The **Official** Denon 3311CI/ 991 Owner's Thread NO PRICE TALK - Page 51 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1501 of 10496 Old 08-16-2010, 11:01 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,683
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Husker43 View Post

I have (2) Xpa-5 to hopefully biamp my front three speakers. And hopefully the pre-outs have high voltagess.

Ah yes ... good point bp. I misread his post.

The output voltage voltage is 1.2V.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1502 of 10496 Old 08-16-2010, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
wishinguwehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is from Best Buy.
wishinguwehr is offline  
post #1503 of 10496 Old 08-16-2010, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Petrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

As I'm sure you both have read if following this thread (or any AVR thread for that matter), cable/sat boxes in general have HDMI handshake issues with HDMI repeaters (ie AVRs). Some models/brands work better than others. Your work around is to connect the HDMI directly to the TV with an optical from the cable/sat box to the AVR or go component/optical to the AVR.

Yeah, I tried that and it didn't help. I can assure you, I've read the thread, I am the official Thread Starter, ya know!

Life is hard. It's harder if you're stupid.
Petrus is offline  
post #1504 of 10496 Old 08-16-2010, 01:14 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,683
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
It helps when you place as much information as possible in your post. If you have already tried using an optical cable from the DVR, and still get the audio drop outs, then I would agree with you that it is likely the DVR itself causing the problem.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1505 of 10496 Old 08-16-2010, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottlindner View Post

My point is you're trying to tactically replace one of the features of an "integrated" product. In general, people that are not into integrated receivers, are into discrete components which includes monoblock amps.

Scott

I'm very satisfied with all the features of the receiver so far, the only thing is just the DAC process for the stereo channels. So I think the best solution is simply to use the 3311 for everything except stereo music listening, and use an external DAC there

Well test tomorrow or wednesday...
Gaco is offline  
post #1506 of 10496 Old 08-16-2010, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul E. Fox, II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just so everyone knows...I have a Pioneer Elite in here, a Yamaha in the Living Room and a Sony upstairs and ALL have drop-outs from time to time from the DirecTV HR-2x series receivers. The HR-20 in the bedroom is by far the best but it still does it.

I work for a TV station and we have problems with viewers reporting it as well...they say it's our fault, the network says it's their fault and we've changed what we can so it's not OUR fault but it still happens.

Regards,
Paul
Paul E. Fox, II is offline  
post #1507 of 10496 Old 08-16-2010, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just wondering from anybody else who has ordered a 3311 from Electronic Expo. Do they post a UPS tracking number? I ordered on Friday the 13th (& they took the money almost immediately) & still I have not tracking number. Rich/EE told me that they had 49 in stock when I called first thing Friday morning. Three days seems a little long to me, just to put the damn thing in the mail.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
lovswr is offline  
post #1508 of 10496 Old 08-16-2010, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Led Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovswr View Post

Just wondering from anybody else who has ordered a 3311 from Electronic Expo. Do they post a UPS tracking number? I ordered on Friday the 13th (& they took the money almost immediately) & still I have not tracking number. Rich/EE told me that they had 49 in stock when I called first thing Friday morning. Three days seems a little long to me, just to put the damn thing in the mail.

Try using their live chat. When I was wondering if mine shipped that's what I did and they gave me the TN right then. I got an email the next day with it. Worth a try.

Panny PZ800U - Denon 3311CI - JBL CS6100BG 5.1 - Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Player - Sony BDP-S5100-3D - HTC One (Used to Play Music via my 3311CI)

Led Zappa is offline  
post #1509 of 10496 Old 08-16-2010, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bvader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovswr View Post

Just wondering from anybody else who has ordered a 3311 from Electronic Expo. Do they post a UPS tracking number? I ordered on Friday the 13th (& they took the money almost immediately) & still I have not tracking number. Rich/EE told me that they had 49 in stock when I called first thing Friday morning. Three days seems a little long to me, just to put the damn thing in the mail.

It will come, I bet tomorrow it will be shipping, 3 days to you...1 business day to them...always seems longer when you are on the waiting end. I felt the same way...then BAM it was shipped an on its way.

Long Live The Gorn!
bvader is offline  
post #1510 of 10496 Old 08-17-2010, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco View Post

I'm very satisfied with all the features of the receiver so far, the only thing is just the DAC process for the stereo channels. So I think the best solution is simply to use the 3311 for everything except stereo music listening, and use an external DAC there...

