The "Official" Onkyo TX-NR808 Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1829 Old 07-10-2010, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
staiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so let it be written, so let it be done...

Thus begins the Official Onkyo TX-NR808 Thread...
staiman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1829 Old 07-10-2010, 08:53 AM
Member
 
abc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nice thx staiman... home sweet home. I can tell you this for anyone curious about power usage... it looks like the 808 consumes about 98watts of juice at vol 50.0db, powering 2 fronts and a center, while streaming InternetRadio...
abc5 is offline  
post #3 of 1829 Old 07-10-2010, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
staiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW...I have not run firmware update yet. Not sure one is out yet anyway, but decided to see how it would operate out of the box.
staiman is offline  
post #4 of 1829 Old 07-10-2010, 04:40 PM
Member
 
Franco240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, got my 808 hooked up today, replacing a 707. This thing is quite a bit heavier than the 707. Sounds similar to the 707 but with slightly more noticeable power. Couple of things if anyone can answer:

1. The PS3 that I use as blue ray player is noticeably lower in volume when hooked up than on the 707. I don't like that! I am having to increase the volume during blue ray playback in the PS3 display. Having to play 808 at reference level, 82 on the volume control, to get it at levels I like. Anyone experiencing this?

2. Do you guys turn on Dynamic EQ?

Thanks.
Franco240 is offline  
post #5 of 1829 Old 07-10-2010, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Franco240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update:

For the PS3 volume issue, with Intellivolume setting on the Onkyo, I can turn up the db volume for blue ray source (had to set at +10).

Will work on the networking feature later.

4 hours into the 808 setup. Have Definitive technology center and sub with Boston Acoustic Vri-485 reference wall speakers. This thing is sounding SERIOUSLY sweet.
Franco240 is offline  
post #6 of 1829 Old 07-11-2010, 01:54 PM
Member
 
abc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi folks, is there a way to check what firmware version is currently on the unit? secondly, a way in it's setup menu to look up its IP address?
abc5 is offline  
post #7 of 1829 Old 07-11-2010, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ptwyzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my 808 hooked up today. Sweet!!!!! Still have a lot of adjustments to do, but watching TV with it now. No adjustments and out of the box it is excellent with TV (DirecTV HD using HDMI).

One question I have... I have a DROBO FS which is DLNA compliant. Can I just go directly to my music folders on there through the 808 and play them? I tried but it doesn't look like 808 is seeing it. Do I need to do something? Do I need Windows Media 11 running (hope not)?

Thanks.
ptwyzard is offline  
post #8 of 1829 Old 07-11-2010, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
skooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St Augustine, FL
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can any owners here comment on the video stuttering during 1080p/24 blu ray play back that seems to be an issue on the 608?
skooba is offline  
post #9 of 1829 Old 07-11-2010, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skooba View Post

Can any owners here comment on the video stuttering during 1080p/24 blu ray play back that seems to be an issue on the 608?

Im not having any stuttering
tboo is offline  
post #10 of 1829 Old 07-11-2010, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Can anyone comment on using Slacker radio or Last.fm? Ease of use/screens would be awesome!
Thanks
MandM is offline  
post #11 of 1829 Old 07-12-2010, 08:17 AM
Member
 
abc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a quest about pandora, how do u log in? as you may know, it's an email address, and there is no @ sign in the input selector.
abc5 is offline  
post #12 of 1829 Old 07-12-2010, 08:42 AM
Member
 
calebju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by abc5 View Post

i have a quest about pandora, how do u log in? as you may know, it's an email address, and there is no @ sign in the input selector.

Took me quite a while to figure out - shift key changes layout and displays @ along with other keys
calebju is offline  
post #13 of 1829 Old 07-13-2010, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Bcpark01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone comment on a delay I read about when switching video to a non-hd source?
Bcpark01 is offline  
post #14 of 1829 Old 07-13-2010, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
staiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Took me a while to figure out the @ symbol as well, which you may need for the "." as well.

