the 3311 also turns off and along my Sony Blu-ray. When I turn on the TV only the Blu-ray powers on but not the 3311. Since the 3311 is in between the TV and Blu-Ray I would think it would also turn on (especially since TV power down also turns off both the 3311 and Blu-ray). Any suggestions?
keagy is offline  
post #9453 of 10482 Old 05-07-2012, 04:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
^^
As noted in the Owner's manual .. the feature is only designed to power OFF the AVR, not necessarily power it back ON again. You might want to try using a smart power strip.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9454 of 10482 Old 05-07-2012, 10:01 AM
Member
 
keagy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
As noted in the Owner's manual .. the feature is only designed to power OFF the AVR, not necessarily power it back ON again. You might want to try using a smart power strip.

Thanks
keagy is offline  
post #9455 of 10482 Old 05-07-2012, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Where to set AMP ASSIGN is fairly well explained on p. 53 in the 3311CI Owner's manual.

Yea thought I knew it and after investigating and rereading posts the light finally came on.
spager is offline  
post #9456 of 10482 Old 05-07-2012, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
Slobaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: US
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Have you tried resetting the microprocessor? Also note that if repair is required, sometimes you can get quicker turn around by shipping to the factory repair center PanurgyOEM in NJ.

No dice with resetting the microprocessor. Called Denon and they believe there is a problem with the center channel, so I am bringing it to a local repair center this week. TV speakers, here I come! Sigh.
Slobaugh is offline  
post #9457 of 10482 Old 05-07-2012, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slobaugh View Post

No dice with resetting the microprocessor. Called Denon and they believe there is a problem with the center channel, so I am bringing it to a local repair center this week. TV speakers, here I come! Sigh.

If you have tested thoroughly and I'm pretty sure you have from your post and you are 100% sure your center channel is not blown phone Denon and explain your test and discuss repair if you are sure.
spager is offline  
post #9458 of 10482 Old 05-09-2012, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I unplugged my avr this week, and I noticed again all my plx II settings are gone.

I have to reapply them for every type of audio signal. Very annoying.

Is there anyway to make this stick?

So for dolby digital, dts master, true hd, lpcm, 2channel, all need to be sent to the avr and reapplied.

I would like to think theres some I am missing.
Murilo is offline  
post #9459 of 10482 Old 05-09-2012, 03:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
^^
Did you set the unit to Standby before unplugging it as your settings should otherwise have been maintained?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9460 of 10482 Old 05-09-2012, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Also make sure in Manual Setup/Audio Setup the Auto Surround Mode is set to On.
spager is offline  
post #9461 of 10482 Old 05-12-2012, 11:40 PM
Senior Member
 
thevolumnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know it's a good idea to have timbre matched speakers but what about subwoofers? I was thinking about adding a second sub. There's a good deal for a Klipsch 12" sub on Craigslist in my hometown. I have a 12" JBL. A little extra base would be nice. I have a large living room.
thevolumnus is offline  
post #9462 of 10482 Old 05-13-2012, 03:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Has there been any firmware updates of late? I did one about the the time they started giving away airplay.
glangford is online now  
post #9463 of 10482 Old 05-13-2012, 03:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by thevolumnus View Post

I know it's a good idea to have timbre matched speakers but what about subwoofers? I was thinking about adding a second sub. There's a good deal for a Klipsch 12" sub on Craigslist in my hometown. I have a 12" JBL. A little extra base would be nice. I have a large living room.

Although it's ideal to add an identical sub, you can add another brand as well. Refer to the Subwoofers and Bass section in the Audyssey FAQ linked in my sig.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9464 of 10482 Old 05-13-2012, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by glangford View Post

Has there been any firmware updates of late? I did one about the the time they started giving away airplay.

No new firmware as of late.
spager is offline  
post #9465 of 10482 Old 05-13-2012, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
thevolumnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It seems strange that since I have a second subwoofer port that I would need to use a y-adapter to utilize audyssey xt. Still, I have one somewhere, so I won't need to buy one. I'm just not getting much base with my music at all. I'm satisfied with the base for movies though.
thevolumnus is offline  
post #9466 of 10482 Old 05-13-2012, 12:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 887
It is not accurate that you need to use an external y adapter to utilize MultEQ XT.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #9467 of 10482 Old 05-14-2012, 09:15 PM
Senior Member
 
thevolumnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
that unless you have XT32 you are better off using a y adapter rather than utilizing both subwoofer outlets. Do you have a different opinion. I'd be glad to hear it.
thevolumnus is offline  
post #9468 of 10482 Old 05-14-2012, 09:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
^^
That recommendation actually comes from Audyssey to ensure there is no issue with the sub signal delay between the two subs; however, there's likely no issue with using the dual sub preouts on the 3311CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9469 of 10482 Old 05-15-2012, 06:07 AM
Member
 
jdibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdibble View Post

I am about done with Denon. I can't get either of my apple TVs to work and nothing has changed. My wife flipped on the receiver and suddenly nothing happened. I can hook it directly to the tv and it works fine but soon as the receiver is involved I get audio skipping and no video. Reset the apple tv, reset the Denon and still no luck. Anyone have a similar experience?

