"Official" Pioneer Elite SC-37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4491 Old 06-23-2010, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jnipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm updating this to include the SC-35. Please note which receiver you are referring to when posting to avoid confusion.

SC-37 Product Sheet

SC-35 Product Sheet

SC-37/35 Owner's Manual

Information on ICEpower

AVS Forum for MCACC

Reviews
http://www.hometheater.com/receivers...7_av_receiver/
Jnipz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4491 Old 06-24-2010, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
patgilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Crofton, MD
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like Pioneer finally gets it with the firmware updates through network. While I haven't needed to perform any updates to my SC-07 since everything works for my needs (even playing music through my 3Gs iphone), it is a nice feature and I would perform updates if mine had it even if it didn't benefit me.

With the Marvell scaler, I wonder if upconversion to 1080p is available from HDMI to HDMI. This doesn't really matter to me but it does help with sales to people that think its important.

I wonder if the on screen display is for volume, inputs, surround mode etc. or if it is the typical GUI that we know of. While many don't like the signal to be touched, coming from a Denon 4308, I welcome it. If I hadn't had the Denon first, I probably wouldn't miss it but once you have it, it is a nice feature.

I'll have to wait and see. I feel that these new features are bigger than the SC-27 features over the SC-07 although I will likely wait a while to get the SC-37 once prices come down since my SC-07 is still more than sufficient for my needs and upgrading would not really benefit me much. However, for others I bet this will be a big benefit.
patgilm is offline  
post #3 of 4491 Old 06-24-2010, 05:48 AM
Member
 
YoMaMa84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was looking at one of these at best buy yesterday. Nice product.
YoMaMa84 is offline  
post #4 of 4491 Old 06-24-2010, 11:46 AM
Member
 
hoganj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by patgilm View Post

Looks like Pioneer finally gets it with the firmware updates through network. While I haven't needed to perform any updates to my SC-07 since everything works for my needs (even playing music through my 3Gs iphone), it is a nice feature and I would perform updates if mine had it even if it didn't benefit me.

With the Marvell scaler, I wonder if upconversion to 1080p is available from HDMI to HDMI. This doesn't really matter to me but it does help with sales to people that think its important.

I wonder if the on screen display is for volume, inputs, surround mode etc. or if it is the typical GUI that we know of. While many don't like the signal to be touched, coming from a Denon 4308, I welcome it. If I hadn't had the Denon first, I probably wouldn't miss it but once you have it, it is a nice feature.

I'll have to wait and see. I feel that these new features are bigger than the SC-27 features over the SC-07 although I will likely wait a while to get the SC-37 once prices come down since my SC-07 is still more than sufficient for my needs and upgrading would not really benefit me much. However, for others I bet this will be a big benefit.

We'll see.

I have a feeling it will be pretty much like the SC-27. Network firmware updates for example: That line in the data sheet is a bullet underneath "Network Entertainment" so it will probably mean HMG updates ONLY, just like the older SCs.

I'll also be surprised if they change their mind and allow any processing of HDMI video. We'll find out in a couple months I guess.

John
hoganj1 is offline  
post #5 of 4491 Old 06-28-2010, 08:57 AM
Member
 
jobu01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm, just noticed it specifies an RF remote...wonder if it will have an IR port for those of us who don't have RF on their Harmony remote
jobu01 is offline  
post #6 of 4491 Old 06-28-2010, 10:08 AM
Member
 
jobu01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jobu01 View Post

Hmmm, just noticed it specifies an RF remote...wonder if it will have an IR port for those of us who don't have RF on their Harmony remote

lol, guess i should have read the manual before posting...it does
jobu01 is offline  
post #7 of 4491 Old 07-03-2010, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,894
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by patgilm View Post

Looks like Pioneer finally gets it with the firmware updates through network. While I haven't needed to perform any updates to my SC-07 since everything works for my needs (even playing music through my 3Gs iphone), it is a nice feature and I would perform updates if mine had it even if it didn't benefit me.