I still have not had a chance to hook up a usb drive to the receiver. I suspect that navigation of songs and folders will not be "easy" or "quick", but who knows. I stream my Mac itunes to the AVR which contains all my CDs (over 600) ripped lossless. Sounds great no hiccups, can use ipod, ipad, or iphone to change songs etc.

I have really been impressed with Pandora. Navigation is ok and the new stations I set up online show up very quickly. no hiccups from pandora at all. I have not tried slacker or an other net radio yet, but suspect similar performance.

Overall, this thing has been a dream. Great PQ and functionality. I have set up with 5.1 and powered zone 2. Zone 2 has worked flawlessly as well as the HDMI pass through when the AVR is off. I can pass through a signal to my TV without the surround on while having a separate audio source playing in zone 2. I can't comment on switching delay between non-hd sources, but do notice a slight delay (1-3 seconds) when turning on any new hd source -- I chalk this up to the return audio working and figuring out the delay...which I have not experienced any sync problems at all.
staiman is offline  
post #15 of 1829 Old 07-13-2010, 03:16 PM
Member
 
abc5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by calebju View Post

Took me quite a while to figure out - shift key changes layout and displays @ along with other keys

damn... that was good... thank you alot!


darn, i thought the internetradio would show you the name of the actual song title... like when i'm logged into pandora it would tell me artist and song title... but it doesn't do anything nice like that sigh... only shows 'iradio, play, 00:03:59' something like that... wish it was more useful than that.

note, if you have your LCD or display on and set the AVR to do OSD (and hdmi out or otherwise some output to your display), then you can see the streaming info I was hoping for outpu to your display, but you're not gonna see it on the avr's own display.
abc5 is offline  
post #16 of 1829 Old 07-13-2010, 08:05 PM
Member
 
Bcpark01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is the upconversion of sd through hdmi? I'm considering this avr and one of pioneer's new models but I've read about some problems with the 808 after switching inputs and with the quality of the upconversion. If someone could check this for me it would be greatly appreciated.
Bcpark01 is offline  
post #17 of 1829 Old 07-13-2010, 08:21 PM
Member
 
ivans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MandM View Post

Can anyone comment on using Slacker radio or Last.fm? Ease of use/screens would be awesome!
Thanks

Oh is works like charm and i have before tx707 using zone 2 for my speakers outside in my yard and now i can heard the internet radio outside with this new receiver
ivans is offline  
post #18 of 1829 Old 07-13-2010, 11:40 PM
Newbie
 
Cain0z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered my Aust 808, awaiting delivery, hopefully next week. Only updating my 605 because of pre-out. Hope its good.
Cain0z is offline  
post #19 of 1829 Old 07-14-2010, 03:51 AM
Newbie
 
dandover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just checked UPS tracking; my 808 is out for delivery today

I'm replacing a circa 1997 Sony STR-DA50ES because I finally got tired of the DTS decoding bug when watching Blu-ray. I played with an 807 last weekend that I picked up at Best Buy, but it had a defective left surround channel. I'm glad it did because I didn't learn of the existence of these new Onkyo's until after I returned it, and I think I'll be much happier with the 808 (especially happy about the USB and front-panel HDMI input).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bcpark01 View Post

Can anyone comment on a delay I read about when switching video to a non-hd source?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bcpark01 View Post

How is the upconversion of sd through hdmi?

I'll be sure to pay close attention to these and get back to you. I also read this (in a review at Amazon, I think?) and am wondering about it.
dandover is offline  
post #20 of 1829 Old 07-14-2010, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
bustamelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm looking at maybe getting this thing and am eager for any and all reports. I'm particularly interested in sound characteristics -- especially compared to Yamaha receivers (that's what I have now).

