The **Official** Denon 3311CI/ 991 Owner's Thread NO PRICE TALK - Page 318 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9511 of 10527 Old 05-28-2012, 11:09 AM
Newbie
 
carnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

since several weeks I have a strange problem with my receiver. When I watch a film my receiver switch randomly into Auto setup (audyssey), sometimes after 5 minutes sometimes after an hour.

Has anybody an idea what it could be ?
carnac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9512 of 10527 Old 05-28-2012, 11:20 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,262
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1394 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
It's been known to happen from time to time. Try blowing some compressed air into the mic jack or inserting/removing the mic plug a few times while the AVR is powered to Standby. If still no joy, then try resetting the microprocessor as listed in your Owner's manual.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9513 of 10527 Old 05-29-2012, 09:37 AM
Newbie
 
carnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
It's been known to happen from time to time. Try blowing some compressed air into the mic jack or inserting/removing the mic plug a few times while the AVR is powered to Standby. If still no joy, then try resetting the microprocessor as listed in your Owner's manual.


Thank you, I will try this.
carnac is offline  
post #9514 of 10527 Old 05-30-2012, 04:27 PM
Member
 
Led Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Why? Unplugging it doesn't cause any loss of settings. It's the NEXT step (if needed) that will cause your loss of settings (ie. microprocessor reset). However, you can also avoid any loss if you can use the Web Control feature to SAVE the config.dat file to a PC. Also try rebooting your cable/sat box and TV (unplugging them as well).

So, after unplugging it for hours (left house) it still did not work, but I didn't lose my settings either. Tried different inputs and rebooting my DirecTV DVR and it still was losing the overlay GUI after changing channels on the DVR.

The Fix: On the DirecTV DVR I changed the setting "Settings & Help> Settings> Display> Video" and changed the setting "Native:" to Off. I had to put the 3311 in Standby and Power it back on to get the picture back (Brief moment of panic when the picture went totally away lol), but I haven't had a problem yet.

Not sure why this suddenly became a problem, but I can now change shows / channels without losing the overlay GUI.

Panny PZ800U - Denon 3311CI - JBL CS6100BG 5.1 - Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Player - Sony BDP-S5100-3D - HTC One (Used to Play Music via my 3311CI)

Led Zappa is offline  
post #9515 of 10527 Old 05-30-2012, 05:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Liked: 1430
FYI - since you originally posted about your problem, others have posted in Denon threads about the exact same issue with DirecTV boxes. This new bug (where the GUI/volume overlay is knocked out by resolution changes when you change channels) has apparently been caused by a firmware update with DTV boxes, and as you have found setting the box to output a fixed resolution on all channels (e.g. 1080i) resolves the issue.

So you are not alone and it's not the Denon's fault

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #9516 of 10527 Old 05-31-2012, 08:37 AM
Newbie
 
Leonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've asked this before but I didn't receive a real answer: why are the internet radio Favorites lost after an update? It does remember all other settings, the 'normal' radio stations and even the 'recent' internet station that I played.

Last time I got the advise to save the config.dat before the update and then load it back afterwards but I only received an error. When I looked in the file with Wordpad I saw it was all empty, but I now managed to get one that contains information. Still, several people above indicate the config.dat file should be 700+ kB but mine is only (and was always) 348,094 bytes. However, for next time I would prefer the 3311 to just remember the Favorites. TIA.
Leonas is offline  
post #9517 of 10527 Old 05-31-2012, 08:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,262
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1394 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
The config.dat file is only about 348k so you're fine. If you haven't already, you may want to register your issue of the "favorites" with Denon. With the release of the 3312CI and soon 3313CI there are not likely to be many more updates for the 3311CI so at least you won't have to deal with it much longer.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9518 of 10527 Old 05-31-2012, 09:23 AM
Newbie
 
Leonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
The config.dat file is only about 348k so you're fine. If you haven't already, you may want to register your issue of the "favorites" with Denon. With the release of the 3312CI and soon 3313CI there are not likely to be many more updates for the 3311CI so at least you won't have to deal with it much longer.

Thanks jdsmoothie. Your point about it being one of the last updates may well be a very valid one.
Leonas is offline  
post #9519 of 10527 Old 05-31-2012, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Led Zappa View Post

I hate to do that, but I guess if things go wrong it will give me the excuse to take it to the repair center and get Airplay installed, since I can't get it to install at my house

Here is the link for the Free Airplay Upgrade. Fill it out, e-mail it back (submit it real easy) and if you have a working network on your Denon avr they will upgrade via your network, usually within 2 business days.

http://shop.denon.com/Airplay-Upgrade-W4.aspx
spager is offline  
post #9520 of 10527 Old 05-31-2012, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Led Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spager View Post

Here is the link for the Free Airplay Upgrade. Fill it out, e-mail it back (submit it real easy) and if you have a working network on your Denon avr they will upgrade via your network, usually within 2 business days.

http://shop.denon.com/Airplay-Upgrade-W4.aspx

Thanks for the info, but I already got it. I just can't get the upgrade to work here at home even connected directly to the router, so I need to take it to the repair shop and have them do it I guess. Luckily it's only a few miles down the road. It even messed up my settings, but I had backed up and was able to restore at least.