With the Marvell scaler, I wonder if upconversion to 1080p is available from HDMI to HDMI. This doesn't really matter to me but it does help with sales to people that think its important.

I wonder if the on screen display is for volume, inputs, surround mode etc. or if it is the typical GUI that we know of. While many don't like the signal to be touched, coming from a Denon 4308, I welcome it. If I hadn't had the Denon first, I probably wouldn't miss it but once you have it, it is a nice feature.

I'll have to wait and see. I feel that these new features are bigger than the SC-27 features over the SC-07 although I will likely wait a while to get the SC-37 once prices come down since my SC-07 is still more than sufficient for my needs and upgrading would not really benefit me much. However, for others I bet this will be a big benefit.

Pat... If reading the the spec sheet and manual are an indication (and I've compared them to the 27's) the video conversion is finally here for HDMI, including the adjustable parameters.

I don't think there is OSD for volume (except on Pioneer displays) but they've added two new features are just as good, maybe even better..

1. The RF remote with the 37 (not on the 35) is two way, and the display gives you all kinds of information, including volume.

2. You can now use a browser to control the unit, which is another great feature.

3. The iPhone app gives you a ton of information, including input sign info, etc.... while not OSD, it is what I have been waiting for from Pioneer.

In addition, the receiver will pass through an HDMI input to HDMI output when in standby, another great feature I've grown used to with the Yamaha's and Denon's (Onkyo just added it in the last year...)

As far as firmware updates, it looks to be only for the HMG FW.. there is no mention of system updates in the manual.
FilmMixer is online now  
post #8 of 4491 Old 07-03-2010, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
croseiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoMaMa84 View Post

I was looking at one of these at best buy yesterday. Nice product.

Really? The SC-37 hasn't even been released.
croseiv is offline  
post #9 of 4491 Old 07-03-2010, 10:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,417
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 254
I wish pioneer would use individual Xovers and audyssey. There would be no reason for me to even decide if i should get an onkyo or any other receiver. Ever.

home theater addict
saprano is online now  
post #10 of 4491 Old 07-04-2010, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LaoChe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I hope the HDMI connection stays untouched. I don't want ANY processing on my HDMI connections, or at least have the ability to turn the processing off. IMO, upconversion/processing should be done on the source unit. Having the AVR do the processing will most likely introduce input lag for gaming systems. And that is something I DEFINITELY do not want.

And what the hell is up with Pioneer removing the ground prong on their SC receivers after the SC-07? I like that they went to a detachable power cord on the SC-27, but why no ground prong?
LaoChe is offline  
post #11 of 4491 Old 07-04-2010, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,894
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaoChe View Post

I hope the HDMI connection stays untouched. I don't want ANY processing on my HDMI connections, or at least have the ability to turn the processing off. IMO, upconversion/processing should be done on the source unit. Having the AVR do the processing will most likely introduce input lag for gaming systems. And that is something I DEFINITELY do not want.

You can turn it off per input, or as a whole.

What if the QDEO does a better job than the source unit? Wouldn't you want that option?

Having just owned a few AVR's with the ABT 2010 chip, I can tell you that they outperformed both my display and most of the source unit's capabilities, without any noticeable lag.

Processing in any piece of gear (be it the AVR or source unit) requires time, so I don't see that as a valid argument against AVR processing, nor should we assume it would be greater in an AVR vs. the source.
FilmMixer is online now  
post #12 of 4491 Old 07-04-2010, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LaoChe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post

You can turn it off per input, or as a whole.

What if the QDEO does a better job than the source unit? Wouldn't you want that option?

Having just owned a few AVR's with the ABT 2010 chip, I can tell you that they outperformed both my display and most of the source unit's capabilities, without any noticeable lag.

Processing in any piece of gear (be it the AVR or source unit) requires time, so I don't see that as a valid argument against AVR processing, nor should we assume it would be greater in an AVR vs. the source.

