Marantz SR5005 / Marantz SR6005 HDMI V1.4 ABT AV Receiver Owners' Thread - Page 27 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2014, 02:42 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
There are 4 versions of Audyssey: 2EQ, MultEQ, MultEQ XT, and MultEQ XT32

The 5005 uses MultEQ which hasn't changed how it processes the sub since inception, although as there is only (1) sub pre-out a moot point re: 2 subs anyway. The higher level models that have MultEQ XT32 also have dual sub pre-outs and can use a feature called Sub EQ HT which is able to handle dual subs separately, but only the SR7008, SR7009, and AV8801 currently have that feature.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2014, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
There are 4 versions of Audyssey: 2EQ, MultEQ, MultEQ XT, and MultEQ XT32

The 5005 uses MultEQ which hasn't changed how it processes the sub since inception, although as there is only (1) sub pre-out a moot point re: 2 subs anyway. The higher level models that have MultEQ XT32 also have dual sub pre-outs and can use a feature called Sub EQ HT which is able to handle dual subs separately, but only the SR7008, SR7009, and AV8801 currently have that feature.
Thanks, that helps me understand Audyssey better. I guess at least I can be happy the SR5005 doesn't have the first generation of it, 2EQ.
NetTechie is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 03:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
Not really a generation thing as 2EQ, MultEQ, and MultEQ XT were all introduced about 9 years ago at the same time, while XT32 and Sub EQ HT were first introduced in 2011. The lower models "NR" series continue to use MultEQ while the lower "SR" series (eg. SR5009) use the next level up MultEQ XT.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 09-11-2014, 02:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Well, after several days using the SR5005 I think I've decided it has too much bass with my speakers. With or without Audyssey it seems to be overpowering on the bass. I'd turn down the sub, but it's mainly coming out of the speakers, the sub isn't where I'm hearing the bass so much. Any suggestions?
NetTechie is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 02:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
Raise the crossover settings on the speakers to a higher setting.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 09-11-2014, 02:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I've tried raising it to 80hz, but above that I'll have to turn the crossover on the sub down from 110hz to 80 or it will probably introduce distortion. I guess I could set the knob on the sub at 80, and set the receiver higher, though then everything between what I have the receiver set to and the sub set to will be lost. Is this what you were suggesting? The sub is 12 inch, so it distorts at higher frequencies (even at low volume I think).
NetTechie is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 03:01 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
It? The crossover setting is applied to each speaker pair. All speakers at a minimum should be set to at least SMALL/80Hz. If the sub is distorting above 80Hz, then set it's LPF to 80Hz.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 09-11-2014, 03:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Yup, I have them set to small 80hz, the Audyssey setup had them set to large/40hz I think. So just to confirm, set the LPF on the sub lower than the signal being sent to it. In so doing, lose the frequencies not sent the the speakers, and filtered out by the sub. Is this correct?
NetTechie is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 03:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
If your sub is distorting > 80Hz, then yes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 09-11-2014, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetTechie View Post
Well, after several days using the SR5005 I think I've decided it has too much bass with my speakers. With or without Audyssey it seems to be overpowering on the bass. I'd turn down the sub, but it's mainly coming out of the speakers, the sub isn't where I'm hearing the bass so much. Any suggestions?
I've owned a SR5005 since its inception and use it with a !5" Velodyne sub. The only time I might think I have too much bass is if the sub's volume is set too high. What's your's set at? Did you try simply turning it down?

Also, have you looked at the FAQ in the Audyssey forum in AVS? There's a whole section on how to set a sub prior to running Audyssey.

Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is online now  
Old 09-12-2014, 10:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Well, I seemed to have tamed the bass a bit. I turned the channel level on sw to -5, and used tone control to reduce the bass by -4db and that seemed to have helped.
NetTechie is offline  
Old 09-13-2014, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetTechie View Post
Well, after several days using the SR5005 I think I've decided it has too much bass with my speakers. With or without Audyssey it seems to be overpowering on the bass. I'd turn down the sub, but it's mainly coming out of the speakers, the sub isn't where I'm hearing the bass so much. Any suggestions?
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetTechie View Post
Well, I seemed to have tamed the bass a bit. I turned the channel level on sw to -5, and used tone control to reduce the bass by -4db and that seemed to have helped.
Sorry if I missed this but what volume do you have the sub set at?