I haven't been in too much of a rush, since I don't have any Apple products right now, but I am thinking of getting an Ipad somewhere down the line.

Speaking of that, is there anyway yet to stream from an Android device to the 3311. I have a Touchpad with ICS on it right now.

Panny PZ800U - Denon 3311CI - JBL CS6100BG 5.1 - Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Player - Sony BDP-S5100-3D - HTC One (Used to Play Music via my 3311CI)

Led Zappa is offline  
post #9521 of 10527 Old 05-31-2012, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
thevolumnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://bfads.net/Deal/58966

Electronics Expo has the AVR-3312 brand new delivered to your house for $689 with the coupon code "GRANDSLAM". I know we aren't supposed to discuss prices, but that's too dang good not to share.

Feel free to delete the post in a few days when the $442.29 off code will have expired.
thevolumnus is offline  
post #9522 of 10527 Old 06-01-2012, 03:46 AM
Member
 
mjclifford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Led Zappa View Post

Speaking of that, is there anyway yet to stream from an Android device to the 3311. I have a Touchpad with ICS on it right now.

Take a look at Skifta, which uses DLNA to communicate.

mjclifford
mjclifford is offline  
post #9523 of 10527 Old 06-01-2012, 04:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Led Zappa View Post

Thanks for the info, but I already got it. I just can't get the upgrade to work here at home even connected directly to the router, so I need to take it to the repair shop and have them do it I guess. Luckily it's only a few miles down the road. It even messed up my settings, but I had backed up and was able to restore at least.

I haven't been in too much of a rush, since I don't have any Apple products right now, but I am thinking of getting an Ipad somewhere down the line.

Speaking of that, is there anyway yet to stream from an Android device to the 3311. I have a Touchpad with ICS on it right now.

If you can try hooking up your internet straight from the modem and ask Denon to resend the upgrade. Also using iTunes on your computer/laptop is a pretty nice interface with adding playlist on the fly for convenience if that interest you.

There is Denon Android app out there as well.
spager is offline  
post #9524 of 10527 Old 06-01-2012, 06:52 AM
Member
 
snowx800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can get a 3311 for a good price is there a big difference from a 3312 or even a new 3313. Thanks any input would be great.
snowx800 is offline  
post #9525 of 10527 Old 06-01-2012, 08:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 909 Post(s)
Liked: 1430
I suggest you review the first few posts of the xx12 owner's thread to understand what changed in these models here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1334369

and then check out this 3312 vs. 3313 comparison post here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post22030287

note that the 3313 isn't out yet so a few details are as yet unconfirmed, but you will get the gist.

the 3312 isn't that different really, it adds a few minor things (extra HDMI input, the dual HDMI outputs can be active simultaneously, AirPlay is built in instead of requiring an upgrade download) and drops a few minor things (no more drop-down door in the front hiding the front panel buttons, no more secondary remote, no more sirius/xm tuner port, no more optical digital out) but they are otherwise basically identical in terms of features and connectivity. The biggest change with the 3312 is that it gets a nicer "advanced" GUI and it can also overlay graphics on 3D video signals (the 3311 supports 3D but can't process/overlay graphics).

The biggest change on the 3313 is support for 4k video (passthrough and upscaling) and the addition of HDMI matrix switching with a 3rd "zone 2 HDMI" output that can send a second HDMI source to another room.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #9526 of 10527 Old 06-02-2012, 05:58 PM
Newbie
 
jcbutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, I need some help. My main setup is 5.1 (home theater) and I was trying to set up zone 2 for my backyard patio speakers, but I cannot get the setup to work. I have my outside speakers connected to the rear surround inputs in the back of the receiver but still no sound in zone 2. Any suggestions?
jcbutta is offline  
post #9527 of 10527 Old 06-02-2012, 06:19 PM
Newbie
 
jcbutta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcbutta View Post

Hi guys, I need some help. My main setup is 5.1 (home theater) and I was trying to set up zone 2 for my backyard patio speakers, but I cannot get the setup to work. I have my outside speakers connected to the rear surround inputs in the back of the receiver but still no sound in zone 2. Any suggestions?

