The **Official** Denon 3311CI/ 991 Owner's Thread NO PRICE TALK - Page 358 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10711 of 10735 Old 12-18-2016, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
tang7969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tonawanda NY
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by vschaos View Post
Dang. Guess I will use this receiver in another room. Any recommendations on a 4k receiver?
I would highly recommend this https://www.amazon.com/Marantz-SR701...s=marantz+7010
I have the Marantz 7008 and it sounds great!! The 7010 has better HDAM technology.

SAMSUNG UN607150- OPPO BDP 103D- PSA 210T L/R -PHANTOM CENTER -ENERGY RC-10 SURROUNDS -PSA S3000i - MARANTZ SR7008 - APPLE TV -MONSTER POWER HTS2600MK -DIRECTV GENIE -HARMONY ELITE

BASEMENT SETUP- SAMSUNG UN466500- ENERGY 50'S L/R -PSA S1500- DENON-AVR-3311CI- PS3 -APPLETV- MINI GENIE
tang7969 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10712 of 10735 Old 12-18-2016, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
vschaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MS
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by tang7969 View Post
I would highly recommend this https://www.amazon.com/Marantz-SR701...s=marantz+7010
I have the Marantz 7008 and it sounds great!! The 7010 has better HDAM technology.
I will look into it. I've loved my 3311ci. Now that I'm looking at all my gear I may wait to buy another receiver once I can afford a 4k projector. I currently have a benq ht2050 projector. I also only need 7.2 and I have a amp for all my speakers so wouldn't use the receiver for wattage
vschaos is offline  
post #10713 of 10735 Old 12-18-2016, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
tang7969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tonawanda NY
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by vschaos View Post
I will look into it. I've loved my 3311ci. Now that I'm looking at all my gear I may wait to buy another receiver once I can afford a 4k projector. I currently have a benq ht2050 projector. I also only need 7.2 and I have a amp for all my speakers so wouldn't use the receiver for wattage


I can't say I love the 3311. I have the 3311 and the Marantz 7008 and the Marantz has a much warmer sound to it in my opinion. I really have to crank up the 3311 to get the same level as the Marantz. Good luck.

SAMSUNG UN607150- OPPO BDP 103D- PSA 210T L/R -PHANTOM CENTER -ENERGY RC-10 SURROUNDS -PSA S3000i - MARANTZ SR7008 - APPLE TV -MONSTER POWER HTS2600MK -DIRECTV GENIE -HARMONY ELITE

BASEMENT SETUP- SAMSUNG UN466500- ENERGY 50'S L/R -PSA S1500- DENON-AVR-3311CI- PS3 -APPLETV- MINI GENIE
tang7969 is online now  
 
post #10714 of 10735 Old 12-23-2016, 01:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,592
Mentioned: 261 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12221 Post(s)
Liked: 5563
Quote:
Originally Posted by vschaos View Post
Dang. Guess I will use this receiver in another room. Any recommendations on a 4k receiver?
Depends on your budget and feature/input/output requirements. The current successor to the 3311CI is the X4300H. Review the first post in the 2016 Denon AVR Owner's thread for more details on the current models.

The "OFFICIAL" 2016 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ
vschaos likes this.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10715 of 10735 Old 12-23-2016, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
 
vschaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MS
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Depends on your budget and feature/input/output requirements. The current successor to the 3311CI is the X4300H. Review the first post in the 2016 Denon AVR Owner's thread for more details on the current models.

The "OFFICIAL" 2016 Denon "S-Series" / "X-Series" AVR Owner's Thread + FAQ


Thank you! I see walmart has the 4300 for $1099 which is not bad at all. I will look into this receiver more!
vschaos is offline  
post #10716 of 10735 Old 12-23-2016, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,592
Mentioned: 261 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12221 Post(s)
Liked: 5563
Quote:
Originally Posted by vschaos View Post
Thank you! I see walmart has the 4300 for $1099 which is not bad at all. I will look into this receiver more!
Any vendor listing a "new" unit for other than MSRP ($1499) is likely an unauthorized dealer so Denon would not honor the 3 year warranty when purchased from that dealer.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 12-23-2016 at 01:34 PM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10717 of 10735 Old 12-23-2016, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
centauro74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
http://www.accessories4less.com/make...eceiver/1.html
Accesories4less have it for $1099, they sell refurbished from Denon with 1 year warranty.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

centauro74 is offline  
post #10718 of 10735 Old 01-11-2017, 09:39 AM
Member
 
mjclifford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speakers not working

I noticed last night that my AVR-3311CI speakers are not working, specifically the Left and Right Backs. I verified this using the Setup menu and the Manual option to generate test tones.

What steps can you recommend, and the order, to further troubleshoot this issue? I'm in mortal terror of a firmware upgrade, since I've bricked three boxes previously. Is a firmware reset risky?