I have an Oppo BDP-83 universal player which I use for BR, DVD, SACD, CD and HDCD. I have it hooked up to my Denon 2809 via HDMI and it sounds great. But in the never ending quest for slightly better SQ, I tried out the Oppo's nice dedicated stereo out DAC's for CD and HDCD. Thinking that it would be desirable to not process the "pure" analog output of the Oppo, I ran some nice interconnects into the Denon Ext In. Now, I have decent speakers (Polk RT800i towers in a 5.1 system) in a lively, acoustically untreated room. In level-matched A/B tests, analog sounded better for well-recorded acoustic and classical music at near reference levels. There was noticable additional detail, airiness, concert hall ambiance, etc., (insert more glowing audiophile terminology if desired). But for more electronically produced/processed music such as rock, jazz etc., and especially at lower listening volumes, the lack of DSP in the Denon resulted in a distinctly poorer SQ overall. On a lark, I ran the interconnects into the Denon standard analog in. Thus the Denon takes the analog signal and does a ADC, applies Audyssey and DEQ, then another DAC. To me, it sounds like the best of both worlds. Some others have reported similar phenomena, with the additional digital processing not having the derogatory effect that one might expect. YMMV.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #1511 of 10496 Old 08-17-2010, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bvader View Post

It will come, I bet tomorrow it will be shipping, 3 days to you...1 business day to them...always seems longer when you are on the waiting end. I felt the same way...then BAM it was shipped an on its way.

Thanks to both you guys. I hit the Live Chat. It will be here tomorrow.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
lovswr is offline  
post #1512 of 10496 Old 08-17-2010, 06:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,683
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul E. Fox, II View Post

Just so everyone knows...I have a Pioneer Elite in here, a Yamaha in the Living Room and a Sony upstairs and ALL have drop-outs from time to time from the DirecTV HR-2x series receivers. The HR-20 in the bedroom is by far the best but it still does it.

I work for a TV station and we have problems with viewers reporting it as well...they say it's our fault, the network says it's their fault and we've changed what we can so it's not OUR fault but it still happens.

Thanks for your post as a great reminder these dropouts are certainly not specific to Denon AVRs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1513 of 10496 Old 08-17-2010, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul E. Fox, II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Thanks for your post as a great reminder these dropouts are certainly not specific to Denon AVRs.

No problem...just want to let everyone know that no matter what AVR you have, it may just be that the DirecTV STBs just don't get along well with other electronic equipment all the time.

Regards,
Paul
Paul E. Fox, II is offline  
post #1514 of 10496 Old 08-17-2010, 12:45 PM
Member
 
setanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm wondering if anyone has information on what Denon is planning for their 100 year anniversary? Reason I ask is that I'm all set to buy a 4311ci when they ship supposedly in mid September. However, there is a countdown clock to Oct1st on the Denon website with a tease about a 100 year anniversary product collection. Of course I can wait the few weeks to confirm but I'm curious now.

Apologies if this has been discussed somewhere else on the forum.
setanta is offline  
post #1515 of 10496 Old 08-17-2010, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Makaveli Tha Don's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Random question. Has anyone observed how the upscaling chip on this does with older component game systems. Like well, the wii for example would be one, but also like the ps2, and original xbox?

And from what I understand it also will upconvert even S-video to 1080p? Which is great cuz I still have a dreamcast and saturn with s video
Makaveli Tha Don is offline  
post #1516 of 10496 Old 08-17-2010, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundofMind View Post

I have an Oppo BDP-83 universal player which I use for BR, DVD, SACD, CD and HDCD. I have it hooked up to my Denon 2809 via HDMI and it sounds great. But in the never ending quest for slightly better SQ, I tried out the Oppo's nice dedicated stereo out DAC's for CD and HDCD. Thinking that it would be desirable to not process the "pure" analog output of the Oppo, I ran some nice interconnects into the Denon Ext In. Now, I have decent speakers (Polk RT800i towers in a 5.1 system) in a lively, acoustically untreated room. In level-matched A/B tests, analog sounded better for well-recorded acoustic and classical music at near reference levels. There was noticable additional detail, airiness, concert hall ambiance, etc., (insert more glowing audiophile terminology if desired). But for more electronically produced/processed music such as rock, jazz etc., and especially at lower listening volumes, the lack of DSP in the Denon resulted in a distinctly poorer SQ overall. On a lark, I ran the interconnects into the Denon standard analog in. Thus the Denon takes the analog signal and does a ADC, applies Audyssey and DEQ, then another DAC. To me, it sounds like the best of both worlds. Some others have reported similar phenomena, with the additional digital processing not having the derogatory effect that one might expect. YMMV.