Nevermind. I finally came across a post saying that hdmi cannot send sound to zone 2. Thanks.
jcbutta is offline  
post #9528 of 10527 Old 06-02-2012, 07:21 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,262
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1394 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
You're fortunate as 98% of all AVRs can only pass "analog" connected sources to Zone 2 while in addition to that, the 3311CI can also pass PCM 2.0 over optical/coax digital as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9529 of 10527 Old 06-03-2012, 08:01 AM
Newbie
 
datack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

There seems to be a hum coming from inside my 3311. It starts to happen after about 30 minutes to an hour so I guess when it has warmed up.

I can unplug everything and it still happens so its not a speaker hum.

Any ideas? Is there something I can try to isolate the noise, or is this a "take it to a repair shop" sort of thing? I don't know much about the inner workings of an amp... I bought this to listen to great music and movies. A computer I know how to fix, but I'm happy to take the cover off if people thing it could be dust or something needing cleaning.

Also, I have only noticed this since moving into my new house, so it could be power related (as that is the only plug left in) or perhaps it got knocked in transport...?
datack is offline  
post #9530 of 10527 Old 06-03-2012, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
theanimala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
You're fortunate as 98% of all AVRs can only pass "analog" connected sources to Zone 2 while in addition to that, the 3311CI can also pass PCM 2.0 over optical/coax digital as well.

I assume this goes for the 991 as well? One other question, can you put any EQ on zone 2. My outdoor speakers are a bit weak on bass and I was hoping I could boost it up a bit with EQ if I could do it without messing with zone 1.
theanimala is offline  
post #9531 of 10527 Old 06-03-2012, 08:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,262
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1394 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
Correct. Although the same PCM 2.0 over optical/coax digital capability applies to the 991 as well, the ability for Bass/Treble adjustment to Zone 2 sources that the 3311CI can do does not apply to the 991.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9532 of 10527 Old 06-03-2012, 08:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,262
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1394 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
Quote:
Originally Posted by datack View Post

Hi guys,

There seems to be a hum coming from inside my 3311. It starts to happen after about 30 minutes to an hour so I guess when it has warmed up.

I can unplug everything and it still happens so its not a speaker hum.

Any ideas? Is there something I can try to isolate the noise, or is this a "take it to a repair shop" sort of thing? I don't know much about the inner workings of an amp... I bought this to listen to great music and movies. A computer I know how to fix, but I'm happy to take the cover off if people thing it could be dust or something needing cleaning.

Also, I have only noticed this since moving into my new house, so it could be power related (as that is the only plug left in) or perhaps it got knocked in transport...?

Based on your observation, it is likely move related. Try plugging in to a different outlet in the house as a test. If it bothers you, you may want to give Denon a call as you've got a 3 year warranty if purchased from an authorized reseller.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9533 of 10527 Old 06-03-2012, 08:26 AM
Member
 
svbp007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Massachussets
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Downloaded Airplay but it worked only twice so far. Most of the time it does not shoe up on iphone ..
svbp007 is offline  
post #9534 of 10527 Old 06-03-2012, 08:37 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,262
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1394 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
Try the tips listed in this troubleshooting guide --> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...?p=20422031#L1

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9535 of 10527 Old 06-03-2012, 10:38 AM
Member
 
trinifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by datack View Post

Hi guys,

There seems to be a hum coming from inside my 3311. It starts to happen after about 30 minutes to an hour so I guess when it has warmed up.

I can unplug everything and it still happens so its not a speaker hum.

Any ideas? Is there something I can try to isolate the noise, or is this a "take it to a repair shop" sort of thing? I don't know much about the inner workings of an amp... I bought this to listen to great music and movies. A computer I know how to fix, but I'm happy to take the cover off if people thing it could be dust or something needing cleaning.

Also, I have only noticed this since moving into my new house, so it could be power related (as that is the only plug left in) or perhaps it got knocked in transport...?

Did you have a whole home inspection? If so did you have some one check that all of your plugs have a true ground (not simply tied to neutral).

I suggest an electrician but you can do a quick check with one of those plug testers available at your local DIY store.

Also, as a 'silly' test without lid can you see what happens is you plug it into a ups (without load on the avr or the ups). You may get a site wiring fault light come on or the sound may go away entirely. If it goes away, there may be something on the grid causing noise.
trinifox is offline  
post #9536 of 10527 Old 06-04-2012, 04:08 PM
Member
 
svbp007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Massachussets
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Try the tips listed in this troubleshooting guide --> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...?p=20422031#L1

Thank you very much. Fixed ip is what i tried first and it seems to make a difference.
svbp007 is offline  
post #9537 of 10527 Old 06-15-2012, 06:23 AM
Member
 
jdibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdibble View Post

I am about done with Denon. I can't get either of my apple TVs to work and nothing has changed. My wife flipped on the receiver and suddenly nothing happened. I can hook it directly to the tv and it works fine but soon as the receiver is involved I get audio skipping and no video. Reset the apple tv, reset the Denon and still no luck. Anyone have a similar experience?

