Do receivers need left/right "breathing" room? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 07-14-2010, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Short and sweet: The Onkyo RC260 receiver I'm looking at getting is 17 1/8" wide. The table I'm looking at for my center speaker, receiver, Xbox, TV, etc, is this one. The two cubbies in the middle are 17 5/8" wide (I'm viewing the line-art).

The shelves are adjustable, so I know I have enough height, and depth is fine. What I'm wondering, as a complete noob in audio, will the 17 1/8" receiver be alright in a 17 5/8" size space? Is it like a computer, it will overheat in a very small cubby space? Is 1/4" on each side enough, or should I look at a different table?

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-14-2010, 10:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 110
I admit that I have always put receivers into a cabinet with almost no room on the sides. I don't think my receivers have side vents though. I think it's important to have enough room on the top for adequate ventilation. And I think you need room to vent behind, so I don't use cabinets with closed backs.

"But this one goes up to 11"
post #3 of 8 Old 07-14-2010, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter

The back has a back panel, but pretty big holes for all the cables... Is that alright? I can move the shelves down to give it tons of top-room. How much is suggested? 2 inches? 3? 4? Curious now.

Thanks.
post #4 of 8 Old 07-14-2010, 10:51 AM

Would losing the back of the stand hurt rigidity? If not, I would get rid of the back and get a fan to move the hot air. If the back cannot be removed, I would think twice about the stand as Onkyo's are known to get very hot. I briefly had an Onkyo. It had vents on the sides, towards the back. I would feel more comfortable with more space to the sides if the receiver you're considering has the same side vents.

Regards,
Brian