Any advice is appreciated.

Regards,

mjclifford

Last edited by mjclifford; 01-11-2017 at 09:40 AM. Reason: typo
mjclifford is offline  
post #10719 of 10735 Old 01-11-2017, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,592
Mentioned: 261 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12221 Post(s)
Liked: 5563
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjclifford View Post
I noticed last night that my AVR-3311CI speakers are not working, specifically the Left and Right Backs. I verified this using the Setup menu and the Manual option to generate test tones.

What steps can you recommend, and the order, to further troubleshoot this issue? I'm in mortal terror of a firmware upgrade, since I've bricked three boxes previously. Is a firmware reset risky?

Any advice is appreciated.

Regards,

mjclifford
If the SBL/SBR speakers are configured but the AVR fails to pass a test tone to them, try doing a soft reset by simply powering off and unplugging the AVR power cord for 10 minutes. If still no joy, then you'll need to do a microprocessor reset (p. 116 Owner's manual) which will restore all settings to factory default and wipe out Audyssey as well however, does not change the firmware version.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10720 of 10735 Old 01-26-2017, 01:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
4HiMarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
My 3311 announced there was a firmware update last night. Anyone else get it? What changed?
4HiMarks is offline  
post #10721 of 10735 Old 01-26-2017, 07:58 PM
Member
 
jheadley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4HiMarks View Post
My 3311 announced there was a firmware update last night. Anyone else get it? What changed?
I got that too and allowed it to proceed. Now I'm stuck in an infinite loop of update failures and retries. Anyone in the same situation that has been able to get the update to finish?
jheadley is offline  
post #10722 of 10735 Old 01-26-2017, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
4HiMarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jheadley View Post
Anyone in the same situation that has been able to get the update to finish?
Oh, it finished for me. I just haven't detected any change.
4HiMarks is offline  
post #10723 of 10735 Old 01-27-2017, 01:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,592
Mentioned: 261 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12221 Post(s)
Liked: 5563
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4HiMarks View Post
My 3311 announced there was a firmware update last night. Anyone else get it? What changed?
Fixed the inability to log on to Pandora.

http://denon.custhelp.com/app/answer...-using-pandora

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 01-27-2017 at 01:16 PM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10724 of 10735 Old 01-27-2017, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
4HiMarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Fixed the inability to log on to Pandora.
Well, that was never a problem for me, although I've only tried it a couple of times.
4HiMarks is offline  
post #10725 of 10735 Old 01-27-2017, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
scott967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hawai'i
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4HiMarks View Post
Well, that was never a problem for me, although I've only tried it a couple of times.
It was an "Ether IMG" update so I assumed something that jdsmoothie confirmed for us. Took 8 mins once the update started, with the usual wait for finding server / authenticating prior to the update actually starting.

scott s.
.
scott967 is offline  
post #10726 of 10735 Old 01-29-2017, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
AVR-3311ci firmware

Hi,
I have an AVR-3311ci that works just fine but is unable to get updates via the Denon Update server. A previous update seems to have not completed and the ethernet rom looks like it was corrupted or erased and not reprogrammed. I have the documentation on doing a manual firmware reload using DFW and wanted to give that a shot to see if it would reprogram the firmware on the unit. Since the unit is out of warranty you can no longer download it from Denon, I contacted support and they basically said to wait for it to be posted to the site (there is a newer update coming out to fix the Pandora issues). However I don't think it will ever be posted as a manual download since their policy for out of warranty units is to only update via DPMS.

Does anyone have any copy of the manual firmware install? I believe this unit is running june 2010 code so anything after that should work.

Thanks
frs2 is offline  
post #10727 of 10735 Old 01-30-2017, 04:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,592
Mentioned: 261 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12221 Post(s)
Liked: 5563
Quote:
Originally Posted by frs2 View Post
Hi,
I have an AVR-3311ci that works just fine but is unable to get updates via the Denon Update server. A previous update seems to have not completed and the ethernet rom looks like it was corrupted or erased and not reprogrammed. I have the documentation on doing a manual firmware reload using DFW and wanted to give that a shot to see if it would reprogram the firmware on the unit. Since the unit is out of warranty you can no longer download it from Denon, I contacted support and they basically said to wait for it to be posted to the site (there is a newer update coming out to fix the Pandora issues). However I don't think it will ever be posted as a manual download since their policy for out of warranty units is to only update via DPMS.

Does anyone have any copy of the manual firmware install? I believe this unit is running june 2010 code so anything after that should work.

Thanks
Not necessarily true, as there are currently firmware downloads available going back to the 2012 models all of which are out of warranty.