DAC to ADC to DAC again? Can't see how that should be helping a good pure musical experience. However I will definitely try that external DAC one of these days. However first I'll be going to Cologne for GamesCom

Will report back on whatever I do.. but from listening last night I'm not in doubt anymore; the DACs in 3311 clearly doesn't hold up to critical music listening, not at all. I think I'll throw on the DAC I've been using for my PC headphones for a long time now, it sounded a good deal better when I AB tested both
Gaco is offline  
post #1517 of 10496 Old 08-17-2010, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaco View Post

DAC to ADC to DAC again? Can't see how that should be helping a good pure musical experience...

Although some might maintain that the additional buffering, or some such aspect of the redigitization process, might actually improve things, I am only saying that, much to my surprise, I have better SQ despite the additional conversions. I think this is because that path enables the use of both the Oppo stereo DAC's and the Denon DSP (most specifically bass management and Audyssey).

BTW I set up the A/B test so that both the digital (via HDMI 1) and the analog were assigned to the DVD input, and adjusted the analog "source level" to level-match the two. I set the Oppo to repeat a familiar 10 sec passage and just flipped back and forth using the Denon remote "input mode" button.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #1518 of 10496 Old 08-18-2010, 06:22 AM
Member
 
NashvilleMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of the reasons that I approached the purchase of this receiver with some trepidation was that it didn't have a switched AC outlet on the back like my old (and dying) AVR-3808ci. I used this outlet to power a small fan to circulate air when my receiver was on and to send a 12V signal to my Niles MSU250 IR repeater system via an AC adapter. This IR system has IR receiver wall plates with LEDs that indicate when your equipment (my receiver in this case) is powered up if you send a constant 12V signal to the status input on the MSU250. So, basically, I needed an AC outlet that would turn on when I turned on the receiver and turned off when I turned off the receiver. I looked at some outlets that could be triggered by the 12V trigger out from the receiver, but these were all quite expensive. I finally came across the Belkin Conserve Smart AV Energy Saving Power Strip (F7C007) for $29.99 at Amazon. I plugged the receiver into the Master outlet and my fan and IR system into the Master Controlled outlets, and voila, I was back in business. I thought this might help anyone who has similar concerns with the receiver.
NashvilleMark is offline  
post #1519 of 10496 Old 08-18-2010, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Makaveli Tha Don's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i ordered one over the phone with electronics expo saturday, and i got a shipping confirmation email with tracking number yesterday. its supposed to be here tomorrow
Makaveli Tha Don is offline  
post #1520 of 10496 Old 08-18-2010, 12:01 PM
Member
 
chris_r11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the zone 2 function with my 3311. I also have a harmony 880. Wondering how you guys are setting up the remote to handle things like the zone2 volume control. I did not see the commands in the harmony database when I set up the remote. Should I have the remote learn the commands from the Denon remote, or is there some other way of using the Logitech Harmony software to bring down the zone 2 commands?

Also wondering if there is any way to have the zone 2 in sync with the main zone - it seems to be delayed in the main zone. I am assuming that the audio sync is delaying the main zone a bit, can this delay also be automatic for zone 2?

Thanks for any ideas. Chris
chris_r11 is offline  
post #1521 of 10496 Old 08-18-2010, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
UPS dropped off my 3311CI about 1330. Between setup & checking settings & switching between my various sources, I had no idea that 4 hours had passed. Quick question. I was attempting to setup my Pandora account & I can't seem to find the @ symbol on the remote. How can I enter that symbol into the 3311?


edit: Ok I figured out how to bring up the on-screen keyboard.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
lovswr is offline  
post #1522 of 10496 Old 08-18-2010, 03:32 PM
Member
 
chris_r11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovswr View Post

UPS dropped off my 3311CI about 1330. Between setup & checking settings & switching between my various sources, I had no idea that 4 hours had passed. Quick question. I was attempting to setup my Pandora account & I can't seem to find the @ symbol on the remote. How can I enter that symbol into the 3311?

