New Onkyo TX-NR5008 & TX-NR3008 - Page 291 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8701 of 8712 Old 03-11-2015, 01:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,409
Mentioned: 218 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10988 Post(s)
Liked: 5088
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Maiden View Post
Feeding my 3008 with an Oppo 103. Tried putting in Dark Side of the Moon SACD tonight, no sound. Flashes the hdmi input then goes to analog and no sound. If I set the Oppo to output auto/pcm, then I get sound. I had it set to output DSD before and no problems. What am I missing here?
AFAIK, DSD bitstream only works on HDMI 2 on 103 as opposed to either output on 103D.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8702 of 8712 Old 03-11-2015, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Thanks, I will see if that is it.

60" Panasonic Plasma ~ BenQ HT1075 / 92" Screen~Onkyo TX-NR3008(Pre/Pro)
Earthquake Cinenova Grande Amplifier ~ Oppo BDP-103 ~ Xbox One & PS4
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC ~ Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Energy Veritas V2.3i (mains)~Veritas V2.4i (Front Wides)~Veritas V2.2i (center)
Energy Veritas V2.1 & CAT Tiburons(Surr)~Subs: 2 FTW-21's~Fp10000q clone/2x4dsp
Iron Maiden is offline  
post #8703 of 8712 Old 10-26-2015, 10:33 AM
Member
 
JBHorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Issue with Composite and Component --> HDMI

Hi everyone,

I have a TX-NR5008 and am having an issue with converting Composite or Component to HDMI output. All of my other sources are HDMI, so I currently don't have any component/composite devices. I picked up a wii cheap for the kids and am having an issue getting to to output over HDMI. The Onkyo manual states this is possible, but it won't work with any settings I try. I can connect the Wii just fine via composite or component directly to the TV. Then I tried using the composite inputs on the front (AUX) and I get sound but blue screen. OSD menus work. Connecting component to the GAME inputs and setting the mapping to IN3, same issue. I've tried with both the 480i and 480p settings in the Wii.

This unit has had the HDMI board replaced twice already. Is this a sign that it's failing again? I wouldn't think the HDMI board handled the conversion (would think that would be a separate video processor), but I'm at a loss here.

I've ordered an HDMI converter for the Wii, so hopefully that will be an ok workaround, but I'd still like to fix the issue.

Any ideas are greatly appreciated! Thanks!
JBHorne is offline  
post #8704 of 8712 Old 08-02-2016, 05:34 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My 3008 just died again. This time, I have the no audio issue and no network connection. Thank God Onkyo extended the warranty. I'm thinking of getting the Denon X6300W when it comes out. Has anyone with a 3008/5008 experienced the loss of audio problem with a receiver that has been repaired in 2016?
valero_r is offline  
post #8705 of 8712 Old 08-09-2016, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 196
I have the 3008 as well. I bought it used. It had just came back from having the HDMI repair done. I knew it was a gamble, but for $500 I jumped on it as I wanted to try some new speaker setups. Mainly front wide channels.
Knowing the big issue with these receivers is the HDMI board getting cooked(at least what I have read) I have always used my Parasound Z-Breeze over the top of the HDMI board. Think have had the receiver for a couple years now and no issues and the unit stays nice and cool. I also don't keep my gear in an enclosed rack or cabinetry. The receiver sits in open air with nothing above it, just the Z-Breeze. Fingers crossed I never have issues as I'm not ready to replace it!!!!
Good luck with yours.

60" Panasonic Plasma ~ BenQ HT1075 / 92" Screen~Onkyo TX-NR3008(Pre/Pro)
Earthquake Cinenova Grande Amplifier ~ Oppo BDP-103 ~ Xbox One & PS4
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC ~ Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Energy Veritas V2.3i (mains)~Veritas V2.4i (Front Wides)~Veritas V2.2i (center)
Energy Veritas V2.1 & CAT Tiburons(Surr)~Subs: 2 FTW-21's~Fp10000q clone/2x4dsp
Iron Maiden is offline  
post #8706 of 8712 Old 08-09-2016, 12:00 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Maiden View Post
I have the 3008 as well. I bought it used. It had just came back from having the HDMI repair done. I knew it was a gamble, but for $500 I jumped on it as I wanted to try some new speaker setups. Mainly front wide channels.
Knowing the big issue with these receivers is the HDMI board getting cooked(at least what I have read) I have always used my Parasound Z-Breeze over the top of the HDMI board. Think have had the receiver for a couple years now and no issues and the unit stays nice and cool. I also don't keep my gear in an enclosed rack or cabinetry. The receiver sits in open air with nothing above it, just the Z-Breeze. Fingers crossed I never have issues as I'm not ready to replace it!!!!
Good luck with yours.
Thanks for the reply. Onkyo sent me the packing materials, and I should be getting them tomorrow. I keep my 3008 in a open metal/glass rack/stand, and I use a pair of ~7" fans on top of the receiver. When I get my new receiver, my 3008 will replace my 807 as my secondary/backup receiver.
valero_r is offline  
post #8707 of 8712 Old 09-04-2016, 05:13 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm not sure what the proper term is, but I'm trying to make my 3008 put out an "up-converted" simulated surround sound from a stereo source (PS4 and PC). I just got my receiver back from repair, and now it will not put out simulated surround sound no matter which sound mode it's in. I'm pretty sure I wasn't having this problem before it was sent in. Sound only comes out of L/R channels even if the front panel says all of the speakers are in use. All audio and video is being sent to the receiver via HDMI cables from my PC and PS4.