Have you tried doing a "network reset" (ie. press/hold UP/DOWN arrow buttons on front panel while powering on the AVR)?
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10728 of 10735 Old 01-30-2017, 05:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
centauro74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Did the update last night,, it went smoothly in 8 minutes, I can testify Pandora works much better now.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

centauro74 is offline  
post #10729 of 10735 Old 01-30-2017, 04:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not necessarily true, as there are currently firmware downloads available going back to the 2012 models all of which are out of warranty.

Have you tried doing a "network reset" (ie. press/hold UP/DOWN arrow buttons on front panel while powering on the AVR)?
Sorry, maybe it's units over 5 years old then. They just released updates for a number of older models to fix Spotify but they aren't posted to the site.

I did try a network reset, no good. The FBL, SBL, IMG, and MAC don't show real values like they should, seems like the ROM isn't programmed.
frs2 is offline  
post #10730 of 10735 Old 01-31-2017, 01:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,592
Mentioned: 261 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12221 Post(s)
Liked: 5563
Quote:
Originally Posted by frs2 View Post
Sorry, maybe it's units over 5 years old then. They just released updates for a number of older models to fix Spotify but they aren't posted to the site.

I did try a network reset, no good. The FBL, SBL, IMG, and MAC don't show real values like they should, seems like the ROM isn't programmed.
That would be the inability to log on to Pandora which impacted all networking capable 2010 - 2016 Denon and Marantz models (except those models with the built-in HEOS module), and it's only been in the past 3 years that the USB updates have been made available on the Denon website for the lower level models so I'm actually surprised they even went back to 2012. It's possible the 2010 and 2011 models cannot be updated by USB or they're just late in adding them to the site.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10731 of 10735 Old 02-09-2017, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMRIZZO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Federal Witness Relocation Program
Posts: 2,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 125
has anyone here experience a problem with recent firmware (last week). Since I've updated strange problem has started, usually S/W does an auto shut down between LFE signals and shutdown 10 minutes after powering down. Not no more I've done a complete unplug waited 10 minutes restarted but problem still exist ? Sub stays powered up? Any ideas TIA.

LG OLED 55B6P~Oppo UDP203~SonyXBR929~Denon 3311~Mirage V2 SPK-SYS w/ S10 SW~ DVP5000~Harmony1100
Optimum via SA8300-HDDVR
IMRIZZO is offline  
post #10732 of 10735 Old 02-09-2017, 09:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,592
Mentioned: 261 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12221 Post(s)
Liked: 5563
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMRIZZO View Post
has anyone here experience a problem with recent firmware (last week). Since I've updated strange problem has started, usually S/W does an auto shut down between LFE signals and shutdown 10 minutes after powering down. Not no more I've done a complete unplug waited 10 minutes restarted but problem still exist ? Sub stays powered up? Any ideas TIA.
Is the sub still set to "Auto" or was it changed to "On"?
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10733 of 10735 Old 02-10-2017, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMRIZZO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Federal Witness Relocation Program
Posts: 2,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Is the sub still set to "Auto" or was it changed to "On"?
the Sub is still set as Auto I did another complete power down on all equipment left it off 1 hr then reconnected went through every setup via HarmonyR all working properly now, btw thanks for your response

LG OLED 55B6P~Oppo UDP203~SonyXBR929~Denon 3311~Mirage V2 SPK-SYS w/ S10 SW~ DVP5000~Harmony1100
Optimum via SA8300-HDDVR
IMRIZZO is offline  
post #10734 of 10735 Old Today, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
theanimala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If the SBL/SBR speakers are configured but the AVR fails to pass a test tone to them, try doing a soft reset by simply powering off and unplugging the AVR power cord for 10 minutes. If still no joy, then you'll need to do a microprocessor reset (p. 116 Owner's manual) which will restore all settings to factory default and wipe out Audyssey as well however, does not change the firmware version.
Today I noticed my subwoofers are not making any noise. My AVR-991 sees them, no changes in settings. Tried playing test tones and while it's saying sound is on, nothing is coming through them. I did the firmware update today, soft reset, then microprocessor reset all with no luck. Confirmed both subwoofers are plugged in. Anything else this could be?
theanimala is offline  
post #10735 of 10735 Unread Today, 11:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,592
Mentioned: 261 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12221 Post(s)
Liked: 5563
Quote:
Originally Posted by theanimala View Post
Today I noticed my subwoofers are not making any noise. My AVR-991 sees them, no changes in settings. Tried playing test tones and while it's saying sound is on, nothing is coming through them. I did the firmware update today, soft reset, then microprocessor reset all with no luck. Confirmed both subwoofers are plugged in. Anything else this could be?
Pull the cable from the sub pre-out and rub your finger over the tip of the cable. Hear static from the sub? If no, either the cable or the sub is defective. Use a different cable to test (can use a red/white/yellow composite video cable for testing).
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3311ci Receiver , Denon , Receivers Amplifiers
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off