Marantz SR5005 / Marantz SR6005 HDMI V1.4 ABT AV Receiver Owners' Thread - Page 28 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2015, 05:58 AM
Member
 
dje31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for everyone's input on this thread. It's been a big help for the last couple of years owning my SR5005.

Generally very happy with it, but as of late, it seems to be acting a bit weird. It's almost as if Audyssey is either self-regulating, intervening, or simply forgetting settings. Should it need to be rerun on a regular basis?

e.g., the center channel volume sometimes is so low as to be almost silent. Dialog is so low, you have to turn on closed captioning. I thought maybe the cat had knocked the speaker wires out of joint, but they were fine. Sounds was coming out, so it was in straight 2-channel stereo mode.

I've rerun the Audyssey setup a few times, with inconsistent results. Now the center channel is bumped up +10 dB, so it's dominating in volume, but the quality is shoddy at best. Boxy, muffled...as someone else mentioned, like Loudness is turned up way too high.

I can related to what Patrick relayed in post #794 , so I played with the custom / manual EQ. Seems better, but the levels are still funky by speaker. Can I re-run Audyssey without it goofing up the EQ? Couldn't find an easy spot on the on-screen menus to adjust each channel's level manually.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. Thanks kindly in advance.

-- Doug
dje31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2015, 06:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9741 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
^^
You shouldn't have to run Audyssey again. Try setting Dynamic Volume to OFF if using it. Could also be the center channel amp is going out. Try doing a soft reset by unplugging the power cable for 10 minutes.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-09-2015, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Source Displayed on StartUp

Hello,
Is there a setting to force the SR5005 to switch to a specific Source upon startup? For some reason, mine is stuck (always turns on to) BD. I'd like it to default to SAT.

Thank you,
Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 03-09-2015, 10:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9741 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
Hello,
Is there a setting to force the SR5005 to switch to a specific Source upon startup? For some reason, mine is stuck (always turns on to) BD. I'd like it to default to SAT.

Thank you,
Scott
It should remember the last source used when the unit was powered off, however, you should also be able to select the SAT button on the remote to power on the AVR and select that source.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-09-2015, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
So the answer is "no," right? There is no menu setting to set a default source upon startup? There was something like that on the cable box I had at one time.

It must have something to do with my connection to my Panasonic TV via HDMI. The AVR keeps defaulting to BD; we watched a BluRay about 3 months ago, but have watched TV in the interim. Weird.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 03-09-2015, 11:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9741 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
^^
Correct. Although if you have HDMI Control enabled, you could try setting it to OFF. Or another option, if HDMI Control is enabled, set the Standby Source to SAT.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-09-2015, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
I'll give it a shot, thanks.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 03-11-2015, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
There is no SAT under Standby when HDMI Control is On, just Off, Last, HDMI, 1, 2, and I think 3. So I tried Last to no avail, still defaults to BD.

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 03-11-2015, 08:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9741 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Oakley View Post
There is no SAT under Standby when HDMI Control is On, just Off, Last, HDMI, 1, 2, and I think 3. So I tried Last to no avail, still defaults to BD.
Select whichever HDMI input is used for the SAT/CBL source. Try unplugging the AVR power cord for 10 minutes (ie. soft reset).

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 04-08-2015, 05:28 PM
Member
 
nastynice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
hey, can anyone comment on the headphone amp found in the SR 6005? I bought some nice headphones which are pretty hard to drive, 120 ohms but according to many people actually seem harder to drive than other higher impedence headphones. I'm wondering if this receiver will be good enough to drive these headphones.
nastynice is offline  
Old 04-08-2015, 05:36 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9741 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by nastynice View Post
hey, can anyone comment on the headphone amp found in the SR 6005? I bought some nice headphones which are pretty hard to drive, 120 ohms but according to many people actually seem harder to drive than other higher impedence headphones. I'm wondering if this receiver will be good enough to drive these headphones.
Give it a go. You can always buy an external headphone amp if you feel it is required.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 04-08-2015, 10:10 PM
Member
 
