"Official" Yamaha RX-V667/RX-V767 Thread - Page 139 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4141 of 4152 Old 12-05-2016, 12:50 AM
Member
 
flyingdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 17
flyingdog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4142 of 4152 Old 12-07-2016, 11:09 AM
Newbie
 
napes22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Since this thread was recently brought back to life, is there any reason at this point to upgrade from this receiver to anything new? I'm running a 5.1 Klipsch Quintet SL setup and will likely upgrade to a set of KEF's or Klipsch RP series. I don't have a 4K TV, and don't plan on getting one in the near future.

The only things I've missed from this receiver was the lack of integrated bluetooth, or the ability to select audio and video inputs separately (ie: listening to music over bluetooth while watching the TV video input...something the new Denon's can do).
napes22 is offline  
post #4143 of 4152 Old 12-08-2016, 03:07 AM
Member
 
flyingdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thumbs up

I too, much like you, have 'no' intention to ever want to upgrade to a 4k. Couple family members have 4k(s) and I don't care for the image. Probably due to what I'm use too. Much like watching something in 3D. Don't like it, never will and find it too distracting. Therefore, my 7.2 system, with this receiver (667), is more than satisfying.
flyingdog is offline  
 
post #4144 of 4152 Old 12-08-2016, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
manuetdeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I found the cheapest answer to my question was a hdmi splitter and hopefully I will be rocking this avr for years to come.

manuetdeo is offline  
post #4145 of 4152 Old 12-09-2016, 01:16 AM
Member
 
flyingdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 17
May not be the case with yer splitter, but couple years ago I tried using one of these port savers: http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=11891 ..and found something interesting. Out of the three different styles, none would pass 1080p. Everything was 720. For some odd reason, even some of the audio surround was restricted. Talked to people at Monoprice, Bluejeans and a few locals. Nobody could explain or knew why. Wierd.

Last edited by flyingdog; 12-09-2016 at 01:21 AM.
flyingdog is offline  
post #4146 of 4152 Old 12-26-2016, 04:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
anikun07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northwest Illinois USA
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I use the bendable kind, and I don't think I have any issues with them. I don't remember where I have them placed anymore. I have one for my TV input and I think I have them for all the ports on the receiver and blu ray player, too.

Today I was experimenting with different settings on my V667 while trying to get Playstation 1 games (specifically Final Fantasy VII played on a PS2 Slim over component cables) to display. Every time in the past when I would load up PS1 games, the initial Playstation screen would show, but when the game loaded, I only got a green screen, despite the audio playing fine. I know the issue is because the PS1 games I've tried are output in 240p. Today I learned that if I enable Video Processing on the receiver, I can play those games on my TV. I have processing settings set to "Through" for aspect and resolution set to "Auto". The AVR information says it's converting 240p to 1080p. The picture doens't look as amazing as some of scalers I've seen sample images of, but it's better than the single yellow composite cable.

I also reconfirmed what I previously wasn't able to reproduce, and that is with processing enabled (and it must only be when the AVR is processing video - I think certain signals do not get processed) the on-screen volume does not show up when the volume is changed.
anikun07 is offline  
post #4147 of 4152 Old 02-06-2017, 03:06 AM
Senior Member
 
atledreier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have a problem after I upgraded to 7.0 on my receiver.

I am not getting audio in the rear surround speakers with 5.1 sources. Anything digital that is 5.1 wil cut the sound from my rear surrounds and go to a direct 5.1 decode. With 2.0 sources I get audio in all 7 peakers as expected. My surround mode is "standard", and I have Neo:6 enabled (tried the Pro Logic equivalent too, no change). Is there any way i can make the processor use all 7 speakers with a 5.1 source?

"Unplugging the signal cable is pretty much the ultimate in component isolation. Now if you removed the AC power and it still did it you should look for the little blond girl saying "they're he-re."
atledreier is offline  
post #4148 of 4152 Old 02-06-2017, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by atledreier View Post
I have a problem after I upgraded to 7.0 on my receiver.

I am not getting audio in the rear surround speakers with 5.1 sources. Anything digital that is 5.1 wil cut the sound from my rear surrounds and go to a direct 5.1 decode. With 2.0 sources I get audio in all 7 peakers as expected. My surround mode is "standard", and I have Neo:6 enabled (tried the Pro Logic equivalent too, no change). Is there any way i can make the processor use all 7 speakers with a 5.1 source?

You need to set "Extended Surround" to expand 5.1 to 7.1. (page 51 of the 667 manual). Try setting it to PLIIx Movie mode. The default (Auto) rarely results in 7.1 output (it depends on how the audio track is flagged).
ChromeJob likes this.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #4149 of 4152 Old 02-06-2017, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
atledreier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yesm that did the trick. Such a weird "feature", since I already set it to PLIIx in the surround decode menu. Oh well, it's working as expected now. Thank you!

"Unplugging the signal cable is pretty much the ultimate in component isolation. Now if you removed the AC power and it still did it you should look for the little blond girl saying "they're he-re."
atledreier is offline  
post #4150 of 4152 Old 02-06-2017, 08:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 357
^ I never understood why Yamaha did it that way. They finally changed it on new models and the surround decoder setting now affects both 2 channel and multi-channel sources.
atledreier likes this.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #4151 of 4152 Old Yesterday, 06:49 PM
Member
 
slandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm desperately looking for an honest, educated answer or help please. I am having an issue with watching anything in 4K. See setup please.
HDMI via DTV to 677
HDMI to Sony

The DTV will splash the screen stating my TV does not support 4K. When I take the 677 out of the equation and run the HDMI straight to the TV the 4K works.

From my understanding the newest FW on the 677 should be allowing the 4K to work properly. I might be totally wrong though. Again, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Programming via DTV 4K.
Yamaha RX-V677
Sony XBR65X930D
Focal Chorus line speakers.
slandy is offline  
post #4152 of 4152 Old Today, 06:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 357
^^ Try asking in the 677 thread, this is for the 667 (a much older model).
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha , Yamaha Rx V667 Receiver , Receivers Amplifiers
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off