If the processing can be turned off, that's fine.
LaoChe is offline  
post #13 of 4491 Old 07-04-2010, 12:16 PM
Member
 
ReDs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

I wish pioneer would use individual Xovers and audyssey. There would be no reason for me to even decide if i should get an onkyo or any other receiver. Ever.

Saprano they may have given one out of two. I pulled this from the list of features. I don't see Pioneer ditching MCACC for Audyssey anytime soon.

›› Advanced MCACC (Auto Room Calibration)

–– Symmetric 9-Band EQ

–– Standing Wave Control

–– Auto Crossover
ReDs is offline  
post #14 of 4491 Old 07-05-2010, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jnipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just found out from a local Pioneer Elite dealer that the SC models will ship on the 17th and they'll have them a week later.
Jnipz is offline  
post #15 of 4491 Old 07-06-2010, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jnipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just talked with a Pioneer rep today and it'll be the end of the month for this model and the other Elites as well. I couldn't get an exact date when I asked.
Jnipz is offline  
post #16 of 4491 Old 07-06-2010, 11:29 PM
Member
 
RezaR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.Cali
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I placed an order on last Thursday and got an email today stating that it will be available the second half of July.
RezaR1 is offline  
post #17 of 4491 Old 07-10-2010, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jnipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does any of the SC models, past or present, use a Toroidal Transformer or an EI Transformer? If not, what would be Pio's reason not to use them?
Jnipz is offline  
post #18 of 4491 Old 07-10-2010, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Perpendicular's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 2,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaoChe View Post

And what the hell is up with Pioneer removing the ground prong on their SC receivers after the SC-07? I like that they went to a detachable power cord on the SC-27, but why no ground prong?

The SC-05 & SC-07 didn't have a 3 prong plug.
It was always 2-prong, in the U.S. anyway.

OPPO BETA GROUP
Perpendicular is offline  
post #19 of 4491 Old 07-10-2010, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Don't know if they use a toriodal or not, but the usual reason to use them is slightly better hum reduction, especially in power amps. Since the Pio's use class-D amps, that is probably not a big deal. In any event, I don't hear any hum out of my SC-27 under any circumstances.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #20 of 4491 Old 07-10-2010, 11:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Geronimo.USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I hope this will calibrate frequencies below 60hz.....Anybody have info on exactly which Marvell chip is in this?

HTPC/Gaming Rig:
Silverstone CW02B, I7 3930K, 16GB, ASUS Rampage IV Formula
EVGA Signature Titan> 70 inch ELITE PRO-70X5FD
Auzen HDMI XFi> 7.2 via Marantz AV8801>Wyred4Sound, & Emotiva Amps>Paradigm 100'sV5, ADP590'sV5, 690v5, 20v5's, + Dual HSU-ULS15 Subs

Controlling: Two CX7000ES's via MyMovies
Geronimo.USMC is offline  
post #21 of 4491 Old 07-11-2010, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
bslep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Royalton, Ohio
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Do you have to power the height/wide speakers with a seperate amp?
bslep is offline  
post #22 of 4491 Old 07-11-2010, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the SC-37 will matrix the surround speakers to the surround back speakers on a DTS-HD MA 5.1 soundtrack.

I currently have a Pioneer Elite VSX-94THX receiver & when playing a DTS-HD MA 5.1 soundtrack it doesn't allow you to use the surround back speakers.

I'm hoping that Pioneer corrected this with their SC receivers. If so I will be placing an order for the SC-37.

I need to know as soon as possible so I can place an order before the 1st batch has been sold out.
marine92104 is offline  
post #23 of 4491 Old 07-11-2010, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post

I'm hoping that Pioneer corrected this with their SC receivers. If so I will be placing an order for the SC-37.

Obviously, too soon to know on the 37, but all current SC models from the 09 to the 27 have the same limitation and I don't know why...

My guess, strictly a WAG, the earlier VSX models may not have enough processing power & maybe they never bothered to update the software.