nastynice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Give it a go. You can always buy an external headphone amp if you feel it is required.
yea, will do. I'm just hoping to avoid the whole buying another amp for headphones, given how expensive a unit this is. Its a little frustrating that not only is there nothing to be found in the manual or marantz online, even when I contacted Marantz themselves they told me they don't know anything regarding the headphone amp. Seems a little sloppy on their part, how could an entire facet of the receiver like this be completely not documented anywhere?
nastynice is offline  
Old 04-10-2015, 05:16 AM
Member
 
dje31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's one I haven't seen addressed yet:

We have the Dish Hopper HD DVR Receiver connected to our 5005. I believe most inputs are defaulting to Auto for the surround mode.

Unfortunately, half or more of the time, it doesn't go to the correct setting. Sometimes it's in 2ch Stereo, so my center channel gets nothing.

I've had to manually change the surround mode to Dolby Digital, or PLII Movie to get the right setting.

I'm guessing part of that is the source info from the Hopper, as some feeds may default to stereo, or a non-surround mode. It doesn't seem consistent, making it even more frustrating.

Is there a way to force / default it to a 5.1 mode? Either DD or PLII Movie?

Thanks much in advance!

-- Doug
dje31 is offline  
Old 04-10-2015, 06:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9741 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
^^
AFAIK, there are only 3 types of audio that the Dish box can produce .... PCM 2.0, DD 2.0, and DD 5.1. Once you select DD PLII - Movie for each of the non DD 5.1 sources, the AVR should remember this setting and always simulate 5.1 from the 2.0 source.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 04-12-2015, 05:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by dje31 View Post
Here's one I haven't seen addressed yet:

We have the Dish Hopper HD DVR Receiver connected to our 5005. I believe most inputs are defaulting to Auto for the surround mode.

Unfortunately, half or more of the time, it doesn't go to the correct setting. Sometimes it's in 2ch Stereo, so my center channel gets nothing.

I've had to manually change the surround mode to Dolby Digital, or PLII Movie to get the right setting.

I'm guessing part of that is the source info from the Hopper, as some feeds may default to stereo, or a non-surround mode. It doesn't seem consistent, making it even more frustrating.

Is there a way to force / default it to a 5.1 mode? Either DD or PLII Movie?

Thanks much in advance!

-- Doug
If my 5005 was left in PLII Movie the last time I used it, PLII Movie will be the sound setting when its turned back on. Also, I'm out of town right now so I can't check but I very vaguely remember a settings in the Manual portion of the Menu that lets you select a sound field for each source. Don't quote me on this, its been a long time though.....

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 06-30-2015, 02:11 PM
Member
 
01svtL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Looking at picking up a used SR5005. Anything I should be aware of? Are there any newer offerings out there that sound about the same that would be a better buy at this point? Looking to stay under $400. Care more about sound than the latest apps etc. Only using 3.1 right now. Klipsch RF5 L&R and an RC7 center and a 10" Onix Rocket sub. Fairly small living room, seating position is only about 10-12 feet away from the TV. I use it mostly for TV/movies, but do like to connect the iPhone5 to listen to music. I also have a fairly old turn table, but it doesn't get as much use. I know I like the Marantz sound compared to the older (2008ish) Yamaha AVR's with these Klipsch speakers. I have heard that some of the newer Yamaha's are a bit less harsh though. What about comparable Denon offerings? Also saw a CA Azur 351r which is quite a bit less powerful, but I don't really need 100+ watts in this room.
01svtL is offline  
Old 06-30-2015, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01svtL View Post
Looking at picking up a used SR5005. Anything I should be aware of? Are there any newer offerings out there that sound about the same that would be a better buy at this point? Looking to stay under $400. Care more about sound than the latest apps etc. Only using 3.1 right now. Klipsch RF5 L&R and an RC7 center and a 10" Onix Rocket sub. Fairly small living room, seating position is only about 10-12 feet away from the TV. I use it mostly for TV/movies, but do like to connect the iPhone5 to listen to music. I also have a fairly old turn table, but it doesn't get as much use. I know I like the Marantz sound compared to the older (2008ish) Yamaha AVR's with these Klipsch speakers. I have heard that some of the newer Yamaha's are a bit less harsh though. What about comparable Denon offerings? Also saw a CA Azur 351r which is quite a bit less powerful, but I don't really need 100+ watts in this room.
I LOVE my 5005. I bought it when that model first came out and as the Marantz line got more complicated and Internet-connected, I've often thought of upgrading but I'm glad I didn't. The sound is warm, yet detailed. I can connect my iPOD to the front USB connection and all sounds great. The iPOD does sometimes drop connection but not so often to piss me off. I do not have a turntable and honestly can't tell you if the 5005 has a connection for that. The only other thing is that menu system is sometimes a bit unintuitive but you just have to fight your way thru that. All details, manual, etc are here:
http://us.marantz.com/us/Products/Pa...oductId=SR5005

