Marantz SR5005 / Marantz SR6005 HDMI V1.4 ABT AV Receiver Owners' Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 763 Old 04-06-2012, 07:50 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
^^
This issue pops up from time to time on both Denon and Marantz models, generally resolved at a repair facility.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 763 Old 04-07-2012, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
jefny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Panasonic 85K bluray player that is direct connected to an overhead projector for 1080p video and 8 analog cables to a Marantz SR5005 for hi def audio. I tried going through the Marantz for video but the distance is too great for an HDMI cable (35 feet) and I was losing signal. When I went directly from the player to the video with the same 35 foot player the signal is fine.

I picked up the Panasonic 310 with 2 hdmi outs. I can run a 25 foot cable to my projector for 1080p and a 15 foot hdmi cable to the Marantz for hi def sound. I am told I should get superior sound as opposed to using analog cable (8) to the Marantz.

I want to run these two bluray players into the Marantz, the 85K using 8 analog ins and the 310 using hdmi in so I can compare the sound of each. In each case the hdmi goes to the projector which has two hdmi inputs. Can this be done.

John
jefny is offline  
post #633 of 763 Old 04-07-2012, 06:37 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
^^
Sure. No different than connecting any other two sources, although you'll also want to try an optical cable from the 85K as you likely get better results as using the multi channel analog disables Audyssey.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #634 of 763 Old 04-07-2012, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
jefny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Sure. No different than connecting any other two sources, although you'll also want to try an optical cable from the 85K as you likely get better results as using the multi channel analog disables Audyssey.

Thanks for the response. I initially used the analog connection to get hi def audio (using the players audio processing) though I understand that this doesn't use the Marantz audio processing.

I will go ahead and set up the second player and run a side by side comparison.
I still have to figure the menu set up on the Marantz to do this. Perhaps call the second blu ray player satellite (I don't have one).
John
jefny is offline  
post #635 of 763 Old 04-08-2012, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
jefny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefny View Post

Thanks for the response. I initially used the analog connection to get hi def audio (using the players audio processing) though I understand that this doesn't use the Marantz audio processing.

I will go ahead and set up the second player and run a side by side comparison.
I still have to figure the menu set up on the Marantz to do this. Perhaps call the second blu ray player satellite (I don't have one).
John

I was able to install the new bluray (Panasonic 310) with 2 hdmi out whereby I am using hdmi to my Marantz in lieu of 7.1 analog. The result is a noticeable improvement in sound quality using the hdmi which uses the Marantz for processing instead of the player.

John
jefny is offline  
post #636 of 763 Old 04-09-2012, 09:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

any other result would have been surprising...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #637 of 763 Old 04-11-2012, 01:06 PM
Member
 
nynexit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to know which subwoofer any owners of a SR6005 have or could recommend. There are just so many to choose from. Thanks!
nynexit is offline  
post #638 of 763 Old 04-17-2012, 05:14 AM
Member
 
greddy09sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I looked at this amp about 6 months ago and it was going for around $600. Now it's over $1000 again. My brother bought one then, I should have grabbed one. I wonder why it went back up?
greddy09sc is offline  
post #639 of 763 Old 04-19-2012, 04:16 PM
Newbie
 
nhsice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone,

I am new here and I have a question to ask. I am trying to connect two subs to my marantz sr5005 with a y-splitter rca cable.

Will it makes any differences if one sub has a lef/right and the other has a lef/left? Will it work even both lef is in different channels?
nhsice is offline  
post #640 of 763 Old 04-19-2012, 04:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
^^
Not sure what a "lef/left" is but just connect one of the two split cables into each of the "L" only inputs on each sub.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #641 of 763 Old 04-19-2012, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
nhsice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry I misspelling the lfe with lef.

I have two subs which one is from martin logan and the other is from klipsch.

The klipsch has a lfe-in from the left.

The martin logan has a lfe-in from the right.

I just connected the 2 subs according to their lef-in channel and all I hear was noise coming out of the subwoofers.

I turned off the receiver and unplug one rca cable from the y-splitter but theirs no bass. However, if I unplug the y-splitter, there is bass.

Can it be a bad adapter? I just purchased that adapter today too.

Once again, thanks for the help.
nhsice is offline  
post #642 of 763 Old 04-19-2012, 04:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

from the sub out preout, connect the y-splitter... connect from the y-splitter to the lfe in on both aubs...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #643 of 763 Old 04-19-2012, 05:14 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhsice View Post

Sorry I misspelling the lfe with lef.