But I'm with you....it is an annoying limitation, especially on a $7000 flagship! So far as we can tell, the only way to get back surrounds with 5.1 DTS-MA is use THX.

Pioneer NEEDS to fix this, sooner the better, because I know some of the competitive models can do it.

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #24 of 4491 Old 07-11-2010, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,894
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

Obviously, too soon to know on the 37, but all current SC models from the 09 to the 27 have the same limitation and I don't know why...

My guess, strictly a WAG, the earlier VSX models may not have enough processing power & maybe they never bothered to update the software.

But I'm with you....it is an annoying limitation, especially on a $7000 flagship! So far as we can tell, the only way to get back surrounds with 5.1 DTS-MA is use THX.

Pioneer NEEDS to fix this, sooner the better, because I know some of the competitive models can do it.

Steve.. in looking at the Owners Manual for the SC-37, it seems as if nothing has changed... i.e. Straight Decode only for MC source inputs.
FilmMixer is online now  
post #25 of 4491 Old 07-11-2010, 11:43 PM
Senior Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried a Pioneer VSX-9040TXH & it does allow you to matrix DTS-HD MA to 7.1 when bitstreaming.

Why does Pioneer not allow the Elite receivers to do it?

Why would they allow the regular Pioneer receivers to matrix DTS-HD MA to 7.1 when bitstreaming but not the Elite line?

That would be crazy.
marine92104 is offline  
post #26 of 4491 Old 07-12-2010, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,996
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 244
They do allow matrix of DTS-HD MA, but only in THX mode, not in Dolby PL IIx mode. It's not just the limitation of Elite line. I believe all Pio models are like this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #27 of 4491 Old 07-12-2010, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Perpendicular's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 2,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post

I tried a Pioneer VSX-9040TXH & it does allow you to matrix DTS-HD MA to 7.1 when bitstreaming.

Why does Pioneer not allow the Elite receivers to do it?

Why would they allow the regular Pioneer receivers to matrix DTS-HD MA to 7.1 when bitstreaming but not the Elite line?

That would be crazy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

They do allow matrix of DTS-HD MA, but only in THX mode, not in Dolby PL IIx mode. It's not just the limitation of Elite line. I believe all Pio models are like this.

I don't seem to understand...why is this a problem?
Isn't the THX mode good enough for what you are trying to achieve??

OPPO BETA GROUP
Perpendicular is offline  
post #28 of 4491 Old 07-12-2010, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,996
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Most ppl prefer PLIIx over THX. Besides, there is no technical reason what so ever for Pio to lock out almost all DTS codecs from DPL2 processing. There must be some strange reasoning behind this but no one seems to know why. Remember, its top of line SC-09 can't do it either and it is not just DTS-HD MA, other DTS formats are affected as well. So, it is not due to the lack of processing power.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #29 of 4491 Old 07-12-2010, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
avsnoob10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Garden State
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
How does Marvell video processor compare to Anchor Bay ABT-2010? I read on the other Pioneer 2011 AVR thread that SC-09TX has Marvell chip and it was implemented correctly so I am hoping that would be the case for all Elites VSX-32 and up with Marvell video processor.

At least from the product sheet it seems like SC-37 offers some real upgrade in terms of features compared SC-35 (assuming SQ should be the same for the most part on both). I got SC-25 and not sure if it would make sense to upgrade besides some features and 3D support.
avsnoob10 is offline  
post #30 of 4491 Old 07-12-2010, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Perpendicular's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 2,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Most ppl prefer PLIIx over THX. Besides, there is no technical reason what so ever for Pio to lock out almost all DTS codecs from DPL2 processing. There must be some strange reasoning behind this but no one seems to know why. Remember, its top of line SC-09 can't do it either and it is not just DTS-HD MA, other DTS formats are affected as well. So, it is not due to the lack of processing power.

Well...if anything...I'd still rather have and prefer (I use this setting exclusively) the THX mode because it helps to balance the sound and timbre matches all loudspeakers in use.

OPPO BETA GROUP
Perpendicular is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off