Onkyo TX-SR508 Not Passing Video to TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 06-25-2010, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gamecaptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is my setup:

I have my Dell HTPC connected to HDMI IN 1 (BD/DVD)
I have my Comcast Cable box connected to HDMI IN3 (CBL/SAT)
I have my Nintendo Wii connected to HDMI IN 4 (GAME) [via Wii2HDMI]
The Onkyo TX-SR508 HDMI OUT to Samsung HLP6163WX (DLP) TV HDMI IN

Watched a movie one night via the HTPC, turned everything off, went to bed. Next day turned everything back on to watch some TV and I was only getting sound, no video. This was the case for any of the devices/modes (i.e. pressing BD/DVD, CBL/SAT or GAME). Now what is really weird is if I press the setup button on the Onkyo remote to bring up the OSD for the receiver that does work!? It seems to me like it's not passing info along from the other HDMI devices only, which doesn't make sense to me.

I played around with the setting of the receiver and I can't find anything that I can see that would cause this. I also tried unplugging the receiver for a while and plugging it back in and that didn't help.

Anyone have any ideas what would cause this?

Thanks in advance.

Regards.
gamecaptor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 06-25-2010, 11:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gamecaptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I gave a reset a try and still no love. I can still see the OSD from the receiver, but nothing else.

Just to be sure I'm not crazy, I took the Cable Box HDMI cable out of the receiver and plugged it directly into the HDMI IN on the TV and I had picture, so the problem definitely lies in the receiver.

I'm wondering if it's just gone bad (which would suck since I've only had it for about 5 days
gamecaptor is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 06-26-2010, 12:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Try replacing the HDMI cable from receiver to Tv.

Try the other HDMI jacks on the Tv.

Try turning on your equipment in a certain order: Tv first, reciever and then your source
JChin is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 06-26-2010, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gamecaptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Try replacing the HDMI cable from receiver to Tv.

Try the other HDMI jacks on the Tv.

Try turning on your equipment in a certain order: Tv first, reciever and then your source

Swapped out the HDMI cable from the receiver to the TV, no change.

Only have one HDMI OUT on the receiver and one HDMI IN on the TV.

Tried turning on things individually, no change.
gamecaptor is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 07-23-2010, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gamecaptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I'm back with this topic again because I still haven't gotten it resolved and I'm hoping someone will be able to help.

Quick recap, bought a new receiver, plugged it in, worked great for a week, then suddenly no more picture to the TV, but it was still playing the audio fine and the OSD would display on the TV (you can get a little more detailed info in my first post).

Since my last post I have returned that receiver and purchased another one (same model). When I plugged this [new] one in, I am right back where I started. I have audio, the OSD for the receiver will display on the TV, but no picture out.

Here is a series of tests I have performed with the new receiver:

Test 1:
Changed out HDMI cable from Receiver OUT to TV IN.
Result: No change (audio coming from the speakers, but no video on TV, BUT receivers OSD shows on the TV)
NOTE: put back original cable

Test 2:
Changed out HDMI cable from Cable Box to Receiver.
Result: No change (audio coming from the speakers, but no video on TV, BUT receivers OSD shows on the TV)
NOTE: put back original cable

Test 3:
Plugged Cable Box directly into HDMI IN on the TV (bypassing the receiver)
Result: Watching TV (no audio coming from speakers nor does the OSD work as receiver is out of the loop)

Test 4:
Plugged Receiver HDMI OUT into HDMI IN on a DIFFERENT TV (22 LCD taken from another room)
Result: Watching TV and hearing audio from speakers.

So everything points to it being the TV not liking the signal sent over from the receiver. The thing that throws me for a loop is that when I received the first receiver, I had a picture for about a week and then suddenly it stopped. And secondly is that the receivers OSD will show on the TV; I would imagine it would be an all or nothing.

Is it possible that my TV doesn't like HDMI 1.4 (since the TV has the original HDMI)? I've looked over the receiver options and I don't find any settings that I can change that I would think will effect this.