I have two subs which one is from martin logan and the other is from klipsch.

The klipsch has a lfe-in from the left.

The martin logan has a lfe-in from the right.

I just connected the 2 subs according to their lef-in channel and all I hear was noise coming out of the subwoofers.

I turned off the receiver and unplug one rca cable from the y-splitter but theirs no bass. However, if I unplug the y-splitter, there is bass.

Can it be a bad adapter? I just purchased that adapter today too.

Once again, thanks for the help.

Your description is a bit confusing. With both subs powered on, and the "Y" ends connected to the LFE inputs as Chris notes, pull the cable from the AVR sub preout and rub your finger over it. Do you hear static coming from both subs? If yes, then there's no issue with either the subs or the cable. If not the issue lies with one or the other.

Additionally, on the Martin Logan, make the following settings:

Crossover: Bypass
Phase: 0 degrees
Low Pass Filter: 200hz (max)
Level: 12 o'clock

with similar settings on the Klipsch.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #644 of 763 Old 04-19-2012, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
nhsice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sure have re-read it for confusion and I am sorry for all the confused sentence.

Thanks for the advice Chris.

What I meant was when I connected the two subs to their lfe-in and the Y-male connected to the sub pre-out of the receiver. All I hear was noise.

Next step, I remove one rca cable from the y-splitter female side and only have one sub connected. I don't bass or noise.

Next, I remove the y-splitter and just connected one regular rca cable from the receiver pre-out to the sub lfe-in and the bass works.

Thanks again for all the help. I will try what you have suggested Chris by connected the 2 subs to the y-splitter and rub my finger over it to see if I hear noise.
nhsice is offline  
post #645 of 763 Old 04-23-2012, 02:24 PM
Newbie
 
nhsice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem is solved, thanks for the help. The y-cable was not fully inserted I think. Now, Just have to re-arrange the 2 subs for good bass.

I do have a question regarding a sub with 100W rms and 200W rms. What level will you like set for both sub. Should I set the 200W to a quarter and leave the other one at Half leveled?
nhsice is offline  
post #646 of 763 Old 04-23-2012, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhsice View Post

I do have a question regarding a sub with 100W rms and 200W rms. What level will you like set for both sub. Should I set the 200W to a quarter and leave the other one at Half leveled?

I would connect one at a time and run Audyssey until you have both set at the same level. Somewhere around 0 or above. I think I got mine set to +2.5 (or so) and ended up around -6 after connecting both.
Charles R is offline  
post #647 of 763 Old 05-04-2012, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
nhsice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wonder if any of you people are using a DAC in between your source and the marantz and do you notice any in sound improvement? Sources like media players.

I am interesting in purchasing a DAC.
nhsice is offline  
post #648 of 763 Old 05-04-2012, 10:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
^^
In order to use Audyssey you'd still have to use the DAC in the AVR anyway, so as others have found, much better audio quality using Audyssey rather than using an external DAC or one in the source (eg. Oppo).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #649 of 763 Old 05-04-2012, 02:51 PM
Member
 
red_5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhsice View Post

Wonder if any of you people are using a DAC in between your source and the marantz and do you notice any in sound improvement? Sources like media players.

I am interesting in purchasing a DAC.

I have a DAC hooked up to my AV7005. As good as the AV7005 already is in Pure Direct - and so is the 6005 for that matter which I have in a 2nd setup - I felt the DAC helped things out in the vocal range which is where I think this line of Marantz sounds a bit thin, but it wasn't enough that I don't bother to use DAC.

Defeat of Deduct must go over Defense before Detail does.
red_5ive is offline  
post #650 of 763 Old 05-07-2012, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
herunr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all.
This is my first post in avs. This thread convinced me to purchase the Marantz sr 5005. One characteristic that is different from threads of other avrs is how almost all of you discuss its sound quality, instead of its features. And I have to agree. This avr is by far the best sounding I've had in a very long time, coming from teac pro logic, harman kardon avr 200 and yamaha vs10 home theater in a box. And I'm having a blast using it in a bi-amp config. Lack of networking, flac, and other contemporary tech will be easily mitigated by getting a decent blu-ray player with that kind of support

I decided to forgo the sr 5006 even when it was available at the same store solely because the newer unit does not have multi-channel pre-out, and it was more expensive.