I know that my speakers (9.2 no wides) are all working since I hear pink noise when checking the speakers in the "Level Calibration" menu. I also hear sound from the center channel when I'm able to provide a 5.1 source (BD/DVD/NetFlix). If it matters, yes, I have run the Audyssey setup.

If I am forgetting to adjust a menu item on the 3008 or PS4, please point it out. Unfortunately, I can't remember how to set this up.

Thanks!
valero_r is offline  
post #8708 of 8712 Old 09-28-2016, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by valero_r View Post
I'm not sure what the proper term is, but I'm trying to make my 3008 put out an "up-converted" simulated surround sound from a stereo source (PS4 and PC). I just got my receiver back from repair, and now it will not put out simulated surround sound no matter which sound mode it's in. I'm pretty sure I wasn't having this problem before it was sent in. Sound only comes out of L/R channels even if the front panel says all of the speakers are in use. All audio and video is being sent to the receiver via HDMI cables from my PC and PS4.

I know that my speakers (9.2 no wides) are all working since I hear pink noise when checking the speakers in the "Level Calibration" menu. I also hear sound from the center channel when I'm able to provide a 5.1 source (BD/DVD/NetFlix). If it matters, yes, I have run the Audyssey setup.

If I am forgetting to adjust a menu item on the 3008 or PS4, please point it out. Unfortunately, I can't remember how to set this up.

Thanks!


Did you call them? Get it fixed? I run Audyssey DSX for pretty much everything except music. I run 5 front speakers(wides) and 4 rear. Not sure if I will ever try the height speakers as I may just move on to Atmos.
Hope you got it fixed.

60" Panasonic Plasma ~ BenQ HT1075 / 92" Screen~Onkyo TX-NR3008(Pre/Pro)
Earthquake Cinenova Grande Amplifier ~ Oppo BDP-103 ~ Xbox One & PS4
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC ~ Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Energy Veritas V2.3i (mains)~Veritas V2.4i (Front Wides)~Veritas V2.2i (center)
Energy Veritas V2.1 & CAT Tiburons(Surr)~Subs: 2 FTW-21's~Fp10000q clone/2x4dsp
Iron Maiden is offline  
post #8709 of 8712 Old 09-28-2016, 05:05 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Maiden View Post
Did you call them? Get it fixed? I run Audyssey DSX for pretty much everything except music. I run 5 front speakers(wides) and 4 rear. Not sure if I will ever try the height speakers as I may just move on to Atmos.
Hope you got it fixed.
The problem isn't really fixed, but I found a way to make it work. I called Onkyo tech support, and the tech said that my DSP chip appeared to be malfunctioning. I sent it back a third time, and it came back better than before. Audio from my media players is separated into multiple channels, but audio from YouTube is still Stereo (L&R only)...and this is from the same computer. Non-5.1 movies on Netflix (PS4) also play in stereo only. I hooked up my PS3 slim to my 3008, and stereo movies (same movie) now have "surround" sound. I know I'm just being picky, but I want the majority of the dialogue to come from the center channel...so I guess I'll keep the PS3 hooked up. I also tried switching to different HDMI ports on the back of the 3008.

A new Denon receiver is looking more tempting every day.

EDIT: I also tried switching HDMI cables--no change.

Last edited by valero_r; 09-28-2016 at 05:11 PM.
valero_r is offline  
post #8710 of 8712 Old 10-05-2016, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
d3193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Control via HDMI

I've recently purchased an LG OLED TV whose remote can control the Onkyo via HDMI. This is convenient except that it always turns the Onkyo on to its number 1 input, which is where I have my PS3 connected (it also turns on the PS3).

Is there some way to have the Onkyo start with a different input (e.g. Cable/Sat)? I cannot find anything in the menus.
d3193 is offline  
post #8711 of 8712 Old 10-21-2016, 01:26 PM
Member
 
JBHorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Onkyo has to be the WORST company in the AV business. After installing hundreds of their AVRs and other products, I will NEVER buy from them again. I have had nothing but problems with my TX-NR5008. It has been into service several times already for the same issue -- the audio dropout issue. Last service was done in April. Now, the issue is occurring again. Onkyo Customer Care will not repair the unit stating that since it was already repaired once, the issue "has to have been fixed". Apparently they removed a chip that was causing the issue, and since that chip is no longer there, it's "impossible" for the issue to be still occurring.

If you are not familiar, Onkyo extended the warranty for these units due to this issue (see http://www.onkyousa.com/Support/service_info.php). Within this bulletin it states, "As part of this program we are also extending our standard limited warranty period to cover this issue for affected receivers through December 31, 2018. All other terms, conditions and limitations of the original limited warranty shall continue to apply for the duration of the original standard limited warranty."

The rep flat out stated that they did NOT extend the warranty and will only cover the first repair. Where does it state this within their notice? It's BS and I'll fight this until the end.

Same issue = not fixed.
JBHorne is offline  
post #8712 of 8712 Old 10-21-2016, 05:58 PM
Member
 
valero_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's odd. When I got my 3008 repaired again (~1 mo. ago) for the same problem, they didn't have a problem repairing it under the extended warranty. I don't remember who I spoke to, but I would call back, and hopefully you can talk to a different person in tech support. Good luck. If my 3008's sound dies again, I'll probably end up getting the Denon 6300.
valero_r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off