Thanks and regards.
gamecaptor is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 07-24-2010, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
pmalter0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamecaptor View Post

Hello all,

I’m back with this topic again because I still haven’t gotten it resolved and I’m hoping someone will be able to help.

Quick recap, bought a new receiver, plugged it in, worked great for a week, then suddenly no more picture to the TV, but it was still playing the audio fine and the OSD would display on the TV (you can get a little more detailed info in my first post).

Since my last post I have returned that receiver and purchased another one (same model). When I plugged this [new] one in, I am right back where I started. I have audio, the OSD for the receiver will display on the TV, but no picture out.

Here is a series of tests I have performed with the new receiver:

Test 1:
Changed out HDMI cable from Receiver OUT to TV IN.
Result: No change (audio coming from the speakers, but no video on TV, BUT receivers OSD shows on the TV)
NOTE: put back original cable

Test 2:
Changed out HDMI cable from Cable Box to Receiver.
Result: No change (audio coming from the speakers, but no video on TV, BUT receivers OSD shows on the TV)
NOTE: put back original cable

Test 3:
Plugged Cable Box directly into HDMI IN on the TV (bypassing the receiver)
Result: Watching TV (no audio coming from speakers nor does the OSD work as receiver is out of the loop)

Test 4:
Plugged Receiver HDMI OUT into HDMI IN on a DIFFERENT TV (22” LCD taken from another room)
Result: Watching TV and hearing audio from speakers.

So everything points to it being the TV not liking the signal sent over from the receiver. The thing that throws me for a loop is that when I received the first receiver, I had a picture for about a week and then suddenly it stopped. And secondly is that the receivers OSD will show on the TV; I would imagine it would be an all or nothing.

Is it possible that my TV doesn’t like HDMI 1.4 (since the TV has the original HDMI)? I’ve looked over the receiver options and I don’t find any settings that I can change that I would think will effect this.

Thanks and regards.

I have tried two different refurb 508s--and I had a similar issue with both: they won't pass the video from my 3D capable cable box and mess up the video from my HD-DVD. The only video that works fine is from my 3D blu-ray player.
pmalter0 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 07-25-2010, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gamecaptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So did you end up getting a different receiver?
gamecaptor is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 07-25-2010, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
amstel78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you have your HDMI monitor output set for? MAIN, SUB or NO?

If your TV is connected to Main, make sure that SUB or NO aren't selected.

Sorry if you've tried this already, but that's the only thing I can come up with.
amstel78 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 07-25-2010, 08:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gamecaptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Amstel78, thank you for chiming in.

I do not even see that option in my receiver OSD? Where would I find that option?

Regards.
gamecaptor is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 07-25-2010, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by amstel78 View Post

What do you have your HDMI monitor output set for? MAIN, SUB or NO?

If your TV is connected to Main, make sure that SUB or NO aren't selected.

Sorry if you've tried this already, but that's the only thing I can come up with.

The SR508 does not have two HDMI Output, just one.
JChin is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 07-28-2010, 04:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
pmalter0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamecaptor View Post

So did you end up getting a different receiver?

I'm waiting for Onkyo to come up with a solution. Right now "upper management" is on it.
pmalter0 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 07-28-2010, 07:54 PM
Member
 
ratnut12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just thought I'd weigh in. I received this same receiver today and was experiencing identical symptoms which is how I came across this entry. I had just about given up hope and was set to return it when I remembered some similar issues i had with a similar setup. Turns out I needed to turn off Anynet+ on my TV (Samsung UN55B7100) And just like that everything worked as promised.

Anyway, hope that helps.

And I hope they address the bug.
ratnut12 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-20-2013, 09:32 PM
Newbie
 
DeepspaceXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the exact issue. My TV is an LG. Called Support but they said I have to take my receiver into a service center..

Is this something I can fix myself?
DeepspaceXX is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Sr508 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off