About a month and a half later I have a repaired receiver. Bad HDMI board and I bet it was flawed to start with. I was having issues pulling up the denon settings menu when using other sources other than net/usb.
jdibble is offline  
post #9538 of 10527 Old 06-15-2012, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 119
I could use some help with speaker placement in my L-shaped living/dining room with my AVR-3311.

I am finally ready to go 7.1 and want to use front height speakers. My current configuration is 5.1 in the living room and quasi-dual zone 2.0 in the dining room with Amp Assign set to Front B (because it's one undivided space we will only want a single source playing simultaneously in both zones). I've purchased the AudioSource AMP-100 to power the dining room speakers, freeing up the extra two amps on my 3311.

Because this is a living room and not a dedicated HT space, we want to minimize speaker clutter. With this objective, my preference would be to place the FH speakers in the wall unit on the same upper shelf with the C speaker, where they are completely unobtrusive (outlined in green in the photo below). To do this, I have to orient the speakers on their side atop a center-speaker cradle. I realize this is not the optimal FH situation, but I am not sure just how big a compromise this would entail in surround-sound experience or how well the Audyssey MultEQ XT would compensate for it. A second alternative would be to place the FH speakers on top of the end pieces of the wall unit (outlined in orange), which would put them almost directly above the FL and FR speakers. This would seem a more conventional placement, but is less esthetically pleasing. (The SL and SR speakers are mounted on the wall facing the entertainment center almost directly across from the FH placement in option one.)

Any and all comments, suggestions or great thoughts would be appreciated.


Denon AVR-3311CI
Technics SB-5000 floor-standing speakers (FL/FR)
Polk Audio RM705 5.1 speaker system
Kenwood KL-333D bookshelf speakers (dining room)
Sony KDL-46XBR5 HDTV
TiVo Premiere Elite
Sony BDP-S570
Sony SCD-CE595 SACD Changer
Samsung DVD-VR375 VCR/DVD Recorder
Sansui P-L95R Turntable



450
chi_guy50 is online now  
post #9539 of 10527 Old 06-15-2012, 07:06 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,262
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1394 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
^^
As you say, definitely not ideal especially as you have your FL/FR speakers sitting sideways (or so it seems). At the very least ensure all three FL/C/FR are angled downward towards the main listening position (if they are not, do so and rerun AUTO SETUP again, although you'll have to do that anyway once the FH speakers are in place). Also ideally the FH speakers using DD PLIIz would be directly above the FL/FR speakers suspended from the ceiling, while using DSX FH they would also be in the ceiling but spread out a little wider than the FL/FR vertical positions. The larger the vertical separation between the FL/FR and FLH/FRH speakers are the better the effect, so placing the FH speakers on the same horizontal plane as the FL/FR speakers would be a waste. If you can't suspend them from the ceiling, then your option #2 is likely your best choice. Although in the end, it's your setup and regardless of what might "technically" be correct, it's your ears that matter.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9540 of 10527 Old 06-15-2012, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
As you say, definitely not ideal especially as you have your FL/FR speakers sitting sideways (or so it seems). At the very least ensure all three FL/C/FR are angled downward towards the main listening position (if they are not, do so and rerun AUTO SETUP again, although you'll have to do that anyway once the FH speakers are in place). Also ideally the FH speakers using DD PLIIz would be directly above the FL/FR speakers suspended from the ceiling, while using DSX FH they would also be in the ceiling but spread out a little wider than the FL/FR vertical positions. The larger the vertical separation between the FL/FR and FLH/FRH speakers are the better the effect, so placing the FH speakers on the same horizontal plane as the FL/FR speakers would be a waste. If you can't suspend them from the ceiling, then your option #2 is likely your best choice. Although in the end, it's your setup and regardless of what might "technically" be correct, it's your ears that matter.

As always, I highly value your feedback, jdsmoothie.

The FL/FR speakers are facing straight outward but are not angled toward the center (is this what you meant by "sideways"?). This is an esthetic choice but is also due to the fact that, when alone, I will often be sitting in a recliner to the side of the main listening position, obviating the purpose of angling the speakers inward.

When you say to angle downward the FL/C/FR speakers, I assume you mean the FHL/C/FHR speakers? (FYI, the C speaker IS currently angled downward on its cradle.)

I never considered placing the FH speakers on the same horizontal plane as the FL/FR speakers, so I am confused by this comment.

Finally, please know how much I appreciate all of your input on this thread. I have also been following the xx12 thread and have learned a lot from your comments there as well.
chi_guy50 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3311ci Receiver , Denon , Receivers Amplifiers
Gear in this thread - 3311ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off