The **Official** Denon 3311CI/ 991 Owner's Thread NO PRICE TALK - Page 354 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10591 of 10603 Old 03-06-2015, 10:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,361
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2176
Quote:
Originally Posted by svbp007 View Post
Thanks. This seemed to have worked better than the microprocessor reset. Now I have to redo audyssey etc but I am even curious what this update is about ? Could not find anything on denon website that indicates an update was released past 1+ year...
More than likely it resolves the DD+ distortion issue when Netflix is the source.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10592 of 10603 Old 03-06-2015, 11:09 AM
Newbie
 
JibJab24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the Reference Level Offset setting affect only the sub/surrounds or are all the speakers reduced by the set amount? Thanks for the insight, trying to figure out what Dyn EQ does, I never use the Dynamic Volume settings.
JibJab24 is offline  
post #10593 of 10603 Old 03-06-2015, 11:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,361
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2176
^^
Yes. Reference Level Offset is a Dynamic EQ setting so as such, only the bass/surround audio is impacted.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10594 of 10603 Old 03-09-2015, 09:40 AM
Member
 
khaberst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chrome Cast HDMI

Tried using a ChromeCast on HDMI 6 (front aux input) and it allowed me to set it up, then did a reboot and stopped working. I thought it was a the ChromeCast, but then tried it on my TV's HDMI input and it began working again. It is currently running on my HDMI 4 port and working fine. Seems to just be the front HDMI 6 port that isn't working. Any way to resolve this? I haven't tried another video source yet FWIW.
khaberst is offline  
post #10595 of 10603 Old 03-09-2015, 09:58 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,361
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2176
Quote:
Originally Posted by khaberst View Post
Tried using a ChromeCast on HDMI 6 (front aux input) and it allowed me to set it up, then did a reboot and stopped working. I thought it was a the ChromeCast, but then tried it on my TV's HDMI input and it began working again. It is currently running on my HDMI 4 port and working fine. Seems to just be the front HDMI 6 port that isn't working. Any way to resolve this? I haven't tried another video source yet FWIW.
Some HDMI inputs will work with one source and not another. You can try a soft reset (unplugging AVR for 10 minutes).

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10596 of 10603 Old 03-09-2015, 12:37 PM
Member
 
khaberst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Some HDMI inputs will work with one source and not another. You can try a soft reset (unplugging AVR for 10 minutes).

Thanks, I'll give that a shot.
khaberst is offline  
post #10597 of 10603 Old 03-10-2015, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
dhegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon avr-991 with HDMI to my main TV and an HDMI splitter to my secondary TV. I can only find out how to make the HDMI audio to to either the AMP or the TV. Is there any way to have both??? The secondary TV is far away and all the wires are already behind the wall. The speakers are all by my main TV, so there is little sound by the secondary TV. Any thoughts???
dhegler is offline  
post #10598 of 10603 Old 03-10-2015, 06:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,650
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1637 Post(s)
Liked: 1895
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhegler View Post
I have a Denon avr-991 with HDMI to my main TV and an HDMI splitter to my secondary TV. I can only find out how to make the HDMI audio to to either the AMP or the TV. Is there any way to have both??? The secondary TV is far away and all the wires are already behind the wall. The speakers are all by my main TV, so there is little sound by the secondary TV. Any thoughts???
No, it's an either/or setting. Can't do both at the same time -- if the receiver strips and processes the audio it only sends video out the HDMI output.

Newer models have a second matrix HDMI output that do what you want.
batpig is online now  
post #10599 of 10603 Old 03-10-2015, 07:42 PM
Member
 
TheRealDeal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by khaberst View Post
Tried using a ChromeCast on HDMI 6 (front aux input) and it allowed me to set it up, then did a reboot and stopped working. I thought it was a the ChromeCast, but then tried it on my TV's HDMI input and it began working again. It is currently running on my HDMI 4 port and working fine. Seems to just be the front HDMI 6 port that isn't working. Any way to resolve this? I haven't tried another video source yet FWIW.
I had the same issue. I just moved the Chromecast to the AVR-4308 in another room. The Chromecast wouldn't work on one of the HDMI ports on the back of the 3311 either so I assumed it would not work on the rest of the HDMI inputs.
TheRealDeal1 is offline  
post #10600 of 10603 Old 03-11-2015, 01:18 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,361
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2176
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRealDeal1 View Post
I had the same issue. I just moved the Chromecast to the AVR-4308 in another room. The Chromecast wouldn't work on one of the HDMI ports on the back of the 3311 either so I assumed it would not work on the rest of the HDMI inputs.
The HDMI inputs are not all created equal. Always best to try every HDMI input when adding a new HDMI source.
TheRealDeal1 likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10601 of 10603 Old 03-11-2015, 01:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,361
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2176
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhegler View Post
I have a Denon avr-991 with HDMI to my main TV and an HDMI splitter to my secondary TV. I can only find out how to make the HDMI audio to to either the AMP or the TV. Is there any way to have both??? The secondary TV is far away and all the wires are already behind the wall. The speakers are all by my main TV, so there is little sound by the secondary TV. Any thoughts???
One option is to purchase a 4x2 HDMI switch and place it between the sources and the 991 with one output going to 991 and the other to the 2nd TV. Note that when playing the same source to each output, the 991 would be down mixed to stereo only.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10602 of 10603 Old 03-11-2015, 02:49 AM
Newbie
 
dhegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I already have a switch like that from Monoprice that is 2x1 and use a long red mere HDMi cable in the wall. It may not be "true matrix" though. My understanding is that this is a receiver issue - it can't send audio through HDMi and also through its speakers...
dhegler is offline  
post #10603 of 10603 Old 03-11-2015, 03:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,361
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2176
^^
Correct. However, your issue is resolved with a 4x2 HDMI switch as I suggested.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3311ci Receiver , Denon , Receivers Amplifiers
Gear in this thread - 3311ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off