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is online now  
Old 09-18-2014, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 1
The problem was all the frequencies sounded like loudness was left on (though it was not, and dynamic eq was off as well). Even if I shut off the sub it still sounded over saturated or something. I sold it.
NetTechie is offline  
Old 10-22-2014, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Patrick1229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Sr 5005 and audyssey

Ive had my sr 5005 for a few years (you can see my posts in this very thread.) This being my first ht system, i was in awe. I upgraded my speakers along the way, and and rocking a pretty modest but effective setup. Def tech all around with a ed a2300 sub.

I have been super happy with my system, but noticed some issues along the way that bothered me. Dolby digital content seemed to have a muffled center channel dialogue. Also found myself always switching dynamic volume on and off or adjusting the center channel all the way up to +12 db.

I visited my father in law who rocks deftech all around, and a pioneer avr. Well i was very taken a back with how open and "airy" the upper frequency range sounded.

Well i did some digging and saw lots of threads complaining about how audyssey set the center channels uppee frequency too low. So i switched audyssey off, and adjusted the eq of each speaker myself.

Result? I was floored. Feel like i have a brand new receiver. Im getting so much more detail and sound information that was missing. The bass is no longer heavy handed. No knock on audyssey as i know it works for lots of folks, but i followed every set up recommendation and it just didnt work out.

I hope this helps someone.... In the end.. DONT BE AFRAID TO MANUALLY ADJUST THE EQ OF EACH CHANNEL!
Patrick1229 is offline  
Old 12-11-2014, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Vader2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Another SR6005 question. Apologies if this has already been answered somewhere before.

Can the SR6005 receive a Dolby Digital signal over HDMI and simultaneously send it back out over the Optical Out port?

As to why I'm asking this, I currently have my Xbox 360 hooked to the receiver using both an HDMI cable and an Optical cable. When I'm going to chat on a game using my Astro Mixamp, I switch the input mode from Auto to Digital. This allows me to pipe the Dolby Digital signal coming in from the Xbox via optical back out of the receiver, using the Optical Out port, and to the Mixamp. What I'm wondering is if it's possible to remove the optical cable from the Xbox all together and only pipe the video and audio to the receiver via HDMI, but continue to send that Dolby Digital stream out via Optical Out port to my Mixamp as needed?

Thanks!
Vader2000 is offline  
Old 12-11-2014, 05:18 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
No. AVRs don't do HDMI--> optical down mixing, rather you would need to keep OPT IN --> OPT OUT, or use a 3rd party HDMI---> Optical converter.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 12-11-2014, 06:10 PM
Member
 
Vader2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bummer. Thanks for the help!
Vader2000 is offline  
Old 01-01-2015, 01:34 PM
Newbie
 
Laube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello folks!

I'm facing a problem with my SR5005.

I'm using an old karaoke equipment which gives me SD image only on front aux input. I'm trying to use it with my receiver and my projector (PTAE8000) and I only have a messy image. It seems the upscaling isn't working properly, but I don't know what to do.

I tested other equipment through composite cable and worked fine. The karaoke equipment works on other tvs too.

Anyone has some clues?

Laube
Laube is offline  
Old 01-01-2015, 01:38 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
Ensure the Karaoke machine is outputting standard TV resolution.
Laube likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 01-01-2015, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
Laube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Ensure the Karaoke machine is outputting standard TV resolution.
How can I discover this?
Laube is offline  
Old 01-01-2015, 06:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
Check the Karaoke Owner's manual for video resolution settings.
Laube likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 01-02-2015, 05:03 AM
Newbie
 