Just an update. It has been over a month since I brought my unit in for repair and I may have another week or two to go. The HDMI board was found to be having issues and has to be sent to Denon for them to repair it. Shocking but they don't have replacement boards that they can send out!
jdibble is offline  
post #9470 of 10482 Old 05-15-2012, 06:58 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
^^
Which is why some folks take the shipping hit and just send out to the factory repair facility PanurgyOEM in NJ, as the turn around is generally only 1-2 weeks. Also note the HDMI board runs $550 and may require more unique installation experience.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9471 of 10482 Old 05-15-2012, 12:26 PM
Member
 
fuzzy02cls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there much difference between the Denon 3311 & a Yamaha RX-V1900? I'm looking at these used & they are the same price.
I haven't ever owned anything Denon before.

Thanks
fuzzy02cls is offline  
post #9472 of 10482 Old 05-15-2012, 12:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 887
the most important difference is that Denon uses Audyssey technologies, so you get MultEQ XT room calibration (more sophisticated than Yamaha's YPAO) and Dynamic EQ + Volume and Audyssey DSX. Yamaha uses their own proprietary processing for room correction (YPAO) and extra speaker processing (e.g., heights are "presence speakers") and as far as I know doesn't have anything equivalent to Dynamic EQ.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #9473 of 10482 Old 05-17-2012, 11:37 AM
Member
 
TechnoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there a list anywhere that shows all of the firmware updates (including the reason) for the Denon 3311? I've been away from the forum for awhile and I can't remember where this list was. Thanks!
TechnoG is offline  
post #9474 of 10482 Old 05-17-2012, 12:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
^^
It's in post #1 of this thread although hasn't been updated since last summer.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9475 of 10482 Old 05-18-2012, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My 3311 was recently repaired by PanurgyOEM in NJ, it took about 10 days in total.
imws is offline  
post #9476 of 10482 Old 05-20-2012, 05:37 PM
Member
 
trexmgd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for a little help adding a remote wireless speaker to my system. I saw one of these (AR Wireless Speaker) at home depot working across the entire store and sounding decent for a small portable speaker. The unit can be hooked up directly via 1/8" jack or wirelessly using the sending unit. The sending unit takes power and has R/L RCA input jacks. The manual specifies that the preferred method is to use line-level outs, but a variable out such as a headphone jack can be used.

I attempted to hook it up as "Zone 2" (Turned zone "on", plugged RCA Zone 2 OUT to RCA Wireless sender unit IN). Messed with the default levels/volume and got nothing.

Switched over to the other RCA style outs for the DVR and still got nothing.

What am I missing here?
trexmgd is offline  
post #9477 of 10482 Old 05-20-2012, 05:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

what sources? keep in mind that hdmi sources will not be sent to zone 2...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #9478 of 10482 Old 05-20-2012, 09:46 PM
Member
 
trexmgd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^

what sources? keep in mind that hdmi sources will not be sent to zone 2...

Yes, HDMI. I was hoping to broadcast the music channels over my FiOS/Motorola set top box. IF the newer Motorola box supports sending out both HDMI and component and/or optical, would it then work?

Currently the ONLY inputs I have are HDMI (CABLE BOX, BLU-RAY, XBOX360). What options do I have? I did just order the ipod dock station, fwiw.
trexmgd is offline  
post #9479 of 10482 Old 05-21-2012, 02:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,781
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
^^
You would have to also connect an optical cable and set the cable box to PCM 2.0 if the audio channels are not already broadcast in that format.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9480 of 10482 Old 05-21-2012, 11:27 PM
Member
 
nordvest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This might seem like a strange question but I`ll ask it anyway

Is there any setting I can use so that I get sound just from the center speaker while watcing tv? I`m asking because for caual tv viewing the whole surround experience can be a bit overwheliming for all kinds of programs all the time...
Ideally I wouls have liked to program a setup where I downmix everything to the center channel and assigned a Quick Select for it and another Quick select for normal surround when I`m watching for films, sports etc. Is this possible??

(Obviously I could have used just the tv speakers in this scenario but they are unbearable to listen to and besides I need the auto lip sync on the Denon to correct the audio delay from my PVR)
nordvest is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3311ci Receiver , Denon , Receivers Amplifiers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off