Onkyo 807 sound is choppy on some channels - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-25-2010, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rolfeman02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried a search and only found one other person having this problem but no answer was revealed.

I just switched to Uverse and now when changing to some channels or even when a show goes to commercial, the sound gets 'choppy'. When it occurs, the receiver says Dialnorm +/- 2,4,x and then makes a clicking noise. below is the link to the other post I found with the same problems.

http://forums.afterdawn.com/t.cfm/f-...om_fox-829900/

It happens on multiple channels.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
rolfeman02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-25-2010, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Hi rolfeman02, not sure if your description of choppy sound is the same as audio drop. But Uverse has problems with audio drop with AV receiver so maybe read this Utalk about audio drop and see if this is the same.
JChin is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-25-2010, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 2,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolfeman02 View Post

I tried a search and only found one other person having this problem but no answer was revealed.

I just switched to Uverse and now when changing to some channels or even when a show goes to commercial, the sound gets 'choppy'. When it occurs, the receiver says Dialnorm +/- 2,4,x and then makes a clicking noise. below is the link to the other post I found with the same problems.

http://forums.afterdawn.com/t.cfm/f-...om_fox-829900/

It happens on multiple channels.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

This is normal for Onkyo's. What is happening is the show you are viewing is most likely broadcast in DD5.1. When a commercial comes on the commercial is in DD2.0. Or the reverse of this. Or a combination of both of these formats, back and forth. The receiver is auto switching from one format to the other. The clicking you hear is also normal. The dialnorm is a level reading that the receiver takes about the incoming source material. The level of the source material is not always the same. There are better explanations on this subject in the forum, so forgive me about the lack of information on the dialnorm.
Secret Squirrel is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-25-2010, 01:41 PM
Member
 
jonfitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
This would make sense for sports games (usually DD) but regular TV broadcasts I don't think are 5.1? But it's a good hypothesis.
jonfitch is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-25-2010, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 2,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonfitch View Post

This would make sense for sports games (usually DD) but regular TV broadcasts I don't think are 5.1? But it's a good hypothesis.

Many TV sitcoms are broadcast in DD5.1. Many comedy shows, Dramas, Nature shows, even some news is in DD5.1.
Secret Squirrel is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-25-2010, 01:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rolfeman02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jchin, after reading the first page of that link it does look like that is what I am talking about. It looks like I have a lot of reading to do. Thanks for pointing me in a direction.
rolfeman02 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-25-2010, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rolfeman02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After reading several more pages, this is exactly what I am talking about. It appears that it is a VERY common problem and ATT is aware of it with no fix yet other than to change the set top box to not send a surround signal.
rolfeman02 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off