Thanks! And congrats to all you new owners. I'm green.
bustamelon is offline  
post #21 of 1829 Old 07-14-2010, 07:02 AM
Member
 
TheVillain9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anybody experiencing low volumes on their receiver? I have to set intellivolume on for both by sources(PS3 and cablebox) and set Dynamic Volume. If I don't i can't hear even decently at -30db
TheVillain9 is offline  
post #22 of 1829 Old 07-14-2010, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheVillain9 View Post

Is anybody experiencing low volumes on their receiver? I have to set intellivolume on for both by sources(PS3 and cablebox) and set Dynamic Volume. If I don't i can't hear even decently at -30db

I just setup my 808 and last night, and from the brief testing I did, I didn't seem to have any volume issues. I had it set at the same volume I used my 804 at. I'm using a PS3 Slim set to Bitstream. Do your settings match, or are you utilizing the PS3 Fat set to PCM?

fdsfds
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #23 of 1829 Old 07-14-2010, 11:24 AM
Member
 
TheVillain9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have ps3 slim set to bitstreaming. the sound mode is dolby digital whenever the source is that. not sure what else i should do.

i am using hdmi 1.3 cables, would that make a difference?
TheVillain9 is offline  
post #24 of 1829 Old 07-14-2010, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bazzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hi All,

May I ask, is does this avr offer 7 channels of processing & 11 channels of power? The reason I ask is that on P13 of the user manual there is a speaker configuration table showing that 11 speakers can be used & on P14 there is a speaker connection diagram showing the back of the avr & it has (apart from the 2 sub inputs) 11 sets of speaker terminals with speakers connected to all of them.

Surely, then this mean it has 11 internal amps - one for each dedicated set of speaker terminals? This has me very confused!

Bazzy!
Bazzy is offline  
post #25 of 1829 Old 07-14-2010, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheVillain9 View Post

i have ps3 slim set to bitstreaming. the sound mode is dolby digital whenever the source is that. not sure what else i should do.

i am using hdmi 1.3 cables, would that make a difference?

Have you noticed the volume difference only when you are listening to lossy tracks such as Dolby Digital, or is it apparent with lossless soundtracks too? I'm also using 1.3 cables, so I wouldn't think that would be a factor. Did you notice the difference before you ran Audyessy?

fdsfds
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #26 of 1829 Old 07-14-2010, 04:44 PM
Member
 
calebju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who else has the network issue discussed in the following thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1253769&page=9

Keep replugging the network cable is very frustrating.

For those without network issues, what are your firmware versions?

My 808 firmware is 1001-0100-0010-0100 and I am experiencing network issues. If the fix is not coming out soon, I may send it back to Onkyo.
calebju is offline  
post #27 of 1829 Old 07-14-2010, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
JSchulte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which 2010 Pioneer model does the 808 compare to and what are the advantages of the Onkyo?
JSchulte is offline  
post #28 of 1829 Old 07-15-2010, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
alexsnakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, it sound difference between 3 or a single dsp?
and between 6 and 1 single dac?
thank you
alexsnakes is offline  
post #29 of 1829 Old 07-15-2010, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
dandover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bcpark01 View Post

Can anyone comment on a delay I read about when switching video to a non-hd source?

Well, I don't have any more non-HDMI sources that I can easily test this with. But I did test switching between Blu-ray and cable TV, both connected via HDMI, with the cable box on a 480i channel. Input switching between the two takes almost exactly 5 seconds. A little longer than what I'm used to, but certainly nothing worth getting ones panties in a twist over, IMHO. Unless maybe you're a pathological obsessive compulsive source switcher.

It could be that it gets worse when using non-HDMI inputs, I suppose. But with HDMI inputs, switching time seems reasonable to me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bcpark01 View Post

How is the upconversion of sd through hdmi?

Upconversion seems pretty good. 480i upconverted to 1080p was noticeably better than pass-through, but nothing to get super-excited about. I tested it with 480i television only. I have yet to see how 480i DVDs look when upconverted (seems to me DVDs *usually* [but not always] have higher quality than 480i broadcast TV/cable). Again, all this is through HDMI on my setup.
dandover is offline  
post #30 of 1829 Old 07-15-2010, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
skor2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently getting some stuttering playback. Watching an HD-DVD on my xbox 360 and as it loses dolby digital, it stutters, stops picture and audio for a potato, then starts back up. Any Ideas? For the network, there aren't any new updates and I haven't received an email back from Onkyo.
skor2003 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr808
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off