As far as other options, you're on your own on that, like all of us cuz its all subjective.

Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 12-04-2015, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
SR5005 - Volume Leveling?

Hello,
Does the Marantz SR5005 contain a volume leveling feature, across Sources? I cant seem to remember or find it.

Thank you,
Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 12-04-2015, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Hello,

Is there a volume leveler (across Sources) on the 5005?

Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 02-04-2016, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
squeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Hey Everyone,

Looking to upgrade my sr6005 to a sr6009 and need to get rid of the 6005. It's in excellent condition and I still have the retail box. Where would be my best place to list it for sale and what should I expect to get for it?

Thanks!
squeeks is offline  
Old 02-04-2016, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
squeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Hey Everyone,

Looking to upgrade my sr6005 to a sr6009 and need to get rid of the 6005. It's in excellent condition and I still have the retail box. Where would be my best place to list it for sale and what should I expect to get for it?

Thanks!
squeeks is offline  
Old 02-04-2016, 05:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9741 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by squeeks View Post
Hey Everyone,

Looking to upgrade my sr6005 to a sr6009 and need to get rid of the 6005. It's in excellent condition and I still have the retail box. Where would be my best place to list it for sale and what should I expect to get for it?

Thanks!
You could list it in the Classifieds section of AVSForum or your local Craigslist likely getting $400 or so.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-audio-gear/

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 05-14-2016, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Joeroe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't take the time to read all 832 posts so if this has been asked already I apologize.

I have A 6005 that was used in a large open floor plan setting but now has been moved to a small theater that I just built. The new room is causing some problems with room modes so I added treatments. Now it's DSP time and the 6005 doesn't have have an input to loop a DSP. Have any of you overcome this and if so how. Just wondering if I need to ditch the 6005 or add an amp. I'm happy with my setup when it comes to movies but bass production in music needs some improvement so not sure if there is a way to only power the mains with a 2 channel amp or what.

Any help you give will be appreciated
Joeroe is offline  
Old 05-14-2016, 05:53 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9741 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeroe View Post
I didn't take the time to read all 832 posts so if this has been asked already I apologize.

I have A 6005 that was used in a large open floor plan setting but now has been moved to a small theater that I just built. The new room is causing some problems with room modes so I added treatments. Now it's DSP time and the 6005 doesn't have have an input to loop a DSP. Have any of you overcome this and if so how. Just wondering if I need to ditch the 6005 or add an amp. I'm happy with my setup when it comes to movies but bass production in music needs some improvement so not sure if there is a way to only power the mains with a 2 channel amp or what.