One frustrating problem I had was that my 5005 cannot handshake with my LG BP 620 blu ray player. I did every permutation of power-up sequence and tried different hdmi cables to no avail. I eventually buy another blu-ray player, a bare-bone, dirt-cheap LG BP 120. And it worked like a charm. For all of you out there, I hope you've never come across HDMI handshake problems with any of your device. Few things are more vexing than to excitedly get home and install your equipment and find that it does not work.

I just hope I'll never come across that dreaded pop of death issue.
herunr is offline  
post #651 of 763 Old 05-13-2012, 01:00 PM
Member
 
snowx800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking at 5005 or a 6005
Any big differences in the two?
How hot do they run ?
Are the 5006 and 6006 any better just did not like the port hole?
snowx800 is offline  
post #652 of 763 Old 05-17-2012, 12:00 PM
Member
 
snowx800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowx800 View Post

I'm looking at 5005 or a 6005
Any big differences in the two?
How hot do they run ?
Are the 5006 and 6006 any better just did not like the port hole?

Anyone?
snowx800 is offline  
post #653 of 763 Old 05-23-2012, 10:00 AM
Newbie
 
nhsice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone,

Thanks for the help on my previous post.

I have another question regarding distance cables run and female-to-female for cable extension.

Is this ok with signal sending from the amp? Or I will suffer lots or less of signal loss? And will this degrade the subwoofer bass?

I already have a 15 fts cable but it is glued to the wall and I don't want to rip it out and get a long cable. I have order a 12fts cable from monoprice and returning it will be a hassle since it is shipped from US to Canada.

Thanks all,

Nhsice
nhsice is offline  
post #654 of 763 Old 05-28-2012, 09:55 PM
Member
 
nynexit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey gang, I've got an SR6005. I'd like to use a record player for my LP's. Do I need some sort of Orr amp or can I just plug it into one of the other inputs? Thanks !

(new to the vinyl thing)
nynexit is offline  
post #655 of 763 Old 05-29-2012, 03:07 AM
Newbie
 
herunr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowx800 View Post

I'm looking at 5005 or a 6005
Any big differences in the two?
How hot do they run ?
Are the 5006 and 6006 any better just did not like the port hole?

the difference i saw is that the 6005 has a better onscreen menu, overlaid over the pic during play, and 10 watt per channel advantage. the 5005 i have does not run hot at all. noticeably warm though.
herunr is offline  
post #656 of 763 Old 05-29-2012, 03:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Quote:
Originally Posted by nynexit View Post

Hey gang, I've got an SR6005. I'd like to use a record player for my LP's. Do I need some sort of Orr amp or can I just plug it into one of the other inputs? Thanks !

(new to the vinyl thing)

The 6005 doesn't have a dedicated PHONO input so unless the record player comes with it's own pre-amp, you'll need to add a phono pre-amp similar to this one before plugging into any of the analog inputs on the 6005.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #657 of 763 Old 06-07-2012, 02:15 PM
Newbie
 
nhsice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

I don't know if I should start a new thread regarding the issue I am having currently but I rather keep it here.

I am encounter an odd issue with volume on my sr5005. Whenever, I increase the volume on the knob or from the remote control, the db shows on the screen will go from -80 to -70 then back to -75.

I have reset the processor but it is not helping me. I want to ask if any of you guys have the same thing happened to you?
nhsice is offline  
post #658 of 763 Old 06-07-2012, 02:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,005
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 351 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
^^
So you're saying you rotate the volume knob from -80db to -70db ... stop at -70db and the volume display returns to -75db? Does this happen at volumes where you can actually hear something?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #659 of 763 Old 06-07-2012, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
nhsice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
So you're saying you rotate the volume knob from -80db to -70db ... stop at -70db and the volume display returns to -75db? Does this happen at volumes where you can actually hear something?

No, this does not happen at all when I turn the knob from -80 to -79 ( this is when I can hear something). The odd thing is 25% of the time it does not exhibit the problem and the 75% it does. Even, it is from -70 to -60 then it revert to -63.
nhsice is offline  
post #660 of 763 Old 06-07-2012, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
nhsice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry I forgot to include this. If I keep rotating the knob, it exhibit the same symptom. Let says if I want it to be -60 for my reference listening. the volume will display -70 then -73 when I keep turning the knob clockwise. It also does it on the volume from the remote control.
nhsice is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5005 Audio Video Receiver Black , Marantz Sr6005 Audio Video Receiver Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off