Marantz SR5005 / Marantz SR6005 HDMI V1.4 ABT AV Receiver Owners' Thread - Page 28 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #811 of 819 Old 01-27-2015, 05:58 AM
Member
 
dje31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for everyone's input on this thread. It's been a big help for the last couple of years owning my SR5005.

Generally very happy with it, but as of late, it seems to be acting a bit weird. It's almost as if Audyssey is either self-regulating, intervening, or simply forgetting settings. Should it need to be rerun on a regular basis?

e.g., the center channel volume sometimes is so low as to be almost silent. Dialog is so low, you have to turn on closed captioning. I thought maybe the cat had knocked the speaker wires out of joint, but they were fine. Sounds was coming out, so it was in straight 2-channel stereo mode.

I've rerun the Audyssey setup a few times, with inconsistent results. Now the center channel is bumped up +10 dB, so it's dominating in volume, but the quality is shoddy at best. Boxy, muffled...as someone else mentioned, like Loudness is turned up way too high.

I can related to what Patrick relayed in post #794 , so I played with the custom / manual EQ. Seems better, but the levels are still funky by speaker. Can I re-run Audyssey without it goofing up the EQ? Couldn't find an easy spot on the on-screen menus to adjust each channel's level manually.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. Thanks kindly in advance.

-- Doug
dje31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 819 Old 01-27-2015, 06:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,264
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3191 Post(s)
Liked: 2032
^^
You shouldn't have to run Audyssey again. Try setting Dynamic Volume to OFF if using it. Could also be the center channel amp is going out. Try doing a soft reset by unplugging the power cable for 10 minutes.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #813 of 819 Old 03-09-2015, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Source Displayed on StartUp

Hello,
Is there a setting to force the SR5005 to switch to a specific Source upon startup? For some reason, mine is stuck (always turns on to) BD. I'd like it to default to SAT.

Thank you,
Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is online now  
post #814 of 819 Old 03-09-2015, 10:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,264
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3191 Post(s)
Liked: 2032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
Hello,
Is there a setting to force the SR5005 to switch to a specific Source upon startup? For some reason, mine is stuck (always turns on to) BD. I'd like it to default to SAT.

Thank you,
Scott
It should remember the last source used when the unit was powered off, however, you should also be able to select the SAT button on the remote to power on the AVR and select that source.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #815 of 819 Old 03-09-2015, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 79
So the answer is "no," right? There is no menu setting to set a default source upon startup? There was something like that on the cable box I had at one time.

It must have something to do with my connection to my Panasonic TV via HDMI. The AVR keeps defaulting to BD; we watched a BluRay about 3 months ago, but have watched TV in the interim. Weird.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is online now  
post #816 of 819 Old 03-09-2015, 11:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,264
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3191 Post(s)
Liked: 2032
^^
Correct. Although if you have HDMI Control enabled, you could try setting it to OFF. Or another option, if HDMI Control is enabled, set the Standby Source to SAT.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #817 of 819 Old 03-09-2015, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I'll give it a shot, thanks.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is online now  
post #818 of 819 Unread Today, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 79
There is no SAT under Standby when HDMI Control is On, just Off, Last, HDMI, 1, 2, and I think 3. So I tried Last to no avail, still defaults to BD.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is online now  
post #819 of 819 Unread Today, 08:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,264
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3191 Post(s)
Liked: 2032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
There is no SAT under Standby when HDMI Control is On, just Off, Last, HDMI, 1, 2, and I think 3. So I tried Last to no avail, still defaults to BD.
Select whichever HDMI input is used for the SAT/CBL source.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5005 Audio Video Receiver Black , Marantz Sr6005 Audio Video Receiver Black
Gear in this thread - Sr5005 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off