Any help you give will be appreciated
Did you re-run Audyssey again? Sounds like you don't have a dedicated sub rather simply using the woofers in the FL/FR speakers? The SR6005 does have 7.2 main zone pre-outs, so if you prefer to, you could certainly use an external amp to power the FL/FR speakers.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 05-14-2016, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Joeroe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Did you re-run Audyssey again? Sounds like you don't have a dedicated sub rather simply using the woofers in the FL/FR speakers? The SR6005 does have 7.2 main zone pre-outs, so if you prefer to, you could certainly use an external amp to power the FL/FR speakers.
Wow that was fast. Thanks for the quick response. I have a Rythmik fv15HP and my mains are definitive Mythos STS. Audyssey set everything up wrong so I had to disable it. When running the receiver in 2 channel mode my sub wasn't doing anything so I disabled Audyssey, changed my mains to small rather than full range and also changed the crossover point of the mains to 60Hz to reduce a null at 70Hz. I'm running REW and the treatments have helped quite a bit but I still have some issues that will require DSP.
Joeroe is offline  
Old 05-14-2016, 06:07 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9741 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeroe View Post
Wow that was fast. Thanks for the quick response. I have a Rythmik fv15HP and my mains are definitive Mythos STS. Audyssey set everything up wrong so I had to disable it. When running the receiver in 2 channel mode my sub wasn't doing anything so I disabled Audyssey, changed my mains to small rather than full range and also changed the crossover point of the mains to 60Hz to reduce a null at 70Hz. I'm running REW and the treatments have helped quite a bit but I still have some issues that will require DSP.
Not sure what you mean by "set everything up wrong"? Just because you reset the FL/FR speakers to SMALL/60Hz doesn't mean you have to disable Audyssey.

Also note ... Audyssey doesn't set the speakers to LARGE, rather the AVR will set them to LARGE if it detects the speakers can go < 50Hz.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 05-14-2016, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Joeroe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm no where near an expert when it comes to home theater but for some reason after running Audyssey 3 times my sub would barely work when listening to music. I think the problem was that my bp2006's in the rear were putting out bass that was not being used when running stereo. The rears have 250watt amps pushing 8" woofers. I had an acoustical engineer over to help with room treatment and he told me to disable it and adjust everything manually. He said he would only use it to figure out speaker distance. I took his advice and it made a huge difference. My system sounds unbelievable to me but there are still some problems to be addressed and according to what I've read DSP is the next step.

Thanks
Joeroe is offline  
Old 05-15-2016, 09:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 62,259
Mentioned: 179 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9741 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeroe View Post
I'm no where near an expert when it comes to home theater but for some reason after running Audyssey 3 times my sub would barely work when listening to music. I think the problem was that my bp2006's in the rear were putting out bass that was not being used when running stereo. The rears have 250watt amps pushing 8" woofers. I had an acoustical engineer over to help with room treatment and he told me to disable it and adjust everything manually. He said he would only use it to figure out speaker distance. I took his advice and it made a huge difference. My system sounds unbelievable to me but there are still some problems to be addressed and according to what I've read DSP is the next step.

Thanks
The sub is EQ'd independently from the speakers. If the FL/FR speakers get set to LARGE, in Manual Setup simply reset them to SMALL/80Hz and the lower frequencies will go to the sub (movies, TV, music, etc.). No reason to disable Audyssey.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 05-15-2016 at 09:16 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 08:05 AM
Member
 
ja00's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Anybody know the subwoofer preamp output level for the SR5005? I have it connected to a QSC PLX amp and I have to set the sub level 10dB hotter than the other channels, with the amp volume level at max, to get the subs to be heard.
ja00 is offline  
Old 07-12-2016, 12:12 PM
Member
 
Figjr24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio Refresh While Watching TV

Hi All,

I'm finding now that while I am watching TV every few minutes or so the the display flashes quickly and the sound drops out for less than a second. It's been bugging the crap out of me and I was hoping someone can provide some insight.

I've tried different HDMI inputs and the result is the same.

Thanks!
Figjr24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Marantz Sr5005 Audio Video Receiver Black , Marantz Sr6005 Audio Video Receiver Black
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off