There is an option to enter text using the on screen keyboard. That was the easiest place I found it... or you can read through the manual. I remember there was something about characters there, but I can't think of where.
chris_r11 is offline  
post #1523 of 10496 Old 08-18-2010, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_r11 View Post

There is an option to enter text using the on screen keyboard. That was the easiest place I found it... or you can read through the manual. I remember there was something about characters there, but I can't think of where.

Yep, I found that keyboard too, but also on page 65 of the manual...it is the number "1" key where special symbols like @ is.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
lovswr is offline  
post #1524 of 10496 Old 08-19-2010, 03:58 AM
Member
 
e-spon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Regarding the audio dropping out. Check to see if you have Dynamic EQ turned on or off when this happens. I noticed that some certain movies on my satellite reciever would have the audio cutout with dynamic EQ enabled on my Onkyo TX-NR808. When I turned it off all was fine. By the way, I ruined my Onkyo by spilling water in it while turned on so now I am trying to decide between getting another Onkyo or the 3311ci. I really liked the onscreen display of the Onkyo and am wondering if the Denon is as good. Can anyone tell me where I could see a picture of the Denon's onscreen dispay or post some pictures of their own?
e-spon is offline  
post #1525 of 10496 Old 08-19-2010, 06:56 AM
Member
 
davisp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for a recommendation from the experts. I love the Denon receivers I have had over the years, and this 3311 is no exception. I also love my Polk In-Wall LCi speakers in my 5.1 system (Hsu Research VTF-HO powered-sub to round out system); however, the Polk Speakers have a 4 ohm impedance, and though I get really good clarity and sound, I do not get the volume or "loudness" that I would like with this receiver powering the speakers without the worry of over-driving it. Does anyone have recommendations of a good quality (reasonably priced) amplifier that can be used to power the 4 ohm speakers while using the 3311 as basically a pre-amp? Thank you in advance.
davisp3 is offline  
post #1526 of 10496 Old 08-19-2010, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Any of the emotive amps will suffice. I have a similar setup with a 3310 and a pair of their Upa-2/upa-1 and it sounds fantastic,tremendous headroom

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is online now  
post #1527 of 10496 Old 08-19-2010, 08:03 AM
Member
 
chris_r11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a Radio question for you all. I listen to a radio station that seems to bounce in and out of HD sometimes. When it does go back to regular stereo, sometimes the audio stops. I have the tuner set to "Auto" not "HD-Auto". I have to select another station then that one again to get it back. Any ideas? It will also come back if I change it to "Manual" which I gather means stay in regular stereo.... Could it be that the station signal went below the threshold for stereo and went to mono?

I have only had the receiver a couple days so I have not noticed it on other stations.
chris_r11 is offline  
post #1528 of 10496 Old 08-19-2010, 08:45 AM
Member
 
davisp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariob33 View Post

Any of the emotive amps will suffice. I have a similar setup with a 3310 and a pair of their Upa-2/upa-1 and it sounds fantastic,tremendous headroom

Thank you. I will give one of their 5 channels a good looking over.
davisp3 is offline  
post #1529 of 10496 Old 08-19-2010, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Scamps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davisp3 View Post

Thank you. I will give one of their 5 channels a good looking over.

This is a question, not a comment.....

Would you really need more than a 3-channel (L/R/C)?
I would think the surrounds would not need the extra kick if the fronts were amp'ed.
Scamps is offline  
post #1530 of 10496 Old 08-19-2010, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
boarder1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_r11 View Post

Got a Radio question for you all. I listen to a radio station that seems to bounce in and out of HD sometimes. When it does go back to regular stereo, sometimes the audio stops. I have the tuner set to "Auto" not "HD-Auto". I have to select another station then that one again to get it back. Any ideas? It will also come back if I change it to "Manual" which I gather means stay in regular stereo.... Could it be that the station signal went below the threshold for stereo and went to mono?

I have only had the receiver a couple days so I have not noticed it on other stations.

I don't have an answer (or even a 3311) but am curious about the same issues with HD radio on this unit. Anyone experienced with HD radios in these receivers? I assume there's a way to totally deactivate HD reception if it keeps bouncing in and out of HD?

Why do all of my threads suck? Is there an internet posting school somewhere? -wes k
boarder1995 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 3311ci Receiver , Denon , Receivers Amplifiers
Gear in this thread - 3311ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off