Laube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Check the Karaoke Owner's manual for video resolution settings.
Oh, thanks, but the karaoke is pretty old, I can't find its owner's manual on internet and mine was bought without it.
Laube is offline  
Old 01-02-2015, 05:09 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
You could try changing the Video - Resolution setting (p. 49 Owner's manual) to something other than "Auto." Also try the composite video inputs on the back panel. If still no joy, you'll likely have to connect the Karaoke machine directly to the display if that works without any issue.
Laube likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 01-02-2015, 07:36 AM
Newbie
 
Laube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
You could try changing the Video - Resolution setting (p. 49 Owner's manual) to something other than "Auto." Also try the composite video inputs on the back panel. If still no joy, you'll likely have to connect the Karaoke machine directly to the display if that works without any issue.
The back panel connections don't show any sign. I already connected directly to a TV and works properly. The problem seems to with my receiver or projector.

I just requested the owner's manual to the manufacture and they send me a couple of minutes ago. It says 1vp-p 75 ohm unbalanced (NTSC).
Laube is offline  
Old 01-04-2015, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
DeadOhioSky39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've searched around and haven't really found anything so maybe you guys can help. I bought a smart tv and turned HDMI control on the receiver on. I've got the HDMI cable plugged into the ARC hdmi port and when i go to netflix on the tv, the receiver automatically switches off of the cable input and starts playing netflix audio. I've noticed that when I enable HDMI Control that it leaves the receiver in standby mode when you turn everything off. This would be fine but i've noticed a few times that in the morning or after I come home from work that the receiver is on. Does anyone have any idea what would cause it to turn itself on like that? Thanks for any help you can give me. I've resorted to turning it off at this point and running an optical cable from the tv back to the receiver until I can figure out what's going on. Ive never used any of these features before so I could just be running in circles.

Cliff Notes: Receiver turns itself on when HDMI Control/Standby mode is enabled.

SR6005
DeadOhioSky39 is offline  
Old 01-05-2015, 02:34 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,960
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked: 1894
^^
Try doing a soft reset by unplugging the AVR power cord for 10 minutes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Old 01-06-2015, 04:35 PM
Newbie
 
DeadOhioSky39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, that did't work yesterday but I unplugged the entire surge protector today and everything seems to be working fine now. I was having all sorts of HDMI syncing issues as well where it wouldn't recognize that my laptop was plugged in no matter what I did. Anyways, It's working now so I'm not even going to mess with trying to get the HDMI control stuff or ARC to work again. I'll just stick with using multiple remotes for now and switching the receiver input manually when using tv apps. Thanks for the suggestion JDSmoothie
DeadOhioSky39 is offline  
Old 01-08-2015, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadOhioSky39 View Post
Hmm, that did't work yesterday but I unplugged the entire surge protector today and everything seems to be working fine now. I was having all sorts of HDMI syncing issues as well where it wouldn't recognize that my laptop was plugged in no matter what I did. Anyways, It's working now so I'm not even going to mess with trying to get the HDMI control stuff or ARC to work again. I'll just stick with using multiple remotes for now and switching the receiver input manually when using tv apps. Thanks for the suggestion JDSmoothie
I just read your question: When the receiver was in standby, did you have any programs scheduled for recording off cable? Just a wild guess, but maybe the DVR activating would trigger HDMI and turn the receiver on. I vaguely remember mine doing something like that way back when.


Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is online now  
Old 01-08-2015, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
DeadOhioSky39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scott,

I hadn't considered that. It makes sense except that the cable box is on all of the time. I suppose it could still be doing something when a recording starts though. The receiver has not turned itself on yet ever since I turned the HDMI control stuff off. If the cable box is what was doing it then I can't really think of a way around it. It was nice being able to just hit the netflix button the tv remote and the receiver switching inputs on its own and using the tv remote volume buttons. I may need to just suck it up and go get a Harmony remote or something.
DeadOhioSky39 is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 07:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 79
You might look at the settings in the cable box then. See if there's an HDMI control there. You could turn it off, turn the receiver's HDMI Control back on, see what happens. Again, this is just a wild guess...

Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is online now  
 

Tags
Marantz Sr5005 Audio Video Receiver Black , Marantz Sr6005 Audio Video Receiver Black
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off