Yamaha receiver does not like new cable box? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-25-2010, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kstyv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got cable and now have this problem too; please help.

It's a Motorola DCX3200 hooked up to a Yamaha RX-V663 via toslink.
Originally I was using component (now HDMI) and it was happening so hdmi canceling out is not the reason.
Happens on basically every channel (those broadcasting with 5.1 and also those with just R/L), with no video dropouts.

If I hookup with analog R/L from the cablebox there are no dropouts. Also, if I use the TV speakers; that are getting a signal off the HDMI(digital audio right?)); there are no dropouts.

The input on the RX-v663 was used with dvd player for digital 5.1 surround for years with no dropouts, so that specific input is not a problem.

Seems like some kind of incompatibility between receiver and cablebox?
kstyv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-25-2010, 12:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Apparently you're concerned about audio dropouts?

If the connection is by optical, is the cable box still connected to the TV by HDMI? If so, that can still effect the optical audio. Essentially, cable boxes are crap. Sounds like you'll have to stick with component video and optical audio.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-25-2010, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Easyaspie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstyv View Post

I just got cable and now have this problem too; please help.

It's a Motorola DCX3200 hooked up to a Yamaha RX-V663 via toslink.
Originally I was using component (now HDMI) and it was happening so hdmi canceling out is not the reason.
Happens on basically every channel (those broadcasting with 5.1 and also those with just R/L), with no video dropouts.

If I hookup with analog R/L from the cablebox there are no dropouts. Also, if I use the TV speakers; that are getting a signal off the HDMI(digital audio right?)); there are no dropouts.

The input on the RX-v663 was used with dvd player for digital 5.1 surround for years with no dropouts, so that specific input is not a problem.

Seems like some kind of incompatibility between receiver and cablebox?

When you were using component prior to using HDMI, what were you using for audio? Optical, Digital Coax?
Easyaspie is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-25-2010, 12:32 PM
 
Im2sexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung DVR that has HDMI handshake issues with the 663 so mine is hooked up through component with optical and I never have any audio drop outs.
Im2sexy is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-28-2010, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kstyv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I was using component dropouts were happening with both coax and optical.

Mediacom suggested I try a different box. They swaped it for a Pace DC700x HD. Now I have no dropouts.
kstyv is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-28-2010, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Easyaspie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstyv View Post

When I was using component dropouts were happening with both coax and optical.

Mediacom suggested I try a different box. They swaped it for a Pace DC700x HD. Now I have no dropouts.

You're still using HDMI?
Easyaspie is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-30-2012, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
punisher5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had this same problem for several months. The only workaround I got to work was utilizing the Yamaha's Audio Return Channel feature by hooking the Motorola DVR DCX3200 directly into the television on HDMI 4. The television then outputs the audio on its ARC output through its HDMI 1. For this to work, both the receiver and the TV need to have the ARC function.
punisher5150 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off